JP - Chan Kai Yau

tinkybell

Hi Lynette,

I have called Mr. Chan sometime back, think in early July and he had confirmed my booking.

I called twice but he was not around, wanted to meet him to sign the consent form, but I am worry he might take someone for my slot, if i dun call him.

But if I keep calling him, I am wori he might think i gan jong.

What to do??

furnana

Dear Lynnette & Oinkoink

thanks for your help... very very appreciate

vscent

Hi Lynnette,

I have met Mr Chan last wk Sat and signed the consent form. Also we manage to done the efile. After the efile, the ROM website assigned a date for verification on the document. As during the meet up with Mr Chan, he mentioned the procedure as per below.
1 - Efile
2 - After Efile have to go to ROM to show our document.
3 - Efile have stated the appt date for document verification and have to go down another time to verify the document.
4 - Before 3 days of our ROM, we have to give him a call.

I now confused by the step as we have already paid for the fee, why should we still need to go down to ROM for step 2? Or maybe during the meet up with Mr Chan, I wasn't attentive enough. hee hee

babystarlet

hi vscent,u too obessed with MR Chan huh,heee

anyway ,u need to go down to ROm to collect 2 copies of marriage certs and envelope,checklist etc.
also u need to take vows at e ROM there,something like to certify u both are single etc.

jarenlynn

Good morning Vscent...

As what Babystarlet mentioned, you are required to:
- Go down to ROM 3-5 days (date stated on the confirmation receipt after you efile), before your ROM day to collect the documents as well as verify that both of you are single and whatever particulars you efile are nothing but the truth.
a) The duration given is 1 hour, it is better to be there early than late. = )
b) Must remember to bring all the important documents to ROM. Esp. NRICs of the couple and both parents.

- Call Mr Chan 3 days before your ROM to remind him of your time, your venue and where you will pick him if you have helper to assist you.

--------------------------------------------------

Details when u collect the ROM documents 3-5 days before your ROM.
1) Press for a queue number.
2) When you reach there, you are require to fill up a yellow form with both your name and IC numbers. I forgot need to put occupation or not? (Not to worry, just fill up that form haha.)
3) Go to the respective counter after yr number appears on the LED.
4) Both, the couple need to read out loud what is stated on the paper to either the Registar, the assistant Registar or whoever at the counter you are assign to.
5) Sign some of the documents given to you.
6) Check carefully that you didn't leave out any of the documents.
- Two copies of marriage (1 in colour for you to keep, 1 in black and white to post back to ROM).
- One brown return envelope.
- Checklist.
- One folder for your ROM certificate.

That's all. Hope what I wrote helps. = )
Happy marriage to you.
Please do not worry, I also sotong when we went there 2 months ago. What's worse, we are almost late because we cannot find a parking lot. OMG.

Anyway, it's over, that's why I suggest you to be there earlier, just in case any unexpected happen. Like us, we didn't anticipate the "rubber time" require to find a parking lot there.

All the best.

mitzi

Hi, may I know if the copy of your marriage certs has all the required signatures? Cos for those who ROM at external venue, when u go down to ROM before ur actual day to collect the certs, where will have signatures?

furnana

hey hey ladies,

Mr. Chan had agreed to be solmensier for my ROM. thanks to all of ur advices...
I caught hold of him last night @ 10.10pm.

anyway, the next question i had to consult u gers is that, do i have to pick him up?? Doesn't he drive?
Mr. Chan told me he had another ceremony @ 8pm the same day as mine..

jarenlynn

Hi Fiona,

You may ask Mr Chan how he make his way to your ROM? He told us that he don't drive, so we fetch him then. But you try to arrange with him, if transport is require to fetch him? = )

=================================================

Hi mitzi,
Regarding what you posted below, may I know if you have gone through the procedure? = )

Maybe the details I've posted earlier got some errors and they may sound unclear to you? The couples are NOT suppose to sign on the 5 documents (1 colour cert, 1 b/w cert, 1 checklist, 1 envelope and 1 folder for yr cert) given to you, until actual day.

But there will be a verification letter for the couple to sign to make sure their particulars, venue, time are correct. [Sorry that I've stated on (5) that we need to sign on some documents.]

Please note: Nobody sign on the colour or b/w cert only on the actual ROM or AD itself. I think everybody know that.

(Hi, may I know if the copy of your marriage certs has all the required signatures? Cos for those who ROM at external venue, when u go down to ROM before ur actual day to collect the certs, where will have signatures?)

Thanks again.

chng

I have posted up a pic of Mr. Chan in the archives of this thread before. Do take some time to read the archive thread and u should be able to see.

babystarlet

hi fiona,u can ask MR Chan if he knoes e way to ur ROM venue,usually he will make his own way there and u jus have to reimburse his transport as a guideline from ROM website.

mitzi

Hi lynette,

Tks for yr reply. No, I have yet to gone through the procedure, if I did, won't have asked the stupid questions already :D

Pardon me if I sounded idiotic in my previous posting. The reason I want to clarify is cos I have a friend who had an external ROM event. The solemnizer actually signed on the b/w copy, afterwhich the couple and witnesses also signed on the b/w copy. Ended up, the colored copy lack of the solemnizer's signatory. Hmmm~~

jarenlynn

Hi mitzi,

No worries about that. It's okay to ask.
It's normal to ask questions when unclear about this issue. Just in case we make mistake there isn't it? = )

Luckily you have pointed out, otherwise, I may mislead some of the girls here. = )

conxie

Here's the little info i can share...

I juz met up with Mr Chan on Monday.

He sure is a nice guy...after giving me the consent form, we chatted a while...he'll ask things like what's bride's and groom's occupation...etc.

I oso asked him if i need to pick him up to my solemnisation venue, Amara hotel. He said it's okie as he will drive there himself.

My solemnisation time is at 3:30pm but he told me he'll be there early in case either d bride or groom is nervous abt d whole ceremony.

He oso agreed to do the explanation of the whole process in Mandarin and the actual soleminsation in English.

This is really useful coz some of the older relatives may not understand English and as for my FH and me...dun tink we can recite the speeche in Mandarin too... ;)

Cheerioz!

tinkybell

Hi Starlet & Girls here,

I have meet up with Mr. Chan too. Not on Monday but on National Day.

Have gotten the consent form and all other relevant document signed. HeeHee.. Finally I think off my mind.

It slip my mind that I have to request him to explain the entire process in Mandarin, which Conxie did.

How?? Any Advice??

Do you think I should tell him when I call him 3 days before my ROM or do u think I should call him now n let him know??

babystarlet

hi tinkybell,think you can call him 3 days before ur ROM to inform him that u wan it in mandarin
bec b4 e ceremony itself started,he will double confirm if u wan it in english or chinese

yukikodawasan

I had called Mr Chan and confirmed my ROM date with him in Jul. Ever since, i had not contacted him and he said he will contact me again when it's nearer to my ROM date in Oct.duno if I should contact him. Scared that he may find me a bothersome. Hee

hots

I've done my e-filing yesterday too. Will be waiting for mr Chan to call me for a meet up.

No worries, think everything will be fine for me.

jarenlynn

Hi OinkOink,

It's ok to be abit KS. But not too much.
If you feel insecure, try to give him one more call loh hehe. = )

That's what we did the other time. = )
All the best.

conxie

Hi Oink Oink,

It's always better to be a bit more KS then disappointment rite?

Juz give him a call, he's a nice guy...but one reminder...dun address your FH as "my hubby and i" coz he'll tell u..."Girl, you're not married yet. You used the wrong term. He's your husband-to-be not your hubby."

I was taken aback when he told me tat, but i juz laughed it off... ;)

Cheerioz & Gd Luck!

yukikodawasan

Lynette/Conxie,

I had called Mr Chan already and he confirmed to solemnise for my big day. Haha.. so nervous and excited when I was talking to him, but he sounded so serious until my heart beats faster. Hee.

yukikodawasan

Lynette/Conxie,

I had met up with Mr Chan yesterday and obtained the consent form from him. He's a nice and amicable man. We chit chat for a while. Now at least the JP matter is settled.. Haiz, got to check out on other issues.

jarenlynn

Hi OinkOink,

I'm glad to hear that your JP consent form is settled. Btw, when is your ROM? = )

I have to say, ROM may be a smaller project than AD, but we still put in a lot of time and effort to this day too. = )

Hi bride-to-be, do feel free to ask me if you have any hiccups. = )

I will help if I've encounter before or I know the solution for you. Take care.

yukikodawasan

Hi Lynnette,

Thanks, hee. My ROM is on 14 Oct. I can't agree more with you. I was so busy with the ROM 'project' lor. I'm trying to get an affordable florist to buy hand bouquet, fresh petals and wrist corsage. Not sure if you have any to recommend. Was thinking of getting all at a place,easier. But all are so ex. Was thinking of having calla lilies or tulips.

jarenlynn

Hi OinkOink,

My florist's name is Chen Yiyi.
My ROM flower is done by her. She give me an affordable quote for my hand bouquet, table rose petals as well as corsage for my hubby.

Most of the time, I liaise with her over the phone and email. I also ask her for sample picture over the email too.

I wanted to have Calla Lilies for my hand bouquet too. But she was nice and professional to call me twice (once from home, another time from the nursery) to inform me that the stock then was not nice and she suggest to me other flowers for my ROM.

Maybe you would like to check with her quotation for your flowers too? You can email me at [email protected], I'll reply you there.
Tell her that Lynnette who ROM this June 18th recommend her to you.

Lynn

conxie

Hi Oink Oink!

Congrats!

I agree JP Chan sounded stern on the phone...but he's nice in person rite? ;)

I've been pretty busy d last week preparing for my ROM too coz mine's 11 days away...need to look for a photographer(last min decision)...buy favours for guests...look for matching shirt & tie for FH...aiya...suddenly like loads of tings to do...n i still can't find my accessories!

Btw...where r u holding ur ROM solemnisation?

yukikodawasan

Hi Conxie,

Congrats to you too... Gg to be a bride soon. Hee. Ya Mr Chan sounded really stern and serious. When I saw him personally, his smile really ease my worries. Ya I agreed many things need to be done when it's nearer to the ROM date. Is it necessary for favors? Mine was a budgeted one, so skipped that. Also, didn't want to make it like a Chinese wedding dinner. I haven't got the time to get my accessories too. Any idea where I can get nice accessories? What colour is your gown?

Mine will be held at Swissotel Merchant Court Poolside.

cherryapple

Me also looking for my accessories, althought mine is like 2 months away. Where can I find nice accessories ar? I skip my favours too, cos Chinese Customary got flavours too, dont wa to give twice... hehe.

yukikodawasan

oh no... mine is closer... cos in oct.. I'm also wondering where I can get nice accessories for my off white dress..

Ladies, any suggestions?

conxie

Hi Oink Oink & Bitchy Bride,

Swissotel Merchant Count Poolside...My Photographer did a shoot there a while ago...saw it in his pics...

My gown...me not wearing a full gown...it's more like a short tea dress...cheongsam inspired...in peach n white...

The favour is not a must...Was initially tinking of forgoing it...but eventually...decide to have it anywayz...coz d hotel i'll b booking only gives out food stuff, like fruit cake, chocolates and pineapple tarts...

As for accessories...I've been to Taka...Chinatown...Tampines...but juz can't find something i fancy... ;(

joying

Anyone know how much we should reimburse Mr Chan for his service? Not very sure about the "market" rate...

bandtz

<font color="0000ff">Halo there, me too... was so afraid toking on the fone wif Mr Chan, so stern... was wondering is he really tt friendly?? most likely yes ba as most of u hv commented him.. Phew~

Was so suprised to hear frm him y-day, he too, asked me to meet him @ the fountain - Borders.. do i hv to bring along any doc wif me? Many thanks in advance!</font>