How much did u lose for ue wedding?

vvn

cactus, heh actually i am very sua ko, never been to bintan, batam and bali before! next time must consult u when i want to go for short overseas trip.

personally, i think the only place you can do a nice decent outdoor wedding without worrying much like APs and stuff is either at Shangri La Sentosa, or Raffle Hotel lawn wedding. Not sure about Legends though. Other places, like the rest of the girls say, mosquitoes, rain, sand, hot sun etc etc etc

cactus_79

Hi Oink Oink, thanks for not thinking I'm being a wet blanket. Yes.. it's true that outdoor weddings are not cheap.. and there are alot of considerations for contingencies.... like lack of parking at some venues, sound system, rain, sun, wetness on the grounds, and what guests may think.

Just tossing out a possibility - having a small outdoor wedding for friends, having a usual wedding sit down meal for relatives...

cactus_79

Or have an outdoor solemnization (cos solemnization is shorter if no lunch/dinner but just a tea), and have the usual wedding dinner indoors.

cactus_79

If you want outdoor wedding, probably cannot have so many changes of gowns... and cannot have photo montage of video clip. Further, your photographers must be informed it is an outdoor event so may need to adjust lighting to suit weather conditions. It's best to have friends/helpers who have helped out in other outdoor weddings too... if not, it may get a bit difficult.

cactus_79

Ai Yah, Charly, I also never go to Batam, Bali and Bintan. All I read from internet.. haha. All I know is Batam and Bintan take ferry. Bali take plane. Batam and Bintan accepts SGD and USD. Bali accept USD and Indon rupiah.
So much for that!

yukikodawasan

Hi Cactus,

Will take note of these issues you brought up. It's true that older ppl may have the perception of being "kiam" having an outdoor dinner. But now the times have changed, haha. As for my hubby and I, we like the place alot and really hope to have a comfortable wedding. We didn't want anything exaggerating or common.I thought of having 2 dinners, but my hubby hoep to hold a single wedding dinner for all. Um, we will be having the 8 course dinner like the hotels.. but it's just that it's an outdoor concept.

Having an outdoor wedding really depends alot on the mother of the nature. Hope she will be happy for our union on our special day. If it rains, I can only say it's just part of life and accepts it. I would say the weather plays a crucial role in outdoor wedding. Rain is the main obstacle. As for the issues, I believe we need to coordinate well with our coordinator, to minimize the occurence of incidents.

yukikodawasan

Hi Cactus,

I had my solemnization outdoor too... It was at Swissotel. In fact it was in the noon and the weather was hot and stuffy. Luckily the solemnization area is sheltered and got fans. Somemore that day got the haze... hee.. Was like *phew*.. everything went well... except for some hiccups from the hotel side. Actually thought of having my wedding indoor, but found that that wasn't cheap too... So decided to explore outdoor wedding venues as well... cos I simply adore the outdoor ambience.. really different from the hotel settings. I do agree that hotel provides a better environment, but I do have a bad experience at a 4/5 stars hotel... so I don't really trust their level of service. I would rather choose something that my hubby and I like and get along with it.

Thanks for your input

cactus_79

Hi Oink Oink,

It's best to speak with others who have held outdoor weddings so you can make full contingency plans by learning from their experiences.

cactus_79

Ohh!! You had your solemnization outdoors, Oink Oink. Then I suppose you must have some experience already.
That's a good basis to work from.

What I meant was to hold solemnization at an outdoor venue, following by wedding dinner almost immediately indoors. In that way, you can limit the chances of mother nature wrecking the wedding and your guests will also just spend limited time outdoors, yet you get to enjoy the outdoor scenary when you solemnize. That's of course assuming you have not held your solemnization and AD yet, and plan to do so both on the same day.

Actually, $30k for 35 tables is quite a decent budget for a wedding dinner, even indoors.

yukikodawasan

Ok,will try to learn from those brides who had their wedding outdoor.

Oh having an outdoor solemnization followed by an indoor hotel wedding... I thought of that before, this way we can save alot of costs. But we had our solemnization already. Hee..cant wait already...wahahaha

My budget is around $30k lor.. not sure if this is enough... but definitely for a 4/5 stars hotel, the amount may not be enough if we are having more tables and with the hidden costs and of course the GST hike... think that will be much more.

cactus_79

Hi OinkOink, I think $30k is enough for 35 tables. Sheraton Tower's price for 2007 boils down to about $60/pax before tax. They charge about $700 plus / table for 12.

rubberducky

Thanks for all the suggestions and advice!

Oink oink, we probably share the same love of nature heh? Heehee.

The FH & I want an enjoyable, fun, yet meaningful wedding, which is why we've decide to cast aside convention and do things our way.
Thankfully, the people who matter most are supportive, so we have less obstacles to worry about. *Phew!*

We love picnics and spend lots of times at parks with our dogs, so we definitely want our wedding to reflect who we are. Our dogs are very important to us and HAVE TO be included in our plans. So you see lah, a hotel dinner is immediately out for us! ;P

We'll be holding a late evening event, so hopefully the weather will be cool and breezy. If our budget permits, we'll get mist fans (or normal fans) installed in the marquee to help as well. If it rains, we'll just have to sit it out or dance in the rain I guess! ;) Haha. I don't really care if my gown gets dirty (already prepared for this - dogs sure jump on me with their muddy paws one) or if my heels get muddy - as long as we all have a fabulous time.

Also helps that I don't intend to change gowns and we won't have a video montage either. What we'll have instead is a really good band, good booze, a great desert bar and dogs running wild. ;P We intend to have our solemnisation just before dinner, so i'll be all glammed up when my guests first arrive... after that, we'll see!

Thanks for bringing up bugs and creepy crawlies faithz. I guess we'll throw in citronella candles and citronella patches for the guests to wear as well, that should help keep (some) bugs away.

Back to ang pow expectations... (heheh) If $50-60 is really the going rate for an outdoor wedding, we're in trouble... Ours will be a sit-down dinner, complete with entertainment. Hopefully we can word the invitation well enough so it reflects our vision of "casual, fun wedding - BUT also very CLASS one hor." :p

cactus_79

your plans sound great, Quack!

Perhaps I'm more of the strait laced sort of gal... expect to be treated like a princess on my wedding day, everything to fall in place, quietly!
An outdoor wedding is just not possible for me!

Good luck in your wedding preparations, ladies!

yukikodawasan

Hi Quack,

Oh you have dogs? That's interesting. Um, ya outdoor wedding seems to be a wonderful choice for you. Which wedding venue had you choosen? Hope your dream will come true, be a pretty princess that day... keke...

Ya I simply love the nature. Although I hate the bugs and mosquitoes, but I feel that it's closer to my personality. I can't stand the traditional way of having a proper wedding at the hotel. Haha

Be wild on your wedding and stay cool. Can share more ideas so that I can bring up some of the issues to my coordinator?

Cactus - The $700 for a table of 12 at Sheraton is for wkdays only. I had seen their quotation for weekends and it's like $1000+ per table with the GST hike. I can't imagine spending so much on my wedding. Basically to me, ROM is more impt and I have my memorable ROM. I'm targetting for a weekend dinner and something simple...my dear, outdoor wedding can be romantic and you can have a prince and the princess live happily ever after story too.... hee

faithz17

if you really want to go ahead with ur outdoor wedding and are prepared to splurge on whole dome-shaped marquees and the works then i think it should be quite a gorgeous wedding... if you haven't found your location, can try some of the yatch clubs, SYC, Keppel Club, country clubs, punggol marina, one degree (not sure if i got the name right... it's at the marina side very ulu have to drive in place)... these places are outdoor and got sea breeze and romantic sunset... or if you have the budget, Beaufort Sentosa or Raffles Hotel with delectable lawns... or Altivo?

your dream wedding sounds fantastic in a european climate, but in singapore weather... to me tt was the main reason why i wld favour indoor... be prepared for the losses... will definitely be more than normal hotel... if outdoor wedding want to do nice nice really must put in the expenses... and people might not know wat to expect and thus might not know how to give accordingly...

cactus_79

Oink Oink - Thanks for the inforamtion. I wasn't aware it was for weekdays only!

I agree outdoor wedding can be romantic.. and it can be even more romantic with all the beautiful outdoor lightings if not held indoors.. but guess that's not suitable for me... cos I wouldn't like my guests to be upset by potentially the weather,etc... I mean, it matters alot to me to have my friends and relatives happy on my special day also... dun know if I'm childish in my thinking!
I My picture of a dream wedding is the traditional type... bride and groom enter ballroom with lots of dry ice.. dreamlike... photos are flashed to show all the guests our dating days, the proposal, the solmenization, etc... we can't do all this outdoors....

I guess everyone has a different notion of a dream wedding.
But I hope we all can see our dreams come true!

cactus_79

To add on to faithz' point, I think to some extent it depends on the type of guests you are inviting. Some guests may insist on bringing their maids, kids, especially relatives. Usually, the losses from weddings are from those who come in large groups. Also, the older relatives may not appreciate the cost which goes in to an outdoor wedding. Instead, they may complain about difficulty in getting to the location, parking, weather,etc.

However, if you are inviting expats, young adults, people who have attended outdoor weddings or who have held outdoor weddings before, you may not make any losses from APs from them.

yukikodawasan

Hi Cactus,

Thanks, I understand what you mean. Yes each girl will have their dreamlike wedding. I would love to have one too. But I plan to do my montage, proposal and all in my wedding too. I believe we do have something in common, just that difference in the wedding venue.
Ya it depends alot on the crowds that we are inviting. But I'm sure youngsters would appreciate outdoor wedding more than indoor. It's like, it's something out of ordinary. They are in a better position to bao an AP for an outdoor wedding. Hopefully, they are able to advice their elders too. * keeping fingers crossed* We are not expecting big APs too. To me, as long as my relatives and friends attend my wedding, I'm more than happy.

Hi faithz17,
My second option is Raffles Marina. I've been there once and I'm really mesmerized by the ambience there. I saw the sunset and it's nice. But the venue is too far....

faithz17

yah lor tt's one thing about outdoor weddings... FAR... but since most people will take cab anyway just make sure you have a map printed in your cards...

so wat's ur first choice??

for me my idea of dream wedding hmmm... honestly i would like to have it in a medieval castle with chandeliers and knights bearing their coat of arms and swords, banners/ flags flapping in the background, high ceilings, high chairs, grand table settings... but too expensive to go overseas, and can't have in singapore... haiz... closest thing is in ballroom with high ceiling and ceiling all covered with balloons so that the ribbons are like all dangling down from the ceiling... but since i rather cut my losses, i know must scale down wedding and save more for the marriage itself...

yukikodawasan

Hi Faithz17,

Yes... it's difficult to find an ideal outdoor wedding venue...My first choice is Alkaff Mansion, but it's no longer around. Actually I'm still exploring other options. It's not that I must get an outdoor venue.. I'm still scouting around. Ya I think if we wanna have an outdoor wedding, we need to increase the expenses and give the wedding venue a more romantic feel. um, any other ideas?

rubberducky

Hi faithz, a medieval wedding sounds fantastic - imagine if it could come complete with mock jousts and competitions... so fun!!

I can understand some the sentiments against an outdoor wedding. I'm sure we'll have fun, but whether or not EVERYONE will have fun, I dunno lah. Heheheh. But we would really really really love to have our dogs there, so an outdoor place (where they can be off-leashed) is best for us!

OinkOink, we're seriously considering the stand-alone chalets at Changi.
The plus points:

- Secluded area (only invited guests & dogs. We figured that if we hold it at a club/botanic gdns, there'll be strangers walking past etc. etc. - not very nice to us.)

- Cosy/intimate/romantic location (Easy to co-ordinate - esp. decorations & theme!)

- The chalet itself (or the rooms) should be air-con, so whoever needs to can seek a reprieve)

- Wonderful view of the sea & the sunset!!

- Lovely sea breeze (fingers crossed)

- Got huge trees - I like trees.

The hugest negative point:

- Chalets can only be booked 3 MONTHS before the date!!!
How to co-ordinate and book all the vendors with a trimeline of 3 months??! *sob sob* This rule is proving to be the biggest headache to us. Even the wedding planner has confirmed that there is no way to book the place any earlier... not even if we want to pay more.

Honestly, we have our hearts set on this location. Now dunno how... it's so vexing.
Do we go ahead and hope for the best??

cactus_79

Hey Quack, think you should just go ahead with your plans for this location since your hearts are dead set.

Would it be possible to book vendors for the date first but not confirm the location? Perhaps you have a tentative backup location?

babyfifi

Quack, I think for weddings you have to call Aloha seperately. Cannot use the normal bookings cos normal booking cannot use for such functions. Check with them ba.

babyfifi

Oh ya, and pets are not allowed at the Aloha chalets too.

Sound systems all also not allowed.

You better check all these out first.

rubberducky

Fifi, thanks for the tips! I'll check with Aloha with regards to the booking. I also heard that pets are not allowed... we're prepared to risk it if we go with the location. ;P That sound systems are not allowed is a first for me!
Will check too.

Cactus, we should be able to book an alternative venue, just that it'll cost us more. Headache man. :p

cactus_79

Quack, you mentioned having a wedding planner. I think you may have to dump more of the fact finding on her/him. I must say most singaporeans have little experience in planning outdoor weddings. It's very good you have engaged a professional to help you with it.

babyfifi

I would suggest you better dun risk it. Cos Aloha is government owned. So if anything go wrong, they won't give you face. Not like private company, can discuss. They will just kick you out & spoil your wedding. And the guard does check (from my experience). They will check the number of people also. Cos got occupancy limit de.

If you want to have pets, why dun you have it at Legends Fort Canning instead. They have the expertise for outdoor wedding summore.

vvn

How about this restaurant Flutes near fort canning? My colleague had an alfresco like dinner there. the restaurant has 2 levels. so the cocktail was downstairs where there's the deck and some open area for us to hang around. they marched in from the stairs along the grasspatch near the firestation.

then it was solemnization, they started a little later than planned but it was very nice lah, with the sun set and all.

afterwards guests will proceed upstairs for the dinner, and it's air con!

but the place is quite small, there were only 15 tables i think. and there isn't a place to show montage, chamgpagne fountain etc etc. it's more like an outdoor place only with aircon dining!

babyfifi

If you want to forego the pets, Aloha can still discuss with them about everything else. But that place also quite ulu. Unless you provide transport.

faithz17

actually Quack if your main concern is for your dogs to join you, can check with the hotels some of them might accomodate your dogs if they realise that it's very important to you...

as for Flutes, my hubby and i were looking at that place for our solemnization, the main point is their food is good, price around $50-65 per pax if i remember correctly... but we didn't take it cos the place looked a bit not well-preserved... but the food is great... you could have your solemnization at Fort Canning then adjourn to Flutes for dinner bah... but it's also a really small area... and no central stage as well... so when go there is really to sit and eat only...

which wedding planner did you engage?? use her lah, otherwise you engage her then you still have to run around then hire her waste money only...

cactus_79

Acatully the idea of proving transport for guests is a good idea for weddings - at least everyone gets there on time. You just tell your guests there will be scheduled departures if they plan to take the free bus rides....

rubberducky

We have met up with a planner, but haven't actually engaged his services yet, so I can't dump all this on him leh. :p We spoke with Jonathan from Wedding Acts, who was already kind & patient enough to let us pick his brains...

Faithz, is Aloha really so strict? We were thinking that including the dogs for a few hours should be fine. We don't intend to stay overnight.

We actually considered Fort Canning already, but somehow, it got vetoed as a possible venue.

Our fall-back plan is to hold 2 dinners - one at the Four Seasons for relatives/family(dogs can attend) and another small outdoor dinner at Changi Village Hotel (poolside - dogs cannot go) just for friends. Can't do things completely our way then, but more and more so, it looks like a more feasible plan. :p What do you girls think?

In terms of costs coverage, I guess having 2 dinners at 2 hotels will also be 'safer' than 1 big outdoor event. :p

cactus_79

I think the plan of having one outdoors/one indoors will be better also.. in the sense of your AP collection from relatives who may not understand your cost considerations at holding an outdoor event.

I think if you guys go through with this plan, need to check with parents which celebration comes first. I think it should be AD tea ceremony, then family dinner, next day then outdoor dinner. Some parents may be more particular with the sequence of events.

babyfifi

I think you are asking me ah? Just remember that Aloha is a government bungalow. It's original/main purpose is for civil servants as a benefit. So they can go by the "at most I dun earn your money" attitude. Furthermore, their rules & regulations very clear already in the website. So its a bit hard to bend. Furthermore, they have the whole government behind them.

But you can always check with them lor.

faithz17

i wonder if wedding planners are worth the money?? how much are the rates for wedding planners nowadays anyway??

yah Aloha things is Fifi not faithz... ;p

cactus_79

I think some planners are worth the money, others are not. depends on their contacts. I also think the longer they are in the business, the more "valuable" they are - cos of their contacts.

We can more or less get wedding ideas from internet, books & magazines, but we need current contacts which people in this field have.

Then again, if we have friends and relatives who are confident speakers, we can rope them in as emcees; if we have friends and relatives who sell wine, we can give our business to them and surely we will get a good price..etc. So I think largely it also depends on our contacts, and how much time we have to plan for the wedding....

There are also some couples who get very highly strung when planning for the wedding so it's better to leave it to third parties than to argue over weddings every other day. THere are other couples who work through differences/get to understand each other better through issues which arise so planning for their own wedding may be more beneficial...

my 2 cents' worth.

babyfifi

I find planners too ex. Mostly charge abt $2K-$4K to do things I can do myself. If both BTB & GTB are very busy kind then hire lor. Else might as well have the fun (& stress) of planning your own event. You will definitely remember the process in years to come. Furthermore, we will be more prepared to help our children in future.

vvn

Yup yup.... i think best to plan wedding yourself unless you totally can't cope. afterall, wedding is once in a lifetime thing, should go through the whole process to treasure it and make it more memorable.

yukikodawasan

Hi Quack,

Oh, Changi Aloha Chalet... I think that's spacious. But are you inviting alot of guests?Yeah, it's a place for your beloved doggies.. Um, ya I agreed that you need alot of coordination. It's tough especially you are handling it alone. I'm considering the Fort Canning as my HB and I love the Marquee. Hope to have our wedding there. But of cos, need to explore more before signing the contract.

rubberducky

Oops! Sorry faithz and Fifi! heheheh, got your replies mixed-up!

To us, a wedding planner for an outdoor do is quite worth the spend because of all the logistics involved. From the caterers to the marquee people to the florists to the band etc., etc., it's quite a lot to do! I want full involvement in the conceptual planning, but after that, it'll be great to have a professional take over to see the vision to completion. Not that we're the super-busy type lah, just that I would rather have no stress on me or on any members of my wedding party - so we can all concentrate on having fun.
Besides, a good wedding planner should be able to contribute lots of ideas and give lots of cost-saving suggestions.

OinkOink, Fort Canning would be a gorgeous location too.
Actually, we really like Changi Village Hotel's outdoor poolside area, it's just unfortunate that it's so tiny! :p

Cactus, I believe this sequence should be correct yah? ---> Solemnisation/mass/ceremony, then the dinner for relatives, then dinner for friends. That is, if we're splitting up our dinner lah.

From the way things are moving along, I think we'll prob end up doing it this way. If that's the case, it'll be bye-bye Changi Cottage.

faithz17

hey, let's keep each other updated on upcoming wedding shows and fairs?? i know of Holiday Inn Atrium's one on 13th January 2007, $25 per couple, $20 per couple if using UOB cards... interested in Grand Copthorne Waterfront though...

perhaps a bit off topic, but hey since we all so "tou yuan"...
anyway if at the fairs can save quite a bit with certain perks and deals, then minimise amount lost at wedding... there, linked it back to topic! ;p

perhaps you guys can update when ur AD is coming, or was held, etc...
me just ROMed Nov 06 looking for AD venue, BS etc, for 09 Sept 2009... wait jiu jiu lor... cos hubby like... heh...

tingshen

I was so surprised to see this kind of thread around .....

come on, it's YOUR wedding, why must it be at somebody else's' expense?

If you can't afford it, do it simple, so it CHEAP. For those who really rely so heavily on the guest angpau, i pity you guys, it's soooo meaningless........

AngPau is a blessing and wishes from your guests, not a "payment" of what they are attending!

janyen

TS, not everyone can afford a wedding banquet of sorts. Yet at the same time, the societal, peer and parental pressures are there that actually demand a certain celebration of sorts is required. while we aren't looking at guests 'paying' for our wedding, being an asian society, we still hope that our guests will be more generous with their 'blessings and wishes' to tide any young couple over.

nobody goes into a wedding hoping to make money, although there are some who secretly hope that they can somehow break even. we're just curious about each other's loss when holding a wedding and by talking about these fears openly, we can share our experiences with each other

cherryapple

I am having my wedding soon. As wa janyen have say, wedding dinner is just for the respect of elderly/relatives/parents. I get pressure by my mum cos wa a dinner. And having one is nt cheap but we give in. I dont expect to earn bk even thou I hear from others they earn almost 10K for their wedding.(how they do it?) I hope to break even lor... cos we have already lost the $ for the gal side's tables(imagine 10 tables) we pay. Those tables we wont able to get bk the ang bao lor....

Anyone managed to break even or earn bk or lose?

sunshinepeach

This is an interesting newspaper article.. And i do agree wif it.. these days, being a young couple who wants to settle down is stressful.. 1stly, getting a new flat is like a mission impossible.. seems like always lagging behind the queue when the balloting results are released.. sourcing for resale is lagi more jialat.. with the property market hot like hotcakes.. The property owners are asking for at least a 10K cash (for not so popular area).. even if gotten flat, needs a big sum of $$ for reno.. then, wedding dinner is another headache. All our savings from all the years of working will definitely be dried up... Sighzz.. Getting married and setting up a family shld be a happy thing to be rejoiced over but the $$ issue is really something which causes a big headache.

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,152044-1199138340,00.html?

TS>> I agree wif u tat ang pow is a blessings for the couple.. we shld't have the mentality of trying to earn from the ang pows.. BUT we certainly do hope, there is a break even.. or worst case.. minimum losses.. You must understand that wedding dinners is something which we youngsters do not wish to have becos it's a hassle.. We cld have a simple way out.. ROM then go for honeymoon.. Isnt it cheap and simple? BUT it is something we must do.. a minimum way to thank our parents to bring us up and its for them to show their relatives that their children had grown up and married off.. I dunno abt u.. maybe this is my family's old thinking lah... It's not like the past where the groom's father will pay for everything.. now, the couple pays for everything.. We also cannot expect our parents to fork out $$ for our wedding mah..

Bitch Wife>> Where will u be holding ur dinner? I will be holding mine at Holiday Inn Atrium..