How much did u lose for ue wedding?

icebaby0

Loss $7k-$8k @ Raffles Town Club (not considered hotel or restaurant..hahaha)
In Yr 2001
Not inclusive of bridal gowns, etc. Only wedding tables

haywiregirl

Be firm, think have to tell how much per table.

My colleague
breakeven @ holiday inn in year 2002

My sister
breakeven @ Marina Mandarin in year 2003

key_word07

can break even is the best liao. the rest of the things already spent a big sum liao..cannot imagine make loses at banquet.
btw any ways to tell your friends/relatives how much your table cost if they dun ask?? I mean in a more discreet way lar..ehehe

silentelf

My fren loss 5K at Novotel (nka Furama)
My fren gain 1K at Meritus Mandarin
I think break even is the best, dont ever think of gaining mann.. ;p

hi twinkle.. if its close frens.., normally its quite easy just to tell them in a jokingly way.. but if its casual frens or colleagues.., really hard to mention..(for my case) ..

xynn

I'm prepared to fork out $10k for the whole wedding. My friend who held at Goodwood Park, loss of $20k, inclusive of wedding packages etc

shanlee

Actually u can invite close customers and really good friends, than u should breakeven or gain. Also depending on the location, you can guess more or less how much each will give and u can work backwards. Hmmm, i hope that sounds right.

von

ya, try not to invit ppl u not really close with.
i had a v small function oly for very close fren and realtive. & i actually made money fm wedding even aft giving my mum 4 tables.

shanlee

yeah same for me too, i had like 26 tables at Marina Mandarin, and i made enough to cover the wedding, bridal packages etc etc. So i guess really depends on who u are inviting.

haywiregirl

New(dia), mind sharing where and how many guest you had? I am thinking of not inviting my muslim friends. I know for sure at least 3-5 tables will loss.

haywiregirl

New(dia), mind sharing where and how many guest you had? I am thinking of not inviting my muslim friends. I know for sure at least 3-5 tables will loss.

von

Hi Bendi,

I had only 17 tables.
My in law's Relative wise,i have abit no ctrl coz i cant tell them not close dun invit, and their side, 2-3 gave me not up to market rate AngPao, like $20, or $25 that kind. Of coz there are oso some tt r v generous.

For our frens wise, i really restrict to close frens, most of them r frens over decades.

Colleagues wise, those colleague tt i talk to doesnt mean i will invit lo, oly talk dun mean we r close ma, i invit oly my dept ppl.

My view is ppl that attend yr wedding wun come FOC too, if u r not close to them, they give Angpao oso heartpain,& they wun share that much happines with u oso lo. so why invite?

iceblue27

whao long no cm in here , see so many ppl update here.

hi mikko, all in all , include hee

ya lor its much safer nt to invite thos A-Z ppl jus close ones wil do . but actly frens stil safe. nrmaly its loss at relatives side unles u hav rich or very generous ones

seems ttquite a handover of ppl here made minimal loss.tts gd

whao icebaby u lost so much!

silentelf

OMG! xynn.. your fren loss 20K in goodwood park hotel? I only tot of setting aside 5K for losses.. think i have to discuss with hubby again.. really scared i have 'niao' ppl (even close ones)..

key_word07

PHOBIA PHOBIA PHOBIA..how many of you all here actually have losses more than 10K??silentelf..same here..i only set aside 5K for losses and my honey moon depend greatly on the loss figure liao..

leoliz

will pple give differently for weekday lunch banquet and weekend lunch banquet?
they are no difference in pricing lei

havavi

my nightmare too if too much losses. my hub will scream at me. cos i insisted to held in a hotel. i wont ask for profits or breakeven, only hope wont have losses like more than 2k.
well you cant really guess how generous can your guest be, unless u went dinner with them before and u knew roughly how much they might give. i already prepared for 1 table to be on losses side, cos i know this group of friends not so well do, and my AD is at end of mth, worst still (no pay yet).
will give update on my expense after my AD.

sharon__joseph

last time i asked around and usually restaurant will lose more than hotel coz people tot restaurant cheap cheap infact nowaday restn not cheap leh!

myself
Jan 2006 Panpac weekend 30tables loss 2k after giving my mum 6tables + 1table gave us spa holiday package instead of angbao..

my elder bro
Dec 2002 Amara weekend 40+ tables profit more than 5k becoz in-law return all angbaos

my friend
Nov 2005 Miramar weekday almost 30tables loss 2k after giving mum 6tables

another friend
Oct 2005 Orchard Parade Hotel weekend 28tables breakeven after in-law took 6tables

azure13

A lot of times the loss will be from relatives. Sometimes even closer ones do not give mkt rate so its really tough to control and I agree that wedding dinner shld not bother too much abt profit. If can break even thats great news alreadi. As for saying tt restaurant dinners pple give less, well I think if you have many tables and are forking out for the full wedding expenses then doing it @ a hotel will be a risk as well. My 2 cents worth here

lush_queen

Just a question, for those who made losses, did you all invite relatives who bring with them children and grandchildren or great grand children kind? i very scared lose $$. the older generation do not seem to know the market rate.

sharon__joseph

lushqueen, do u have relatives who just got married? check with them if they manage to breakeven then roughly u will know how "big" or "small" r ur relatives' angbao.. for me, my hubby side only invite Mr & Mrs XX so no children turn up. it also depend on how u phrase ur invites.. as i given 6tables to my mum, i told her its up to her to manage herself and i think she told all her friends/relatives max 4pax per family..

mm.. btw i m just curious, how many wedding still paid by in-laws? i tot nowadays all fully paid by the couples themselves? even 4dianjin & pinjin i split cost with my hubby.. my mum kept saying i stupid but all my friends also split with hubby and i tot its the standard practice now?

lush_queen

hi sharon, the problem lies with my hubby side, where his dad wants to invite the whole "clan" down. hubby also headache. told hubby to tell his parents invite only the couple, no children too. imagine when my hubby and his brothers said that invite the whole clan sure lugi! his father thought differently though. i nearly fainted!
the cost of the wedding will be fully borne by us too.

iceblue27

hi sharon, dun wry u r not stupid lah. nowadays is lik tt lor, not many couples's wedg cost can fully borne by the husb unless he really hav alot of spare cash. older generation ppl hav difnt thinkg lor.imho being able to contribute to the cost is gd in anthr way as u can hav the say also

me n hubby's wil settle wedg ourslvs too, but i dun think i wil contribute to the extent of the pin jin.this $ hubby wil be able to tak back mum wil return mah. mayb in order to let ur mum no complain so much u can let ur hubby settle pin jin himslf.hehe mayb ur ears can suffer lesser

iceblue27

hi lush , i think its not easy for ur FIl nt to invite only adults. elders may feel offended unless they are modern thinkg ppl lor. bet not to make ur FIL unhappy.

its betr to jus prepare $ for the loss. lugi also no choice, 1 dinner gta b prepared. im working hard at saving for loss too..

silentelf

hi.. me & hubby oso sharing the banquet cost.. mom said dont need to give her tables cos she know we paying it ourselves.. but i feel very bad

As for pinjin, i tot it should be from the PIL? didnt know it can be fork out from hubby & myself wor...

von

Hi sharon...

i oso dun tink u shld be paying for si dian jin or pin jing. My PIL paid for it, and i upfront told my hubby that if PIL is not paying then, he has to do it.

Coz i cant be paying for my 4dian jin or my own pin jin to my mum right ??

But for others wedding expense like wedding lunch & bridal stuff, i paid half too.

Hi lushqueen,

I had tt problem too , MIL last minutes throw in 5 more invitee when my capacity is fully taken up oreadi. she didnt even ask and juz invite. i was actually very angry and nv say a word.

in the end this ppl gave me KNS Angpao, $20 for 2person, can u imagine it. Another of their distant relative, insist of bringing their 2 kids (7-8yrs old kind) and gave me $100 for 4 person.

i am not asking for big angbao or wat lor, but at least give some face lo, dun give tis kind of amt for a wedding angbao ma.

but i am glad that there are some very big angbao fm my immediate family and frens. so all in all we still make abit of $$ after giving away 4 tables to my mum.

iceblue27

hi new, hee u so cute KNS angbao u mentione. but i do agree wif u they r too much

hi silentelf u r rite 4 dian jin frm PIl. hubby shld pay for the pin jin

lush_queen

weddings are expensive...
is the 4 dian jin for certain dialect group only?

KNS ang pao...hehe.... the person still dare to write name!?

sharon__joseph

ladies, my wedding over long time liao lar. i have no problem with the 4dianjin and pinjin thingy coz anyway 4dianjin is for myself and pinjin just treat it as mthly allowance given to my mum lor. anyway my mum also bot me a diamond necklace costing more than 3k and she gave me all the small small jewellery she has...i was lucky to loss only 2k after giving 6tables to my mum coz my bro gave me angbao enuff to cover 1 table plus my jiemei and shiongdi gave about $200per pax.. i got more than 10 jiemei and shiongdi lor.. keke

silentelf

hi lushqueen.. 4 dian jin is for teochew i think.. that's what my MIL told me wor..

hi sharon... u are lucky
i will have more than 10 jiemei & xiongdi too.. if only they could gimme $200 each.. muahaha.. but i think not possible.. ;p

icebaby0

Girls/Guys,

Sorry to butt in here.

Purpose of wedding dinner is for celebration with family and friends. It's also a time (sorta) for your parents share the joy (or sometimes "show-off") with relatives. If you are worried that relative or certain pple are going to give less ang pow. You ain't gonna enjoy urself.

Maybe an alternative. If you do not wish to lose so much. Either choose a lower end restaurant/hotel or don't bother to have the wedding dinner.

I guess on my side as stated much earlier I lost about $7k - $8k (but i was fortunate pin jin paid by my MIL/FIL). Cos we gave 10 tables to my parents and let them keep the ang pow. Reason because my brother didn't have a wedding dinner so I felt that I SHLD have 1 (my hubby only child..so it was expected). Plus I knew the friends and relatives they (my parents) invited would not be able to "pay" much. So we absorb the cost of the tables. Maybe I deem it as a respect to my parents for bringing me up.

**Not trying to be "noble" or anything but it's just a 2 cents thoughts

von

Hi lusqueen,

yap, they still wrote their name there.

Hi ice baby,

i agree wif u lo, that we shouldnt be keep tinking abt the Angpao making too much lost.

when i started to prepare my wedding, i expect to loss abt 3-4K aft giving my mum the 4 tables.

And coz i have a non-typical wedding @ a museum in buffet style for lunch. many ppl start to warn me that ppl wun know how uch to give & i will end up losing alot fo $$, though so, i still went ahead to have tt idea.

i dun expect ppl to cover my cost fully, and i wun agree that guest shld cover the price of the table. ITs the guest own goodwill gesture to amt watever amt to the couple, that is why i make it a point that i oly invite close frens.

Relative else, no ctrl especially ov inlaw side.
Even i did make $$ for my wedding, i juz feel that its not juz the amount $$ i mind, its that i find the guest simply didnt give the couple or the couple parent face by giving this kind of amt.
i find abit like they r "she ci" me with AP lo.

Like wat my mum says, @ worst shld oso give $28 or $38 to look nice ma, how can give $10/person or $25/person.

icebaby0

New (dia),

agree with you on the above.
I guess u understand the point that I am making. Sometimes I guess if we are lucky, we "earn" from the wedding. Sometimes "unlucky", we lose. I guess what's important is setting aside sufficiently in case that happens.

Sometimes we must also understand that relatives attend wedding because they are "asked" to attend. If they don't attend, it's like "deem" no face. Some relatives really dun have the $$ to spare, but can't say "no".
Guess I am trying to look in this direction. And yes, I do agree, some relatives are stingy. So let it be. No point making ur day unhappy because of it.

I had relatives that gave $20 per pax and also close friends who gave about $40 (close frens - i told them to just come. No Ang Pow is okay, I just wanted them to share my joy)..cos I know some of them are financially not OKAY.

yes break even is quite gd alrdy but usually it is the relatives that gives non market rate & sadly most of the time undermkt rate. it is quite sickening but my sisters wedding. 3 relatives combined to give her a costume jewellery pendant!!! ( I think at best it is workth $9.95) that was really pathetic. suppose they were just to have free dinner. this is quite sad bec it is all abt celebrating & being happy for the married couple. so break even is a gd thing, so long as u dont lose anything ...

i had only 9 tables...minus 3 tables given to my parents, we only collected APs for 6 tables. in the end still gained about $1k. i think i'm really lucky..coz we only invited closest friends n relatives, they all gv quite gd rates (especially when most relatives from brides side r from Msia).
oh, other than cash, we did receive a few pcs of gold jewellery, i hv no idea about the cost so not counted in our profit&loss amt...

We did not lose $$ for the wedding we just break-even cos our wine were expensive and our guests enjoyed it.

My parent did not take tables thus all is fine.

vvn

for me, we had an 8 course lunch at meritus mandarin of 15 tables originally we were thinking that we will lose money, like ard 3k becoz most ppl probably will pay much less when the cost for lunch is only a little less than dinner.

but turns out that we break even, even though we gave 4 tables to my mom.

then after the lunch my mom actually gave me some ang bows from her side because it was written on the ang bow for me and not my parents or dad, so she gave them to me. those ang bows total up to abt 1.5k. like midas, this excludes the jewellery we received fr some of our guests.

but we spent quite a bit on other stuff like BS, ang bows for helpers, pin jin, holiday etc. i guess we were lucky!

bamster

hi.. just a survery..

For tables given to the bride's parents. The ang is kept by the bride's parents or the couple themselves.

What is the trend now?

evil_dolly

I will be having my AD this coming Dec. When I decided to have a wedding dinner, my hb and I took 1 year to save up all the costs of our wedding package, dinner and other miscellaneous charges. (About 32K) Cuz we decided that if we want to hold the wedding in a hotel, we must be prepared to make losses and hence we decided to hold the wedding when we have saved up the full sum of the wedding dinner.

My parents have already told me how much they are going to give us for angpow and its enough to cover half of the expenses of the wedding dinner. So I think most probably I should be able to at least break even.

cactus_79

Hi Janice, my parents will return the ang paos to me and my husband cos we are paying for the wedding ourselves. Our relatives will still hand over the ang paos to my parents though. But our understanding is the $ will come back to us.

ii_yume

i am worried that we will lose. coz it is not our idea to have wedding dinner. and my PIL insisted because hb is the eldest son. his pay is not very high and they put all the HOPE on him even though they have 3 sons. we have to cover the losses (if it really happen). my hb is having sleepless night wondering whr to get $$

my PIL cannot help us as they are oso having cashflow problem. needless to say, my own parents do not want to have wedding dinner, so cant expect them to help us. only my dad is working and he oso cannot help much...

jarenlynn

Hi Chelsa,

I'm amazed, you can take 1 year to save up $32k? I think my Hubby and I also need that amount for our wedding. Now really a headache, we don't dare to choose an expensive venue. = (

Hi pk,

Since you are caught in such a situation, how are you and you Hubby going to cope? Saving $32k in one year is impossible for us. And parent-in-law definitely can't help too, are you going to loan from Bank? Able to share how are you going to cope with such a situation?

Concern...

ii_yume,
There are alot of cost to work on for a wedding. For us we spend on/abt 20k for wedding stuff, clothes, decor, gifts, angpao, photos, video, dowary etc. We break even for the dinner at hotel and of course we do get some small angpao like $50. But I am very happy cos they turn up what you should worry is if they don't turn.

For example 5% of ppl not coming for 30 tables is 15 persons. You would lose 1-2 tables on the spot. For example our wedding only 95% of the guests came.

So just plan the cost b4 booking the place if not you might lose the booking fee.

ii_yume

i still dunno how am i gng to cope. my ad is 15 jun 07. hopefully we can work it out. my hb plan is to take a loan, it case we do lose in the wedding dinner.

the bs package is settled by us, gou da li stuff, pin jin will be settled by my in law. others i still dnno yet.

another ridiculous thing is that my PIL are looking at a total of 60 tables. maybe i take 5 and my mum take 5 out of the 60

ii_yume

an uncle told us to take it that 15% is not coming.. so we either have to invite 15% more or book 15% less seats..

we are scrimping everything and we are working on maximising our $ to the fullest.