JP - Chan Kai Yau

soontobe

I see. Maybe I will call him early next mth then.

I have to call him coz I didn't leave him my number. A bit worried that he will release my slot since he cannot get me.

carowl

ive booked mr chan as my jp too.

soon-to-be: so its abt a mth b4hand izzit? where to meet him? what to bring etc?

soontobe

Carowl, it depends. I am supposed to meet him this week but our schedule do not permit, which is why it's postponed till next week.

My understanding is you need to bring the consent form for him to sign. But heard from other BTBs, he will usually bring the consent form too......

I KS, so I think I'll bring one myself.

snowbell42

oh ya gals, i forgot to check if mr chan can do solemnisation in mandarin? is it he oni do outdoor solemnisation n not at the rom office itself? :p

cherryapple

He can do in both language if u wa to. But I am not sure he do in ROM Office. Cos ROM office usually provides one for u liao when u go there.

snowbell42

ok thanks cherry
'cos i still cant decide if i want it to b held in outdoors or at the rom office itself

cupcake79

I've oso booked Mr Chan as my jp. my rom is on 2nd jan... how long b4 the rom date will he call to meet up? or we shld call him up?

kellykat

just wonderng how much did you gals reimburse Mr Chan for transport? I dun wan to give too little nor cannot afford to give too much.

thanks! can pm me if u wish.

queenly

i just gotten Mr Chan as my solemniser. was so scared when i call cos heard he is very stern. anywae im being very KS cos my rom date is in may07. but he is agreeable.

so he sae to call him 3 months b4 my date....should i do anything in the meantime??

compassrose

Hi Queen,

Guess 3 months before is to get his license number to efile online since that is the earlier you can efile for your marriage.

No worries, I thot he was kinda stern as well. But he is very kind and crack some jokes during my ROM in oct..

Hi Kelly,

My friend gave $38 during her's in May and i gave $48 for mine in Oct. It's up to you, the min recommended is $28. You can work along that range..

furnana

hi, i just called Mr Chan,the lady said tat he will get back to me in early DEC to sign the consent form since mine is on 26 Dec.

Is it lidat??

1st call when Mr. Chan agreed to solemenize our ROM, tat all, The last 2 calls of mine were handled by the lady...

crescent

my ROM is in dec, Mr chan have not contacted me yet.

but i have already e-file, i got his license no, from his secretary.

how long b4 the date does he meet up wif you to sign the consent form?

I getting more anxious as the data draws nearer n nearer..

compassrose

Yup. I agreed.. secure the date first.
We met up with Mr. Chan 2 week before verification date. He normally meet up closer to the date.

I didn't know he has a secretary.. Could it be Mrs Chan?

andy08

Just like to share my experience with Mr Chan. My ROM was at the end of last month. I had organised my ROM at my own place.

Imagine Mr Chan appearing an hour before the agreed timing...with barely any guests arrived yet...and the first word he said is...

"Sorry I am late, are we starting yet?, becos I need to leave in 20 minutes later for another couple's ROM."

My Solemnisation was brought forward half an hour as a result with only 50% of my guests arrived. At the end of the session, he was in such a rush that he did not even bother to take a photo with me and my wife.

So this is a reminder if you want someone who is hot on demand.

Just to share my view of him after my important day.

1) He don't smile at all...from beginning till end. The feeling is he is performing a task he has been asked to perform. No more, no less.

2) He is always having a dreamy look. The truth is he is very old. The kind of look like he is about to doze off... but he did not of course.

3) I think it's fair to say he is forgetful. I agreed on a timing with him initially. Then I change the time to one hour earlier... but he came 2 hours earlier and insist I was the one who gave him the timing wrongly.

4) Well, he was no help at all during my Solemnisation, no advice on the actual day or going through what I will be expecting. Have read from forum about those things but did not happen for me.

5) The only thing I got really pissed off (internally but did not show on my face) was that he said he will have no choice but to leave at certain time if I do not start my solemnisation ceremony soon. (remember ...he dun smile)
And imagine that this conversation was happening in front of all my relatives who have come earlier.

Luckily, my photographer came over to my side to remind me: "Don't care about him, remember that this is a once in a lifetime event. Just take your time.

To all who are having your ROM soon... do make lots of preparation in advance and but still prepare for minor hipcup mentally. Your ability to handle those situations will make or break the DAY.

Best wishes!

cherryapple

Yest, we just meet Mr Chan. True that he dont smile, but it doesnt matter. As long as my ROM day comes, everything go smoothly... it ok. Btw, he a very old man, we cant expected him to be smiling all the way, cos as wa I see he is popular and time to him is very impt. Maybe he is tired after rushing here and there. Old ppl tend to forget things easily... that y he stop working in a church.... if I am not wrong.

The buttom-line is, we all hope our ROM will go as smoothly as possible. Mine is coming up next week. Starting to get nervous.

shi40lin

Hi ahBlur, tis morning i just call Mr Chan to confirm my ROM venue with him. My ROM is on 27 Dec. He is meeting me on next Monday already. I think he reminding wor.
I also emphasized that my ROM is in the Morning and when and where...keke...

I intend when meeting him, i will constant reminding him as well.....

twinky83

Bitchy-Bride,

I saw Mr Chan solemnising for a cuople yesterday at the resturant t i wil b holding my ROM.

And i think he was 5 min early. And it happen tt the couple was outside taking photographs (coz i saw them). And Mr Chan was so fierce when he can't find the couple when he was there. I got a shock man!

I think on Sat if possible u can try to be at ur ROM venue..Dun 'run' abt..

Sorry ah..Juz my advice onli..Hehe..

jarenlynn

I just attend my good friend's ROM today. Their JP is also Mr Chan. He is still as good as ever. Please do not get affected by minor comments. He solemnises my ROM this June too. He may look stern but I assure you that he is professional enough to make your ROM memorable. Most importantly, he treat your ROM as a sacred event that all of us shouldn't take too lightly.

This is how I feel. = )

vscent

Hi Andy,

After reading your posting, I think that I should share my experience with the rest of BTB who has invited Mr Chan.

On that day of our ROM, it started to rain heavily and our ROM venue is at end Changi. Our ROM timing supposes to be at 6pm but he was late. As he has no HP to be contacted, I have to call his house and his wife told me that he left his house long time ago. Initial, we thought the cab has caught in the traffic jam due to heavy rain and after working hour so we decided to wait. After waited for ½ hour, we called his house again. Then we realized that he actually drive his car since 5.30pm. We started worried as we don’t know what happens to him as he has no HP to be contacted. And at the same time, our guest has waited in the Function room too. Out of no choice and we are unprepared, we have to starts our dinner course first. My hubby and I have no appetite to eat at all as we don’t know how to carry on the Solemnisation if he doesn’t turn up. About 7pm, Mr Chan called my H/P and guess what he said? “I can’t find my way to your place, can you arrange someone to pick me up?†We persuaded him to take cab but he said that “ I don’t like to take cab and since I can’t find the way there how can you ensure the cab driver know where the place is?†In the end, my hubby guarantees him that 80% of cab driver in Singapore will know where the place is….. So in the end, we started our ROM at 8pm….

Should you have meet up with Mr Chan, he will request for someone to pick him up on that day to your ROM venue. If you can’t offer to pick him up, please ENSURE that he really know the way to your ROM venue no matter rain or shine. (even you provide him the address and location) He will not take cab down to your ROM venue as he prefers driving his own car. (Fyi, we did checked with him whether he know how to come down and he tell us not to worry as he been there before).

However, from this incident we really have an unforgettable ROM and wedding. As I started worried and frown my eyebrow, my hubby still cracked joke to console me: “hey, today is our Big day! Even he don’t turn up, I will still take you as my wife.â€

Anyway, what I can comment is Mr Chan is still a responsible JP as he still turn up to solemnize for us and apologies too.

vscent

Hi Lynnette,

I do agree he is very professional and treat ROM as a sacred event.

But I still think that he should have a HP with him, in case there is any sudden hiccup.

Anyway, just to let the rest know what are the minor things that have to take note if you are going to invite Mr Chan.

jarenlynn

Hi Vscent,

Before my ROM, I was so worried that he can't find his way to our ROM at Tampines. So, we decided to fetch him by hook or by crook to avoid any hiccup for our ROM. I can understand how you feel then. Very worried and panic as he didn't have a mobile phone with him.

xinyi_reiko

All these small incidents makes me worried. 2 weeks later I will be efiling, have not get the license no. yet. Would like to confirm everything with him again.

But something I am very blur, i book my ROM place from 3pm-5pm, at first I told him 3pm, I wonder if it is better to tell him to come at 3.30pm instead??

jarenlynn

Hi Xinyi,

I feel that you can either arrange somebody to fetch him (This is the best because you don't allow him to get lost or late), if not, provide him details of how to go to your venue will be good too.

My friend get her invited guests to reach at 12noon, Mr Chan arrives 5mins before 12.30pm, and their solemnization starts at 12.30pm. It's good to allow time for minor hiccups.

ROM is suppose to be a happy occasion. Please don't get stress out too much even before your actual day.

cherryapple

I am having my ROM tomo... I am so worry man... I scared of minor hiccups and scared Mr Chan will spoil my day after hearing those comment. My gal friends ask me to sleep early but I cant. Hope tomo go as smoothly.

jarenlynn

Hi Bitchy_Bride,

Relax, everything will be alright. Where are you holding your ROM? If your venue is well-known or convenient, I believe Mr Chan will make his way there. Don't worry ok.

blurbaby

Shilin,
u so fast meeting up with him? Omg... Think i am still stuck here.. man... I haven call him as i am busy with other things... I think i got to call him tomorrow... Got to meet up with him next Sat...

blurbaby

Hee... Lynnette.. Mine is next month.. Dec 23... Not sure what to do man. plus i also not sure who to invite... got alot of people...but i can't invite all... cos flat is coming soon.. can't spend so much and AD will be 2 yrs later..

jarenlynn

Hey ahBlur,

Your situation sound like mine. ROM this year, AD 2 years later. My home should be ready next year end or early 2008. Your house at Jurong area right? = )

blurbaby

Lynnette,
Yeah! Got my unit at June WIS... So where will be your home? Actually i wasn't really excited... probably due to work stress and study stress... haha...