hi wow this thread is really actively recently... think the subject matter is quite close to our hearts... i'm currently still in the early planning stage for my wedding so all the advice in this thread has been really helpful... and i'd like to share some of wat i plan to do, maybe can get some feedback or something...
want to ask something, if tell parents that for the tables we give them, instead of taking the full hongbao amount, at least let us recover cost then extra give them, if no extra, won't expect them to pay back also?? I dun mind giving more tables... is this considered improper or something??
honestly for my wedding, i dun expect to lose from my relatives... cos my family has been very generous (during CNY always get 4 digits in total hongbao collection)... but his family side ah, wah cannot make it one lor... $2 hongbao also got one leh until even consider having Hotel 81 for his side alone LOL... this was especially obvious during my ROM... my mother's side, which gave less than my father's side, gave more than my hubby's side COMBINED... so i told my hubby, in everything else, i can share equally with him (like pay for flat, renovation, etc) but for wedding, since technically it's supposed to be his family welcoming me into the family, I dun want to be like paying for my own way in!! so personally i think my hubby's side (either himself or his parents) should pay pin jin as well as SDJ (or at least cash in lieu cos i dun really like yellow gold... heh... my MIL knows so she's quite nice to me for my ROM give me $1K cash instead of gold chain... heh...)... as for the banquet, hubby and i will be paying for the whole dinner ourselves from our joint account... but for the hongbao, as my side we're definitely expecting much more than his side, so i told him, we will put equal amount back into joint account, either he top up his side to match my side, or i just put in equal to watever he collected... this way i think is fairer... otherwise machiam like become my relatives paying his relatives to accept me like that!!!
i think no matter wat, the hongbao value is significant, not for the dollar value, but for the "xin yi" behind it... you jolly well dun come and give me $10 or $20 and say this is your best wishes lor... it's an insult to us as the hosts... i will rather return the hongbao to you than to accept these kind of half-hearted wishes!! which is why from young, i've been trained to record down who give wat kind of hongbao... ultimately actions are still stronger than words... and i would also want to return the favour if they've treated me well during my joyous occasion... like if they give me $500 during their wedding i sure bao back one mah... it's the xin yi behind it lor... but those that give $50 i will never stoop to that level lah...
just my half a cent worth... ;p