Grand Hyatt Singapore

raindrop,

think they got chocolate, fruit cake, chopstick, and photo frames... and may be some other things but I don't recall on that... i chose the photo frame and i think it was really nice =>

hi mango lover

u mentioned that u need to top up additional $40 as u did not have the required minimum no. of tables. is this $40 the same for all the other ballrooms?

may i know who is your coordinator?
can i have her contact no.?

Hi Ismiley,

Yah, I believe it should be as there are designated min. no. of tables in each of their ballrooms (eg. min of 25 in Stamford room, min of 15 in Camellia room).

U can take a look at the floor plan on Hyatt's website to decide if you like their ballrooms. For me, I jus need one without pillars.

My coordinator is Cynthia. A pretty patient and professional lady, I must say.

I think her no. is 6416 7024. If not, you can always call Hyatt and they will put u to the person in charge of banquets and catering (there's quite a few of them).

swatch

do u still remember where to print the insets for the wedding cards and roughly the cost?

cos my friend's hubby says is quite easy to print the inserts using home pc and the paper is cheap. he says can save lots of $$. is it true?

u think worth of trouble to DIY the printing?

<font color="0000ff">circusbugs...</font>
my next fitting will be 1 week before my PS (9 Jun 04). so shd be ard end of May

ivory
ok. i think me shd be going there end of this mth or may.

cos all my girlfriends say shd go early in case i dun like the outcome still got ample time for them to change.

wah... u mean u wan them to redo the whole gown if u dun like ah? dun think they will do that leh... mini mini details like add more organza or more beadings mayb can lor...

ivory

i meant little bit of change here and there

last time my girlfriend make the designer change the whole lower part of the dress cos the designer insited the mermaid skirt suited her. luckly she got ample time

oh i c... ya small small changes here n there ok lah...

if its the designer fault then they are obliged to change the whole gown lah, provided u din agree to the gown design in the 1st place or insisted on the gown design when it doesnt suit u lor

but i think Abel quite good at comming up with designs that flatter ur body shape lor, so nt much to worry lah

kekeke... no lah... his face is the kind not so friendly one lah...
dun worry, he very nice one lah

hee... fang yi bai ge xin lah
at least for the past few times i go there we can joke ard ah

mayb when u are there just jokingly ask him y he look so fierce cos ur fren (datz me) say he very fun one leh... when he ask which fren u just say the one who do chinese dance one lor
he will noe who liao

hi mango lover &amp; gals....

does anyone know if we could change coordinator? i mean the coordinator which we used to liase with, could we request for a change?
cos we found some discrepancies between what was offered to us and what was offered by other catering sales manager....

pls advise

circusbugs,

we printed the cards at T-dragon, which is the printer of hyatt. we chose them becoz we actually don't like the design of hyatt cards, and t-dragon can exchange FOC if we use them as printer.... the cost for hot stamping is 100SGD for 100 pieces, and then 40 or 60 cents per piece afterwards.... (think should be 60cents), if you print the insert, it's about 100SGD for 200pieces if i am not wrong. I printed the invite for my wedding banquet in HK by myself at home coz of small amount, it's not too difficult, but time consuming, so it's really up to you and your budget. but if you don't use T-dragon as printer, you will have to use the standard card of Hyatt...

hope this help!

Ismiley,
think they normally stick thru your case, except for my case, my prev. coordinator was not free to handle our case. however, when we have problem with our 2nd coordinator, we did go back to the first one and problem was solved!

thanx swatch

ismiley
no prob. cos the 1st time i liase with the lady and ask her to block my date. then a mth later i called and arrange for confirmation and contract and made another appt with someone else and i did explain that i dun feel comfortable with the first one.

if u really afraid, then i go down with u during ur gown design lor
at least i know him, easier for him to soften if he's really fierce
for this mth i will be free on Mon and Thur evening

hi ivory, forgot to update my bridal shop - thomson wedding. my coordinator from hyatt is Anjali.

swatch2004, can you kindly send your photos to my email [email protected]

really keen to your wedding gown and the banquet room. I'm still thinking whether I will regret choosing a slim cut gown instead of the 'pong pong' bustier style.

mango lover, swatch2004. charmo, cirucsbugs &amp; gals

pls advise me as to which coordinator is more patient &amp; accomodating &amp; trustworthy.
i am thinking of changing coordinator but the thing is that we have already paid our deposit, can we still request for a change?

we found some discrepancies between what was offered by her and other catering managers. and its really a hassle having to "reason" out with her regarding the pricing.

any advises how i shld go abt handling this?

Ismiley

ai yo. u pd deposit alreadi so i dun know if they will let u change.
or u can ask the coordinator why there are diff things being offered?

actually my coordinator ask me not to compare cos diff couples have diff. requirements and maybe i dun need certain things then i trade in for something else tt other couples dun need.

if not u can try those coordinators that listed in the tables cos i thought i saw a few names there

ivory
dancing as a ECA?
me now still flipping magazines. will let u know when i am gg down ok?
cos husband out of town.

kekeke... err... sort of lah... i have been dancing since poly days until now lor
going to have a performance in Sept this yr, wanna support me??

<font color="0000ff">Ismiley...</font>
i dunno how to phrase my advise so that it wun sound offensive to u..

actually, it is not really ethical to change another coordinator when u have oledi paid deposit just bcos u later found out that other coordinators are offering different or more things.

like i said in my previous posting, freebies are offered to us as a gesture of goodwill, to thank us for choosing them n the hotel. it is not a must to give us freebies as it is unrecoverable costs to the hotel. it is not included in the amount u pay for in the final bill. mayb its that the other couple's table qty is more than yours or they topped up more for a better menu or they forgo some other items, e.g. reduce the 2 nites stay to 1 nite stay, etc... all these will will affect the items in the contract cos the coordinators will help u try n secure a better value package by adding more freebies to show appreciation for topping up the value of ur menu or increase in table qty or mayb waive the corkage charges becos u forgo wedding favours, etc..

in service line, there is no fixed contract. i believe ur coordinator has tried her best to work out the best value contract for your big day... maybe its not that ur coordinator dun wan to give u more freebies, but mayb your contract value is not justifiable for the amount of freebies you would like to have?

jus my 2 cents worth of comments, pls do not feel offended

ivory

when and venue? chinese dance? wow u very good. after work still got so much energy. me after home cannot wait to go home and laze around.

maybe i too old liao... now even watch mid night sometimes also cannot 'tong'

in Sept 04 @ Victoria Theatre. ticket price $10, $15 &amp; $20. Mainly on Chinese Dance.

we will have a dance recital coming Jul to showcase preview of Sept's performance and some other kinds of chinese dance.. if u are interested u can go for the recital first then decide whether u wan to support me in Sept or not lor

not that i got a lot of energy lah... just that, has been having this kinda routine since poly days... so when i come out to work dun feel that tired lor.. its a good form of relaxation oso

Ismiley,

i kind of agree with what ivory said that it's hard to compare from different couples, However, if it's something that you have asked for from the very beginning and they have promised before you pay the deposit, then i think it's a justifiable ground to fight for it. In my case, we did fight for sth, but it's something that we have been asking from the very beginning, and our coordinator very reluctant but in the end gave in. well, and we find out that they did lie to us as well, saying that something is not available due to renovation, which is totally not true....

I think it's hard to compare freebies, like if some couples sign up during promotion, they tends to get more, but you may still present your case to your coordinator, i mean, afterall, your banquet is still a business to them!

good luck!

hi gals.

guess u all have misunderstood, i din compare the freebies with other couples..in fact, we din really ask for additional perks.
for our case, its like this: we did not meet the minimum required no. of tables for our ballroom, hence we need to top up a certain amt for it.
the amount was quoted by our coordinator and we thought that the amt was standardised by the hotel.

however, my colleague who is also interested in having her wedding banquet in hyatt, called them up, and another coordinator happened to serve her.
my colleague also couldnt meet the minimum required no. of tables, will be taking the same ballroom as me, and guess what? the amt which she need to top up is less than ours, and when she was told that this top up price is standarised all along.

personally, i don think there should be any discrepancies in the pricing of the top up amt per table if we could not meet the minimum, cos my colleague min table is the same as mine.

oh i c.... pai seh pai seh... misunderstanding

then mayb becos ur colic's is on week day n urs is on week end?

or ur colic is off peak season n urs is peak season?

all this factors do affect hotel's pricing u noe...

ismiley

sori misunderstood u also

actually my 1st coordinator did not tell me that top up stuff also. when i switch to current one, he fore warn me but in the contract they did not put down as black and white so it is only verbal and over the phone.

so me and my hubby confirmed the min no. first if 2 weeks before the AD we cannot meet the min no. then we will sit down with the coordinator and neogotiate again.

so is urs on the contract?

a few weeks oso make a difference esp if there are any big events in the town

y not u tok to ur coordinator 1st and ask y is there a difference in the top up rate? (btw wat is the difference in the top up amt?) see whether the explanation she gave u is acceptable to u or not?

communicate 1st before deciding any drastic moves like changing coordinator

hi ivory

the package that they sent to my colleague is a standaridised package with all the price of the tables included. eg: min 15 tables $xx min 10 tables $xx.

and for goodness sake, we called up the hotel and another coordinator quoted us exactly the price that was quoted to my colleague when we enquired about our AD availability. so since two of the hotel coordinator both quoted the same lower price, there shouldn't be any reason why we are charged that extra.

the explanation that our coordinator gave was that my colleague's coordinator is a new staff, hence quoted a different rate...this is absolutely ridiculous, does she meant that the other coordinator whom attended to us over the phone is also a new staff???

hi circusbugs,

mine is not on the contract, only verbal...
such an unhappy encounter.....
we don mind paying the difference, cos its not a big amount, however we felt unjustifiable when the top up amt should be lesser than what we were quoted.

goodness... i supposed u have noted down all the names of the 3 coordinators.. then u can consider writing in to the Head of the Catering Sales Department, and bring to his attention of the discrepancies..

of cos u cant sound agressive in your letter, just highlight to him that you've encountered this kind of inconsistent quotations. Also quote ur coordinator's remarks when you have approached her for an explanation (being the other staff is new).

ask him to give u a reasonable explanation
mayb he will offer to change the coordinator or waive the top up charges for u?

Ismiley

i agree with Ivory.

or maybe u shd schedule a meeting with the coordinator to actually address this issue? but make sure u and the coordinator sit and talk to them nicely cos this is suppose to be a happy event and i believe they will try their best to make it a happy event for u too...

hope to hear gd news fr u next week

ismiley,

I can understand what that feels like, and that's kind of similar to my previous situation, except mine was not about money...

as others have mentioned, you can just go to the manager and demand an explanation. I don't know about others, but the last time when i complained to the manager via e-mail, I was definitely firm with my wordings to get their attention. Before that i left the task to my hubby who is someone always being very nice... I don't blame him for that as that's what he is like. So, i wrote the e-mail and we got what we want....

good luck and hope that we will hear the good news soon

hi thanks for e reply, my big day on 7th nov 2004, but i don know how and when to start to look out for my wedding gown.. i alone preparing cos my husband to be is out of town for few months...

hi ivory, circusbugs, swatch2004 &amp; gals

thanks thanks for your advices.
we did consider approaching the manager of catering sales, and by-pass our coordinator with regards to the discrepancies as quoted by the coordinators....
however since this is supposed to be a happy event, we din want to blow the matter up. our coordinator gave us such a ridiculous explanation, and we are still quite sore about this, but it is obvious that she quoted us unreasonably.

swatch2004,
u meant that u wrote the email directly to the manager of catering sales? do u still have his email address?

we might just continue to liase with our present coordinator....*sign* but we really felt unjustifiable....

babu
maybe u could source out any wedding package at wedding boutiques? they have made to measure gown, but not sure the duration that they need to tailor made

ismiley,

we e-mailed our previous coordinator, not exactly the manager... but she was the one who we liase with from the beginning, so it was reasonable for us to go to her.

how about calling up hyatt at the reception and ask for the e-mail instead?

Hi Ismiley,

Have not been on this site for a long time and didn't know that so much has gone thro' but I think I know what you mean coz there was this time when I spoke to another coordintor, she gave me a different quotation too.

In the end, we decide to stick to the original coordinator. Not because she gave any better deal but because I trust that Hyatt should have a std rate for the tables and increments (if min tables are not met) and that the other person I spoke to may not have understood my requirements clearly.

Sigh... Sad to experience this kind of inconsistency for such a big organisation. But really, if you need to speak to someone to clarify, you should. It's afterall a happy event and won't be good if you feel bad about the whole thing.

If you would like more details from me, perhaps u could email me at [email protected].

Hi Bubu,

Check out bridal studios recommended by friends and go for their made to measure package. I didn't think it's too late yet (but you have to do it REAL soon). My wedding's in late Oct and the shops that I go to said that they could still get a MTM gown out for me.

Note: I have not bought my bridal package yet but should be doing so this coming week.

It also depends if you need to get the gown out before the pre-wedding photography and if the photos needs to be out before your wedding. I think they need about 3-4 months to finish your gown (with all the alterations needed).

There are also tailors around who tailor-make wedding gowns. Juz have to ask around. I don't really know of any personally but I do have friends who get tailors to make their wedding gowns.

Hope it helps. All the bez in designing your gown.

There's a lot of BS having promo at suntec Ballroom 2, it's more like a war &amp; the competition is very strong, definitely will get very good bargain during this weekend

Hello Ismiley,

Managed to speak to anyone?

My wedding's in late Oct but the banquet is in the 1st week of Nov (weekday).

Btw, does anyone have any recommendations for tailors who tailor make guys' suits?