Grand Shanghai Restaurant

Hi ice cosy!

Wow! Your EG looks gorgeous, very Shanghai theme.Thanks for the tip. Will be getting my bridal shop to see if they have any other colour. But if i can't the EG that I like, I may want to take it. As long as I stay at the VIP table and not go around taking photo with the Red EG, i think should be fine.

hi ice cosy,
your EG is beautiful

btw: i was looking at ur blog and i saw u have that wooden bath tub in ur house. My husband has been looking for that.. where did u buy it from? can pass me the contact? thanks!

hi stefanie

i got that from Adamas bathroom pte ltd 199/201 jalan besar. its abt 1.1k depending on the size
they got another branch at IMM building #03-11. got it abt a year ago. hope they still there

initially intends to got those european style bathtub with legs but those are very ex..

Any Kind soul has extras Invitation Cards from Grand Shanghai? I'm thinking of designing and printing the "content" on my own, instead of getting outside printer. I would need the invitation card (with the "content") as reference. In case it don't work out, then i'll engage outside printer.

By the way, how much is the printing cost?

If you don't mind, can leave ur email add here? then i email u my home address... Thanks

hi nici

u could get the extra cards from GS too. normally they give a certain percent of cards based on the numbers of guests u have...but when its not enough, u could let them know...thats wat i did when i gave away all the cards and ask from GS some extras.. (FOC). i also get from them the content. this way, u could get the size of the insert based on theirs.

Hi gals, just an update.. i booked several tables for my relatives. Cause i'm having a small wedding. Will they give us invitation cards?
TIA

Anyone can provide the 2008 wedding package for grand shanghai restaurant. If not, any contact or email that I can request quote from?

Hi Gals, would like to check with you all something. When you all called them to book appointment to meet up with the managers, do you all straight away tell them that you are looking for Sally or Shirley? Or do you tell the person who pick up the call that you would like to hold a wedding there and ask her to arrange a date for you to meet up with the manager? This is because I called many times and Sally is either on leave or busy or asking me to call back again at a later time.

hi girl, thanks for letting me know.
However, I'm not holding my banquet there. But I do have a shanghai night wedding theme, thus was hoping to have my PS there.

My wedding is coming soon and i'm having my dinner at GSH oso.. Is it true we have to get our own projector and screen if we want to show montage slideshow? The restaurant don't provide the equipment issit? I forgot to ask Sally about this leh before i sign the contract.. some of you also manage to have corkage waiver? aiyoh.. i feel i kanna "tio pian"
Is it too late to negotiate more after we signed the contract?
Hope someone can enlighten me thanks!

ohjoyful,
u have to arrange for your own projector n screen if u wan to do montage. But based on many couples experience, not advisable coz:
1. no ideal spot to fix projector
2. the live band n ambience good enuff to ensure a good time, no need the montage

and usually u have more bargaining power b4 u sign the contract. Not too sure if they will waive the corkage for u now. If not, order wine from them then dun have to pay corkage..

Thanks for the info Stephanie!
I was kinda worried that my guests will be quite bored.
If that's the case, might help me to save some money oso

Hihi..am new here..just sign with GS.
Was there this evening and I managed to catch an actual wedding in place.The decoration of flowers are quite sufficient, as the ambience is more than enough tofill up the restaurant. Really am looking forward for Dday..

Hi girl,
I also didn't managed to get the waiver for corkage. Was trying to squeese from Shirley but think she is too"li hai" so we intend to get from her which is cheaper @$22 per bottle. But parking 100%, same same la. The standard package..

Hi Hi...me also a GS bride-to-be! I just signed up last week. My date will be 22 June 08.
Shirley was quite nice to us...No waiver of corkage for wine but got waiver of corkage for hard liquor right...

Btw, although i did not get free waiver of wine, i managed to get a buy one bottle, waive one bottle corkage terms. This one i argue for quite some time...haha...

Hi girl. have you signed your contract? I only negotiated with her on the day that i was gg to sign the contract so i think thats why she ok with it...

Oh yah...wanted to ask what march in songs are nice for the live band to sing when you come in huh??? Shirley told me typical ones...Tian Mi Mi and Cha Cha Lum Bo...Hahaa...dunno why...feel sound so corny....any GS brides here that k share suitable march in songs?

mewowow,
if u using the live band for march-in, then no choice, will be the typical corny songs coz they only know those songs.

I used songs from CD for both march-in coz dun wan the corny songs.. haha..

Anyone able to give me the direct email to their coordinator? I am checking out the pricing and availability for my friend... or any1 has the package can forward to me?

Hi Stefanie & ice_cosy,

Need your help in anwering some of the queries that is going thru my mind...

1) Do you have an Emcee for the dinner? The singer will just stop singing at certain songs for the emcee or the singer will be the emcee?

2) Do you still remember what songs were sang on your wedding night? Can help me list as many as possible?

Apperciate if you drop me an email at [email protected] if you dont mind me contacting you for more queries... Thanks in advance =)

Will like to ask couples who hold their wedding dinner at grand shanghai- how the food?Is the food from the 628++ alrite?

I had jus sign up with GS but still undecide on which menu? Will the restaurant provide us with emcee?

Yest I just went down to see the GS...look very chi na. But we quite like the abmience plus there is a live band.

What we worry is the projector screen... I mean the stage to the tables abit too cramp, gt space to put the projector screen? We intend to have a montage if not will be meaningless for us.

One more thing is , they dont have dry ice for march in... will it look boring when we walk in?

All I know is my guests will feel diff from other normal wedding dinner. What should I do?? Can someone enlighten me?

Find a venus for wedding dinner is such a headache.

Mr&MrsNg,
the food is excellent!!! the 628++ food is also very good. Grand shanghai is famous for their food. you can do food tasting then decide from there.

if i m not wrong, the manager can be the emcee coz they jus need to say things like "stand and welcome the couple" or "pls be seated" .. have a fren be the emcee if u wan it more personal

cheeryapple,
it is quite difficult to do projector in GS. personally, i feel that no need do montage at GS. But if montage is impt for you, i wouldnt suggest u do ur wedding at GS.

no dry ice but it will not be boring coz the ambience during march-in is good enough. lights are dim down and spotlight on you as u walk thru the tables. very got "feel" .. but u can get ur own dry ice if u really wan the effect..

yes! GS is totally diff from other weddings and all ur guests will rem it for the special ambience.

well, it depends on wat u wan in a wedding.. sum pple wan high ceilings, sum wan long march-in walkway.. i wanted sumthing special so I went for GS. I saw GS and i fell in love with it

Stefanie,
Thanks for your reply.
For the food tasting, can we chose diff dishes from diff menu and pay the 50% of it or do we have to stick to the dishes in that category?