Grand Park City Hall

weixiang_06

wow.. just to let you know 2012 dates are filling in fast...

i was enquiring directly with christopher about 2nd Jan 2012 for my friend.. BUT its taken!!!

weixiang_06

btw, does any brides here having lobangs for MUA for Parents and siblings?

i am not looking at the premium ranges... budget is not more than $150 per person...

w3ngal

weixiang, i think for parents make up the range about 80 per pax and quite a few names in this forum, you may wish to check it out =)

Thanks for sharing blur btb!

MC: wahhh 1030pm can end is good leh! cause is a working day the next day. Ermmm u mean by 1030pm everyone left or start to shake hands and to leave?

cause my ROM session is at 7pm at the room besides the ballroom. Due to auspicious hour i cant do it earlier than 7pm for evening.

Do u all feel 7pm is too late? I intend to make up ready and all ready before 7pm so that once ROM session end, i will just proceed to reception area to mingle with guests. Maybe just a touch up if required.

feliciatan

Hi aLL,

Anyone here tried the lunch wedding banquet?? The date which i am looking for is either both lunch and dinner is full or dinner is full.. I nvr attend a lunch reception b4 so was wondering how will it be like-eg:guest reactions...

btw what other perks did you all try to budget for? Thanks

luvyvel

Congrats MemorableChocolate and OCt Baby!
It's so nice to hear reviews of GPCH from brides after their AD. So glad to know i'll b in good hands =)

Attending MemorableChocolate's wedding muz b great fun! Hav so many entertainments! Mask photo-taking, free gifts, wedding band etc.

Thanks blur btb for sharing! U look pretty in the red evening gown! =)

Felicia> Im also having a wedding lunch banquet, on a Saturday. It's very common nwadays for a lunch banquet. The most impt thing is time management as u hav to finish the morning ceremony as early to prepare for the banquet. Invitation card usually state 12pm cocktail starts. Personally i prefer lunch as i can end my day early n hav more rest after tt =)

The perks u can ask for are the usual, free flow beer, free bottle of wine, increase carpark coupons and invitation cards, function room to soleminise if u need, helper room etc. But all hav to depend whether ur wedding coordinator agrees on tt =)

baby_luv

w3n - My solemnisation is also at 7pm. We can share with each other on the timeline once done =)

I am just worried that the guest will start coming in at that hour which means that i wont be able to attend to them, probably will get a helper to be station at the recept area to lead them to the room beside the main ballroom.

w3ngal

Michelle, when is ur AD? haha sure! i did ask Janice she say usually people dont arrive so early or on time so should be fine!

and ya i think need to have afew helpers at reception ready as there are guests coming in on time =)

weixiang_06

for BTBs who are still deciding on their BS...

feel free to comment

http://img573.imageshack.us/img573/6825/img2365a.jpg

w3ngal

blur btb, u took ur AD outdoor shoot at where? the place like so nice and sky so blue! haha...

I like your candy corner, I am intending to create a candy/ dessert corner and leave it thru out the dinner so that guests or kids can take...

the table cloth (red) is u prepare or hotel prepare de ah? i added you in FB =)

Thanks for sharing!

w3n> 10.30pm having most guest left the ballroom already, only left a few friends inside who still wish to drank my husband. Haha.

7pm for ROM ok. Try proceed to open ballroom door and let guests be seated right after the ROM lor, since is auspicious timing. Just remind your guests to come early for ROM and tell them right after ROM, dinner will start straight away. Make them feel that your wedding timing is different then they will b more willing to follow n come on time. =)

Remind all bride to drink more water that day, i talk alot but have little time to drink water, right after wedding on that night, i got sore throat. I'm still sick now... really do take care.

Since my wedding is over. Here is my wedding website for you all to see:
www.mywedding.com/vinloveshui

this website was printed on my invitation card too. My guest can get more information from this web too.

weixiang_06

memorable chocolate, blurbtb: its really very very nice gesture for both of you to share with us. thank you so much!!! your information really come in handy! mine is less than 2 months away.

Another tip: I had many photos flash on the screen inside the ballroom once the ballroom doors are open. Most people flash their wedding photos but i find it boring as most of your guests had already saw your wedding photos at the reception. SO I flash those old photos of us with our friends and relatives. Atleast they will stay in the ballroom looking at those photos den feeling bored with your looping of afew wedding photos.

My friend give good feedback on this as it brings back lots of memories. Some are long time no see friends.

I had like 200 photos in a CD, format JPEG for GPCH to play.

baby_luv

W3n - mine is on 19 Nov 2011

Memorable choco - So nice of you to share so much info with us. I am considering a photo booth since there wont be much kids on my guest list.

weixiang_06

Memorable Chocolate: can i check with you.. for the projectors in GPCH, do they project in 4:3 ratio or the widescreen 16:9 ration? you have any idea? during the project, does the staff coordinate for you, or you had sisters to do it for you? thank you.

I have no idea, mayb you can check with your hotel manager. My helpers did the co-ordination for me. I didn't get to watch any video at all. Only one video we peek from the door before march-in.

w3ngal

MC: if we play the photos before than banquet start, then do you still suggest to have Childhood montage?

how did your shiny punched papers turned out (to replace the rose petals de)?

w3n> Yap, i still have childhood montage, during the photos flashing, just make sure you don't show those photos that you are going to play for your Childhood Montage or anything similar. For flashing of photos are mostly with our own friends & family which is only like recent 5years photos (when digital photos are turing popular) and for Childhood montage are really Old/yellowish photos and till we met are only photos of the two of us.

So that marks the differece and people won't feel bored about it or seeing same photos. No point.

The paper punche looks ok (from my view), but think have to wait for my photos then will get to see the whole picture of it.

w3ngal

MC thanks for sharing your very detailed file on your wedding blog. it really helps alot in our preparations! Share your pics when is ready kk. we love those "Tiffany" color theme lotsa too!

flowerdove

Felicia> me oso be having lunch instead of dinner, i tink is perfectly fine =) and yes is very common nowadays

luvyvel>hve u planned ur morning schedule? actually wanted a simple affair, go straight to hotel for ROM + tea ceremony but future MIL insisted we muz go her hse to do tea ceremony.so gt to re-schedule hopefully wont be too rushing. plan to ROM at 11.15pm.

w3ngal

MC: How to DIY a tie? haha unique!
Do share share kk hee thanks!

ur AB Box is so cute lah but i loan the boxes from Grand Park ba...unless i am free to do lazy! haha =)

luvyvel

Jasmine> Have roughly plan out my itinery. I'll be having both sides Tea Ceremony in the hotel.
Thk the time allowance shld b still ok to go ur In-law place, but dun thk will be enuf if u hav to go bk ur parents place for tea ceremony. Hav it in the hotel instead, after u reach hotel or right after ur ROM. Janice mention to me she can arrange a function room+tea pot set+normal tea.

poison_pot

hi all, need some light on the $$ part..

when do we have to pay for the dinner? right after the dinner?

what other things need to be paid if there is no extra wine other than the package?

thanks in advance....

w3ngal

poison, i think by the next morning before check out need to settle the banquet payment (correct me if i am wrong).

w3ngal

MC i seen your AD planning, may i know if you managed to follow the procedure timely? Cause i dunno how much time to gauge...for example for tea ceremony etc...

do u know around what time we can set up the decors at the reception area? i was wondering if around 4pm start to set up is it too early?

thanks, i will read through your post in blog!

baby_luv

Wow MC, I am so amazed by your creativity and the amount of effort you put in the wedding. I like the 3D cube alot!!

I hope I have the passion to DIY those stuff also.

minilove

HI weixiang (weixiang_06)
Have you got the contact for printing the inserts for your wedding cards? I'm getting mine do outside too. Can you pls share with me any recommendation?

weixiang_06

Cartier: if you are looking for cheapest printing.. Go to City Square, T&T Instant Print. They will be ready in a couple of days.. Very cheap, $30?? for 200 inserts. But i did not select them, coz the paper inserts were very thin and low quality. Same for T-Dragon. In the end, i gotten my neighbour who is in the printing industry. She uses thick quality, textured paper.

The downside however is, many rounds of rectifications were made... so not really recommended. End product is very nice though.

feliciatan

I saw from the virtual tour of the ballroom and the ballroom seems small.. would it be squeezy for 25 tables?

Have decided to take Lunch reception but have yet to confirm as christopher is out of town..

Anyone have any idea which Banquet Manager is more flexible on perks? Thanks

bedazzle_me

Hey guys...a few questions on printing of invitation cards:

1) How long does T-dragon takes to print the cards?

2) Do most use shiny gold, gold or black?

3) How many cards am I allowed to take from T-dragon if I am not doing the printing with them?

bedazzle>
1) it will take about 1 month +/-
2) I didnt use the shiny gold but normal gold (actually look like light brown). I find Black too strong. gold is more gentle. Never like shiny gold (more expensive) n is harder to read due to the reflection.
3) U can only take 70% of the number of guests/tables u had agreed with GPCH.
eg. if u cfm 30 tables = 300 guests. Thats 300x70% = 210 cards. It also come with a insert paper with GPCH hotel map. =)

Felicia> I have 29 tables + 1 reserved(but was also kept away cuz need more space for wedding singer), it was ok. I'm wearing a can-can dress n still can walk around. No problem.

jo_chua

but will 29 tables be too squeezy for sword bearer wedding? 1 of my friend who held her banquet during sept told me that 29 tables is very packed cos hers is 29 tables and the banquet manager that night actually ask her for money to pay the bill in front of the guests. I hope this is only 1 time thing cos I do not see other feedbacks on this issue.

I am keeping my fingers crossed that my tables does not exceed 28.. -___-"

bedazzle_me

Thanks for the prompt reply MemorableChocolate!

Oh no! when I signed the contract I've only expressed that I want to do 22 tables. But now I think I need to do 27 tables. Will I be able to ask for more cards? Must I ask my coordinator to amend my contract? Or can I just ask for more from T-dragon?

jo_chua

Hi Bedazzle,

When u go T-dragon, they will ask you how many tables you have which they will claim 70% from hotel later.

Bedazzle> You can tell your coordinator that you wish to up your tables to 27 then collect the cards for 27tables. Initially my contract state 26tables, den i up to 30 tables, den back to 29 tables. Coordinator will only do finally confirmation about 1 to 2 weeks b4 ur wedding, so not a big prob.

I have 1 bottle wine per table (=29bottles) plus 6 bottles from using UOB card n plus 10 bottles from the F&B voucher. Total 45 bottles and I left with 4 bottles after the wedding, It all depend on you guests and how many drivers.

Beer was free flow so not to worry.

For had liquor, I only used up two bottles which I brought along. (also depend on guests)

plue

Hi MemorableChocolate, very kind of you to come back and share the information with us.
Can I check with you for the printing of wedding cards, does it include FOC insert map of GPCH , all by T-Dragon? or do we need to pay extra for the map if we do not do the printing with them? Thanks.

weixiang_06

BTBs: note that GPCH has a change in the billing arrangement... all the banquet bills need to be settled on that exact same day itself. Meaning by 2359... hence, like some forumers mentioned about settling the bill in front of their relatives, it is true.

I got to know about this from Christopher. Say my wedding ends at 1045pm. I will aim to settle the bill by 1130pm. hope it helps.

bedazzle_me

I think it depends on what is on your contract. Mine states " the balance of the total bill, if any, shall be settled by cash or credit cards at the end of the event or upon checkout". So I guess I can reserve my rights to pay at checkout

weixiang_06

bedazzle: i am not sure.. from what chris told me this afternoon, it seems to apply to mine...

hey, but bringing out my contract. Mine also states " the balance of the total bill, if any, shall be settled by cash or credit cards at the end of the event or upon checkout".

I wonder whether the latest bill arrangement supersede what has been written in the contract? Does this apply to all of us who had signed in the earlier contracts?

Good point noted, will raise this with Chris again. After all, i signed and nego the contract with William.

bedazzle_me

Recommedations needed for bilingual and friendly JP (other than Dr Phua Tan Tee). Preferably someone that can do it short and sweet, because I am planning to have the solemnisation on my banquet.