Grand Park City Hall

julia85

bigmelon> when's ur AD?

btw, i've jus asked Christopher...
he say the perks is for 2010/2011 & Q1 of 2012..
their Apr-Dec 2012 not open yet...
so i cant book yet

weixiang_06

hey everyone.. the virtual tour of the ballroom reflects the NEWLY RENOVTED BALLROOM!!!

go and take a look, the red walls are already there and the new lightnings..

jgenesis

Yup, saw it! The stage looks nice! Hmm..i saw the yellow sash on the chairs. Can we request for this stage setup as well as the yellow sash too?

weixiang_06

Ojh: if you look clearly, the stage setup comprises mainly of fresh flowers... that would be possible but you must top up $$$$...

GPCH only provides 4 flower stands at the aisles, VIP tables and cocktail reception table.. that's all

jgenesis

well, i sure hope that they can have something to make the stage look brighter and nicer. At least for their new themes.
Maybe we can suggest to their florist for something with no extra charge? Like e.g. fewer fresher flowers, but lighting of the backdrop as shown in the virtual tour can stay?

The last time i went with my fiance and future in-laws before the start of a wedding, they felt that the stage was too dull and doesn't look appealing as compared to the nice surroundings. Such a waste they said..

I've seen some pics of backdrop with nice bow-like designs but Christopher said that they are no longer available. I mean..the stage is so important cos quite a number of the banquet pics will be that of the stage too..

luvyvel

Hi All, i am wondering is there any big mirror in the bridal suite such as oriental room? I do not notice any mirror, except the one in the bathroom, during my tour of the oriental room at the wedding show. How u gals make up in the room?

luvyvel

That's y i was thking how the MUA make-up for me in the oriental suite. Inside the bathroom? The bathroom area seems quite small. Im thkin to buy a big mirror, place it smwhere more comfortable to make up.
Any GPCH bride can share ur experience?

antzc

Luvyvel,
U already knew u getting the oriental suite? Btw I did see a mirror in the bedroom area, u have to walk further in to see the mirror cos it's at a corner. U will not see it if u look into the bedroom at an angle from the bedroom door.
Not to worry!

w3ngal

i realised from the weddings i attended this year, not alot of people drinks (even though is a saturday or sunday) roughly, how much red wine do u all intend to prepare for the night? or those whom already had your weddings can share? thanks! just need a rough guide as i know all guests are different =)

weixiang_06

piggy: rem thursday is eve of public holiday.. for 2010, its $968-$988.... dun see wrongly hor..

there is a BIG difference between weekday and weekend pricing... eve / public holiday considered weekend pricing.

btw, this is for 2010 pricing

jasumine

from Julia: 2012 jan-mar price is 918++ for wkend dinner and 738++ for wkday dinner
why is the price cheaper in 2012 den in 2010??

julia85

piggy> the price is actually not cheaper..
note tat in 2010 its nett price.. 2011 onwards its ++...
if u do the calculations, the one with ++ which is 2011 price will be more exp.. =)

w3ngal

glad to know the food is nice! very happy and looking forward!

what time do u all plan to check in the hotel during day of banquet?

baby_luv

Hey all, do you all have any themes for the wedding? I wonder if GPCH's florist would be able to accomodate our theme if we top up some money.

w3ngal

michelle i think u need to check with grand park le cause i seldom heard of this topping up request but i think most likely can be done? i just assume lo since there is a florist in the hotel itself.

yah i also think 100 is the market rate now for hotels like grand park.

baby_luv

Thanks W3n. Cause i was thinking of filling the aisle area with more flower petals. Do you feel that it's kinda plain?

Anyway i have not visited the ballroom after the renovation..haha

w3ngal

flower petals on the ground u mean? to me is okie not very plain cause the carpet got some design. u can see the ballroom view from this website.

weixiang_06

Michelle: yes its possible, but you need to top up.. not sure what's the amount. When i was liaising with William, he mentioned it would be quite substantial and i dropped the idea.. haha..

weixiang_06

Antz C: why do you even want to put 12 heads to a table? Even putting 11 heads to a table is a NO-NO unless that family requested from me... Personally, i would feel very sad if i am invited to a wedding dinner where the hosts placed me in a table of 12....

imagine the food, not enough to go around... and etc... tongues will wag leh.. just my 2 cents. its going to be super cramp in table of 11 le... table of 12? no comments.

bedazzle_me

Can someone please share their post-reno AD photo?

How many tables should I have to have comfortable space for table-to-table and march-in aisle?

antzc

Weixiang,

Actually we are planning to have just a bridal table where both bride and groom side sit together. However, if we were to accomodate all, we have to opt for 11 heads. But my future FIL said 11 not good number, should put 12. Arghhh... dunno what to do now!

Hello fellow BTBs,

I just had my wedding on last Sunday. As it was a Sunday, we hope to have our wedding end early as everyone needs to work the next day, we are extremely pleased that wedding did ends early.

The whole process was very smooth and well coordinated. Great thanks to the Banquet Captain, Angus and Banquet manger Christopher Lee. Although Christ was not around but he did take note of all the details I had told him through emails. Angus did a great job by having the wedding run smoothly on the day itself.

And ofcause, our wedding helpers play a really big part in this too. Many give good remark about our helpers, I guess they really make sure those hard to manage guest gets what they want (seating arrangement). Not so sure as I was not there and they are really good by not wanting to tell us any down side / hiccups about the wedding. Make sure u find someone who really can work!

Food was extremely good n big portion. Many love the wasabi prawn but we didn’t realize that many old forks don’t really like it. But guess is ok as many other dishes had given good review too.

It was also very thoughtful that they provide me with plain water and with a strew while I was at the VIP table.

We was given post dinner to the hotel room for those dishes that we had missed earlier. Really thoughtful as I was super hungry and thirsty after the wedding. Had sore throat on the night after the wedding. Haha was too busy to drink any water throughout the day.

Sound system was great, everything ok. Wedding singers (Love Me Knot) had performed in GPCH during the wedding fair, guess they are already familiar with the system. All videos are played well with no faulty to sound system.

I had 29 tables + 1 reserved but in the end that one reserved table was asked to keep as wedding singers need more space. It is not that crowded to walk for photo-taking session although I’m wearing a can-can dress.

Some of my friends think that GPCH is a 5 stars hotel which I find it good, although I have no idea how many stars. Keke.

I love this hotel, if you had already book this hotel, congrats, u have found yourself a good wedding venue. For those who has yet book, what are you waiting?

Love the entire experience. I don’t mind our 50 yrs of marriage celebration to be here again! lolx

btw, i was too excited to be tire or nap during the wedding day. But once the wedding was over, i didn't even remove my makeup and went to bed straight away till the alarm clock rings. Haha. It was real fun, must really enjoy it. Anything happen, just laught along with it and u will b the happiest bride and most enjoyable wedding ever. Good Luck

rx1852

HEY MemorableChocolate ,

so glad that everything went soooo smoothly for U!

COngrats!! feel really good when heard tt things went on so well during the weddin..im glad tt i choose GPCH

Any pics to share for yr wedding dinner?

And also...Happy & Blissful Marriage To U !

w3ngal

thanks and congrats memorable chocolate! =)
what time did u end the banquet cause mine also sunday.

i think grand park dont have those big table for 20pax de (if both side will to sit together) i did enquire before.

I ended mine at 10.30pm. =)

I think you really need good helpers and remind your guests to come early, tell them because is a Sunday n need to end banquet early as Monday is a work day.

I printed in my card half an hour earlier den normal. 6pm for reception n 6.30pm for dinner (normal is 6.30pm recept n 7pm dinner). Although mostly come at 7pm+. But is good to tell your guest b4 your wedding. I always told them "don't have to come early, just come on time will do".

Because nowadays ppl just listen in n listen out when u tell them to come early, this has become useless. So tell them something different will make them remember. =)

And if you wana end fast, you need a really good Makeup Artist. Mine was fast, and my friend went up with me to help me change, she also help my MUA to hold the perm iron while she does my makeup den go back to roll the perms den my friend will help to hold n she conti to do makeup on n on... Really good multi tasking.

I have 3 hair do. One hair do is at reception to greet guest. den 20mins b4 first march-in, i went up to change to another hairstyle and put on mask as wedding was masquarade. Before i went up, i notice that the crowd was alot already, so when I'm up for like 10mins, I requested my helpers to have the ballroom door open and have guests seated. den 10 mins later, i went down, everyone was inside. Just nice.

I went up to do my 2nd march-in like 5mins after first dish is served (normaly was on 2nd dish but i went up early). So i think all add up to make it possible to end early.

One more tips, i have alot of things going on at the reception, free gifts and photobooth with lots of mask for them to take picture with, so as to keep them busy, so ppl won't leave the place (eg.smoking) n during ballroom door open or during march-in den your guests start returning back. Not so nice. So something at the reception to keep them there is good.

btw, yap they don't have 20 pax table, only a few hotels in Spore have that. But i don't think GPCH will have as it takes up too much space.

Photos not ready yet, photographer said have to wait 2-3 weeks. =\