Furama Riverfront Singapore

li7

my AD is on the 14/3/09. But I guess if the other couple takes the date, we can change to the 7/3/09 (I like both dates)

Shanni, wanted to know if you are having a pelamin, like d malay stage thing? or you sticking with what they offer? Was just wondering, how does it work with you having both muslim and chinese package? do you just tell them how many pax for each?
I'm thinkin of asking to swap the champagne thing for something else...not really a fan of those things..
But there is quite a diff betn d western and muslim package..susah lah, coz we want 2 incorporate some western food also..goin 2 see if they can do it
so blur now, seems like so many things to sort..

shanni

Hi mashi mashi,

I have checked with my co-ordinator with regards to the wedding show and he says its free for my side.

If I didn't rem wrongly, those room No.26 at each level are used for bridal suite. Not so bad, it's facing Great World City side. Sorry...I cant reali rem which level I went to view liao but confirm low level. But there is a distance to walk from the suite to the ballroom. However still have to depends on the availability of the rooms. (But sorry IF I gif the wrong room no coz tat day I oso view Hotel Rendenvous one, hopefuli nvr say the wrong room no here. Heehee...If so...sorry in advance hor..)

I haven been to any wedding shows b4 bcoz too busy with work. Hopefuli this time round can go n view, if nt feel like a "mountain tortoise" lor. Hahaha...

Hi Lyana,
I dont have any pelamin, we jus asked for a table for solemnization and will b using the theme as the backdrop.

As my bf's mum wans to invite abt 100pax (may increase anytime) then plus our Muslim frens, so add up to abt 14-15tables. So we'll have one side to serve Muslim food while the other side serve Chinese food. The aisle will b the divider and the table cloth colour will b different. Total I have confirmed 28 tables and 14 tables each for both Chinese n Malay.

The hotel will charge according to the packages u take, eg if u have extra Muslim tables, then they will charge u the Muslim package amt.

U can ask for sparkling juice for the popping of champagne if u wanna have mixed western n muslim food. U oso can try to ask them for more wedding favours bcoz if ur relatives or frens cant attend ur wedding on the AD itself then go ur hse n visit u after tat, u stil have smthing for them. If urs is strictly no liquor, ask for juices, jus like wat I'm having. At least smthin to replace the wine or beer. Perhaps u can try to ask for xtra night stay with free buffet breakfast/lunch, FOC anniversary stay with makan oso, more parking coupons, favours. If i'm nt wrong they oreadi gif u guest book liao when u sign up.

They will sure tel u can do both Western n Muslim together 1 lor. But u have to tell them clearly whether u wanna have liquor or nt. So tat on the AD itself, there wont be any prob. Coz I was told tat there is some unpleasant things happen b4 on other mixed wedding. So gonna prepare and avoid for all things to happen. Of coz u have to tell ur helpers abt the liquor thing oso. Unless ur side is OK type.

We oreadi tell the hotel we wanna have strictly no liquor during my AD. My Chinese guests cant even buy from the hotel themselves. Tis is smthing we have to stay xtra firm, I dun wanna my future in laws side to b unhappy.

Btw ur HTB is a Malay oso? If so then y wanna have Western or Chinese n Muslim? Pai sey hor, jus curious...

li7

Hi Shanni,

Thanks for the advice about the food and favours..
my HTB is Malay also, but my dad is mak saleh (hahaha) so some of my family, cousins and western guests will be flying over for the wedding..so I want to incorporate both styles into the function..heee, plus me n HTB are very westernised (he wants lamb for the dinner do) so I dun wanna have an overload of malay food.. still thinking about the liquor part, maybe I'll just tell them that only certain tables will have wine. etc..

By the way, how was Hotel Rendezvous? My mum was thinking of that as a backup place...

shanni

Hi Lyana,

OIC...but is ur parents-in-law veri strict type or wat? If nt I dun tink it loks nice for them 2 c ppl drink liquor. Tat's wat I feel lor. Tat's y for mine is strictly no liquor.

Hotel Rendenvous is nt bad oso, high ceiling, kitchen jus next to the ballroom. Jus tat there's a BIG pillar which will block ur guests who wans view the montage (Bo pian coz it's the only projector at the other end of the ballroom). Btw it's a T-shape ballroom.

Tink tat ballroom can hold abt max 240pax. And the price is nt neg n cant reali bargain for more freebies. I try to ask for xtra FOC night stay but was turn down.

The Bridal suite oso nt bad, 2 rooms break into 1. 2 different doors to enter. I went to view at Level 3 if I'm nt wrong. Smthing tat I dun like the hotel is tat the carpark is veri misleading. Ur guests may park at the wrong carpark. If for those who are riding bike, they may thot cant park inside the hotel carpark bcoz they put NO PARKING for bikes at the barrier then end of the day, they cant parked their bikes, nt even at other buildings carpark. So no choice, parked illegally....

If u wanna have separate events like afternoon for Muslim then night for Western, u can try Royal Plaza on Scotts. Their ballroom is nice, high ceiling oso, but I'm nt sure abt the Bridal suite, dun get to view it.

Only prob is tat they onli have buffet style and max is 110pax. The ballroom is next to the swimming pool. Tis is another Halal hotel u may consider if u wanna separate ur guests.

mashi_mashi

Shanni,

Oh.. ok. tink shld b able to view the rm when go for the bridal show ba. haha...

Can de lar. Juz tell ur HTB tat u wan to go can liao lor. haha...

shanni

mashi mashi,

I hope to go and see all their themes...Easier to choose next yr mah. Hahaha...Anyway if can view the bridal suite again then tis time mus take pics. Heehee....

atirchow

hi everyone, I will be having my AD on 10 Jan 09 in Jupiter.Just checking how long will it take for the 1st March in and what song did u use? thks in advance

jazzy_chimes

hey ex-couples of FRF ... juz wanna check, how many songs do we need in total for the various segments of the wedding dinner? issit 1st march-in, 2nd march-in, champagne pouring and cake-cutting? or only 1st march-in and 2nd march-in songs are needed?

soulsista

hey chimes,

im not an ex couple but im a bride-to-be.. i would be using juz the 1st march in song and 2nd march in song.. coz when u march in, u are going straight up on stage to immediately cut the cake.. it wud be weird if u play the march in song, once u reach on stage, u switch to the cake cutting song.. mine wud be the same march in song..

thats my view though.. lesser headache in finding more songs as well.. hehe

soulsista

Can i check with those brides who already signed the package.. did yall receive the bridal show invite? do we need to pay or its free for us?

mashi_mashi

i tink the most u need to select 3 songs only.
1st march in, 2nd march in and 1st dish presentation.

Soulsista,
I received my invitation card. mine is free. as goin there to make the bal deposit. haha

meitong

Hi Soulsista,

I've signed up for a package some time ago, and received the wedding show invitation. I checked with my coordinator and she said that entry to the show is free for my husband and I.
I am guessing that entry is free for couples who have signed up for a package. Just to be sure, you might want to check with your coordinator.

I'll be going down to the wedding show, can't wait to see their themes! See you gals there!

gracelourdes

Rita, if i get wat u r saying, then i guess it would be 1st door on the extreme left n then walk all the way down to the last door on the extreme right....

if not ar, if u walk straight frm the middle door, less than 1 min u alrd reach liao....somemore, the baroque chandeliers in the middle would kinda block part of the stage frm the top...esp if u or ur hb or any of ur guests (who's going up for yam seng) is tall

serenehxw

thinking of starting the trend again.. anyone sign up with furama riverfront? i going sign next week. Gt quite good perks... but most imptly i wish to know more about the services... pls advice

meitong

Hi Yixin,

There are pillars in the Jupiter ballroom. However, I can't remember how many there are, and exactly where. Any other brides can advise?

shanni

Hi Yixin,

Sorry I cant rem is there any pillars for tat ballroom? But perhaps u can email the hotel to check abt it. And there's a wedding show on 8th Nov 08, location is at the Venus ballroom. Mayb u can check wif the staff if u can view the room on tat day or nt...

serenehxw

Hi, I will be signing up my package with FRF next week. AD is on 27 Dec 09 coz 26 Dec 09 is booked liao. :-(

My HTB and I manage to get quite a no. of deals. Like extra nite for bridal stay, breakfast for helper room, special rate for guest who wan stay over nite and also anniversary stay..If you wan to have a look at my package, do PM me ok? Still tinking what to add on..? Hehe..

Can we ask them to put in 1 waitress to 3 tables in our contract? Any advice on this?

mashi_mashi

serenehxw,

wow. so gd. can get so gd perks, my package also dun hv tat much perks, envy...

1 waitress to 3 tables is nt enough de lor. if u put tis in will actually restrict the hotel ppl.
dun tink they will allow u to add in ba...

serenehxw

Oh.. issit? Hmm.. I worry for the services only now.. Just want to share with those who want to consider FRF on the perks. We just try our luck and send the coordinator and email to get that. Well, they din really argue with us back.. that's a good ting about that. Anyway, my min tables is 30 for venus ballroom. Din really like mercury coz of the pillars.

shanni

Hi serenehxw,

May I noe who is ur co-ordinator? I've tried to ask for 1 more xtra helper room but they cant gif, no free breakfast for them oso. Ur co-ordinator so gd gif u free breakfast for helpers, but I guess onli gif 2 pax rite?

serenehxw

Hi Shanni/Mashi

My coordinator is Halim and AD is on weekend (27 Dec). Manage get 2 pax breakfast, rest @ 20++. I also ask for coporate rate for my guests who wan stay overnite @ 250++. Suggest you to ask them in a "try try" mood. I believe they will be ok.
Anyway, The cost of my one table total up to be 892nett and its full vegetarian - (Understand that they outsource to a resturant to do the vegetarian. Maybe because of this, they give me more perks as the resturant charge >500 per table if hold wedding at the resturant.)

Chsh, send u the package liao. If u tinking of signing with them, do it after tonite. (Coz i signing with them tonite :p)

shanni

Hi serenehxw,

I've signed up for Mercury ballroom wif Halim oso a few weeks ago. Have u confirm all the perks liao?

I managed to get an extra night stay and anniversary night stay. Both wif buffet breakfast as stated in the package. I guess bcoz I dun have any kinda liquor for my wedding. Tat's y he gif me the free night stay.

I have tried to ask for 1 more helper room, but he say cannot. Anyway I didnt ask for any special rate for those guests who wanna stay over.

How many tables do u intend to take and which ballroom u taking?

serenehxw

Hi Shanni,

Maybe its becoz i sign up for venus room. I have confirm the perks and will be signing tml - Halim off today.

I din ask for one more helper room since i got 3 nites stay liao. But I asked for BF for 2 of my helpers. Intending to take >30 tables. Seeing at my guest list, shd be 40 liao... :S

raine11

Happybride, wow.. you manage to get 3 nights stay. I also booked Venue ballroom but only manage to get 2 night stay. Do you think I can request for one more night stay during the wedding show?

pinjie8275

Hi happybride

U r sooo lucky! I have 60 tables but only got 2 nights. =(

Hi Raine

I think as long as u have not sign up yet, should be able to bargain...

Hi serenehxw
U r lucky to get so many freebies!
I have ever asked FRF to assign 1 server to 2or3 tables. But was rejected cos' they said they have no control over manpower esp when banquet team are usually make up of temp staffs.

Probably I should ask my co-ordinator abt the discounted breakfast for helpers too.

serenehxw

Hi Pin&Jie, happybride=serenehxw too..

Yesterday we did ask our coordinator on the services portion. He told us that when come to dec period (sch hoildays), they will have many temp staff, hence there is no need to worry abt the service. But no guranttee for those holding dinner during sch exam period. We also requested if we can add 10nett for each table to get 1 to 1 serving, he agreed, but would only discuss further when come 3 mth before our wedding dinner since our package is already quite ex (892nett).As for the nite stay, i believe it depends on indivial and what your package have.

Raine Tay, you may try. But i think its diffcult coz u sign the package liao rite?

raine11

Happybride,

Ya, you are right. I have signed up the package.
Manage to get 2 night stay for myself and 1 night stay for the helper.. And change from breakfast to lunch cos i guess i will wake up late..

My wedding is end oct.. you think this mth will have more helper?

I went to my friend wedding last week at the Mercury. Overall the foods not bad and service also ok.. Btw, the menu for Venus and Mercury is it the same? Seem the same to me leh..

serenehxw

Raine,
No matter wat, u can still try. Who your coordinator? End of oct.. hmm.. maybe its ok. Thinking that the N levels student should be looking for part time job by then. You may try asking them to ensure the manpower is enuff, or not ask how much will it be to do a top up to 1 to 1 service.

Food wise, its shd be the same. But as mine will be a full vegetarian banquet, i will not have the same food as yours.

lovie1216

Happybride,

I think it is a good idea to add 10nett for each table to get 1 to 1 serving..at least of guests will be taken good care...I will check with my coordinator.

Really envy you that you could get total 3 nites..I oni manage to get 2 nites..

shanni

Hi happybride,

Thks for the updates.

Hi pin&jie8275,

Mine oso the same as happybride, gt 3 nites but no breakfast for helpers. But I onli have min 28 tables.

Initiali we bargain for anniversary stay and was turned down but later after the 2nd meet up, he gave us the night stay w/o we asking again. He oso give us either breakfast OR lunch buffet for the so called 3 nights stay there.

I kinda kiasu abit, I requested my co-ordinator to state tat watever he gives, must state every single thing black n white in the contract. Jus to avoid bad things to happen then ppl starts to do things in their own ways....

raine11

Happybride,

My coordinator used to be Kriss but he have left and now is taken over by Shannon. Guess I need to request it to her during the wedding show. Hee Hee.. Hope I can get additional one more night stay.. if not 1 day during our anniversary. Which you think is better?

gremlins

just wanna share my experience with Furama Riverfront... We have booked a package with a coordinator by the name Axxx. Previously before we signed up with him, he impressed us with his service and attitude which was one of the reasons why we chose this hotel...

We have paid the deposit and found that subsequently his service has dropped to our disappointment...There have been hiccups in communication and coordination..

Actually we have not really asked for those perks as suggested here as we find the package pretty comprehensive and quite contented with it. We just hope that they will give us a wonderful wedding. We kinda regret booking our banquet there and now we are comtemplating to change the coordinator as we dont really want our wedding to be destroyed as it is once in a life time event.

So, for those who are considering holding your banquent there, please consider seriously and look for a appropriate coordinator as we really don't wish to see other couples get disappointed as well.

There have been comments previously inside this forum which we thought that the couples may have asked for too much but it seems like there might be some truth after all.

serenehxw

Hi all, Since we have signed, let just now pray for the best. But for those who have not sign up, remember, have to put in proper b&w, or not lugi will be at ur side.

Raine, if i were you, i will just get another night after your first day ba. Coz first nite definely for the couple to slp like pigs... :p

raine11

Happybride..

I already have 2 night.. but seeing that some of you got 3 night.. i was like.. hmmm.. not sure if i can request for 1 more night too.. to make it 3 night. Hee hee