Furama Riverfront Singapore

pinjie8275

Hi shanni

U have to contact ur own co-ordinator for the food tasting. If is too early, then they will advise u again.

There will not be any further food tasting for the change of dish hence I could only pray that it's not too bad lor.. hehehhe...

I also noted that they mentioned bill must be settled at the end of the banquet regardless how busy the couple are... My friend who work with another hotel as banquet manager said that is bcos some couples hold the payments in order to get feedbacks regarding the services and food. Hence if got complaints, they will ask for discount and etc... Hence hotel have to save their own back by not giving us any chance to 'collate' feedback.

But quite a number of hotels actually send the bill to the suite for the couple to review and to settle next day.

Just hope FRF could be more understanding since most couple will be staying in the suite for at least a day... Can't imagine we are dead tired and drunk, but still have to struggle to review the bill.

I once read that a couple was drunk till people have to carry them back to the room and the hotel actually insist that the parents sign for the bill. =(

serenehxw

Congrats! Hope everyting will go fine for u.. Well, for my case, my coordinator told me its payment after the wedding immediately, no extension even we ask if we can do it the next morning... I agree with wat mashi say, sign via visa/master ma...

jazzy_chimes

hi mashi mashi and 2002,
banquet payment is settled right after the banquet ... for my AD, the banquet manager in charge that nite came up to our suite to settle the bill after our dinner, we paid by Visa. My coordinator explained that they dun allow next-day payment cuz they had bad experiences of wedding couples "fleeing" away without payment, that's why now they don't allow.
I agree with mashi that payment by credit cards will be the best option, can chalk up points too ... hee

adnl2002

Hi mashi mashi,
I agreed that the payment by credit cards is more easier but me n my hubby preferred to pay it the next day as we would prefer to relax rather than face the bill..n furthermore we couldn't hear it wrongly when he told us *last yr* that we could settle it the next day. The thing is this is his promise to us and we are not v happy with this sudden change lo..that's all...

Hi happybride, thank you! i'm just crossing my fingers... ;)

I agreed with pin&jie8275 that they could be more understanding..and we are actually staying for 2 nights..anyway we never thought of collating any feedback from our frens n relatives..we actually had our ROM last yr with FRF as well and actually there's some hipcup with the banquet's co-ordinating but we still go ahead paid the bill without complaining... somemore my announcement poster typed "OCT" instead of "NOV" but we still never kicked a fuss over it...

mashi_mashi

hmm.. tink is normal practise for hotels to ask ppl to settle the amount immediately after the dinner.

but then if both are drunk n nobody can settle the bills, i dun tink FRF will force u to settle on the spot...

i wun suggest u c hw it goes tat nite.. if really cannot, then ask them to c can settle the next day, of coz u can inform your co ordinator tat if tat day both u n ur HB is drunk or tooo tired, u can only settle the next morning. c whether they can help u on that or nt lor....

bien

Guys,

What is u all suggestion after tasting the food?

I find the yam paste really too sweet.. i think maybe is because too much coconut also and also maybe too much syrup. I wonder shall i change to other desert but i think yam paste look more grand and nicer to eat..

But i really worry on that day it turn out to be too sweet again..

Any advise..

jazzy_chimes

hi Bonjour,
You've put down your comments about the food in the comments card, right? If you let them know it's too sweet, I think the chef should be able to adjust the sweetness for you.

For mine, I added quite a bit of comments on the card after food tasting and on my AD, they did take our comments into consideration and made adjustments accordingly. However, I changed my dessert from Yam Paste to the Chilled Longan soup after food tasting cuz our families felt that it's too filling after noodles, cuz both are starchy food. But the yam paste tasted good though ... hehe

bien

Thanks for your advise..

I actually in dilemma whether to stick with yam paste or change my stir fried prawn with golden yam ring to other dish.. But i dont like steam prawn cos i find not much ppl will like steam prawn cos is troublesome.

But if i stick to stir fried prawn with golden yam ring and desert as yam paste.. is it too many yam?

I like these 2 dishes.. sigh.. so do not know wat is the best solutions.

Another solutions is ask my coordinator i stick to prawn but can fried with other things beside the golden yam ring.

But i find that the stir fried prawn with golden yam ring is one of their speciality for Furama rite?

cos i seldom see this dish often at other hotel..

btw anyone Actual DAy over and got yam paste.. how is it? is it v sweet? please advise.

Hi Chimes and chsh, thanks for advise.

i did put the comments..but i also cant 100 percent confirm that the chef will make it less sweet on actual day. cos no one will know until actual day come.. The most i can do is remind the banquet manager on my AD to make sure the Yam paste is not too sweet.

shanni

HI jing,
Did the hotel serve u the food u've changed on the food tasting day or ask u to come back again? Hw much did they charge u for tat?

Anyway thks for the info.

Hi 2002,
Congratulations to u!!
Anyway I was told by my co-ordinator tat we gonna pay the full amt after the banquet but the banquet manager or so will go up to ur suite to lok for u.

Perhaps u may wan to set the money aside 1st if u intend to pay by cash, or hand over to someone u can reali trust to settle for u. If nt, like others r saying, use credit cards n can earn points at the same time..Y not?

But I guess we have to infd the bank wrt to the credit limits oso, due to the wedding dinner amt is alot n sm of us may have credit limits prob.

jazzy_chimes

hey bonjour, the steamed herbal prawns are very good ... we chose that and we received very good comments from our guests about the prawns being very fresh and succulent and the herbal stock's very sweet. Even my mom who's very fussy about seafood loves that dish. U might really want to consider that dish,

jazzy_chimes

Hi, those who are going to pay using credit cards ... just a note from my own experience, don't call up the banks too early, just call earliest about 10 days before your banquet to ask for the temporary increase in credit limit, if you call them up too early, they won't entertain your request as they are concerned about last minute changes to your number of tables etc.

Also, if u change dishes after food tasting, they won't arrange for u to taste the food again FOC, u will have to pay for 2nd round of food tasting.

bien

Hi Chimes,

Thanks for your advise.. will discuss with my wife.

Btw, anyone recently had their AD done at Furama Riverfront. Cos i wonder is the helpder on that nite is just nice. Cos i worry that one helper/waitor/waitress is assigned to 3 tables.. by right, is it one waitor is assigned to 2 tables right?

Anyone who AD over had met with this problem.

Please advise.

bien

Anyone can give me advise. For asking kid to jump bed on the wedding new bed is it on An chuan that day or is it on Wedding Actual Day?

Can someone advise me.. cos some of my friends say is An Chuan that day, Some say is on Actual day and 1 of my friend say on both day?

bien

Hi Mashi Mashi,

sigh.. just ask one of my colleague and he say find a kid to jump bed is on Actual Day.

Hmm.. never mind.. see how..

Btw can i ask you all. For An Chuan, is it must be a couple with kids. and that day An chuan Both couple has to be there? and must it from the relative of the Groom side? or it can be anybody?

Anyone please help.

Appreciated alot

mashi_mashi

Bonjour,
i tink is based on different dialect de.
mayb u wan to check wif ur parents.

my fren an chuan tat time they nt at hm de. so it actually depends on wat dialect u following.

understanding at my side is An chuan muz find kid to roll n jump. after tat the bed nobody can slp on it til AD.
so i tink is based on ur own dialect grp...

bien

Hi Mashi Mashi,

Noted.and thanks for advise.

So An chuan, must i find my relative or siblings?
if let say my bro is married with kids, i can ask him right? and is it my brother and his wife has to come together to an chuan? or my brother come alone will do?

Anyone can advise me on these also and also anyone got any wedding cake shop to reconmend(it will be good that someone from forum can intro those cake shop that they buy before)

And beside thatm anyone try before www.kyo.com.sg as recomend by Forum here.

Please advise.

Thanks so much

bride09

hi everyone...

to many ppl reply to alot of things so i just share my info on relevant topics hehe...

Dessert - Yam paste.
During food tasting, the waitress who serve us was very helpful and shown us the initial product.it was flooded with coconut milk and syrup! she volunteer to scoop out all the milk and syrup, after that it taste just nice though still sweet. she suggested we can ask for the coconut milk and syrup to serve separately in another bowl then guest can add themselves...which i find it is a gd suggestion and will be using it

for no of servers during the banquet...
i did ask my coordinator and the banquet manager, Jason and another banquet AM ( checking individually to see if i get diff answers haha) they all give me standard answer that they will assign 1 server to 2 tables.nothing more.but i did read from here there was a case where 1 server to 4 tables! so i hoping its just a isolated case...but i did observe during the wedding show (happen to have wedding that night so the servers were that preparing by 5+, 6pm) quite a no of servers around...
but my suggestion will be to remind the hotel again when ur AD draws near so that they know u r concern abt it.

as for the bill...ya i was also told to pay immed after dinner...sigh so tired still must sign bill. ya loh for our side is best to consolidate feedbacks 1st ma, once pay, nothing much can be done le...

hey out of curiosity...anyone did research on whcih credit card has the best benefit or rewards to chalk points on?i haven decide which to use ...hehe

jing11

Shanni> The hotel did not serve me the food I've changed on food tasting day. I've made the change after the food tasting. Each dish cost $80++ while the dessert costs $60++.

tyx

Hi Raine,

I do not remember where do I download it from. I do have the full version but i never post it to the the file uploaded here is limited to 50k, so i separate out this page only. If you want, leave me your email and I send it to you.

bien

Anyone got know any wine cellar that can have better consigment to recomend? cos so far i check is abt 30 percent consigment for wine cellar.

And anyone who got any wine to recomend for my wedding. i need to order abt 30 plus red wine. If yes, can give me the shop name, type of wine, brand of wine and cost of wine and shop address and can taste wine before buying.

bien

Hi Ryan,

Thanks alot for the email.

Btw, anyone here got any friends who just started up Videographer and want to gain more experience in taking video for wedding.

Cos i looking for a videographer who just started taking Video for ppl weddding. cos i dont want to spend a bomb in having a videographer for my wedding?

Anyone can recomend? Thanks

serenehxw

Bonjour,

Me looking for someone doing that too... Let me know if u got anyone ok?

Anyway, i got a contact doing this (My PG have worked with him b4, so thinking it will be good to have PG and VG to know each other). But may not enagage him as I'm not willing to part $600+ for only a morning videographer & express highlight. U may wan check out the website: http://www.pixelens.beep.com/

bride09

anyone booking additional room for your wedding?
how much did your coordinator quote you for 1 night and wat kind of room?

serenehxw

Hi Bride09,

I do not have additional room for my wedding (Less the helper's room). But i requested my coordinator to put in the charges if my guests want to stay an extra night. Its at 250++ per nite w breakfast.

bride09

hi happy bride...quite ex leh..
cos their website now only $200++(for deluxe room) even if add 2 breakfast is 240++ and we are suppose to get cheaper rates than normal hotel guests leh...

serenehxw

Bride 09

issit? Gana cheated.......? Duno whether next yr they will increase the prices, if yes, then maybe mine will be just nice.

adnl2002

Our wedding is over! Finally we could relax! ^__^

Just to share those who's thinking of signing up with FRF and those whose weddings are approaching..

We had a GREAT time celebrating our wedding there.. everything went very smoothly without us worrying about the co-ordinating (plus help from our emcees as well la)

(Every single staff there were very helpful & friendly)
(1 server to 2 tables and 1 server to each VIP table)
(Montages, express highlight & song for march in, champagne pouring etc went smoothly)
(I read some feedbacks from our guests praising FRF)
(Surprising the banquet operation staff did not follow us up to our room after the dinner for payment, but we did call him to inform him that we will settle it in a while - he did not rush us) Just wanna clarify here again that we are unhappy abt the payment right after our event is bcoz we were told last yr that we could settle it before checking out the next morning n informing us only last week, how can the bank increase our credit limit in such a short notice and we were so busy le???
(The reception & ballroom is wonderfully decorated, I love it very much!)
(We love their toilet & bathtub too as it's v spacious)
However:
(There are comments that the fish does not taste good)
(There are no changing room near the ballroom..all along I thought they will prepare one for us and I didn't hear anyone here talking about having to change the gown in our own bridal suite so it's very very inconvenient for me to go up & down wasting time!)

Nevertheless, we would like to extend our thanks to FRF for their good job & service!!! ^___^ THUMBS UP & KEEP UP THE GOOD JOB!!!

adnl2002

Hi Pearline & Raine,
Our ballroom is Venus and ya the bridal suite is located on 15th floor and right at the end (right turn when u exit from the lift) have you been to the suite?

Hi pin&jie8275, thanks alot.. indeed everything proceeded as planned so am v happy... ok I will post some of the pics on my multiply when it's done..