Grand Park City Hall

i think they are quite firm in terms of their perks. I agree with stiobes that their package quite comprehensive already.

yup yup.. we asked whether can 'trade in' day-use room for other things, also cannot.. quite strict lor..

Nana,
you signed up already right? who is ur coordinator? did u managed to view the suite? i only managed to see the basic suite - Orchid Suite when we requested from henry yesterday evening..

I'm looking at their weekend (Sat) package. There will be free flow of beer for min 28 tables & above. I heard that the ballroom will be quite cramp if we have 30 tables. Is that true?

My AD will be on 20 June 2009. I just started to look for venue...

Virgo - you have booked grand plaza Park Hotel (City Hall)?

Stiobes>I have signed up with Henry in mid June. Did not get to view the suite. We went down to see him twice and both days also have banquet event. So how did you find the Orchid Suite? Do you mean there are different suites to choose from?

Qi>I have seen the actual setting with 30 tables and I find it ok. But maybe my perception of cramp is different from yours. It will be good if you can request to go down n view the actual setting of around the tables numbers you intend to have.

Nana,
the suite is okay.. its sorta like a standard suite. but Henry told us that Orchid Suite is the most basic one. there are 3 more suites - Oriental, Governor and Presidential. not too sure abour Presidential suite cos its a 2 storey suite, so dunno whether will we be entitled to that anot.. however, Henry says that our suite given to us will be subject to availability.. so we gotta pray hard that the suites are not occupy!! haha..

Qi,
i agree with Nana.. i personally saw the layout of 30 tables and think that it was okay too.. you can ask ur coordinator any dates for you to pop by to take a look at the ballroom..

Nana,
i didn't check with Henry on that though. But i think not so 'suai' ba... haha.. well, did u check with Henry on this? i didn't thought of it leh.. =p
but if really in the event no suite.. i think i will ask Henry for additional one night stay ba.. since now he only can give one night stay at the suite..

Stiobes> I only read about this in this thread after I signed the contract. I was not informed about it. Hmmm... actually I was wondering why wedding couples will not get priority on such suites since we have booked the date so long ago. They should be able to block it for the date right? Not very clear on this cos dunno how the hotel works.

Nana,
maybe we can email to Henry? he did mention that we can drop him an email if we have further enquiries.. read thru the thread and think ur AD is Dec '09.. that's very fast of you to book the AD venue.. you found your BS?

yup...maybe we can email him.
Some of the dec 09 dates already taken up, esp weekends,glad that we started early. I have confirmed for BS but think confirmed too early for that.

December is always known as the peak period, so its a good choice to start sourcing for a banquet venue early.. now we can relax.. and only need to wait for Henry to call us up next year.. = )
confirmed too early for BS? i think should be okay ba..

I believe that there are different charges to the 3 different suites and in fact, we are only entitled to, for example Oriental Suite. For other hotels, they will only tell you that you are entitled to a bridal suite. Hence you will not know which type of suite they assigned you to. But i guess GPPH is nice enough to allow "upgrade" of the suite, subject to availability.

Hi cheys28,

So meaning we can definitely get the Oriental Suite, only the "upgrading" part is subject to availablity?

i use Orential Suite as an exaample. But for sure we will definately get one of the suites and not those normal superior room as our bridal suite.

so far my friends at Hilton, Four Seasons Hotel etc told them that they are getting a bridal suite. There isn't any "selection" on the theme of the bridal suites. Just so happen that GPPH has different themes for the suite and tat explains some confusion as some of us may prefer "Oriential" style or "Governor" style.

Im a btb from hilton. and I have seen the rooms for both hilton and GPPH. the rooms in GPPH is smaller than Hilton. Hilton;s is bigger. The different types of names for Oriental , Governor they are all suites. GPPH will not give u normal rooms. But becos each suite type is only one in hotel, thats why they say subj to availability. GPPH's governor suite is the biggest among the oriental . As for me, I go for the size, thats why chose hilton. but GPPH room is still better than sheraton. Sheraton is the smallest

hi,im new to here. can anyone pls share how much is the range of the package that GPPH is offering?? im keen on taking up GPPH in Dec, but not sure if my date has been taken up.

thanks..

hi gals, heard tat tentative date for the wedding show is 20 Sept...mark your calendar!

Wendy, u may wish to email one of the coordinators for the banquet package. Understand tat Saturday menu is at $888. Friday should be slightly cheaper. Not sure abt Sunday. Anyway u are refering to Dec 08 or Dec 09? If it's 08, u better check fast whether dates are available cox usually Dec dates are snapped up fast, not forgetting they are only handling 1 wedding per day.

hi ladies, 2008 Sat dinner menu is either $888 or $908. im not sure about 2009. Best to email the co-ordinators to enquire =) there's also a lunch package ...

Thanks Cheys28. i ve contacted Henry but in the email he said my selected day is available, but when i call up,the other gal said already fully booked, dunno who to believe in. Henry is in meeting today,so have to wait for him to get back to me.

my AD is Dec08, hard for me to get hotel now.. panic!! Finger cross @_@

Hi All-Brides-To-Be in GPPH,

Rest assured that the food being served is very nice. Ytday had a food tasting, comments by our relatives all thumbs up. Dun worry on the food though... sit back & enjoy the good food...

Great to know that...I guess I'm more or less confirm with my choice of banquet

Groombride, did you have your food tasting at Park Palace or some other private function rooms?

hi supergal >>> i had my food-tasting at Park Palace de. They change our plates after every dish. So i thought this service only applies to our food-tasting session so i casually ask the captain, do the changing of plates after each dish apply on the actual day. Her reply is definetly! What u see 2dae is wat you will get on ure big day!

Shrekkybin>> bingo! u r rite. mine is in sept. i had my food tasting 2 mths b4 my AD. Actually wanted to be nxt mth de, but my FH will be going for reservist so no choice but to held at this mth.

Just to check whether if anyone of you here have Henry attending to you before you sign up but upon signing, you are assigned to another co-ordinator? Cos Henry is the Snr Mgr mah..so I believed he will be delegating the follow-up duties to his staff rite?

Me and HTB quite comfortable with Henry but is waiting to sign up during the September wedding show..so not sure whether if after that we will be assigned to another co. then...

i dun think Henry will "hand" you over to his other coordinators. I was attended by Henry throughout. Alternatively you may wish to specify that you only want him to attend to you before signing.

Hi chiffon >>> food portion is huge. Nt to worry for those hving big sized guests. During our food-tasting, we finished 95% of the food. This goes to show that the good is great!
March-in, sad thing to say, is quite short.Anywae, its the food & venue that matters.

Supergal >>> I signed up during the show last yr April by another co-ordinator, subsequently, she left & she handed mine to Henry. He's very good! Give u recommendations & not to mention his fast prompt response. All i can say that for those with Henry, you guys can enjoy ure BIG dae with no worries! Cheers~~

Thanks gals...yup, Henry was one of the reasons why me and HTB has stopped looking at other hotel's ballroom..hahaha! I agree that he is quite good! Well, not to mention of course, of the good food feedback as well as the nice ballroom

groombride, thanks for the assurance on the food.
its very useful to me. =)
im going to bring my FPIL to GPPH for a walk this weekend... see if they are ok with the hotel. if so, i can more or less confirm which hotel i want. (at least one thing is settled)

elders prefer food, whereas i prefer ambience & food & location too!! And also within budget. sighz.. so headache.

i meant to wait for the tong shu dates. bt feel that alotsa dates had been taken. if i dont act fast, all those weekends will be taken by the time my dates are out.

Hi Supergal,
i also feel the ballroom is nice.. i mean pillarless. and their service is good!!
thats very important. and its at city hall!! accessible too.

hi chiffon cake,

yup, truly agree with you..GPPH is within walking distance from city hall mrt and the ballroom is quite nice after the set-up is done

so which date are you looking at?

hi supergal,
actually im looking at end of next yr.. im going to choose my dates tml. without the dates, i cant plan anything lor. will just got for some calculations and choose auspicious date instead of 通书. bt the dates for end yr is fast taken up.

do u haf some of the actual day of some wedding wif decorations? isit cramp? coz i still hafen see the actual ballroom yet.

Hi Groombride,
Really thanks for assuring the food and Henry! Hee.. Was kinda disappointed when some of my frenz told me that the food wasn't that fantastic.. But am glad that you are satisfied with the food. Well, I think food is very subjective to individuals and we cannot please everyone..

2 more months for you to go.. = )

Hi chiffon cake,
Have you double checked with Henry on the date? Think must act fast ba.. and I think as for the ballroom, gotta depend on the no. of tables. But should not be too cramp.

hi chiffon cake,

if you're interested, you can view some of the pictures on my website below..not many though..

http://kelvinlirong.multiply.com/photos/album/5/Wedding_Venues

as for the actual ballroom, if you are not having more than 30 tables, it should be fine..cos i was told that the grand ballroom can accomodate up to 32 (or 35? cant rem!) tables. a GPPH bride once shared with me that she has 30 (28+2reserved) tables and the left hand side of the ballroom seems abit more cramped..

Hi stiobes,
i really hope the food is not bad. coz GPPH is my last choice. I have enough headache about choosing the hotel (as the others are over our budget or location not accessible)

My co-ordinator is Vera. She is very patient and helpful in answering my questions. till now, there are some dates for dec weekend available. i jus pray hard tomorrow will have some nice dates from the master.

Hi supergal,
you're so nice! thanks so much for sharing! its alots of pics! at least i know how's the ballroom look like. i show the floor plan to my bf. he also say not bad. bt he's not keen on the separate march-in, he say he wont be able to carry it off well. =(

im going to have 25tables. (hope it wont increase!)

hi chiffon cake,

actually, i'm not too keen on the separate march-in as well...would still prefer to hold on to my hubby's arm while we march-in