Grand Park City Hall

w3ngal

if the groom is drank then settle the payment so mafan on the same night. plus i hope to open the red packets then settle hahaha. if not have to sign credit card first =/

jiening

Bedazzle, you can try mr peter lee, v nice guy. Can conduct in both language and open to creative rom. Whatever your plan is, just let him know.
i've pics of him on my blog. Jie-ning.com

pekojam

I went to enquire with GPCH last week and the person that came to us were totally not interested in us. He did not bother showing us the ballrooms or even the function room, all he did was to push us to the chinese restaurant and kept telling us. "Oh the restaurant prices are of a different league compared to the hotel. The prices will be more comfortable for those who are on budget", We did not even mention that we are on budget. I told him we prefer the whole event to be nice and cosy. He din even bring us to a place to sit down or even try to explain how the packages will be like. We merely stood at the lobby and he asked us when we want to have our wedding and all weekends from sept to nov is out , and he told us we can FORGET ABOUT IT to have our wedding on weekends.

Totally bad experience from the very first hotel that we enquired with... I hope the up coming ones won't be so bad.....

jo_chua

Pekojam : huh who is the guy who is so mean?

To weixiang/bedazzle_me : My fren still get to settle it the next day..Shrugs.. I think I got to ask Janice. It's going to be so ugly if they ask you to pay the bill in front of the guests!

The other thing to note is about the stout.. The manager asked the groom on the AD (my fren is the bride), "do we add to your bill or bill the guest?" -___-"

I think it is more of miscommunication on this portion. Think shall tell the manager on that day what to serve and what not to be served to avoid embarassing moments!

pekojam

A malay uncle by the name of Senan......... by the way, the restaurant prices doesn't differ from the hotel prices at all....

weixiang_06

Joanne: well, i haven't asked Chris yet. I believe for new signings, they would have this new clause inserted.. For me and your friend, i believe our contract did not have this clause, where we have our options available..

Pekojam: you can try Chris, he is a nice guy.. Unfortunately, he is very busy.. Hence i need to be on the ball..

weixiang_06

well, the best is to just serve beer and red wine.. no other requests shall be accepted. For me, i am not serving hard liquor nor white wine and stout.. hence no conflicts, just get the operations side to kindly inform them that no other options available, except for red wine and beer..

plue> The map is by the hotel but T-dragon will give it to u no matter if you are printing with them or not. =)

I think I'm too used to coming up here often since i have planned my wedding for more than a year. Slowly flowing off from this forum but also need time. Keke. Just hope can help some of you.

bedazzle_me

Thanks Jiening, I'll go check with him.

Any other recommendations for solemnisers?

Anyone had solemnisation during banquet? Can share your experiences?

simply_jean

Pikojam: GPCH is also one of my option and am gonna meet Senan next week! Has already blocked out a date wif him for Feb 2012 and he seems polite and nice over e phone and email.. So hoped e meeting wif him next week would be a good one.. He cc Christopher in our email, so is not too sure whether he is working under Chris or maybe he is new..?

w3ngal

food tasting about 2 months plus before the AD, do u all think is too early? i am thinking of collecting the invites and food tasting on same day is it possible?

weixiang_06

simply_jean: Chris is the overall Senior Banquet Sales Banquet... so you can say that Senan is working under Chris..

w3n: for collection of invite, you would need to drop over to T Dragon. Settle on your design and give them a few working days to get it ready. You need 2 trips.

w3ngal

thanks weixiang.

if i am printing in JB, does it mean that i will go collect the invites from hotel/ t dragon so only one trip?

how is your preparation le?

jo_chua

Weixiang : I did not ask her about the clause. Mine has that clause and I think the groom will most likely be drunk that night so settling on that night is 99% impossible. haha!

julia85

wow.. jus notice abt the new clause of having to settle the bill on tat very same day...
abit ridiculous leh... settle 1 day later can die meh.. -__-
ppl's big day tiring liao still wan ppl to settle bill on tat day...

w3n> U need to go down T-dragon to select your card (even if u r printing it elsewhere). Once card is selected, you need like few days to 1 week for them to get your card ready for collection. Anything to do with cards/map are from T-dragon, not GPCH. Maybe you wana have your card ready or way before ur food tasting, as you also need time to do printing at JB, mayb another 1-2weeks.... n normally u send out invitation card like 1-2month b4 ur big day. U need time to get RSVP frm ur guest. So i suggest u go select ur card like 3months b4 if possible.

Food tasting 2-1 month b4 wedding is ok. =)

jo_chua

Shrugs!! I forgot I am supposed to ask Janice about this and I hang up the phone.. zzzzz

Now she is busy again...

Now I m wondering is this standard clause about "hotel reserves the right to amend blah blah blah thing at any point of time without notification".

Zzz

weixiang_06

to all new BTBs of GPCH, please note that the management has a new clause:

you would need to settle the bill on the very night itself before 2359hr.. this was mentioned by Christopher.

This applies for new clients, for existing clients you would need to check your previous contracts

weixiang_06

btw: i believe its not that ridiculous lah.. for my sister, hers was at Rasa Sentosa. They had to settle it by that night too :D

some other places really ridiculous, you had to pay 50% 1 month before the AD. That is for some 5 stars hotel leh.

jo_chua

well not ridiculous if it is mentioned beforehand so that the groom/bride can make arrangement before drunk.. haha! This will also avoid being asked in front the guests. Ease the embarassment..

On my wedding day, d banquet manager didn't ask me to pay infront of my guest but he was standing at d door holding d bill which frm d look of it, I knew he wana us to settle d bill. B4 hand, we alrdy intended to pay on d wedding night after banquet.

I hv my best friend to hold my wallet(w credit card) n my hp. Lucky our wedding ends early n most guest had alrdy left, only a few friends n relatives saw me at d counter paying. Good also, so they feel bad n will leave so we can go up n slp cus super tire. Btw, btb n groom, rem to increase ur credit limit for ur credit card.

w3ngal

need to increase quite alot! hahaha...no choice but give a reason to keep groom awake after the dinner cause have to settle the bill!

mc can i enquire how many bottles of red wines ur guests consumed in total on a sun? just need a rough estimate. thanks!

i would like to enquire more on the procedure/ steps so that i can do some planning.

i should contact cordinator to arrange to choose invites at t dragon and then send for printing, then arrange food tasting and select themes/ favours. Is it too early to select themes and favours say like 1 mth plus in advance?

then when do we meet cordinator to discuss on the details like total guests, music, lightings etc?

anyone can advise on the timeline? thanks! i can actually email cordinator but i think they are busy and dun wish to disturb them so i discuss this here =)

jo_chua

w3n : For T-dragon, you can go down anytime. Dun think u need to ask ur co-ordinators.. But u need to know roughly what is the no of pax u have so when u go down they will ask u how much u need to print.

U can arrange food tasting 1 - 2 months before your AD. Thats what i see in my contract not sure if urs is the same. I arrange 1 1/2 months earlier. They need to check if they have slots for u or not too. So ok to ask early ba I feel. After which they will contact u to select thems and favours 2 weeks to 1 month before ur wedding which i think it is usually a month and that is when u got to confirm no of tables, table settings and the favours.

Mine is next month end and I m starting to turning into bridezilla liao.. -___-"

jo_chua

Thanks W3n.. I m still nuaring.. I haven even meet up with my PG and VG and yet to finalise the photos for my montage and slide show.. I feel that I m so late.. Will be tied up further with the upcoming festive seasons celebrations.. haha!

sheltie

I am interested in GPCH but can't seem to find their packages online. Can someone send it to me please? Does anyone know if they allow 15 tables for Saturday night? Thanks heaps!

weixiang_06

Julia: its possible, however you can only hold that in the chinese restaurant itself within GPCH. They can cater up to maximum 15 tables for the restaurant. Alternative, they have small function rooms in level 1... maybe you might want to check it out. But for grand ballroom, 25 is the mini for weekends.

weixiang_06

Hi BTBs of GPCH, do note that the new billing arrangements (settling of the bill on the very night itself) applies to all.

It will supersede what has been written in the earlier contracts (even if your contract specifically states that you can settle it when you check out). This has been conveyed to me by Chris.

weixiang_06

Hi BTBs of GPCH, do note that the new billing arrangements (settling of the bill on the very night itself) applies to all.

It will supersede what has been written in the earlier contracts (even if your contract specifically states that you can settle it when you check out). This has been conveyed to me by Chris.

jo_chua

that's very jia lat.. so does it mean we can just give them the card to swipe and the groom to sign next day? haha! I wonder what's the hurry and is it due to somebody has tried to escape after the wedding.. haha!

jgenesis

hmm..i think it really doesn't make alot of difference since still using credit card to pay..and must make sure all the guests have left first then pay

weixiang_06

Joanne: from what Chris told me, the captain will be bringing the bill to your suite, where you would then sign on the bill itself.

cheque is not allowed for final payment. Only credit card / cash / nets.

jo_chua

Thanks Wei Xiang.. Cheque is allowed if pay 1 week before that.. It will be good if the captain brings the bill to the suite rather than at the ballroom itself.. We haven really decide..

julia85

i jus emailed chris...
dec 2012 booking is opened during upcoming BOWS!

may go down and have a look at the package n perks..

bedazzle_me

Hi guys

I am going for my food testing soon. Can someone tell me the difference/ review of the 2 options listed below?

1)Deep fried large prawns in wasabi sauce topped with seasame seeds

and

2)Wasabi prawns with raisin and strawberry

Which will you guys recommend?

weixiang_06

Bedazzle: essentially, there is no difference... they refer to the same item... Each guest would have at least 2 prawns each, some might even have 3 prawns... In a way, its good. Try not to go for Cream Prawn, as the ratio is only 1 prawn to 1 guest.

Dear BTBs, do note that the ballroom itself is quite small in size.. Having held my wedding recently with a capacity of 25 tables, i would say it was already quite uncomfortable when we had to move from table to table...

Hence, if you are looking at anything more than 25 tables, please be mentally prepared that it will be quite a squeeze... My wife was joking that GPCH should have advertised that the ballroom capacity should be somewhere between 20 to 25 tables, with 25 being the maximum...

Nonetheless, I would say the food is good. Generous portion and fresh. Quality is there and etc.. Only thing is maybe the size of the ballroom is a little small to our liking... But no complaints given the price we had paid for. Its the best in its class.

Tot that the guests would be able to seat comfortably with only 25 tables, but it was still quite a squeeze.

By the way, for future BTBs of GPCH, if you are looking for a coordinator, do look for Christopher.. He is really GOOD! In fact, he is the Senior Banquet Sales Manager, who took over from William. I would rate him to be as good as William, if not even better! :D

Most guests (excluding close friends & relatives) would give a rate of $100-120 [mostly $100] for GPCH... For 2011, it is just enough to cover Sunday wedding dinners. In 2012, the table pricing for weekends (Fri to Sun) is able $1.1k per table... Hence, you might want to factor this into consideration.

A wedding is afterall quite an expensive once-in-a-lifetime affair. All the best to everyone

lovebird

Hi, We just met Chris Lee today.

Meiz koh: We were just wondering how was the food?
Is the decor nice coz from the picture he showed, can't really tell much.
Is there any additional perks that we can request for?
Please advise.