Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
I'm interested to hold my wedding at MC in 2006 too...but huh...the coordinator like very dao...email them so many times and never call back one.....sigh....are they really so popular...that they don't have time to call back...sob

hihi Bearyhugs,

Ya lor .. that's what i think too.

Wow .... you must be very excited over your WG. So, you are just going to wear your ROM gown on your ROM day itself and not the WG har?

Hi Pink Lady,
Maybe you want to give them a call instead of emailing them? Good Luck!

Hi Pink-Lady...they are really very busy. They practically have weddings every alternate weekdays and kind of full for weekends.

Why don u give the hotel mainline a call and ask for the direct number of the coordinator?

Hi Meixia,
I'm jus wearing my ROM gown. WG for next yr. Jus went down to see the decor at the MC poolside terrace. Looks so relaxed and romantic. Really hope that it will not rain that day. Otherwise, I will hav to hold it at the function room which defeats the purpose.

Jane / Meixia: Maybe Michael really came in here and saw feedbacks abt him. oops...

Meixia, so excited for you! Muz be looking fwd to one of the really special day of your journey in life. So nice...
222711.gif

Morning!!!

Hi Jane, haha .. ya lor. I am pleasantly surprised too.
Actually, he is not bad lar ... and he is very patient with me too. Spent over 2 hrs with him to go through the procedure.

Bearyhugs, wah ... the poolside decor very romantic har? How come they got the decor at the poolside that day? Cos got another wedding too har? Take many many pics to share with us the decor, okie? Ya lor ... really really hope it doesn't rain on ur ROM day. Pray hard! I am also praying hard that it will not rain on my big day .. if not, it will be so "ma-fun" and dampening for me .... Must remember to sms "lao-tian-ye" to tell him not to rain. hahaha ....

Hihi Unyx, long time no see .. u very busy har?
Haha .. maybe lor .... hehe

Thanks for your well-wishes. yap ... me really looking fwd to my big day .. its like a whole new chapter of your life will be starting from that day onwards. Know wat? I just had 2 dreams a few nights ago --- (1) Me and my FH standing at the reception BUT no guests turned up and both of us and our parents were anxiously standing there. A few nights later, i dreamt that (2) All the guests turned up very early and at 7pm, my MUA still had not turned uo yet to do my hair and makeup for me!!!! In the end, i kanna scolded by my future MIL that why is my MUA like tat and all the guests are just waiting for me!!!!
WA!!!!!! NIGHTMARE!!!!! haha .....

haha meixia, it's very common to have nightmares before your wedding. My friend also dreamt that her wedding gown was torn and she has nothing to wear... haha... another dreamt that she stepped on the train and fell while marching in.

Unyx, good if he really reads. Then he can really improve further. hee...

hi Sel, they don't have other choice.... but the chocolates is quite nice loh... my friends said taste good. Not sure if they have more items now. Most of the hotels like Pan Pac, Hotel Intercontinental, Pine tree club, etc give very nice wedding bears...

Hahah...Meixia, u so cute!! Don worry too much. People say dreams are opposite to reality. I am sure things will be fine!

Sel, don worry abt the chocs. I also heard that they are quite good.

Jane, for those wedding bears, must take care...cos i think hotels give only 1 to each guests...so they actually alternate the bears. I find it quite weird to just give 1 instead of 1 pair. But the reason they give is that if couples attend, then they take home a pair...but i think even colleagues who are married, usually won come as a couple...so sad to 'separate' the bears

Jane, haha .. really ah? at least me not alone .. haha. Think me is "ye-you-suo-shi, ri-you-suo-meng".

Hi Bugbear ... thank you.
Hope it doesn't happen to you... hehehe

Btw gals, just digress a little bit ... I'm actually thinking of ideas on how to tekan my FH leh ... can you all share share any past experiences? Jane.. your own wedding just over , rite? Can share share how ur groom kanna tekan? haha ....

Hi Meixia,most recent one, my gerfren's tekan session got 5 cups of mixed sauces, for each of the brothers and the groom. Then got wasabi plus chilipadi as garnish on crackers..do jumping jack 10x then drink the sauces, do pushup 20x then eat the biscuits..

Meixia, U sound so funny describing the dreams that u had... Well, I bet I would prob have the same dreams like u becos I'm also one of those super kaisu worrying over nothing freaks. Haha...

Oh, with regards to "tekaning", I've had some experience myself as I had been jie meh for my frens for at least 8 times to date.: > Lost count already. Have Tekan so many grooms that they are all waiting for the right chance to take revenge on my wedding day. Haha...

Useful ideas include: doing the William Hung song & dance, eating all our specially made concoctions, doing the bamboo pole dance, guessing the right lipstick mark by the bride, guessing the right bra of the bride, getting him to say out the ten love commandments loud and clear before he can enter (must get him to sign contract too e.g. I will sweep, mop the floor everyday including killing all the ants and picking up all the hairs.), getting him to act out the scene of proposal with his xiong di or as usual, asking him questions like the bride's vital statistics or even buying a combi lock for the main gate with combi nos as the bride's vital stats! Hope this had been useful.

hi gals!

meixia... actually me always been here loh... but many times, me too lazy to start the tic-tic-tac-tac. Your special day getting nearer, still got time to come in here? Guess I might also have those kindda nightmares when my day comes. Me iz a paranoid. haiz...

Ask you gals arh... anyone of you know what are the best ways to lose weight? Me dunno why, gaining weights in the last 6mths. Me no take supper leh... Clothes getting smaller. haiz... HOW? HELPpppppp.... I dun wanna end up looking aka a chubby baby in my wedding photos.
223114.gif

Hi All ..... wah!!!! Great responses!! Keep them coming in!!! hahaha ....

Hi Sel, wah lau .. that kind of "tekaning" a bit terok leh ... my FH cannot take spicy food one ... too spicy he surely go "lao-sai" one .... hahaha. I dun want a "lao-sai-groom" on my wedding day leh ... hahaha ....

Bearyhugs!!! You very experienced leh!!! Wah lau .. for your own wedding, i think ur hubby sure kanna saboed by all ur friends who also kanna saboed by u before!!!
Your ideas are great! I was laughing away when i read ur ideas and imagininf my FH doing that!!!! hahaha ... I think the 10 commandments are great! Will ask him to read out loud & clear and sign on the "contract" before i allow him to open my bedroom door.

Wah .. getting excited just thinking how to sabo my FH and his bestmen ... hahaha. A bit "sadistic" lar .. but hor, come to think of it, its only once-in-a-lifetime .. if nv play now, when then can play hor? hehe ....

Hi Unyx, erm ... maybe 1 week before my wedding, you will see me MIA liao lor ... kekeke ...

Any reason why you have been gaining weight recently? Do you tend to snack more these few months due to stress? A few ways to lose weight are: -Avoid tidbits and soft drinks. They really cause you to gain weight very easily. - Do not skip meals. Have your regular 3 meals a day. Cos, if you skip 1 meal, you will feel very hungry and will have a tendency to eat even more for your 2nd meal. Wat you can do is to eat regularly but wih less quantity. - Avoid supper totally. If you feel hungry at night, eat fruits. Fruits are usually quite filling.

That's abt it. Hope it helps!

Meixia, Hahah you're so funny..yeah loh, better dun tekan with food if your FH's stomach not strong hehe..wait really see toilet more than see you on wedding day..

I think the guessing of lipstick mark is quite interesting..I wonder if my bf can guess mine or not..hmm..

Unyx, how about jogging?

Hi Sel ... haha .. thank you!

I think i will ask him to dance to the song of "She Bangs" .. hahaha.

Btw, when's ur wedding?

Meixia, I'm planning ROM nov 2005 and the wedding banquet in early 2006.. hee still a long way to go man..

hihi .... wow .. yap. really a longgggg way to go. But Hey! You should start preparations for it 1 yr before your BIG day! So, its still ok.

I also started my preps last Oct for my wedding this dec. And i booked MC last Oct! So ... its not only you lar ....

Meixia, glad that I have been of help to the sabo ideas. Not copied from anywhere else; all solely from own experiences of sabo-ing too many grooms. Yeah, I have the same mentality as you. Also thinking of ways and means to sabo my FH - FH also said that I was sadistic.. Haha... He wanted to switch roles with me! He was suggesting that I should be the one outside while he sits in the room to wait for me!

Would u be doing any corsages for your jie meh?

Have u selected your wed songs? Does MC provide any standard wed songs selections? What's your march-in song?

meixia, sel, thanks for the diet suggestions. <font color="aa00aa">meixia</font>, sometimes is not that i dun wanna stop eating, coz if i dun eat, my gastric will start groaning &amp; kip giving me prob! But still will try your way of eating less. <font color="aa00aa">Sel</font>, jogging is in my list. I am getting my FH to bring me to our neighbourhood SAFRA Club for some workouts! hee...

It's always good to plan ahead, then you have enuff time to think/plan things over till you are comfortable with it. But I suppose Sel may have to wait till Mar2005 for 2006pkg, right?

Shld jie-mei wear the same color theme in the morning? Dinner? Or both?

Morning Unyx!

MC has come up with their early 2006 prices already so I've already seen their package heehee.. Btw yesterday I just went to MC to meet up with the coordinator Aaron..my bf and I very keen to take MC now..Aaron was really friendly and patient, a plus factor for us since another hotel's coordinator was rather bo chup.

For the clothes,you can get your jie meis to wear something pastel coloured and at night can ask them to wear black..va va voom hahaha..or maybe to save their $$, can let them wear what they like/have for the dinner.

Meixia, what flowers did you choose for your centrepieces and flower stands? Yesterday's was roses and orchids, quite nice. Oh and peach coloured table cloths and fountain for stage. How about yours?

meixia, mine were quite boring.... the brothers not coorperative at all. they don't want to sing and dance... only end up my hubby shout i love you. will you marry me. from car park and also tell me 5 reasons why he loves me.

choosing the right lipstick mark is fun. If guess wrongly, ask one of the brothers to applu lipstick and kiss the groom. hee.. fun..

also, put the key in a bowl of water and freeze it overnight, so when the sisters got the angbaos, they can hand over the huge ice cube and let them melt the key to your heart. Got it?

Hi All!!!

Only got time to reply u guys now ...in fact, i am having my "guo-da-li" today!!! haha ... me at my future PIL's house now ..... got up very early to prepare the stuff and to receive all my relatives.

Hi Bearyhugs,
haha .. think ur hubby "xiang-de-tai-mei" liao .....
Yap. I will be having corsages for my jie-mei. Will be getting from my BB.
As for wedding songs, yes. i have complied around 50 songs for my wedding, including the 1st march-in and 2nd march-in. However, will be using MC's song for 1st course presentation as i feel the staff will be more familiar with the song.

Hi Sel,
Yap. I will be using orchids &amp; roses too. I think this is the only types of flowers used for the wedding leh. But, its definitely better than the previous flower decor.
I will be choosing peach tablecloths for the normal tables and red for my VIP tables. Yap ... me will be using fountain too cos my bf says water is good as it has wealth ... haha.

Hi Jane,
ya lor .. that's why i told my bf that he and his xiong-dis must be "on" one lor .... if not hor, then not sporting and no atmosphere liao. Anyway, i think his xiong-di are all very game one... hehe.
Wow!!! Your key idea is fabulous!!! But hor.... how to pass the huge ice-cube over to the groom party just through the gate door? Erm... maybe i can make it into a smaller ice-cube. hehe ... Btw, u gave them any tools to break open the ice-cube?

ok ... have to go outside entertain guests liao ...

Hi Meixia,
U seem to be really enjoying the whole wed prep. Congrats! Think Jane's idea of freezing the keys in ice -> jus put it in a small ice bowl so that should be sufficient to pass thru the door. Anyway, no need to give them anything to break open lah. Jus ask them to pass ard and suck till the ice melts lor!

Care to share with me your song list? U having any themes for your wed songs? My email add is [email protected]. Thanks!

When is your AD by the way?

Meixia, Why the need of 50 songs? Do you mean other than the songs you use for your march-in..., the others are for playing during your dnr? And do you compile them into a CD or do you list the songs &amp; hand the original CDs to MC?

Sel, I am not going to make things difficult for my jie-meis, coz I am now going thru the stage where I have to search ard for the right dress to my friend's wedd. Will let them know the color theme which will be of a general color. Thanks for the suggestions! Hee...

hi meixia, no tools! ask them to melt with their hands, tongues, etc... but cannot break the ice on the floor or break the ice in any way... they are not supposed to break but melt.... melt your heart not break your heart! hee..

hi meixia, no tools allowed! Cannot break the ice in any way, not even throw on the floor or hit against the wall. Have to melt your heart, not break your heart. Can lick or use hands.

Hi gals, morning!
Let's talk about food..MC has 8 dishes as well as 9 dishes menu for their weekday banquet..wondering if 9 dishes is alot for a weekday? But their 9 dishes seems more yummy..

Oops gals, anyone taken pics of their recent deco? I didn't manage to take the other time I went down but my mom wants to take a look. Can send to me @ [email protected] if anyone has it? thanks!

I am new here. I am currently considering MC for my wedding in oct 2005. would like to find out if they have free flow of beer? They seem to be rather rigid.

Hi All ...

wa hahahaha ... all of you are veryyy BAD leh .... ask my FH and his gang to melt the ice with their own hands and to even ... lick it (Eeeeeeee!!!!! Imagine all the guys licking on the ice and passing ard!!!) haha .. but i LOVE this idea!!! hahaha ... Will surely have this as part of my sabo plan. haha ... Thanks Jane for this idea!!!

Hi Bearyhugs,
Thanks! I am enjoying my preps .. after all, the day is getting neareer and i am getting into the mood liao! My AD is on 4th Dec. 12 more days to go...... hahahahahaha .....
Actually, i am for the more "romantic" ambience .. so mostly, my songs are those romantic, lovey-dovey songs lor. hehe ... My theme ah? Guess its romantic ba .... haha.

Unyx,
Yap. the 50 songs are for the songs to be played during the whole course of dinner, which should be ard 3 hrs. Actually, you can also opt to play MC's songs during thr dinner itself so you only need to find your 1st and 2nd march-in song lor.
Not so ma-fun also .... Wah lau .. looking for 50 osngs very xiong one leh ... i started compiling ard 6 months back ....

Hi Sel,
Erm .... i think the 9 dishes look more presentable leh .... and like wat u said, more yummy lor .....Have u discussed with ur hubby abt the menu? You also have to think of ur budget too leh.

Hi Furry,
Nopr.MC doesn't have free floe of beer. Yu may want them to fwd their package to you to let u take a look.

Hi Meixia,

Thanks! I have met up with them last week and learnt that my date was released without my notice which I have blocked 1.5months ago! Almost freak out. Now we have to wait for the couple to release the booking. Otherwise, I have to go elsewhere.

Was just trying to find out ways and means to cut costs since they have increased the package quite tremendously to our surprise. Do they give extra barrel of beers? Wat about day use rooms?

Hi Meixia, the 9 dishes menu is still within our budget and discussed with my bf, he also quite keen to take the 9 dish - partly also becoz my future MIL prefers that one. But only thing I'm concerned with is whether 9 dish is too many for a weekday loh..

Wow! Meixia, teach me how you compile the 50 songs into CDs leh... I thot MC player only accepts the original but not the burnt cds? Its so nice to have songs of your own compilation at your own wedding.

Hey furry, what date is that you are looking for? Gotten the date thru tong-shu arh? No other dates avail for you to choose fr?

Sel, how can 9 dishes be too many? My pt of view as a guest if you ask me, I wun mind 9 dishes. Dun worry loh...

Unyx, coz weekday dinner, hope to end the dinner on time coz next day is still working day..so maybe 9 dishes may not allow the dinner to end on time..and also not sure if waiter will clear too fast

Hi, I am interested in holding my banquet in MC due to its gd location and pricing. What is the minimum number of tables for the weekend?

hi Sel, dun worry too much. Most of your guests will enjoy themselves. It's your special day, your priv to end it late. You may have to advise MC not to rush thru your dinner. Not much diff in the timing, but great diff in the variety in the dishes of 8 &amp; 9. Anyway, the final decision is up to you &amp; your FH. cheers!

Thanks unyx, actually my FH and I dun mind the 8 dishes menu..but my FMIL keen on some dishes from the other menu so it started the whole issue of the dishes

Btw, any comments on which dishes are nice?

I presume you know MC is negotiable abt the dishes you want huh? You can mix &amp; match fr the menu. However if its over their "budget", then u'll at most have to top up $$$ only lah... ^_^ hee...

Unyx, oh I didnt know that can mix and match, I think that's becoz I didnt really look at the menu the other time we went down. Cool, then I can mix and match haha!

Btw are pacific clams nice? Anyone tried? My only experience with pacific clams are the canned ones and quite hard leh..

meixia, getting nearer hor? so exciting! seems like you are well prepared. Good for you.

Weekdays 8 dishes should be sufficient as you will want to end early since people come from work and got to work the next day. They come to share your joy not to share the food... so let them have an early night.

Hi Faerie, the min number for weekend is 38 tables.

Sel!! Good to see u here. So you confirmed with MC already? Still struggling with the menu?

Hi Unyx,
My date is 16oct Sunday next year. Cun change the date already. Pending for Michael to revert. What other perks can ask for other than those in the package?