JP - Chan Kai Yau

mitzi

er.. ladies, after i efiled right, then do what huh?

When do I actually contact Mr Chan to meet up leh? One month before actual day? or??

samgirl

you call up Mr Chan, and arrange for a time to meet him up with your FH so that he can sign the form and pass it to you. He'll also want to have a short conversation with the both of you to know more about the couple he's about to solemnise.

Then after you've gone down to ROM to verify your documents, you'll need to call Mr Chan to let him know that you'll still be proceeding with the ceremony as planned, because he's met with couples whom split up during the time after the meeting with him and before the day of verifying of documents...so this is just like a form of final confirmation that your event is still proceeding as planned..

mitzi

Hi samgirl, thanks. But when do I call him up to meet? I'm still about 3mths ahead of my solemnization. Call him 1mth before or?

Go down to ROM on the date they gv me when i efile right? That's 5days before the actual day wor, got ppl split up within 5days one ah? Dinner how? :X

reian

hi there

y some of you seem to get the license number first before signing form?
i thought the JP wont disclose their number onli when aft signing form??
Mr Chan didnt wan to give me his licsence number first.

soontobe

Hmmm...strange, but he told me to file first.

Ask me to meet later in Oct coz my wedding is only in Dec.

When I called earlier, a woman (I think maybe his wife) also told me to e-file first, and he is now only meeting people who are getting married in Oct....

You may want to clarify lor.

reian

hmmm...maybe becoz yrs is in Dec..
coz mine in Jan, only can efile aft 1 oct..
no wonder he ask me call him back aft the 1st and meet up....maybe if he no time, then tink will pass me the license number..so when did u call him? right before 3months ?

soontobe

Naier, I first called him in July, he also told me to call him in Sept (3 months before AD) to arrange for the meet up.

I called him on Monday (already 2 1/2 mths to go) and he told me to e-file first, then we meet in Oct or Nov.

I guess he must getting really busy now, coz so many people getting married after 2 months of "ghost" month....

yukikodawasan

Call Mr Chan a few days before you efile and get his licence number. You required that to efile. After that, you can arrange to meet up with Mr Chan anytime(within 3 mths before your ROM) to collect the consent form.

mitzi

oh, so I can call him to meet up anytime during the 3months? I've already efiled. But I worry Mr Chan thinks it's too early to meet leh, cos mine in Dec..

reian

hi Soon-to-be

So i jus have to call Mr Chan aft to 1st oct?(intend to call him right on sunday, 1st oct) is it very 'kia su'??hee

cause have not efile, i v worried..like not secure.
But Mr Chan told me that not to worry as mine is external venue and as long as i book him, he free, then my date can book anytime within 3mths and 22days pior my ROM (1Jan).

So when do u tink is the best date to call him?

yukikodawasan

Hi Mitzi,

Think it's best to meet him 1 month before. Call him and confirm your booking first. Then make arrangement to meet him for the consent form. You will only need the consent form on your verification day (VD), so no point collecting the form so early too.

However, that time I called him and confirmed my booking. And was asking him when to meet up for the consent form. Then he told us to meet up since my hubby and I are free. I efile in July, took the consent form from Mr Chan in Aug. And now I am still holding on the the consent form till our VD on 11 Oct 2006.

Good Luck to you

biny

I really like to have Mr Chan (my first choice)but he is booked on my date. Can anyone reccomend an alternative? I want someone who can speak eng & mandarin, prefably male..... also can anyone give me the contacts for "chris chen"? i cant find=( many thks

smurfying

Hi all, can i chk wat's the rates for Ang bao for JP ar? Then sorry for the trouble, anyone has got Mr Chan's no.? Need to contact him but i think i've left his no. overseas.

smurfying

Thanks ahBlur...hav called

How much to give for angbao?

blurbaby

tansy,
hee! i also not sure how much to give as angbao...

So did u manage to get him as ur JP? Think with the gone of David Loh... Everyone will be busy...

smurfying

ahBlur, I actually booked him when he wasn't so popular back then, i think more than 6mth back...My wedding is tis coming Sun

maydy

Hihi...Would like to ask... I've e-filed for my ROM... should i call mr chan to mit for signing the form or should i wait for his call?? someone pls help! =(

mitzi

hi May,

if ur wedding for eg is in Dec, u can call him during Nov to arrange to meet up with him. That's what he told me
Hope it helps~

blurbaby

Tansy,
happy for u....

i saw Mr Chan yesterday... at Holiday Inn Atrium... Was there for one of my friend wedding..

compassrose

Mr Chan conducted my solemnization over the weekend.. Double thumbs up for him.

He speak so well (and he was joking around) and calm me down before the start of the solemnization. As my Mum was slightly delayed by the slow movement of my grandma, the solemnization started 15 mins late. Mr Chan was very understanding even tho he has a another wedding line up after mine..

No regrets in getting him as my JP, felt so blessed having such a wise man conducting the most important time of my life.

cherryapple

I have booked Mr Chan few months back and my ROM is on the 11 Nov. I have yet to meet up with him to sign the consent form. Too busy to make a time, maybe I will meet him up during the coming Oct holidays.

purple_rain

I have just called Mr Chan & booked him on 14 Jan 07. seems very kaisu for me hor... hee...

He sounds quite serious over the phone. He asked me for my name & contact, advised me to efile after 14 Oct 06, best time is end oct. Why huh?

He gave me his license no too but dunno did i note it down correctly. Can i reveal the license no in forum? He said that will meet up to give me the consent, most probably Nov or Dec.

Normally, where do u all meet Mr Chan at?

samgirl

During my meeting with Mr Chan, we realised that he used to be the Permanant Secretary of Ministry of Education (think about 20 years ago).

He's also very well-versed in conducting the ceremony in both mandarin & english languagues.

PurpleRain,
The reason he says that is because the earliest you can e-file is 3 months before your ROM date..so since your ROM date is 14th Jan, so you can start to e-file from 14th Oct onwards lor

purple_rain

I suppose Mr Chan is a friendly old man, maybe to have him as my JP is a right choice, cos both my maternal & paternal grandpa were not around so Mr Chan will be like a grandpa...

Perhaps i will give him a call to ask for his license no when i wana efile, then call him for meetup.

hots

Finally, meeting Mr Chan tomorrow. Been too busy to come into this thread. Less than 1 mth to my AD. Very busy n excited!!

jacrudo

Had my Soleminsation done by Mr Chan... he is realli veri nice...he did it in Chinese as well as English... He will ask what language u wan... at first he ask me and i say its fine with me to have it in chinese and my mom and mom-in-law oni understand Chinese.. then when he observe all guests.. he say he would do it in both languages... he is realli veri nice... recommended..

hots

i met up with Mr Chan yesterday nite at Borders... I'm a little bit late, for abt 15mins. Really so worried to let him wait for him. I run there and he looked so stern. Really scare me lor. He actually asked "Wat happened?"

Luckily mine was a valid reason, my fh was walking with the help of cluthes (ankle broke).
He signed the consent form for me, and we talked abit. Overall, he look stern but also very 'ci xiang" old man. Dun know y, will feel a great respect for him.

jsim15

hiya i'm abit kiasu..any bride-to-be planning to get rom on 20 july 2007? is it a popular date?tinking of calling Mr chan aredi..roughly how long shd i give him a call..he seems to be so popular

mitzi

do we need to print out the consent form before meeting Mr Chan? Or will he prepare all the documents, and we just need to meet him?

jarenlynn

Hi mitzi,

You may prepare one copy just in case. But Mr Chan will bring his copy along with his signature on it. So, it doesn't really matter if you bring extra consent form.
Cheers...

jarenlynn

Hi jan,

You may call and book Mr Chan earlier since 20/07/2007 is a nice date.
But he will advise you to efile and meet him at a later date, few months before your ROM.

jsim15

Thanx Lynnette,
tink we'll give him a call at end of tis..scare gana laugh by him to call so early then ver paisey..by d way does he haf any email add? scare to call seems he's a busy man..

tinkybell

I just had Mr. Chan as my JP for my solemnization last Wednesday.

It is indeed a memorable one for me and my hubby. Many frenz had also give feedback that Mr. Chan is a wonderful JP.

He came 15min before the solemnization ceremony and go through the important documents with me n my hubby.

At the actual ceremony, he speak in both Eng n Chi and explain all details very clearly to all my 80 over guests present.

I have happy to have make the right choice to invite Mr. Chan as my JP.

Unlike many solemnization where the JP read from the text each and everyline, Mr. Chan had his very own style of conducting the solemnization ceremony.

A very big thank you to Mr. Chan. (dun think he got to see my msg here).

As for other brides to be that is considering to get Mr. Chan as your JP, invite him as your JP and you'll have no regrets.

kellykat

I called Mr Chan today and he agree to solemnise my ROM in Dec 06.. so happy.. since he is so popular and well versed! :D

blurbaby

Queen,
U may call him at his home no... Ask for him first then ask him politely if he will be available on the date..

cherryapple

Yest, Mr Chan called me to meet up for the collection of the consent form. I am so nervous. He sound abit "serious" in his tone.

sanmigu

Guys and gals here need not worry.....Mr Chan is a very professional JP. Hubby and I very glad to have him as our JP for our ROM. We sincerely thanks him here. He make our relatives and frens feel so warm and happy.

jsim15

Hi SanMigu,
how many mths in advance do u call Mr Chan? Does in take 'reservations' for nxt yr july popular dates now?