Hilton Hotel

Hi Krissie

I have 30 Litres of beer. not too sure if that's 2 barrels? i dun think so yea? =) As mentioned, due to the potential $70 price increase, June was not very generous with the perks. That's y the suggestion to trade off certain stuff for wat u really think u need or want.

Hello Joanne, the 4k is fixed, i tried asking for them to lower but jac said its a hotel policy.. the projector too must pay for 2006

Hi Juv, oh icic.. so hw much is chargeable for the projector? by when we have to pay the deposit? upon confirmation or signing of contract?

Rehi Val,

Hilton is using carlsberg beer thus 1 barrel is only 23L and not the usual 30L which other hotels are offering. Thus, she is giving about 1.5 barrels of beer free..which is good for her standards..
So how many bottles of wine corkages did you mentioned to waive? Me going to get their in house red wine at $25+++ per bottle...think by the time add finish everything for 1 table, the cost per table will come up to close to $850/per table...jialatz, judging by the standard $60 - $80 angpao relatives and friends are giving, we are going to make a big loss...hehe

Hello Joanne, the projectors (2 of them) are at 300 nett. They will add the cost to the final bill...deposit is fixed

Hello Krissie, do you know what type of red wine is Hilton serving? actually come to think of it if Hilton is unable to waive the corkage then it is beta to take their hse wine right?

How many btls of wine will u be preparing?

Juv, thanks a lot for your advice...

I will be meeting June this wkend for the 1st time n dun think I hv great neg skill.. :p afraid tat I wun b able to get any gd perks.. any tactics?

Hi Joanne, think you don't have to worry too much, both june and jac are very nice people. They try to give but what they can provide is limited. What i found out is the perks are getting lesser.
But the more tables you have, the more perks you can get

What are you hoping to get?

hi joanne. yup. im a hilton bride in 06. will get the old prices she quoted some time ago - which is good. somemore 9 course and hilton's food are renowened to be pretty gopod, so thats why they are my final choice in the end.

but i only looking at 20 tables thats why i cant get too many perks

Hi Krissie

Managed to get waiver for only 24 bottles... would probably be getting the wine on consignment basis outside of Hilton. I was reading the forum and one bride suggested going for larger bottles of wine (1.5L) instead of 0.75L bottles to save on corkage. That is something we might wanna consider =)).

Juv, actually I am oso not too sure wat I wan.. but my FH hope to have another night stay in the hotel and of cos waiver of corkage... other than tat shld b ok... cos I think I wun have many guest drinking beer.. more on wine... I guess..

Hi everyone...
Wow...the Hilton's thread is getting active again! =)

I'm gg to be Hilton bride too in June 06. Confirmed in March. June's very nice. Just try to ask for a bit at a time. =) Have fun Joanne!!

Thanks timminbuzz.. glad to hv so many khakis here in this thread to share.. if not I worried get even more worried.. anyhow its my 1st time..

hey timmin. just checking, which decor u choosing ? im decided btwn the colourful one and the one with red roses. dun really like the white roses and floral theme one le. hopefully by our weddings next year, we can have much nicer and more contemporary themes. =)

hey prettychicstuff...

i haven't decided. But I'm leaning towards the vine one (red roses). Dun really like the others. Yeah...hopefully, will have more themes and more favours to choose from. =)

btw prettychicstuff.. will u b using hse wine or u r bringing ur own?

timminbuzz, any idea whether they will decor the chairs as well cos what I saw in the mag is this way but I doubt so right? anyway the red rose theme is nice..

Joanne...

They'll have seat covers for all the chairs, but the decor on the chairs are only on the VIP tables. U'll see the decor when u visit the bridal room June shows u. =)

FYI...
Me using my own wine. Think shld be cheaper.

oh ic, Timminbuzz..
but provided there is a wedding in the rm right? so did u manage to take a glance at the bridal suite?
I guess me too cos a fren of mine can put me on consignment... but if you calculate hilton is 25+++ so if we use our own wine plus the corkage charge is actually almost the same..

Hi there Joanna,

Since I have 28 - 30 tables, i think i will be bringing 20-24 bottles of wine minimum. The in house red wine Hilton will be providing at $25+++ is Terrasses D'azur Carbernet 2002, France (Pleasant & well balanced with tinge of green peppers, blackcurrent & a spicy hint) -> Description given in the brochure.

What time u meeting June on Saturday? Me going down at 6.45pm on saturday to meet her, to pay my deposit and sign the contract. Hopefully there will be a wedding going on tomorrow so that I can view the other themes..saw the red roses theme, and it was very magical something like a fantasy movie because of the vines and stuff...

Hey Val,

Think me stick to the Hilton's in house red wine since my wine corkage is not waived. Will be more expensive if I bring in external wine since the corkage charge is $15+++

Joanne...

There's actually a special room just for weddings. So you can view that anytime with June. U can also see the favours n everything there.

As for wine...me just serving up to the number of bottles I have free waiver of corkage, which is a bottle/table.

Halo Krissie

June jus called to confirm meeting me this sat at 7pm.. wow.. mayb we can say halo... haha..
the description sounds not bad tough cos outside market for red wine is more exp than white..
Oh is it.. must be very nice then.. so let's hope tat there will b a wedding this sat...
Btw I checked with June b4 and she said that the wine corkage is $15 nett so u beta ask her again.

Timminbuzz, tat's great! I can go n take a look tmr... Oh wat are the wedding favors available?

Oh, I think tat is okay.. hope you dun hv too many wine drinker...

Hi again Joanne,

Probably we get to see each other tomorrow. But June say she will fix her next appointment at 7:15pm tomorrow, probably she thinks we will finish earlier tomorrow. So if there happened to be a delay on my side, I apologised to you in advance first hor...
but seriously doubt that there would be a delay

Even if the wine corkage is $15 nett, and i get the cheapest wine at $15. The total cost of 1 bottle will still be more expensive if I get external wine...so just stick with Hilton's in house wine

As for the wedding favours, June mentioned that there maybe new favours by next year. They also have a wide selection of invitation cards and pretty guests books.

Wow Krissie

So I guess I can be late already then u will hv more time... heehee... its okay.. no need to apologise cos June is the one who is making the appt.. btw she ask me to page for her when reach n she will come and meet me in the lobby.. then if u r disturbed halfway then u wld knw tat I have arrived...
Yep, I also think it is beta to get their hse wine.. but hv mixture of white wines oso.. u know the price for white?
Any idea wat u going to choose for the wedding favors.. Oh u know I m getting so excited abt the meeting up tmr.. (",)

Yeah Joanna,

I understand the feeling...I was excited when I started viewing all the various ballrooms...hehe...in regards to the white wine...There are 3 different types which is stated in Hilton's wine list...Terrasses D'azur Chardonnay 2002, France (A delicate & complex bouquet. Mix of power & freshness gives this harmonious wine its character) - $25 +++....Baron De Lestac, White Bordeaux (Expressive with taste of wood, white flowers, lemon & vanilla, Full finish in mouth) - $32+++...Basedow Semillon 2000, Australia (Lemon citrus & grapefruit aromas, supported by the subtle toasty vanillin oak) - $45+++...Hope this helps...

Just a word of advise, remember to have a list of questions ready for her coz I think she tend to rush thru things, maybe becoz she is very bz.

Hello Joanne.. just ask nicely and i'm sure they'll try to give. As for the 1 additional night stay, i tried asking too but she said it will depend on availability. Guess i just have to wait

Thank u Krissie and Juv

Krissie, so there r onli 3 types of wines available but they all sure sound so tempting n nice right? Ok I will list out my questions..

Juv, I will try to sound as nice as I can. ;p mayb u can tell them tat u dun mind dwn grading ur 2nd nite stay (i.e. standard / deluxe rm) as I think the availability is higher cos tat is wat I intend to request. Then u can oso experience their other rms as well.. one stone kills two birds huh..

Wish me good luck and enjoy ur weekends..

hi timminz, i also like the red roses. cant decide betwn the colourful one or the red roses theme. hee. hee. trying to source for my own wine now. as mine is a weekday, hopefully there are less heavy drinkers u see.

prettychicstuff...

Personally i feel the red roses are the least tacky looking. =p
Let me know how ur wine sourcing goes. =)

hi timmin ... i have this contact CT Venture - 6489 2590. my friend got him for her wedding. maybe checking him out

I just had my wedding in Hilton on 14 May. Hilton has been fabulous & the staff very helpful.
I had waiver for wine cockages for 24 btls only, therefore I took consignment from outside supplier for 1.5L btl. In total, I used up 21 btls of red wine, and 3 barrels of beer (provided FOC by Hilton). I had 30 tables.
I took the red rose vine theme & it's fantastic. I also changed the red ribbons on VIP chairs to red sashes. Previously saw the garden theme with the fountain & found that it's a bit strange & empty-looking.

Hi Theresa

Thank you for sharing with us ur experience with Hilton.. do u hv any photos to share? Can you email me at [email protected].
Btw is there any additional charges for changing the ribbons?
Also, do you have any Halal food for ur wedding and how do Hilton charge?

HI Joanne,

You can view my pic at http://community.webshots.com/scripts/editPhotos.fcgi?action=viewall&albumID=355598795
No, there's no additional charges for changing of ribbons. I originally wanted to mix the red roses vine theme with the fountain but the florist said that they've tried it but found it unsuitable.
I do not have any halal table.
I have 30 tables + 2 reserve, but I invited 320 guests. As there's bound to be absentees, I still managed to fill up all 30 tables & leave the 2 reserve empty. In fact, I even profit from my banquet.

Hi Joanne,

So how was ur negotiation with June last saturday? What perks did she offer u?

Didnt manage to see on saturday leh...

Hi Theresa

Cannot view ur pics thru the link lei.. some error occurred saying that I am not the owner of this album.. Can u pls resend?
Wow.. always thought tat its difficult to make profits fr hotel.. lucky u..

Hihi Krissie

Everything went well and I think tat June is a nice lady.. she only waive 12 btls wine corkage and 30l beer.. but overall nt too bad lah.. then she will kiv an additional nite stay...
Ya lor.. din c u too.. anyway if c oso dunno..haha.. but ur mtg finish quite early cos I arrived ard 7 10pm... let u hv more time mah..

Hi again Joanne,

Yeah, i left at 7pm punctually...didnt want to take up ur time with June either...hehe...we both so considerate...
so u taking the vista room? weekday or weekend?

Krissie

Oh is it? Actually I reached quite early but jus hang ard at forum.. haha...
I will b using the vista rm cos onli hv 20 tables and find tat rm is jus nice and cosy feeling.. will b wkend in oct 2005...

Joanne,

Oct 2005?? So quick ah? Just 5 more months before the big day...u taken ur PS already? Now I feel super KS for booking my banquet close to 1 yr before the event...hehe