Grand Shanghai Restaurant

Hi AlL,

Can someone share with me if the $628++ menu is for weekday or weekend. Does both the weekday and weekend wedding dinner banquet provide for free live band or what ? Further, what type of music does the band provde?

Above lots of question which I sincerely will appreciate anyone's advise. Thank you.

Hi Abgelmara,

The $628+++ includes for all weekdays and weekends. They provided the free live band for all days except Monday, cos they are closed on Mon. The music they provided more on Shanghai theme.... like Ye Shanghai... but that day I went down, I heard the singer sing one of the song from Bona Bossa.... (spelling I think is wrong).

Hope it helps.

Hi fantasyall,

Had not been checking on this thread for awhile. Just being a lil honest here, nowadays its pretty much the norm that couples are booking their AD venue more than 12 months in advance. And I believe the date which I intend to have is those 'special' dates (14 Feb 2009). Anywayz, i had already signed with another hotel, thanks all who had provided constructive advice

Hi Cherryapple,

Thanks for sharing. Btw, are you able to share the details with me, and advise me what is the minimum and maximum tables GS can take. Thanks.

i just wanna share our experience with all couples who are considering or gonna hold their banquet reception at GS.. we had very good comments on the ambience and food from most of the guests who attended our wedding last month. we still hear people talking about the reception and i must say we are very pleased with the services rendered and of course, not forgetting the quality of food. =)

Can someone kindly share with me the banquet rates for both weekend and weekday and the package details. Am considering GS.

What about accessibility to the restaurant. Is it easy for most guest to get there ?

Sorry to all. Do ignore my 6+pm query today, as I did not realise my queries have been answered earlier. I've been sourcing banquets at different hotels and restaurants till I forgot which I post queries and which I did not...blur, blur....

Can someone kindly share with me the pics of the room and also the suite, if any. Thanks.

Hi Stefanie,

I could not access the following links to AD pics, not sure why.
morning http://www.photoshow.net/watch/nj3GD9hv
tea ceremony http://www.photoshow.net/watch/RY8BI5jr
Grand Shanghai http://www.photoshow.net/watch/kc6rf9wt
If you have them posted elsewhere, can share ? Thanks.

If we are having only the min of 20 tables (not max of 26 tables), is there really no way to adjust some tables somewhere near the stage or at the side of it to cater to just 1 projection screen and the projector machine ?

Since they do not provide dry-ice, any idea if we are allowed to bring in our own confetti, rose petals or bubble-machine ?

For the 1 night suite stay provided, is the bedroom separated from the living room by a door, or both is open to each others view easily. What about the deco and size within ?

For any kind advise on the above. Thank you.

Two more questions:

For any unconsumed table, can GS allow to consume it another day like some other hotels do ?

I believe there is a piano there - do they allow my guest to use and play some dedication pieces for me ?

Hi Angelmara, i dun think GS allows you to consume another day like some hotels do, but what they told me when i confirmed 20 tables was that they will open 2 more as reserve and charge me for the reserve only when i use them. As for the band, think you have to ask, and maybe your friend can try it out during the walk in rehearsal one week before the AD.

Now as for me, wanna ask all GS brides to be if they are using the invitation cards given by GS? The envelope quite unpleasant although i like the design of the front cover. Anyone of you designing the invitation cards?

hi Charis,

i jus went down to GS on tuesday... very nice ambience. their package start fr $628, $728 n $888 for 9-course Chinese dinner...but heard that the 888 one might be changing soon...cos singapore shortage of piglet..

my case is handle by shirley neow,the restaurant manager. she is a very nice n friendly lady...she told us that the packages very standard one so wat she can give she will try to give us, ya btw my dinner is only for 10 tables.

Hi Haze,

thanks for sharing! sorry for the late reply though..

for the prices which you indicated, is it nett price or +++? if i'm not wrong, does nett mean no additional charges?

do you have the menu by them? can send to me? thanks in advance!

angelmara,
i thk those links dun work anymore, u can see the pic here instead http://www.flickr.com/photos/7981692@N05/sets/72157600166768269/

You can bring your own dry ice, rose petals. GS very flexible on these arrangements.

As for the hotel room i got, the living room is seperated from the bedroom by a sliding door.

the price are 628+++, 728+++, 888+++

but i think they might be changing the 888+++ menu cos they might not be able to provide spring pig... srry i had pass the menu to my frenz le...mayb u can go down to get a copy...is at havelock road.

haze,
i had the $628 menu for my wedding. It's very yummie and i did individual serving. you can do the food tasting then change sum items on the menu if u dun like any.

Stefanie,

thks i went down to try their food...ya very nice n very class, they are serving individually for everyone. Shirley very nice she let us try the pastry for free...hehee

cherryapple,
Food tasting not free. But they give discount for the food tasting.

haze,
yup..the famous for their food.. try the dessert! the egg white souffle with banana n red bean! that's the best!

I have a question abt GS which i hope is not a stupid question.

They said the min tables required is 20, does that mean 20x10 which means 200 guests ?? But the table arrangement in GS is not the standard table of 10 hor...

i think they means is 200 pax... i rem SHirley told me the middle area can cover 70 ppl... around 7 tables... got the table arrangement map... althou they are not like standard table arrangement, i guess if u see around 200 pax is also the same as 20 tables..

hi cheeryapple

Could you kindly email me the table arrangement. My email address is [email protected]

I have made an apptmt with Shirley next week, she said i only have 15 tables, cannot book the whole restaurant, it will still be opened to walk-in customers...even if i book a more expensive menu, i may not be able to achieve 15,000 spending...

Now very sian...i like the ambience, but wonder what if the walk-in customers make noise or disturb the wedding then how ??

hi totoro,

dun wrry i oso book 10 tables onli... cos my mummy say outsiders oso 'pai sai' to come in n eat...so shld be okie de lah...

their ambience reali very unique...

Hi Haze

You also only booked 10 tables har? Phew, at least got somebody same as me...

My AD is in July 08 and i havent found a suitable and affordable location for 15 tables, very stressed leh...my best bet is GS cos i like the place very much...

I think i better check with GS whether do they allow walk-in customers to request songs to be played by the live band...scared what if customers request they play "jin1 tian1 bu4 hui2 jia1"....un-auspicious hor...hahaha

haze > what is your package like,does GS waive off wine corkage for your case ? i am going down soon to meet them...

everybody > anybody has their seating arrangement, can you kindly send to me at my email [email protected], thanks !

Hi Totoro gal,

I got the sitting arrangement but it not in my hand, I have to get it from my Hub then I can send to u... most properly I can oni do so before the weekend ends.

GS must have at least 20 tables, then the whole rest. is all urs. We just pay the deposit. She say we cant bring outside wine, have to get from them which is $25/bottle. My package is $628+++, after calculation nett price is around $739.

Food tasting is 50% of the package u choice. She is quite flexible. She even say if we wa to take PS there can do so, but avoid Mon (they no open), Sat(avoid dinner time, they closed in the afternoon), Tues - Fri and Sun after lunch hr.

Hope it helps.

hi totoro,

my AD is on 15th june,,,so very near too i oso book it at last min...haha so i will have my dinner first den i let you noe how izit... i quite confident with grand shanghai

mayb you can request shirley not to let ppl 'dian ge'

hello everybody

I am sure this question must have been asked before, but i wana know what is the guests' perception of GS. Do you think guests will perceive it as a normal restaurant or a hotel-restaurant @hotel-rate?

My bro said that if i book GS, i may suffer losses especially if those uncle-auntie guests give you only 40 dollar angpow, seeing that it is only a restaurant

Hence i am hesitating...what to do to mitigate angpow losses ?

HI Totoro, what most impt is to enjoy ur big day. In all wedding dinner, whether in Hotel or rest, some might cover some cant. So had it in Hotel they still make a loss. Some have it in rest, they can cover and still earn a bit more. It all depend on ur relatives and friends how generous they all, no matter where u have ur dinner. I dnt even dare to earn bk... all I wa is to cover enough...

Btw, I have send u the flr plan.

Hi Bitchy Wife & totoro_gal,

Thanks a lot!!! Received liao..=)
gonna discuss it w my SO later...
GS may nt seen so nice like hotel ballroom...but the unique ambience is a plus factor..

Btw when is ur AD?