"Guo Da Li (过大礼)" ??

cactus_79

anyone knows whose dialect group we follow when the bride give APs? Is it the bride's own dialect group or the bride acedes to the groom's request pursuant to his dialect group? Or both?

cynthiagoessony

hi liquidskye,

although i'm not hakka but i guess many will need the basic neccesary stuffs like the bed lamps, baby basin, mugs,toothbursh, tea set, towel, spittoon, tray meant for GDL. For myself, i bought the items in a package that include the guo da li + shang tou + an chuan.

elysa_yeo

Hi I like to share with you sisters a place that I have got my dowry set. It at Far East Plaza, their items there is modern and price is reasonable.
Got really piss off with the aunties attitude at Chinatown. Their prices are also more expensive during wedding season, that's not fair at all....

tweetie76

<font color="0077aa"><font face="Tahoma,Tahoma">
i think at far east shopping centre level 4, a very small shop right ?</font></font>

elysa_yeo

Hi Kenshare,
The shop name is Idear Collection, its at level 4, sorry forgot the unit no.I think the directory board at fareast plaza shall have.
You may like to take a look at their stuff, their design is more suitable for us.

ojaneo

the GDL cakes (xi bing/cake) should my MIL order herself or me(couple) do order?
can i give her my ideal cake or choose i prefer one?
as i noe this cakes are given by them but can i do so?

jonic

Do you think it's necessary to have GDL? Cos my FMIL asked me to ask my mom whether we want to have GDL or not? I feel it's abit weird...cos I tot it's the norm to have?

yoyo121207

I'm new here. Does anyone has a standard list for GDL. So that we can tick accordingly. My parents also not very sure about what's needs to be prepared.

janicachan

oh jonic

i think since ur fmil say abt GDL, of coz u accept it better, coz it is a chance ur fmil show respect abt this wedding.

u will feel sorry if ur fmil never offer the GDL.

pinpong

Hi Jonic

Suggest u check with ur parents &amp; discuss with ur in-law.
Personally i think it is must to have GDL. If u wish to simplify things, u may hav d GDL together on d AD.
My in-laws side suggested dat, but my mama prefer to hav d GDL at least 2 weeks b4 d AD.
So conclusion for my case was, had GDL 2 weeks b4 d AD.

jonic

Hi janica &amp; ice,

Thanks for the advise. Ya...I also feel it's necessary to have GDL but apparently it seems that my FMIL does not think so. I have already told my FH that I want to have GDL.

pinpong

Hi Jonic

Dun mentioned, what is d reason dat ur FMIL want to do away with d GDL?
Try getting ur FB to talk to ur FMIL, it mayb better &amp; feasible..
Most of all, must be open with ur FB &amp; talk.

cactus_79

I think for things like GDL, if we want them, and if FILs dun want to give, it's best for our parents to talk to FILs... cos GDL is more for our parents than for us...

anemic

Happen to bump in.

I used to frequent this link. Now I have just set up my eBay store, selling gemstones accessories. Opening today, just in time for Mother's Day.

Knowing the healing properties of real gemstones, we are specializing in gemstones accessories.

Click on the link below to find out the benefit of wearing gemstones.

E.g.
Amethyst as a healing stone contains sobering and calming qualities which allow this stone to be commonly associated with peace.

Please visit us.
http://search.ebay.com.sg/_W0QQcatrefZC12QQfrtsZ25QQsassZhealingstoneaccessories

ozbride

dear brides

the oranges that are widely mentioned.. is it the Sunkist kind or the mandarin oranges that you are referring to?

does it matter?

tryphena

hi valkwan, i tink the oranges are frm Sunkist bt must buy the big big ones cos it looks more presentable and generous (da fang).

ozbride

i see.. thanks jazol!

i guess mandarin oranges are seasonal and not always available at all time of the year too ;P

ojaneo

most ppl said cant do any wed pre during lunar 7th month. if my GDL happen on 1st lunar 8th month, can i buy those GDL items during 7th month or better buy b4 that.

rosewhite

I read from some threads that the invitation cards are given to he bride's side during GDL, but since GDL is usually abt 2 weeks before the AD.. wouldnt it be too late to give relatives &amp; friends?

hapimint

true also leh... cos the cakes given during GDL... then for bride side, we need to bring the cakes along to give with invitation card to relatives leh...
Hmm.. think I will do my GDL around one month to 6 weeks in advance....

cactus_79

hi rosewhite,

it's true. My GDL is about 2 weeks but we will be giving out the cards earlier. If cannot meet up with relatives earlier, we'll give cards with GDL cakes but of course will orally invite earlier!

rosewhite

me also dont know inlaws want to hv it abt 2 weeks b4 AD or earlier.. will ask them how? btw, when giving the relatives &amp; friends of both side parents the cakes &amp; invitation cards, do I have to be around with my parents &amp; does my hubby ve to go with his parents too?

cactus_79

hi rosewhite,
from what I understand, the cakes will only be distributed by the gal's side. During GDL, cakes will be given by guy's side to gal's side. Gal's side traditionally will give out cakes plus cards to relatives and close friends. Gal's side will out of politeness return some boxes of cakes to guy's side, but there's no need for guy's side to distribute the wedding cakes.
I had engagement cakes to mark my engagement last year. Traditional type. My mom returned 4 boxes of cakes to my MIL. Instead of wasting it, my husband took 2 to his office, and I brought 2 to my office to share with colleagues. It was my mom's suggestion.

I did not accompany my parents when they distributed the cakes though. Depends on what your parents want.

hapimint

haha... my FIL quite blur.... so I will tell them to arrange GDL 6 weeks in advance...
Main thing is hor, my parents in China lar... must get them to come back early... headache... haha....

cactus_79

haha.. seems like brides like us are more anxious yeah!!!

Mindy, I think you may want to gentley remind your husband cos if your ILs are pantang, they will go calculate a good date and time for the GDL...that was what happened in my case. My husband hurried his parents to get the GDL date and time...

his_her

Hi Lyn!

Me kn nothing abt GDL... so all these stuffs is man give woman or woman give man?

My wedding is in Dec.. sh I start planning nw? Hee..

rosewhite

Hi mindy &amp; cactus, yeah, i think we abit anxious, hee, esp my mum dont know what she wants for GDL.:p But cactus, yours are very organise &amp; well planned.. hee, &amp; you help me with so queries, me super blur.
Btw gals, how to check private message huh? :p

MoonMoon, GDL is groom's side give bride's side pingli &amp; pinjin( if i am right, hee).

cactus_79

hi rosewhite, I had mini GDL for my engagement so a bit clearer, I guess... hehe. I get my private messages through my email.I dun know how to check otherwise leh.

hi MoonMoon, I believe the bride's side must also buy some stuff like the teapot set, pillows, bedsheets, etc.

musjan

ladies, if u need the list of things to prepare for guo da li, an chuang and AD, leme know. I have a list from a friend who just got married last nov.

techgal

My wedding on 28 dec and will like to have the list for GDL, an chuang and AD pls. Thanks lots for sharing with me.

JY