Hilton Hotel

young_bride

Just collected invitation cards today. Suprised to find out that Hilton provide stickers for sealing of Envelopes.

They also have a list of music/songs provided for 1st/2nd March n 1st dish...save us lots of trouble....really regretting buying my song CD 'cause Hilton also has that song in the list...

June is very nice as u get to know her better...think she is those "eat soft, dun eat hard" person.

sk2

Theresa,
That's nice to hear that hilton has the songs. I din buy CD, I have all the in MP3 format, maybe convert them then. Ya, I agree with you. If you are nice to her,she will be nice to you too.

sun96

hi theresa

thks for sharing w us tat hilton has a list of music/songs available... will request fr june e song list to check for e song whether is it available on her list b4 getting the CD...
261220.gif

keep us update on any new info!!!

sun96

hi getting_married

i dun hv foto of e ballrm but i rem one of e hilton bride got... now i seldom c her in tis thread, when i see her in here, will ask her to pm u e foto...
each ballrm hv diff min table requirement...
for wkend, grand ballrm min tables is 40 n vista ballrm is 20 or 25 (dun really rem), best for u to contact june for more detail info...
261232.gif

u need to cfm yr AD then easier for u to source ard for yr banquet venue... u hv any in mind??

greekgal

Hi sun

Thanks so much for your advice. I have not chosen the AD date. Any recommendations for masters for these dates picking? =)
Guess i have to check out their ballrooms soon..

sun96

hi getting_married

my MIL took my hubby n mine sheng cheng ba zi to temple to choose a few dates, fr there we narrow down to one...

hilton has 3 diff rms... grand ballrm, vista ballrm & inn of happiness... u can chk them out...

young_bride

Hi Cadaryne,
My wine supplier is Parker's Wine at 44 North Canal Rd. You can call Melisa Tan at 65353987. They don't open on weekends. The wine range is between $13 - $17. The $15 wine is the strongest.

Hi Sun96,
Below are the list of songs from Hilton:
1) 1st Wedding March
- Trumpet Voluntary
- The wedding March Bridal Chorus
- From This Moment On - Shania Twain

2) 2nd Wedding March
- A whiter shade of pale
- Love Me - Colin Ray
- Because you love me - Celine Dion
- Have I told you lately - Rod Stewart
- When you say nothing at all - Ronan Keating
- Only Love - Trae Mark
- Everything I do, I do it for you - Bryan Adam
- Endless Love - Diana Ross & Lionel Richie

3) 1st Dish
- Matsuri - Kitaro
- Hevia - Busindre Reel
- Aria - Yanni
- Classical Gas - Vanessa Mae
- Hong Ding Love Song - Voyage

Hi getting_married,
You can go to this website to check out the auspicious dates.
http://mindcity.sina.com.hk/MC-lunar/

young_bride

Hi sun96,
No problem...I "kapo" mah..

Just settled my red wine today..selected the $34 per bottle (chilean wine) as it comes in a larger size (1.5L). The others are all in 750L. This can save on the cockage charges.

Somemore, only need to commit 20% of your whole order. I ordered 21nos 1.5L bottles for 30 tables, & only need to commit 4 bottles. The rest are on consignment.

In fact, my wine supplier says 18 btls are enough for 30 tables.

Also sent my cards for printing today. Choose gold hotstamping with illustrations at no extra charge. Cost about $170 for 225nos of cards.

An advise for all, as long as the text & illustration is on the same page, the printer shouldn't charge u extra as they only need to come up with a single plate.

cadburina

Will there be a lot of wastage if considering larger bottles of wine? Did you get any white wines, beer or hard liquor?

Theresa, who was your hot stamper?

Thank You

sun96

hi theresa
u ordered e red wine fr yr supplier not thru' hilton?? hilton charge u any cockage charges for bringing in red wine on yr own??

e printing vdr is recommend by hilton too or u source on yr own huh?

young_bride

Hi Cadaryne & sun96,
Dun think there'll be wastage as I'll limit Hilton to finish per bottle before openin another. For every 5 bottles opened, they have to inform us. Then after dinner, I want them to return all the empty & used bottles to me.

I'll be having red wine, beer & hard liquor.

I have free cockage for wine.

The printer was recommended to me. My printer is Jasvy Marketing Aency. Blk 54 Kallang Bahru #02-02 JTC Flatted Fty. You can contact Jason at 62992263.

The hilton printer is a middle-man. They actually outsource the printing to other companies. Therefore cost is higher & u might have problems communicating to the right person.

sun96

hi theresa

ic... so u r getting e red wine fr hilton so there's no cockage charge...
as for e printing service is recommend by hilton... i noe e cost will norm cost much higher... thks for e info!!!

snowyii

Could anyone out there giv me some advise on Inn of Happiness? Give me some feedback on the ballroom...anyone use the ballroom? Is it L-shaped? Hope to hear from u and thank you.

maybebabee

hi theresa
which card design did you chose in the end? who recommended jasvy to you? your prices for printing seems quite good
corkage waiver for your wines is also quite good ... u lucky gal!

juv

Hi all, am new here and seek all your advice. i just met up with jac and she said that we must rent the projectors at the grand ballroom and it will cost $300 for both
Anyone managed to get a waiver for that?

sun96

hi kiki

i saw inn of happiness, was a L-shaped area...
hv u seen vista ballrm?? i found tat vista ballrm shape more even than IOH... how many tables u r looking at huh??

young_bride

Hi sun96,
Nope.i didn't get my wine from Hilton. I got my own wine from Parker's Wine. They will deliver the wine straight to Hilton. I only need to return the unused wine back at the next working day. The printer that I get is also not recommended by Hilton. It was recommended by someone else.

Hi Maybebabee,
I choose the rectangle red card with ribbon. Hilton only supply cards, envelopes & stickers for sealing envelopes. I got my ribbons for $6/roll(abt 27m) at Concourse. 3 rolls should be enough.
Jasvy was recommended by someone else as my printing is sponsored.

Hi Juv,
I get to rent the projectors for free. In fact, u should also try to get a waiver 'cause they will also video cam the whole event n project onto screen.

maybebabee

hi theresa
do u mind telling me where u bought yr ribbon frm at concourse? card guys trying to charge me $13 a roll (30 yards) & i have 35 tables so if can save 50% i wld want to. my wedding is in june, just after yrs
but then i only hve been given 75% of cards
whereas u had 85% *envious*. extra cards $1 ea. *sighs* i also checked wth jasvy but then their quote was quite high, after including havin to print the XI word in frnt of the cover page

sun96

hi theresa

initially i'm quite confused lei... now i get e whole pic liao... thks

i oso wanna noe e loc where u get e ribbon... is quite cheap... mind to share??

oohlahlah

Hi Juv, my AD is also in Mar 06. I have made an appt with June next weekend to look at the ballroom. I would like some comments from ex-Hilton brides on the ballroom, suite, food, service etc..
I have about 25-27 tables, which room is suitable for me?

oohlahlah

And wat other additional freebies did you all get from Hilton? eg free flow flow, waiver of corkage on wine, additional night stay at suite, waiver of projector rental etc.

timminbuzz

Hi littlemay,

I think June's really nice and the feedback abt e food ahs been good. Saw the suite...it's OK... 1 bedrm and 1 living rm. The Grand Ballroom requires a minimum of 40 tables on weekend. They have a Vista Rm...but tt's max 20-22. Their Inn of Happiness, which is orientally decorated takes max 30 tables.

I got waiver for 2 cartons of wine. I asked for additional night stay, but she'll get back to me on Mon. i got waiver off projector cos there are stuffs I dun want.

young_bride

Hi Maybebabee & sun96,

I can't remember the name of the shop that I bought my ribbons from. But it's on Level 2. They have a lot of flowers & stationary shops. You can go & compare all the prices in the stationary shops. They have different textures & colours for ribbons. So prices may varies. I went to all the shops to compare, ppl must think that I'm crazy to walk in & out so many times.

I'm also given 75% of invitation cards. I have only abt 30 tables.

If you incl additional "xi" wording on the front cover, then it'll be more x. But if you wish to put it together with your text inside the card, then they shouldn't charge you extra. I dunno if you request to print on inserts. But my printing is directly on the cards. How much did Jasvy charge you? Maybe because of your qty also?? You can also try telling him you're recommended by me?

juv

Hi littlemay, you may want to consider the Inn of happiness. Its actually quite nice just that i have too many tables for that. Anyway, i spoke to june, she said projector must pay
its the new policy for 2006...

Jac is supposed to get back to me for the wine corkage thing but has yet to hear from her..

juv

yup sun96, i'm going to bring my own wine..wanna ask if she can waive one btl per table...shes only willing to give me 2 barrels of beer for 35 tables...i have heavy drinkers

juv

Hi timminbuzz....shes only willing give 30 btls for 35 tables...i'm gonna try push for 5 more btls..wish me luck

juv

yup timminbuzz...seems little to me but well...better than none...did u manage to get any other better deals

timminbuzz

I haven't really bargained yet...but my tables right now are abt 40 n e last time she said corkage for 36 btls.

I think i wld like more beer, but i wld do away with the hard liquor corkage.

juv

I tried bargaining for more beer too but she wasn't willing to give.. i'm also still trying to waive the rental of projector but it seems rather difficult though..

juv

I tried bargaining for more beer but she wasn't willing to give...am now trying to get the waiver for rental of projector...seems difficult though

cadburina

Is it possible to use a decanter to serve the hard liquor? Some couples said it is possible to. Just transfer into decanter and not to use the duty free hard liquor bottle and hotel is able to "close one eye". Does anyone know?

rosewood

Littlemay,

Add 1 more table to make it to a min 28 and see u can get grand ballroom?I have mine with 28-30 leh. But has to be on weekday.

How's your meeting with june??

dlim

Hi Juv,

When did you close the deal with June for the 2 FOC barrels of beer + wine corkage for 30 btls?

dlim

Hi timminbuzz,

Did you close the deal with Hilton? what are the benifits you get from them? Please help me, thinking of Hilton as one of the choices.