Grand Park City Hall

MemorableChocolate, u may want to double check with your coordinator, cuz if im not wrong, halal and vegetarian food are catered, not cooked in the hotel kitchen. so the menu may be different, not just using halal chicken to cook the chicken dish in the menu. hth

pudding> I was thinking if they have something soupy for the chicken...eg. herbal chicken soup

For your roast crispy chicken, was it your original menu or you change it?

ipc> thats a good idea. Shall consider that. Thanks.

My HTB have a wedding invit to GPCH on this coming Nov 09, will ask him take some pictures. Hehe.

nana > the crispy chicken is in the original menu, most people like it... not sure abt herbal chicken maybe u can chk with ur coordinator

btw, anyone need to buy wine? I am looking for someone to share an Australian wine so that I can make up the numbers for a cheaper price.

can pm me if you are interested?

I am new to this thread as currently considering a change in venue... looking at GPCH as i remembered a very good experience a few years back when i attended my friend's wedding... hope things havent change too much...

Would just like to check on the themes as I have missed the wedding show recently.

Are there any more oriental themes that are suitable for a shanghai chic wedding?

Please share any tots if you can... meeting up with william later this week.

Nana: personally I dont like the herbal chicken...so change to cripsy...which I heard many say the cripsy is nice...hmmm but did not get to taste it duing the food tasting as I tried out the other one ke ke ...

hi blur, oh u are changing your venue..when is your AD.....hee so far I am very glad of my choice of GPH...

As for the theme..there are quite a few to choose but as for oriental themes, personally I think they dont really have that suits lei...but they are very friendly and helpful, you may wanna discuss with them ;)

dzdz & Jiening:

thanks for the warm welcome and for sharing the pic... I think i will like the place too! it has always given me a good feeling.. Though i rem when i last went for the dinner, it was still Grand Plaza Park Royal... so these hotels changing names are kind of confusing.

Will be meeting William on Thursday.. Hope to get the venue finalised soon... it was quite traumatising to do a change at this last minute...

I be very happy to join you gals...

My mum and i went to peep into the wedding gallery last sunday and she likes the black seat cover with dark pink chair tiebacks! I love that too... :D

I met up with William yesterday night. Overall, it was really good and I am crossing my fingers that the ballroom gets its due reno during qing ming in 2010.

Other than that, understand that new and bigger chairs are being used in the banquet hall. Thus, the place can now hold a maximum of 30 tables. Sigh... have to go back to the parents and ask them to cut down on the number of guests.

Now a bit concerned on whether the place will be cramped... I do like GPCH and the food!

Any tots to share?

i just had my wedding banquet last sat! overall experience was quite good! i had mixed reviews of the food but generally, most of them said it's quite nice. most importantly, all my guests went back with a heavily filled stomach, which i thought that was the main purpose of a banquet - i mean if the guests doesn't like the food, they wouldn't have cleared the plates also rite? anyway, the portions were quite big i heard..just that some commented that the food served may only be warm and not hot..which i think is something inevitable considering that we had so many tables on that day..

i will still choose this hotel if i'm given another chance to select my wedding banquet

hi blur, thanks for the update!

supergal, thanks for sharing ur experience! yah i guess it's difficult to have the food served piping hot in a banquet ba.. =)

Hi supergal!
Glad yr experience at GPCH has been great

Btw, off track abit, saw yr postings at the JP- Mr Yeo Woon Soo. Was tinking of engaging him as my JP. Is he gd? Not the strict strict type? U did it in Eng/Chi? Parents (witnesses) dun understand Eng and most guests are English speaking... *headache*

hiya drizzles,

yup, the experience was good and we have been lucky to get the Governor Suite as well! though we hadn't got the time to enjoy the jacuzzi...hehehe!

our parents like the suite too because it was very spacious. a pity that cos the hotel can't confirm on the bridal suite except on the day itself..if not i wouldn't have to open up the day room for my helpers cos there were so many mirrors around in the suite..my initial thought was that if the bridal suite hasn't got sufficient mirrors around for make-up for my bridesmaids, helpers and mommies (altogether 10 of them!), i would then need to use the helpers' room...if not, i could have used it for my anniversary stay instead...

anyway, regarding the solemiser..not sure what is your definition of a good JP but i find mr yeo quite alrite..i did mine in mandarin cos we find it more meaningful to have our parents understanding the ceremony..it's less of a prob for us cos all our friends and relatives can understand mandarin..

so i guess now it depends what is your priority..but personally, i feel it is more important to take your parents' "feeling" into consideration..unless they specifically tell you that they don't mind and prob will just take cue from the solemniser on when to do what..then i think should be fine then!

hope this helps a little! btw, mr yeo is effectively bilingual..so no prob with him conducting the ceremony in either languages!

Hello Supergal,
I am glad you enjoyed your big day with GPCH! As I did not sign up during the wedding show, I have yet to view the actual ballroom setup. However, all the positive comments here have helped to give me more assurance of my choice.

supergal: Hi there.. thanks for the feedback... I have a lot of confidence in the food. Just got my contract fr william as well. Very excited about it...

Did you use the angpow box from GP? If so, can shrae how it look like?

Just having tots about the F&B voucher and the wedding favors... not sure if i shd exchange the F&B voucher for something... also the favors a bit limited for now... not too sure shd outsource it as well.

drizzles: My JP is Mr Yeo Woon Soon too! He is nice... i met up with him at Serangoon Gardens Mac.. haha... he is very patient and kind... :D Did the Chinese one as I tot the witnesses who are parents should understand what is being said.

drizzles: my JP did both Chinese and English, although our group understood Chinese n our parents doesn't know English, we should have just stick with Chinese alone but we still went ahead with both languages that is because I wanted the "I do" to be said and be recorded down in our video as a memory. Hehe. Btw, the Chinese one is really touching, I almost cry during my ROM when my FTH said his vow (repeat from the JP). The down side, abit troublesome and long to have both languages but it is your moment, just pick what you think is most memorable and comfortable for you both. Anyway, I don’t think it was long either, ended pretty fast too. Give more time for your photographer to take pictures too.

If u want, u can try my JP: Mr Zenon Teh Chin Huak ([email protected])

hi chocolatepraline,

i guess you can arrange with your co-ordinator to meet up sometime in late evening where there will be a wedding banquet...so that you can get the chance to view the actual wedding set-up! though the themes may be different, it will at least give you a feel of how the set-up is going to look like!

hi blur btb, yes i used the ang pao boxes from the hotel..cos lazy to do one for myself..they can provide you with 2 of them..so that you can separate out the ang paos...but i don't have the pics now, cos i also only get to see on my AD..but they are quite nice i would say..with a pair of wedding bears tied to ribbon at the top left hand corner..will share once i got my AD pics!

actually the F&B vouchers can't change to anything significant in my opinion..we thought of getting our own wedding favours too and exchange for more wine on top of the one bottle per confirm table..but got to know that the most we can get is only about 10+ bottles, with a 27 tables banquet..so decided to use their favours and keep the F&B voucher...

drizzles: you're most welcome!

MemorableChocolate: Wah you are very emotional leh... I was feeling rather comical during the solemnisation... even though i think the occasion is meant to be serious...

Sweet ah...

Supergal: THanks for the informton about the AP Box... Let me think about whether I should use my own or not since I already got the wrapper to wrap it up in... some rather cute traditional cutouts of chinese characters I got in JB.

If this is the case, I should try and stick to the wedding favors given then... otherwise like very lugi like that...

WOuld anyone have any tots about how flexi the coordinators are in terms of additional requests such as wanting an additional table during the reception?

Hi MemorableChocolate & supergal,

Thanks for all your updates. Felt really glad and relieved that we have chosen GPCH for our AD. And congratulations to both of your!

Blur_btb> Haha, ya i'm a very emo person. I also requested for additional table at the recept for other things, William was fine with it. He said it is not a problem at all. =)

Met up with William last Friday who has nicely agreed to hold the date for us until our credit card comes to put down the deposit.

The place does look very charming, especially behind at the courtyard (where the spa is). Would make a nice place for pictures.

Still have no chance to look at the suite yet as due to the Apec, everything is full up.

Will we be able to choose which suite that we can get or do they give priority to the couple at the Grand ballroom (understand park palace restaurant can do weddings too).

Anyone got to the part of choosing themes, flowers and table linens yet?

hi blur, we cannot really choose the suite, but can tell William your preference, and it will be subject to availability -- priority given to the actual hotel guests, not sure if priority will be given to ballroom couple though.

anyone know if the flowers used in the theme deco can be changed? i like the crystal crystal theme (duno what's the theme name), but i feel like changing away the red roses... wonder if it can be done?

Jiening: oh I see, which suite is the biggest ah? I havent been able to see any yet and I know that pictures are never the good judge.

I tot the flowers are provided by the florist in house? I think William mentioned a few types of flowers but if you change to a more expensive flower, then likely got to top up $$$ bah...

blur, read from the previous posts that the governor suite has outdoor jacuzzi, and i think it's the biggest but im not very sure though.. never see before.

there's another one called oriental suite, i went up before, i think it's not big. but i am not able to compare the both la. lol~ it has a hall, a bedroom, and iirc 1 toilet and 1 bathroom. but they are not that spacious.

Jiening: Oh I see... aiya.. then chin chai le lah.. I take whatever they give me lor...since it is only use to sleep for a night...

Which part of preparation are you at now? Can I check with you something about the flowers since we are on them? I be having weekend dinner. Would you know if floral centrepieces are included for the guest and VIP tables? Its not stated in my contract.

i still havent reach the stage. haha.. my wedding is august10 so still got a long way to go. but it's weekend dinner too

this is stated in my contract:
ï¡ Reception table with fresh floral arrangement
ï¡ Fresh floral centre-piece and Sash for 02 VIP tables
ï¡ Exclusive centre-piece for all guest tables

i think there should be a matching floral centrepieces for guest table as well as what i saw from the wedding showcase:

vip table

guest table

this pic, if im not mistaken, should be the guest centrepieces for various themes.
not 100% sure.. XP

Jiening: Oh ya! I just saw that in my contract... read the wrong document.. no wonder cannot find.... I shall go for the next wedding show! I dont believe myself that I havent been to any and got all my vendors signed.

Hi gals: Has anyone got to the point of album layout viewing yet? I was wondering what to look out for at this stage of the process.

Any advice is appreciated!

Hi ladies, I just met up with William a couple of weeks ago.

Kind of disappointed to know that the hotel is not providing matching floral centrepieces for guest tables. It is an ornament made of probably acrylic with a hole in the middle where the table number is displayed.

Im considering to hold my banquet at GPCH.

I browse through their website and thought that the march-in aisle was kinda short (prob distance of 3 tables). And the ballroom is kinda landscape layout.

Is it true? Can someone share yr comments on the above?

Oh dear, I thought everything will be included. I have checked my contract, & indeed, nothing's mentioned about the fresh floral centerpieces for VIP & guest tables! If that's the case, it's just like selling a pen without including the ink...

Hello Cute Hippo,
Yes, the march-in will be very short. From the previous posts, I gathered that if you have around 24 tables, they can change the layout of the hall, to allow for longer march-in.

I am still considering if I should top up to get flowers for guest tables. But after looking at the works of the florist, I can't be certain if it is worth me topping up. If it's just a flower in a glass container, I am probably better off with using their ornament.

The themes look good on photos, but looked kind of 'incomplete' when I saw them physically. I am referring to those flower stand used for decorating the aisle.

Overall, I had good experience with GPCH but will be even better if the floral arrangement were up to my expectations.

Phy: I checked with William and he say that the floral centrepieces would only be for the VIP tables and the guest tables would be their "state of art centrepieces as seen in their showroom".

I havent got time to go down to the hotel showroom to peep at to see what they mean. So, I think what you say is right bah. Have you got a picture to share on the table number holder?

How much will they charge for a top up of the guest table centrepiece? If it is exceed $10 each, then not worthwhile le.

Whats the issue with the flower stand leh? Not enough flowers on top? Please share and then we can discuss!

Phy and Jiening: I was thinking hor, if the topping up for the florist to do guest centrepiece is too expensive, I think we might be better off getting some simple blooms and putting in a glass container we can buy from Ikea... friends can help set up the few tables... might be cheaper....

I duno... any tots?

Blur btb, i have not checked with William on how much I need to top up for guest centrepiece. Afterall guests will probably get to see it only for 1 hour or so before the dinner starts. Probably no one even notice that?

For the flower stand, I personally find that the flowers are a more like the 'supporting actor' and leaves are like the 'lead actor'.

Unfortunately I did not take photos of the flowers and the 'state of art centrepieces'. I will suggest that you gals find time to take a look at the actual set up to have a feel before selecting the theme. It may be mean multiple trips, but I am sure we want to be welcome by the sight of beautiful blooms when we march in.

Phy: When is your AD? I hope you have time to sort out the floral stuff.

Actually I really cannot understand why we cannot get everything settled within one trip leh... Why can't we choose table linens, flowers and wedding cards and favors all in the same trip leh...

Haha.. I think I m too much of a sucker for efficiency lah.. and I need to see the big picture of things, so these small things back and forth is driving me nuts... (or will drive me nuts later)

Ya, shall find time to take a look at the state of the art pieces....

Phy, can you ask them to add more flowers to the stands? Ask them dont be stingy...

Hi gals, this is the centrepiece for all tables. Sorry that i do not hv the side view. VIP tables will be all fresh flowers. I think hving flowers or not is a small issue, to me, i rally notice the centre piece when i attend wedding. The plate of peanut catch my attention even more. Haha.
1267531.jpg

Blur btb, i settled everything within one trip. My AD is in Dec 09.

If you are a perfectionist and wants to know what you are getting into then u need to make multiple trips to see different themes on the wedding day of other couples. Cos for me, I actually saw one of the arrangements when i went to select my theme and immediately eliminated that theme becos they seemed to be stingy on the flowers. Honestly, without seeing the real thing, I might have chosen that theme based on the pictures.

Telling myself to close one eye, cos at the end of the day, it's the feeling and state of mind I have on that day that determines how pretty the place is.

Memorable chocolate, let's hope they are more generous with their peanuts :D

Phy: Wah, congrats to you leh.. its coming soon.. so you already settled everything liao lah, that is good.

Which theme did you eventually pick? I wouldnt have known also lah.. that we cannot select based on pics...

My goodness, this is one odd looking centrepiece.. hahaa state of the art some more...

But never mind, my friend just attended wedding lunch there and she says that the food is good... so i think that is the most important...

Thanks! I chose the arch thingy. I don't know the name of the theme. But I did ask for bigger and more flowers, hoping that the floral arrangements won't look too bare lor..

Oh yah, my experience during food tasting was good. Looking at earlier reviews, I think we will be in safe hands on the actual day.

Phy: Ya, not too worried about the food as I have tried it before as well... and I think we have a menu that will make all guests happy.. quite unique...

Aiyo, I still cannot imagine the state of art centrepiece... Can I request for them not to put that? Scary sia... Can't they just put a stalk of flower or something? tsk tsk

What table linens did you pick? I love the black chair covers and burgendy linen for the VIP table.