How much did u lose for ue wedding?

vvn

ha ha... of course lah! relationship is very impt to chinese mah! (taht's why last time if families buay song each other, the bride and groom must elope???)

but actually to save the hassel, u ask both sides if they can do away with the actual items? like instead of buying 2 dozen of good morning towels and everything else, ask if can yi si yi si give ang bow lor! my friend's erm, baby bathtub and potty is sitting in her storeroom, waste money and space!

cactus_79

hee! I dun think my parents are buying the bathtub and potty.. but will give AP and write behind what AP is for. I doubt I know my ILs' shoe size!!! So AP again.

But my parents will bring my husband shopping for his stuff... hehehe.

vvn

ha ha so cute. bring him out shopping trip. like he's a girl!

my parents have realized that the stuff they needed to buy for hubby had already been bought like long ago (like watch for his first day of work, belt for christmas etc etc)or stuff he will never part with (the wallet i bought him) so they were like "how ah? we can't buy him slippers, and he doesn't need anything else, right?"

so in the end my mom decided AP is the safest way to go. actually the pants, wallet, shoes and belt all got meaning one. i remember pants is for 'being rich' and wallet for 'keeping the moeny'. can't remember the rest liao.

cactus_79

Yah.. my parents going to bring him shopping next month.. cos they are keen to just get it over and done with.. It's going to be soo strange.

AP is a good alternative to the items. My mom said if husband cannot find the things he like, she will give him AP.

I wasn't aware the things all got meaning... hmm... hehe. Wonder if it is dialect based though. I'm a hokkien. Are you a hokkien too, Charly?

faithz17

wah good good!!! tt's really helpful information!!! i also need to know wat the gal's side need to pay... cos otherwise my mother will just take the pin jin and keep everything and say gal's side where got need to pay?? just earn can already...

as for the hongbaos, well i agree generally according to their means lah... but here the problem is not that they cannot afford it, but they are too "yi si yi si" until CNY got $2 hongbao kind one lor... so it's not a matter of cannot afford... it's a matter of mentality... must really show them those kind of posters like we cannot buy HDB or pay for wedding dinner based PURELY on your "kind wishes" alone...

please share more information hor... cos chances are, hubby and i will be paying for almost everything anyway... like wat the heck is guo da li and the suckling/ roast pig thingy???

cactus_79

Guo Da Li is usually held about 2 weeks before AD. This is the time when the guy's side will send all the Gifts which the gal's parents want, or which are traditionally expected to be given by virtue of the gal's dialect group - in my case, it will include oranges, essence of chicken to symbolise live chicken, wines, canned pig's trotters to symbolise pig's leg, dried seafood like scallops, fa1 cai4, oysters, sea cucumber, sharks' fin and canned abalone. In my case, they will be accompanied by leaves called Bak Shu (in cantonese). Guy's side will also give AP containing the Pin Jing. Usually the guy's side will indicate they will give Pin Jing and the gal's side will thank them and say politely "any amount also can". I'm not sure who should deliver the Guo DA Li though. In the past, it would be the mei2 po2.

A few days after the Guo Da Li arrives, the bride's parents will return a bit of everything (items and pinjing). The bride's parents will also send to the guy's parents' home the dowry that they have purchased for their daughter - jewelry, household items, personal items for the groom or AP in lieu of.

As a side note, the jewlery or SDJ purchased by the guy's parents will be given to the bride only at the tea ceremony and not together with the Guo Da Li.

The Suckling pig will be given by the guy's parents only when the couple returns to the bride's house feor tea ceremony (traditionally the 3rd day after the wedding).
Normally, guy picks gal from her house. Leave gal's house to guy's house for tea ceremony. Then gal and guy return to gal's house for another round tea ceremony - this is the time the pig returns with the couple.

cactus_79

Usually, the greater the amount of Pin Jing, the more things the gal's side has to give to the guy's side when they "return the gifts". COs traditionally, it is expected that the gal's parents take the portion of the Pin Jing which they DON"T return to buy all those stuff.

Of cos, in modern times, it is too stressful to just buy these things a few days before AD.. so many brides' parents buy these things way in advance! The Pin Jing is just a symbolic thing only. It doesn't mean ie. guy's parents give $8k Pin Jing, gal's parents take $6k return $2k, gal's parents only buy $6k worth of things in return.

ANyway... ladies, do you know what is the normal rate of pin jing these days?

faithz17

so the guo da li is actually the pin li lah... wah sounds so complicated... but i kinda like the idea... sounds nice like exchange of gifts for each other... and can request for things which will use... like for example if for nutrition instead of essence of chicken can request for DOM instead?? right?? then after tt buy things for the groom sounds good wat... like pants and all... and household items things to get the couple started in their married life... quite meaningful wat...

yah i'm also hoping ladies here will share the pin jing amount... cos my mother is demanding $10K and i need to persuade her to take less...
otherwise my poor hubby got to save even longer...

vvn

cactus,

nope me cantonese!

faith,

ha ha. your mom cannot take ALL the pin jin, must return some amt back in the ang bow!

i dunno but i think besides buying stuff for your hubby, she also need to buy you dowry, right? according to my mother, who insisted to all her AP back, the AP money is for her to cover the part of the cost she spent on my dowry.

coz usually in the past, wedding banquets guests don't give AP, they give things. for a girl's side, the relatives will give their portion of jewellery in advance so she can wear on the big day to show off that the whole family all very well to do blah blah blah. or contribute to the parents dowry fund so they can marry the daughter well. which explains why some brides have to wear like 3 gold necklaces, 6 bangles and more rings than their fingers in the past - relatives too generous!

but i think now all dowry decision goes to the mothers coz we girls are picky! not to be rude, but really my grandma got me the ugliest gold bracelet becoz she say her time it was the 'in' thing. heh but good thing i can hide it with my kua sleeves.

Other than those stuff, ur mom also needs to buy things like those baby stuff with meaning for you (if she wants to have grandchild!) that's what my mom has been doing.

again, almost everything can be given by AP. except the jewellery, becoz that one must 'show-off' to other guests. but if your mom not particular, then may be buy 1 or 2 item(suggest gold then), and use costume jewellery? i know alot of singapore brides do that, can save up to thousands on jewellery that you don't normally wear except special occasions. but that depends on ur mothers lah.

what made me very unhappy about my wedding started from this lah. at first my mom was ok with us not throwing a banquet, just solemnization. she said she will arrange a separate dinner for her relatives/ friends. but when she heard my hubby wanted to do a lunch during solemnization (i wanted to do tea reception only) she tried to butt in and discovered it's a banquet style thing. so she asked me if she can invite her friends/ relatives over too. (there was no mention of AP)

anyway, this whole thing started very suddenly, so the pin jin pin li stuff and sbefore i know, she's asking for 3 out of my 15 tables and all AP back to her to recover her costs of buying me jewellery, or so much trouble like she trying to find 2 gowns to wear at the wedding. when i told her i don't really need all, keep stuff simple, she said "of course last time u don't need, but now i invited all my friends and relatives over to the banquet, must buy u all those things to show we are not stingy what! who asks u to hold the banquet in the first place?" i mean, she butted into our wedding preps and invited her guests. she could have just stick to her original plan with just a separate dinner and dun need to spend so much on things what. very unhappy with her about this decision.

vvn

sorry, forgot about the suckling pig... wellowing in self pity for a moment!

the suckling pig thing: it is to signify the chasity of the bride. If you are other dialect groups, some might request pig trotters instead. anyway, assuming you are cantonese, the pig will be brought back to the girl's family after the tea ceremony session at the guy's place. the mother of the bride will chop off the front and back portion of the pig, and return it to the guy. she will distribute the mid section (ie body, minus head, shoulders, backside and trotters) amongst the family members of the girl.

pin jin: ok, after the i cried screaming at my mother for the above mentioned incident. and she keep insistiing she is not marrying her daughter off and doesn't need that much of pin jin, (and the banquet AP she is factoring them as part of pin jin already) so as long as it's just money inside an ang bow and the number is a good one (ie 9 lah), we gave her 999.99. (that's the highest number of 9s my poor hubby can afford)

faithz17

aiyoh... you so poor thing... ur mum ownself go and direct her own movie and claim budget from you?? if i were you, when she said the "must buy all those things to show we are not stingy" i will just shoot back "well it's you who want to buy, so you want to prove, use your money... i will rather just admit i stingy!!!"

for my solemnisation, i didn't really involve my parents in the event... mainly because i just wanted them not to worry and just turn up and enjoy themselves... from guest list to venue selection to seating arrangement, we totally didn't involve them, only like few days before the event then we briefed them like oh where they will be sitting and wat will happen... cos the event was strictly relatives only and we only invited those we met up with regularly...

but i guess they were more ok with not being involved this time round because they knew we are still having a wedding dinner in future... i guess tt's when *stress stress* bah... also not looking forward to when my mother will start placing her demands... personally i'm of the idea that just tell my mum, ok how much you want to sell me for? no need to buy all the dowry and stuff for groom, that one i settle myself, you just tell me how much you want to make out of this, then i just give you and you just turn up on the day itself... sounds a bit mean but to save all the trouble just give her the money and no need to pretend her involvement is like SOOOOO valuable...

cactus_79

Hmm...

yah.. part of the dowry is the jewelry. Bride's parents will buy jewelry for the bride to "show off" their daughter's family's wealth when she is fetched by the groom.

I think chicken has a symbolic meaning. Can be substituted by essence of chicken. Last time, my parents and uncles got married, it was live chicken.

cactus_79

Hi Charly,

I feel so sorry for you!
I think your mom probably spoke with those aunties and uncles and decided that everything also must be "big big".

Actually for my customary, I'm only letting my parents and ILs decide on who they want to inivite within the numbers my husband and I give them. We give them set numbers, they decide the names. Also, for the Guo Da Li, dowry, An Chuang - all negotiated between our parents. We are not coming up with a single cent for these cos that's traditionally not expected of us to do so.

babyfifi

For my case, I'm cantonese & my FH is teochew.

I'm not totally sure what I will be having at the Guo Da Li yet. Still got a lot of time to decide.

Pin Jin wise, my Mum let me decide. So it's better. And she won't be keeping any Ang Paos. Actually the Pin Jin, she has to return partially too.

Am considering $1999 return $1299 or $1699. Something like that. So I'm still quite valuable (4 digit leh). But my FH won't go pok gai.

cactus_79

Actually, pardon me for saying so.. these days pinjing/etc all for "show" and to follow "tradition". Last time, pple give pin jing cos they are "buying" the gal from her family... that's why the gal bears the guy's surname and must return home as a "guest" to her own house for the tea ceremony after "3 days".

These days, it's often daughters who are more fillial than sons. Daughters are certainly not "guests" but still daugheters after they marry...

Dun think parents should peg too much value to Pin Jing...

vvn

yah. it was quite an unhappy thing for a while. my mom like that one lah, she gets influenced by other ppl quite easily.

but actually she sigh, really spent so much money on me, while knowing that AP she collected will never be enough to cover half her expenditure, and still give me AP bigger than all her tables combined on my AD (that was a nice surprise) i mean all this could have been saved, right? even though in the end everything is actually from her own pocket, but any sensible daughter doesn't want her own mom to spend so much for just the wedding.

sometimes i am quite angry with her that she listens to ppl too much, in the end the wedding is more like a show for her to please other ppl.

vvn

i agree with cactus, coz we cantonese, so my mom very insistent on the numbers. amount/ value is secondary. all she wanted was a string of 9s.

fifi, your mom might be demanding a pair of dragon phoenix bangles from your IL or hubby. it's for good long lasting marriage.

faithz17

really?? i hope so man... but then i'm not very fillial to my mother, so i guess tt's y she see as selling daughter also... my mother certainly views the pin jing as the last time she can milk money out of me... so i think i better prepare hubby to pok gai...

anyway as for the extra AP from wedding, if any, have discussed with hubby, i want to help in some way, but yet dun want to "subsidise" his relatives... so if got extra, the money will go to our honeymoon!! cos technically girl's side supposed to sponsor honeymoon for the couple also right?? so yeah better resolution...

babyfifi

vvn,

My mum confirm won't be demanding the bangles cos the other day when we were shopping, we went to a jeweller and looked at the bangle. We both never see before so go kaypo see how it looks like. After seeing it, we both came to 1 conclusion. It's UGLY. Lolx.

vvn

ok that really depends on the mentality of your mom, and what she knows. Coz even my mom will ask for very high price if my IL are paying for the pin jin. =p

but if your mom knows u and hubby are already paying for everything, and he no $. i think your mom won't be so cold hearted and demand five figure pin jin right?

well, for your AP thing, yeah, it's a good way to cover part of the honeymoon and the expenses. at least it will save a lot of trouble who's supposed to get what amount. (anyway during honeymoon you would probably spend more on shopping etc than him!)

cactus_79

I think these days parents should go for classes on their duties when their children get married.. like that, less trouble for us...

vvn

ha ya! i second it! coz last time our parents generation, it's their parents who settled everything for them. Then when they have kids, it's US who normally have to dig info to find out what to do etc etc... they quite good dun need to do anything for weddings hor?

cactus_79

Actually what you say is very true, Charly. Last time, our grandparents did everything for our parents...

I find that my mom gets alot of info from her own mom.. this is despite the fact that I belong to my dad's dialect group... so in the end, everything all mixed up.

IT's like, my MIL is teochew but FIL is not, neither am I, I'm hokkien. But my MIL insist on buying me SDJ.. even though I say no need. My MIL also ask my mom to arrange for me to leave the home on tea ceremony day as early as possible cos teochew pple believe early mornings when no sunlight yet is the purest and no evil spirits...

So it's like, an amlagation of diaelct beliefs.

ANyway, in relation to the waking up and leaving house when it's still dark issue, my husband told my MIL not possible cos my MUA Only arriving at my house at 630am and photographer coming only at 7am... so cannot leave home at 4 plus!! Luckily my husband interrupt.. or else, dun know what my mom can say also..

vvn

no! some ppl really did that! my MUA was bugging me for the time to arrive coz she said she might have another job in the wee hours of the morning on my AD.

i had the super big red umbrella though. =p

faithz17

wah 4am??!?!? i will say sorry hor i still sleeping!!!

i think parents also must zi dong a bit lah... true now the couple got own spending power but as parents, you're either marrying in DIL or sending off your daughter, you should at least have some part in it... cannot expect everything couple cover then sure lose a lot one...

hubby and i did our preliminary budget estimates... banquet will cost $30K and bridal package, photoshoot (overseas), blah blah another $10K... like that already $40K...
haven't even include some of the other detailed stuff yet...

cactus_79

I dun know leh, Fifi. It's more like Teochew pple have a superstition.. that morning hours are better... therefore leave home in the early hours of the morning.

It's not really a tradition. So whoever superstitious, just follow loh. Doesn't have to be teochew pple.

My husband's sister not teochew, ILs not teochew. But still wake up early early cos her mom is teochew and her mom told her to leave home early is for her good...

cactus_79

Yah.. know what you mean faithz... it's very very heavy on the pockets.
Just to share, I've been told to factor in more costs (hidden) cos of APs, wines, beer, juices, etc...

babyfifi

My FH is Teochew. My Mum is Teochew. But I'm not. I dun want to wake up so early leh. Summore got the extra surcharge for PG & Makeup artist.

pkum

hi people, my Hb is a teochew.. i m expected to leave the house early!!! because when his bro got married even when his bro is christian, his bride have to leave early.. i think she woek up ard 5am..

how to wake up at 5am? during my working days i wake up at 8-830pm! i wil look very tired on that day ....

cactus_79

I think just wait and see if your ILs mention or not. Then if they want you to wake up early, you speak with your husband loh. See what he says. If he's willing to make the extra payment, then I guess there is little you can do.

Sometimes, just give and take is the wisest thing to do. Next time, touch wood, if something unfortunate happens to your ILs or your marriage or your kids, u dun want pple to say it's cos you brought bad luck to your ILs' house for the tea ceremony right?

If really have to wake up early, then just try to sleep early the night before... any way, my SIL tells me it's better to wake up early cos she automatic wake up early due to excitement!

Worry about it when the time comes k?

vvn

fifi,
extra early $ for MUA and PG quite expensive, can go up to almost $200. unless your mom insists you have to leave house by 4am, you decide. afterall you are the bride, you MUST look pretty that day, and not having enough sleep is not the way to go.

i think for those 'funny drinks', you shouldn't let the guests order. make those staff tell them that obvious hints like "we have free flow of soft drinks and wine, juices and beer are charged separately" so they know dun anyhow order $6 a glass of orange juice.

if they insist ordering juice, i hope the hotel staff will ask them "will this be billed to you or the couple?" it's like these stupid hints will make people understand, and yet the final decision lies with them, not like we are NOT paying for their juice right from the beginning.

cactus_79

Actually, might I add - my ILs acted quite inappropriately already in relation to our wedding preps..

Like, they asked a widowed, childless relative to join in the "ti2 qing1" parents' meeting.

They also failed to dissuade the AUnt from having AD on the same year as ours. My IL's auntie actually advised against this sort of arrangement where 2 cousins marry in the same year. A few years back, 2 cousins (one boy, one gal) married in the same year. Within a few months after marriage, one cousin got invovled in accident had to be in hospitalized, and both couples until now no children despite being young. I was told it's a family supersitution. But my ILs failed to "protect" my husband and I from this sort of thing. So in the future, if something happen to us, I will point fingers at my ILs if anyone point fingers at me...

My parents are not superstitious and so they don't care. So it's okay for me. Neither am I superstitious. Just that my ILs are very very superstitious and although they superstitious, they still behave improperly.. heck! IT's to my advantage in the future if necessary.

cactus_79

Actually.. for me and my husband, we just want pple to be happy at our wedding. As we are controlling the ultimate guest list, most of the invited guests are close to us - either close relatives or good friends. So we don't want the hotel to restrict what they wish to order. THat's not the way we hope to be treated by our friends/relatives in the future.

But I guess if a bulk of the guests are pple you have never met before, it's a different story.

cactus_79

My husband and I will prob spend $40k for wedding dinner and another $8k in alcohol, APs, etc. We are prepared to make a loss of $10k. Keeping fingers crossed it won't be more than that. We already saved quite a bit in other areas - like our wedding package only $2k. We figured some things can save, other things cannot save. Even for honeymoon, think we will only go China. Our friends all going Spain, Europe, Eygpt even... but guess these will just have to wait until next time, more $.

cactus_79

Err... we did it ourselves. We booked our MUA and photographers very early before they raised their prices for 2007.... we booked the same pple for our engagement, solemnization and AD all in 2005...

Our photographers are doing outdoor photoshoot for us. During wedding dinner just flashing the photos. Not going to develop big album.

Husband already has 1 suit. Need to just buy another one. My mom sponsored my 3 evening gowns so FOC. My 2 wedding gowns were bought in Hong Kong & China so cheaper. OTR. An auntie helped me alter and add on beading.

Hmm... the rest of the expenses are quite minimal.

Oh, 2 uncles offered to lend husband the wedding car.. cos IL's car not nice. Very old car. Husband's aunt did course in flower arrangement and will be making the wedding car decoration. My husband will be self making the wedding bouquet. He did it for the solemnization.

vvn

gasp... cactus how many tables you having? 8K for alcohol?

actually for my wedding good thing that it was small, only 15 tables. I invited only 37 guests for my side(excluding my helpers)

my mom, with her 3 tables, got her closest friends and relatives (some even really fly down from hong kong and all over the world)

the rest of 50 plus guests goes to my hubby. he was compelled in invite his ex colleagues. anyway, some of them have the reputation of having no problems of downing 8 bottles of wine in a wedding dinner. (heard that from a mutual friend working in that company too)

in the end, turns out that we opened er, only 7 bottles of wine. those very heavy drinker colleagues couldn't come. my uncles who loved to drink curbed themselves because they are the drivers. most of the guests do beer and soft drinks.

but your package quite good... esp when it's stuff you like and contributions from your loved ones!

Hm... China also fun lah for honeymoon! heh... i didn't have any actually will be planning for 1 next year, but it will still be those short trips!

rubberducky

Would like to find out if anyone has made a huge loss holding an outdoor event? I understand that the general perception is that an outdoor dinner is less costly than a hotel do, and thus most guests would give a smaller angpow. It'll be good to know (more or less) what to expect so we can brace ourselves.

We're looking at a budget of $25,000 for 18-20 tables.

cactus_79

Hi Charly, not $8k for alcohol, but $8k for alcohol, APs for helpers, JM, XD, thank you gifts for parents, hotel rooms for wedding dinner helpers and grandparents, wedding favours (we are giving our photos in photo frames instead of using standard hotel favours). We are buying alcohol from husband's auntie... let her earn $ loh... she also selling to us at discount.

cactus_79

Actually husband and I wanted to save $ further.. go to Bali.. but we realise Bali had bombing in the month of Oct in 2002 and 2005. Our honey moon will be in month of Oct. So we decided to abort Will prob go Bali another time.. when it is safer.

Husband likes China cos of scenary. We 've never been there befroe... so will prob go.

cactus_79

Hi Quack, I think the general perception is still the outdoor event is cheaper than indoors. Also, most outdoor events are in rather "hard to get to places" like Sentosa or Fort Canning hill... pple may not find it as convenient as hotels/restaurants. There is also a "glam" factor at hotels or smaller,classy restaurants like Jade, Fullerton.

Is there any reason why you want outdoor wedding?

I personaly would only give at most $80 to outdoor wedding. I think the older generation won't like it too. It seems less formal.

Your budget is a very healthy one. You can prob hold your wedding at any venue in Singapore, subject to your capacity.

vvn

Quack,

i think if you let your guests know that it's a SIT DOWN DINNER they generally will not give you the buffet type APs. does your package price include setting up of marquee, tables and chairs kind of thing?

But i still think the max a normal guest will give is ard 100 - 120. that's me who haven't attended any outdoor event before.

vvn

cactus,

how abt bintan? it's quite similar to bali i heard. Which part of china you going? coz usually the ulu places costs more than the cities!

heh... misread your earlier post. thought you going to open wine cellar or something!

faithz17

tell ur husband's aunty to give you on consignment basis lah... unopened bottles can return her will be best... how much per bottle your budget? for mine i think i looking at $15 per bottle... just get cheap drinkable wine can liao after doubt the people also like know how to appreciate... will prob use my private collection for VIP table cos at least can indulge ourselves... heh...

Quack, in the first place you sure want to have outdoor wedding in Singapore?? considering the weather, either so hot then you'll sweat in ur gown and make up melt, or so cold and keep raining like nowadays... my ex-colleague had her wedding in Birkley Hall or something, the one in Botanic Gardens, and her wedding was a disaster, no sound system, sweat like crazy, no easy access to changing room... hot weather results in hot tempers... ur guests will also be uncomfortable while waiting for ceremony to start... then if at night, how about bugs, flying insects and creepy crawlies?? hee, for me not big fan of outdoor weddings...

$25K for 20 tables is like $1250 per table... sure lugi one... unless you have super generous relatives and friends... cos hotel average people give is like $80... outdoor might be even less like $50-60... so you will lose up to half of your $25K...

cactus_79

Nah... my earlier post was not clear lah.

We don't find bintan as romantic as bali.. hehe... we had considered batam and bintan. anyway.. we have free air tickets cos can redeem krisflyer miles, so were hoping to go somewhere where we can utilize those miles like bali.

Planning to go jiuzhaigou. Heard the scenary is very nice there. Cost including taxes (full board) is about $1.2k/pax. Oct is a good time to go too.

cactus_79

Hi faithz, yes, we are getting from his aunt on consignment basis and think she'll be giving us a good price. Just that we are bringing in a variety of alcohol. Budgeting $150/table worth of alcohol. About 40 takes means $46 down. The rest of the $2k should go to thank you gifts for parents - watches for dads and pendants for mom. APs for helpers too.

cactus_79

yeah.. Quack... I have to agree with Faithz... older relatives who may be in ill health may not appreciate it. If the weather is bad (rain), your gown may even get dirty and your heels may get stuck in the lawn/garden/sand.

Just some thoughts. Sorry if it seems I'm being like a wet blanket. Just thinking things through.

yukikodawasan

I intend to have an outdoor wedding too. Budget is around $30K for around 35 tables. Frankly speaking, after I went around and look for the wedding venue, notice that outdoor wedding is not cheap compared to the hotels. In terms of hotel and outdoor wedding, each has its pros and cons. I believe it's just different ambience and feelings. Some prefer the outdoor wedding, some just hope to have their wedding in an air conditioned venue.

Glad that you ladies are thinking through the possible issues for us. Really appreciate it.