Grand Hyatt Singapore

hi smiley,

I have sent you the PS pix instead as you are interested in GHA too. you can see if you like the style of their photos. Most of our guests on the wedding nite have good comments on the PS (well, they might just be courteous) but i am satisifed with GHA overall, and their selection of gown is good too... personally, i like the cheong sum most! =>

if you want to take a look at the AD photos, let me know as well, but it might take a while as I will be flying off on a business trip the next few days...

are you considering Grand Hyatt too?

hi oraia,
agree with u. I once when to a hotel for seminar, not very impressive. but when I went there again for my friend's wedding dinner, it's very nice loh.

will check with the banquet manager when got wedding...

hi hp,

hehe, ya.. true lor... i tink esp for hyatt,i feel.

my fiance and i were quite pleasant surprised aft seeing the wedding setup. our jaws just dropped hehehe.
then i signed contract liao, i still abit insecure, i went back another time to see wedding setup again to reassure myself hehehe.

Just to share with you gals out there, i have a bad experience with Hyatt. Make an appointment with the manager and i waited for 15 minutes without anyone appearing! I went to the reception counter and was then told that she is not at her desk.. The reception staff didn't even bother to inform me. They just left her a message at her voice mail and expect her to retrieve it!

On the other hand, the manager should be professional enough to be contactable or even courteous enough to drop us a call to inform even she is being caught up somewhere.

Earlier, some ang mo reception counter staff were already not very rude and unprofessional when i called up to look for the banquet manager.

In all, it was a total disappointment!

For Grand Hyatt u can neg with them to waive the corkage if u intend to bring in ur own wine. I spoke to them b4 & they agreed to waive the corkage but of cos all my wine & hard liquor must be duty paid

<center><font size="+2"><font face="Monotype Corsiva">Hyatt Brides</font></font></center>
<center><table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">Name</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Wedding Date</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ballroom</font> </TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="0000ff">Coord</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="ff0000">Tables</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD Photographer</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Favours</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Days Left</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Weeks Left</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0077aa">babydoll</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">13 Dec 03</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Hibiscus</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Cheryl</font></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">25</font></center></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Kai Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="0077aa">FSP - Choon Huat</font></font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">chopsticks</font></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">--</font></center></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">--</font></center> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0077aa">naturally</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">21 Dec 03</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Grand</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Michele</font></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">50</font></center></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Le Galleria</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Greymatter</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">photo frames</font></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">--</font></center></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">--</font></center> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0077aa">daphne</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">23 Dec 03</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Hibiscus</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Michele</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Greymatter</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">--</font></center></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">--</font></center> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0077aa">Swatch2004</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">10 Feb 04</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Hibiscus</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">Michele</font></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">21-25</font></center></TD><TD><font color="0077aa"><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="0077aa">photo frames</font></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">--</font></center></TD><TD><center><font color="0077aa">--</font></center> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mookie22</TD><TD>6 Jun 04</TD><TD>Hibiscus</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Andy</font></TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">25</font></center></TD><TD>Silhouette</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>67</TD><TD>9.6 </TD></TR><TR><TD>BabyG</TD><TD>15 Jul 04</TD><TD>Hibiscus</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Andy</font></TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">15</font></center></TD><TD>Milan</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>photo frames</TD><TD>106</TD><TD>15.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>charmo</TD><TD>28 Jul 04</TD><TD>Hibiscus</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">25</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>119</TD><TD>17.0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>venusflytrap </TD><TD>17 Sept 04</TD><TD>Hibiscus</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>168</TD><TD>24.0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>dae</TD><TD>19 Sept 04</TD><TD>Hibiscus</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>Wedding News</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>170</TD><TD>24.3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gerlynn</TD><TD>23 Sept 04</TD><TD>Hibiscus</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Andy</font></TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">25</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Camellia Houte Couture</font></TD><TD>Beetles @ work </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>174</TD><TD>24.9 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gintonic</TD><TD>23 Sept 04</TD><TD>Grand/1 </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Michele</font></TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">50</font></center></TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>174</TD><TD>24.9 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivory</TD><TD>4 Oct 04</TD><TD>Grand/1/2 </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Andy</font></TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">50</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Popular Honeymoon</font></TD><TD>Nick G.</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>185</TD><TD>26.4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>raindrop</TD><TD>16 Oct 04</TD><TD>Hibiscus</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Cynthia</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>197</TD><TD>28.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>smurfette</TD><TD>24 Oct 04</TD><TD>Grand</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">40</font></center></TD><TD>Inspiration Collection</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>205</TD><TD>29.3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>mooee</TD><TD>27 Nov 04</TD><TD>Garden</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Michele</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>238</TD><TD>34.0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>oraia</TD><TD>12 Dec 04</TD><TD>Stamford </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Cynthia</font></TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">25</font></center></TD><TD>Bridal Veil </TD><TD>Benny Ang</TD><TD>own favours</TD><TD>253</TD><TD>36.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Puzzlerain</TD><TD>19 Dec 04</TD><TD>Hibiscus</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>Paris</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>260</TD><TD>37.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>circusbugs</TD><TD>22 Dec 04</TD><TD>Grand</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Andy</font></TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">40</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Popular Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>263</TD><TD>37.6 </TD></TR><TR><TD>shootingstar</TD><TD>27 Dec 04</TD><TD>Stamford </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Lynn</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>own favours</TD><TD>268</TD><TD>38.3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lovyaa2</TD><TD>18 Jan 05</TD><TD>Stamford </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Andy</font></TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">25</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Camellia Houte Couture</font></TD><TD>Beetles @ work </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">*</font></TD><TD>289</TD><TD>41.3 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

Hello ladies,

Dropped by this site as I was planning to have my banquet at Hyatt. Alas, went down to meet up with the manager today and was rather disappointed by the ambience of the banquet setting (basic white setting) from the photos she showed me.

Help! I was almost ready to pay my deposit but is now very hesitent.

I was slightly comforted by Oraia's posting. Oraia, did you go for a theme setting (where you have to top up) or did you go for the basic setting provided?

Any advices, Hyatt brides?

hi mango lover,

which room did you look at? cos we looked at the hibuscus room as well as the sir stamford room.
eventually decided with the latter. both rooms are gold-ish hues after it's done up.

am not gg to topup for the theme setting, cos it's not really worth it, tts what i feel.
if you go with the theme setting, u'll get individual servings for all the courses, which can be quite slow at times as well....

Hello Oraia,

Cynthia recommended the Camellia Room as I only have 15 tables. It didn't look fantastic when I viewed it.

I didn't really like the room also as it has 2 outstanding pillars in the middle.

We didn't want to take up the theme setting as well as they're quite ex. So we are willing to settle for the basics as long as they look classy and has the right ambience for a wedding.

hi mango lover,

i c... i didn't see the carmellia room, so can't help u there... but will there be a chance that ur no. of tables will increase?
if you think it may increase to abt 20 tables, then perhaps u can try and bargain for hibiscus room. it's quite a lovely room.

Hi Ivory,
so far, did you contact Andy? When are we suppose to meet up with him for the discussion of the ballroom? I have not meet up with him yet, don't when is the appropriate time to meet leh..

hi Chinwoon...
so far i met him twice end last yr..

1st time for him to do his banquet package presentation n a site show round. let him noe our restrictions or expectations.

2nd time (within 1 week) to pay deposit to cfm booking of venue n to iron out details of the contract lor

then hasnt met up with him this yr.. think nearer the date shd expect phone call from him with regards to wedding cards n from there follow thur the wedding prep

Its up to you when u wan to meet up with him? I met up with him last yr for this yr's booking is bcos of singaporean KS attitude
cos everybody starts booking venue 1 yr in advance bcos wan to snatch the good dates.. though we find that not impt, we still go ahead n book a date early just to get 1 item off the headache list

Thanks Oraia,

What's your opinion on the ambience of the basic setting? I thought that their floral piece (pot of rose)was a little simple.

Hi other Hyatt brides,

How's the ambience of your wedding? Does it give a clasy feel?

swatch
thanx for the pics. u r so pretty. i love the pics at the bridge. is ur gown full lace? is very nice

chinwoon
i heard he said tt they will post us sample of invitation cards abt 3 mths before out AD...

hi mango lover,

i think the ambience fr the 2 rooms i mentioned is quite nice and classy... very warm and cosy.

if i'm not mistaken, there are a few kinds of small centrepieces to choose from... not sure actually. but the centrepice will be taken away aft the dinner starts.

Thanks Oraia,

I might be increasing my tables to 20 after all. In fact my mum is more than pleased. Now have to persuade my FH that it's a better deal as he's always wanted to keep it small and simple.

But I find it quite unacceptable to have a room with s many pillars. Hee...

hi mango lover,

with 20 tables, you can then choose the hibiscus room, which is quite lovely.

20 tables is still small and simple... as compared to receptions with more than 50 tables, hehe..

hopefully you'll be able the get the room on the date of ur choice!
good luck!!

hi circusbugs,
my AD is in 2 mths and i didn't hear from Andy nor receive any sample invitation cards. In fact, I had to call him some time ago to check whether we collect GH cards from him or from TDragon. After my call, I've not heard from Andy at all.

<font color="0000ff">circusbugs...</font>
Abel has called me to go n try on my gowns tonite!!! they are ready liao!! so happy cos originally say 21 Apr then can 1st fitting leh

Ivory
happy for u too
let me know how ur fitting goes ok?
what's the ave time frame to make a gown?

mookie22
or u wanna try emailing him? realised tt he reply email quite fast leh

make gown ah.. i dunno leh... think oso depends on the season lah... if off-peak then they can do faster... else i think have to give them more time lor..

tonite wil have a few SB brides going with me oso, u wanna come along? cos after that we go for dinner at JEC lor

Ivory
cannot leh, me got driving lesson leh
can i check fr the first time u go down for the gown designing till today's first fitting is 'ah ga ah ga' how many mths?

me went for 1st appt to discuss n take measurements for gowns is on 4 Feb.. so its like 2 mths after we last met w/ them lor...

actually i din expect to be so fast cos initially they say May then gown will be ready. we requested for April ask them can quik quik or not thats y they gimme 21 Apr.. who noes they really piah 4 us n have the gowns out 20 days before deadline ah

bcos they call n ibform my hubby n i tot my hubby must have heard wrongly so tdy i call them n cfm lor :0

but i would think just the general structure lah.. the details may nt be sewn on the gowns yet

back from the trip finally, was in beijing last week, went to climb the great wall but did not manage to finish... hehe.. guess age is catching up!

circusbugs,

thx, my WG was full lace... and i like it a lot too, and it was good that we went there for photos shoot as there was not much ppl around in the morning =>

smurfette and raindrop,

sent!

Hi Oraia and all,

Finally decided on Hyatt!

20 tables at Sir Stamford Room on 2nd Nov 04.. Hee... The hibiscous room looks great too but alas it was booked on that day.

Now, will have to shop around for gowns.

i cant believe it!!! both my gowns are fully sewn with all the details and they are absolutely gorgeous!!!
i never expected that they can produce these kinds of gowns. Abel really put in a lot of effort and sew a lot of bead n crystals onto both my gowns!!! a bis boulder off my mind liao

<font color="0000ff">swatch...</font>
wah... u went to climb the Great Wall? got bring back a stone for each of us as souvenir???

ivory,

hehe, i can hardly manage to bring myself down from the great wall, let alone the stone!! there were lots of ppl who engraved their name on the stones of great wall though.

so your gown will be ready soon? must be so excited to see the finished product! =>

ivory
when is ur PS? got take photos of the gowns? u must be excited yest when u see ur gown! is there more alteration to be done? got photos to share?
my PS shd be in sept. then maybe i can go down in June since 2 mths is enough. then i can still flipped magazines

swatch
did u engraved your names too? so romantic

kekeke... ask ur hubby to bring u down with u holding onto the stones lor

actually my gowns are considered ready just that the EG still have some more beads n crystals to be sewn on

i think it will be better for u to meet up with them as early as u can to decide on the design cos 2nd half of the yr very busy for them, they may need more time to do the gowns..

mine is becos now not much ppl getting married so they can concentrate n quik quik do for me so they can take on other orders..

dun use my gowns guideline to do urs lah... better to go down early

so far my gowns are perfect
just need to amend smaller cos yesterday quite loose for me
my 2nd fitting will be end of May

got take pics.. now waiting for my sis to develop.. once its ready i let u noe

ya.. they very fast but i think its bcos now is off peak for them.. so they chop chop do for me 1st lor

my PS will be on 9 June
2 more mths for me to slim down.. hahahaha...

ya lor.. make up will be done by them lor... its all included in the BS package ah...

opps... me got the name wrong ah... bo bian lah... i can never remember their names
like Abel's name, i have to ask him to spell out for me during my gown discussion session so that i write down on my fitting date to make sure i address him correctly

i have no idea where to go.. have u tot of any?

ivory
me thinking of esplandade cos got sentimental reason there (it was there tt me and my hubby decided to be an item)

other than that dunno leh. u think hyatt will allow us to go there for shoot? they have a roof top garden right?

wah... then all the more u shd go Explanade for PS lor

Hyatt ah... dunno if they can arrange or not leh... must chk with Andy see if Hyatt allows this kinda arrangement or not lor...

Hello BabyG,

Yes, I have to top up since I can't make up the min no. of tables. Hv to top up $40 per table from the price given for 25 tables (in my case $708 top up to $748).

But it's only a slight top up considering that I was initially intending to have 15 tables ($728 per table).

anybody knows what are the types of wedding favours that Hyatt provides?

had oredi signed up for their package but don't recall seeing any details, on the contract,
about the favours. :-P