Furama Riverfront Singapore

mashi_mashi

hmm..

i waiting FRF to call me to invite us to the wedding show in Nov lei...

they say will invite us to go. dun knw when then they will call us. lol...

really wan to go c the renovated ballroom. haha

pinjie8275

Hi mashi mashi

U mean our co-ordinator will invite us to the wedding show?

I am still thinking how to get complimentary tickets from my co-ordinator wor... hahaha....

mashi_mashi

pin&jie8275,

My co ordinator did tell me that he will invite us to the wedding shw. haha. as we also need to put another deposit wif them at the show.
lol...

Did ur co ordinator tell u abt the wedding show? if they got mention, then i tink they will call u up or send u the invitation ba...

if nt, can juz call them up n ask them. since u sign up wif them liao, shld b able to get the tics to go..

jazzy_chimes

hi ladies, I think it's better that you drop an email to your coordinators informing them that you wanna attend their wedding show, rather than waiting for them to invite you as they might not have remembered, afterall, they are handling so many couples.

me0wz

when we went to pay deposit my coordinator told me they will invite those who signed a package with them to their wedding show...

but i dun think i can wait for the wedding show on Nov, so will be going down on the 1st Oct to see since there will be a wedding at the venus ballroom.. so those interested maybe can go see.. 5-6.30pm.. dun go too late cos scare will disturb their preparation and the couple..

shanni

Can I check wif u all on the followings:
- Wat kinda cards do they provide? Izzit from T-Dragon?
- When do u all make the 1st payment? (After tat do u all still meet ur coordinator?)
- Hw much will they ask u to pay for the deposit actually?
- Normally when is the food tasting?

Thks so much in advance...

me0wz

hihi shanni,

I have not seen their cards yet.. so not so sure. I made a deposit of 3k when i confirm the package. Aft tt nv meet coordinator le.. Think 3-4 months before AD will meet up for the cards, theme, wedding favours selection. then followed by food tasting which is usually 1 month before AD i guess?

tesoro

I just wanna give my 2 cents worth of opinion. I called T-dragon last week and they told me that the lead time is 3 weeks for printing.I am only printing 200 inserts. I don't understand why they need such a long time. So i called up other printers, not those recommended here. I checked the yello pages and called them up.MOST of them actually need just 2 days...and they are not that expensive too. I am definitely NOT going for T-dragon coz of the lead time and the worst experience is they didn't reply to my email. Anyway,I am going for AD Imaging. They only need 1 day to print 200 cards (and half inserts , the other half is postcard type)

pinjie8275

Hi mashi mashi

My original co-ordinator left le hence Terence took over us. Din mention abt the show. When is their wedding show? Probably I will drop him an email. =)

Hi tesoro

I think 3 weeks too long le... Those printing company in JB takes at most 1 week only. (^_^)

raine11

Hello Pin&Jie, the wedding show is on 8Nov from 12pm to 5pm. Your previous co-ordinator is it Kriss? Now Shannon took over us so any ideas if she's good?

Oh.. anyone look for AD photo & videography.
I just signed up one. Cost $1850 for AD photo&videography, photo montage and express video highlight. He got the WIFI, which mean whatever photos he take during the dinner, will load and show straight onto the screen. I think the price is quite reasonable so wanna recommend all future brides who need it. Can visit his website at http://www.tienfoto.com/

mashi_mashi

u dun hv to go to T dragon to print if u dun wan to wait for so long.

true tat printin dun need tat long. but the person told my sis tat printing takes 2 wks. so depends on wat u required.

there are always alot of choices. dun hv to go bk there to print de....

me0wz

hi shanni.. my AD is Apr 25, 2009. My coordinator is Terence... will be at the Venus Ballroom..

Hi raine.. thanks for the recommendation.. currently sourcing for PG also... dunno if should get VG..

shanni

Hi meowz...

Thks for the info.

Actuali I went to view the hotel last wk and intend to take the Mercury room. Tat day nvr reali discuss much coz nt enough time n forget some details.

I've cttd Halim but he have yet to reply me to confirm the appt. Guess he's busy preparing for Hari Raya.

raine11

Hello Cats(meowz).. if you got the budget, i think it's good to get a VG too. as it can take down the whole process which we might not be able to see some of the scene. If you are interested, give me your email address and i will email my package details over to you. See if he's able to give the same package as mine.

me0wz

today went to see the Venus ballroom.. considering the couple have 40+2 tables.. the ballroom is still v spacious.. the couple had the Garden theme.. quite nice...

The theme look much nicer than on the photo.. haha..

bride09

hi fish out of water,

i just saw ur post...too many missed out ur one..
so ur wedding is on sun loh...
so far i only gotten wedding cards from them..nothing much to do at hotel side untill the date draws near...settle the others like gown and photoshoot haha
u r taking which ballroom?

bride09

wah why would they invite those that already signed to the wedding show? hehe already signed le ma, shd target those haven sign hehe
so fast 1 yr over liao...

Hi Bride09,

I taking the Jupiter room. Mine is a v small and cosy affair.

We met up w Albert yesterday and found him to be very nice and easy to talk to. We have chosen the theme, favours and what not as we are leaving again soon and won't be back till 3 weeks b4 the wedding.

Did my photoshoot this week too. I have had so much fun!

bride09

fish out of water....u so fast choose theme n favours le ah..oh bcos u not in spore..
my coordinator ask me 1 mth or 2 wks before then decide hehe

bride09

when i mean transfer the night stay i mean sell to me k..not FOC transfer to me...
just asking cos i need more rooms for my AD night thus if you all feel you dun need the extra night then we can explore "selling" to me haha then i can get it cheaper then from them ma...

gracelourdes

fish out of water....u like me, take jupiter room...v rare hor...after ur AD, show me ur pics leh

shanni

Hi me0wz,

I have seen their wedding cards oreadi. They onli have 2 design. The red colour is the tradition "XI" wording while the other colour (tink is ivory) is jus "(My/Our) Invitation". With the Hotel name printed behind the card.

My bf dun reali like the card designs. Mayb wil go source ard ba... But we're told tat if they have new designs, they will update us again.

Anyway the cards they have now oreadi abt 2 yrs old liao. Hee...so hopefuli time for them to change...

pearlineteo

Hi Gals, I have signed up the furama's Mecury in sept 09. Just wondering if the pillars an issue to u guys.... i am actualli quite worried after signing... But the ambience n environment is convincing. Advice pls. Thanks.

shanni

Hi Pearline,

Jus wondering hw many tables do u have? And have u ever seen the actual wedding set up? Perhaps u can ask ur coordinator is there any wedding going on n drop by to take a look.

Hope tis helps....

sunstar88

just had my wedding last sat.. was smooth but we were quite unhappy about the miscommunications among the departments, leading to some unhappiness. Was really quite disappointed.

bride09

Hi Shanni,

act there are other cards design avaliable by the card supplier that provide for Furama just that you may need to top up, the 2 design is the FOC ones...For me i just took the red one cos i dun like the ivory ones n feel no need to spend $ on invitation card since majority of ppl will misplace the cards haha

Hi Pearline,
i also took the mercury ballrom, my AD is in Jan 09.
the pillar is on the left hand side...of cos it will be best not to have but based on the 3 ballrooms, unless u can hit the min tables of venus (pillarless), mercury is the 2nd best le..guess the ambience kinda make up for it...u can put those not so close relatives etc behind the pillar loh hehe

chubby_ting

Bride09 i also Mercury BTB in Jan 09. I also agree tt place tos nt so close relatives / elderly behind the pillars. as the projectors compensate the pillars blockage. Mercury Ballroom have v nice ambience.

Shanni don worry.

As for the weddign cards I saw b4 FRF ones... im ok with it since don wish to spend much also. I also agree that most ppl wont keep it one. so no point lo spend tt $.

missybrooklynn

thanks, hoshi!

my SO attended a wedding at FRF and quite like the place. he was at the venue ballroom and he said there were 3 projectors. the only thing he doesnt like is the venue. it's not easy to get there.
then again, it's only for 1 night (for frds and relatives to attend) so i guess its fine.

we will be shortlisting FRF so need more inputs and feedbacks from you gals until everything is confirmed. ;)

anyone know when is the wedding show?

lovie1216

I am planning to have my AD at Mecury Ballroom next year Dec 2009. Any comments for Mercury Ballroom? What themes can we choose for Mercury?
And how does their honeymoon suite looks like?

Any AD photos at Mercury Ballroom and honeymoon suite pic to share?
Many thanks..

lovie1216

Hi missybrooklynn

The wedding show will be on 8 Nov 2008.
If I am not wrong, the wedding package FRF is offering on the show day will be the same as the package on their website. They will have lucky draw on tat day.

You may want to visit their website...or call the sales manager for meet-up...in case your preferred date you want run out.

mashi_mashi

missybrooklynn,
chsh is rite. their wedding show is on the 8th nov...
can go there to take a look at the venue. hope they will show the bridal suite tat day also. haha..

ya. better call them to check whether the date u wan still available. if nt, even u like the place, the date u wan dun hv also cannot take..

sunstar88

Well, i dun wish to smear their name but do make sure that what they promise in the final contract materialise. My hubby and I were to excited that day to take note of the various details.

I wish to believe its not their fault but they should have at least give an explanation after we emailed them. Till now, no explanation. They just apologise with no action done.

sunstar88

There are many points but I would only list out the few impt points which dampened the whole event.

1) Cocktail Reception

In the final version of the contract, it was stated that we should have cocktail tables at the poolside. However, this did not materialised. It did not rain that day so I do not see why there was no arrangements made on this as stated in the contract. Result was my guests were all cramped up at the foyer area and many did not get to see our wedding album. This is very maddening as guests asked us why there was no photos for them to see.

2) Lighting up above Reception Table

The feedback to us was that the reception area was rather dark before the dinner commenced. Guests have difficulty signing on the guests' book due to poor lighting. There are spotlights located up above where the reception table was located. These were not turned on until minutes before the dinner commenced. Why were the lights not turned on in the first place?

3) Lack of Service Professionals

We brought in bottles of red wines. At the end of the dinner, only one fifth of the bottles were consumed. I was astounded by how much wine was left and thought my guests drank little. It was highlighted to me later that repeated requests from my guests were either ignored or forgotten by the service professionals (i.e waiters and waitresses). My hubby had asked for 2 glasses of beer. They came only on his third request. If this can happen to my VIP table, I can only imagine the frustrations of my wine-drinking guests. One of the service professionals ("SPs") confessed that the ratio was 1 SP to 4 tables. In simple arithmetics, this makes it 1 SP to 40 guests, summmation of about 8 SPs to estimated 330 guests. Is that enough?? Where is the rest of the people?

4) Cold Food

Food was reportedly served cold (i.e not so warm as it ought to be). I believe the food can be served warmer given a joyous occasion.

Given the above, I was quite disappointed at the way it turned out. Guests were quite put off and we had to explain to them. Is this what its supposed to be?

mashi_mashi

AE,

hmm.. ic... then all ppl here hv to take note.

but as for ur pt 1 n 2 hor, ur helpers never help u to tok to the in charge ar. thought they are there earlier n shld hv tok to the in charge once any thing seems amiss there. if got, shld b able to rectify on the spot..

for pt 3 n 4, agree is tat the helper is nt enough. but tink they hv different server for drinks n food. seems like hv to remind my co ordinator on this issue... to make sure the food is serve warm n hv enough servers on the day.

tink since the wedding over liao, the most u can only seek explanation fr them nw ba. there is nothing much u can do nw. rite?

raine11

Hello AE,

These points that you have face are really very bad experience for you. I have view the Mecury Ballroom and it's really very cramp if all were to squeeze inside there.. and poolside is really a very nice and comfortable place for guests to have their cocktail there. Which was what I planned too for my wedding next year but in the end, we choose Venue Ballroom.

As for Lack of SP and Cold Food, Is it they lack for waiters and waitresses? How come this happen? I thought one table will be attended by one waiter/waitress? This is the worst thing that shouldnt happen during dinner as we dont want our guest to be unhappy.

I believe all the future bride will take note of the points that you have mentioned.. Thanks for sharing with us.

Do not be too upset over it.. try to ask them for free voucher or night stay at the hotel.

mashi_mashi

Raine,

FYI, normally hotels dun provide 1 server to 1 table unless u willing to pay for the service.
tis is due to high cost.

i was in banquet line years bk so i knw. normally they is either 1 server to 2 tables or 2 server to 3 tables. depending on the arrangement.

FRF de, i nt sure. but tink they hv separate server for drinks n food..

raine11

Mashi Mashi,

Oh.. really. I have been to few wedding and seem like it's 1 server to 1 table.. maybe i see wrongly.. hee hee.. but hope we wont experience the same thing.

sunstar88

Well, whatever is it, was quite disappointed that they do not bother to explain. It does not matter if they offer any vouchers or free stay. Its the bad experience caused.

Understand that its wont be one server to one table, but one to 4 tables its a bit over.

Yes, my sisters and helpers should take note but if it was clearly stated in the final contract about the cocktail thing, why was it missed out? Do we have to remind them if they said their contract has fully set out everything in order?

Just glad its over and wont experience all these again.

mashi_mashi

Rainie,
ya. tink only 5* hotel will hv 1 server to 1 table. haha..

susstar,
tink is the drink server tat is 1 is to 4 table. for food server, cannot b 1 is to 4. as if like tat, the food will b serve much slower. keke.. last time i did c 1 to 3 tables the max. i 1 to 4 then u c very few servers in the ballroom liao.

i tink best is to drop them a remind note. juz to make sure. its their fault to forget. but also ur fault nt to remind them when u c something nt right lor. my view lar.

but tis will teach me to check wif them again on all procedures n setting when doing the final run up for the day program...

but mine will b at venus so nt such big issue ba... **cross my fingers**

shanni

Hi Bride09 and ™Shining Hoshi™ ,

I agree with u all tat dun spend $$ on tis cards. To others, it's jus a card...Will nt treasure it.

If I have to take the hotel cards then I nd to take both colours coz we have abt half of the guests are Muslim. So dun tink it loks nice if gif them the red ones.

Perhaps will go Malaysia to find. Anyway oso nd to lok for ppl to print.

Anyway thks for ur advice...