Furama Riverfront Singapore

raine11

Can understand how Sunstar feel as this is a once in a lifetime thing but turn out to be so unhappy..

As for those who are preparing.. just take note and check with our coordinator, make sure this will not happen again.

bride09

hi i agree with mashi mashi cps i was a waitress once too...norm is 1 to 2 tables or 2 to 3 tables...but 1 to 4 tables is abit too much! no way the staff can handle...must be too short handle cos normally is temp staff, meaning alot temp staff not free that day...i must rem this item n highlight to my coordinator...wat i learn from my banquet days is if the host keep emphasising to the banquet manager abt this n that service...the manager will highlight to the staff to be on the alert and keep special attention which is not bad la so we must highlight...

Hi shanni,

will u be going to T dragon the supplier to Furama to see their other selection of white cards?got quite a few but i dunno the charges...if u wan malaysia...citysquare shopping centre near custom already have...i got see before.plus u can print inserts there too alot cheaper...i printed mine there...

mashi_mashi

bride09
^5... tink work in banquet waitress b4 will make us understand more abt the way they work.

ya. i will keep reminding my co ordinator on the service issue. hope for the best ba..

but my AD still got very long to go. haha... so waitin for u gals more feedback liao...

i heard alot abt city sq can print inserts n cards. ppl say cheap n nice.. so wat is the cost in printing there? is it troublesome to go there to print or nt??

sunstar88

mashi
I do not think its my fault. If you are the bride that day, you will be too excited to realise anything that is wrong as its too fast pace. You jus go with the flow with no time to bother with anything. Just my view lah cos you will only understand if you been thru it.

mashi_mashi

sunstar,

i not meaning its ur fault. i knw tat on the day itself, the bride n groom will b too busy to notice little tings. so all the tings will br left to the helpers.
as i also been my fren wedding helper b4. thus i knw the impt of helper to knw the who wedding deco n the flow for the nite.
so juz happen that ur helper nt so clear abt the settings thus unable to point out the prob when they are there ba...
thus unable to rectify on the prob on the spot.

of coz ur co ordinator do hv wrong as never follow the contract. so he/she will have to bear responsibilty on this issue,n give u an explanation on it.

tats y when mit up wif ur co ordinator b4 the wedding, juz remind them watever tat we tink is impt for them to take note. No harm on tat ba...
and impt to let our helpers to knw wat is expected of the ballroom setting n arrangements. so tat they can help to point out the prob when they are there..

bride09

hi mashi,

u can print the inserts in citysquare (the shopping centre nearest custom, walkable), level 3 i think call T&T. i printed 150 pieces for RM70(sing $30 only), no limit to the cute icon, eng n chinese version.i find it very convenient.
1st time visit, they will let u choose layout, edit the words.1 hr later they will show u template, once u confirm they will send for printing.1 wk later go back to collect. there got alot samples, got our hotel one, i just pick FUrama Riverfront template then edit to my name, ballroom etc, so easy haha the staff quite helpful even help me find the chinese wordings for my wedding date.
while u r there, can do some shopping, look for heels, hubby shirts etc or just go n eat

ok ok to conclude, we must keep reminding n follow up with our coordinators to remind them of our expectations....cos they may 4get n do the "norm" hehe

jerelyn_choo

hi ppl

just list down my comments when i attended my fren wedding recently. Hers was held at mercury ballroom. The ballroom really cannot make it. Pillars all ard the ballroom. As a guest, i feel so unimportance.

Secondly was the food. Not nice at all. cold and not well cooked. Service so far ok but one server to few tables. I also work as a waitress last time. I can see that the waitress is new.

Thirdly was the projector. We cant see the stage at all. Then infront was a projector. The screen was so blur. Cant see wads gg on at the stage at all.
Cuz i will be a bride soon. so i roughly know what to look out for during the wedding.. I also agreed that the recep area was too dark.

mashi_mashi

bride09..

thanks. mayb got chance will go there to hv a look. but my AD stil got a long way. will c hw it goes. keke..

Jerelyn,
thanks for the feedback. think we have to remind our co ordinator on the food tat shld serve warm n the server muz hv enough. need to c hw they can improve on tat liao. hmm...

shanni

Hi bride09,

Thks for the informations.

But jus wondering roughly hw many cards to print for a wedding? How many tables u have actually? Normally when is the best time to do the printing of cards?

Btw, when is ur wedding, which ballroom u taking?

Sorry for asking so much qns....

shanni

btw Bride09,

I nvr visit the T-Dragon b4 coz i visited their website. They do put the price there. I jus wanna go JB to lok for cheaper ones if possible. Anyway oso wanna go there find BS so can jus drop by the one u mention at City Sq.

Thks anyway....

adnl2002

My AD is approaching v fast liow..Nov.20th...
Had our food tasting 2 wkends ago..the food is ok (maybe i'm not that fussy type)and the serving is quite generous..we asked the in charge if they'll keep up the same standard on wedding dinner and he replied it will be more or less the same.. let c how ba.. we choose our favors and intended to use their wine supplier after meeting them 2 days ago for tasting..the lady - Annie is very chatty and nice..giving us biscuit with cheese to taste along with the wine.. now we are thinking of what to choose for our wedding theme and also MC to host our wedding (in the end I don't intend to ask jms or bro to do it)..any kind suggestion? very last min right...haiz...

shanni

Hi Pearline,

I rem I was told that the right hand side, when facing the stage, can put max 14 tables. If urs is 25 tables + 2 tables, shldn't b a prob ba. But make sure u tell them try not to put the tables behind the pillars whenever possible...

But I do agree with some of them who mentioned earlier tat u can try to put those tat r not so close 1 behind the pillar lor. A bit not nice but bo pian... We cant please everyone during the wedding. So onli hope they can understand...

Try to go and see an actual wedding set up if possible then u can reali see wat r the prob. Easier to raise up to ur coordinator when meeting him/her on the logistic issues few wks b4 the AD.

My bf and I went to view an actual set up last mth b4 makin the decision to hold our wedding in tat ballroom. But of coz u have to be thick skin to ask the groom or someone for permission to go in to see lor coz u cant reali see clearly from the poolside.

shanni

Jus wondering which part of the contract will the hotel states tat there will be cocktails tables at the poolside? Or izzit jus verbal agreement?

I was told verbally tat there will b tables at poolside oso...but nvr read it from the contract..Then hw?

jerelyn_choo

Sorry happens to see this post here.
like i mention i attending wedding recently in
my previous post.

Actually for food wise, i gt no comments cuz i tink it will happens in all hotels. Food tasting food confirm nicer than actual day food. But that day food wasnt nice at all. But food to me nt so impt.

Hi shanni
In the ballroom theres few big pillars not only 1. I was planned to sit at the last table behind the big pillar. Its impossible to squeeze all infront. Cuz my fren also had ard 27 or 29 tables. I noe can pls everyone during the wedding. bt we will sure feel very unimportance.

I was curious whats u guys purpose in choosing furama? im just puerely asking out of curiousity. no offence :D

jerelyn_choo

sorry me not trying to talk bad of this hotel. Its just my opinion as guest point of view. Cuz i will be holding my wedding too. So i noe roughly what u guys worry abt. Bt i have to admit the ballroom themes shd be nice. stage wise i dont know, cuz i cant see the stage at all. The aisle along the red carpet not bad. with the flower stand. BTW u ppl have to arrange ppl to throw flower petals or blow bubbles during march in. My fren that time dont have all this.

bride09

Hi Shanni,

no prob with no of qns haha....
I am having 24 tables at latest count..we got create a list to see how many cards needed...cos 1 family only need 1 card ah...after you ahve roughly estimated the no of cards then u can collect from hotel(if u r printing it urself) if u want to print from T dragon then u can just inform Tdragon, they will use accordingly on their side, no need to take from hotel then to T dragon...

Hotel will recommend ard 3 mths before to start collecting cards n printing. too early give, ppl will 4get n misplace the cards.for me is so long my ppl i confirm, i will collect early so that i can slowly prepare( tie string, write names etc)i took abt 4-5 mths in adv.
my ballroom is mercury...
by the way i am going in to JB this sun, accompanying a fren, she say citysquare got bridal show...so if u interested in malaysia bridal shops can go see see.

pearlineteo

Hey gals, Do u guys have any floor plan for mercury by chance??

shanni

Hi jerelyn,
No worries..Not offended at all lah..

I got not much of choices in chosing Hotels bcoz my bf is Muslim, so we nd to lok for Hotel tat serve Halal food. But of coz I have to consider my Chinese side oso.

So we decided to have both Chinese n Malay food at the same time, same place BUT from different kitchens... I have abt 14 to 15 Muslim tables so will have to put them near to the pool which I guess is the place u seated.

I did ask my bf to ask his mum to reduce the no of pax but....well..bo pian, stil gonna have tat amt of pax. So I gt no choice but to let his mum to decide who n where she wanna put her guests.

I was told tat there'll b misty dry ice effect when we march in but dun tink have the flowers.

Hi Bride09,
My bf says his fren went JB to print the wedding cards for abt RM0.45 for 1 piece onli, but I dunno where they printed n have nvr see the card b4. So cant comments on it. Btw they printed for Malay wedding, so dunno will affect the pricing oso or nt.

I dun tink will be going JB tis wkend to see the bridal show..too rush liao. But will go for the next mth wedding show at the Plaza Pelangi.

oh...btw thks for ur information on the cards. I'll drop by next mth to see..

Hi Mrs Pearline Yang,
Sorry I dun have any floor plan for Mercury but onli noe tat u'll have it once u confirm the final amt of tables.

pinjie8275

Hi Bride09

There is also a wedding fair on 14-16 Nov at Pelangi Plaza which many major BS are participating. Got Bridal fashion shows and lucky draws, etc. This weekend fair at City Square might be by the 1 or 2 BS located in the mall. so not worth going.

If ur friend interested in JB BS, can consider my BS, Sg Bridal. I just posted my selected photos on my multiply (swee11) and website (http://www.mywedding.com/bryanserene121208/). Can contact me if u need my package details.

Btw, I just printed my wedding inserts at TNT in City Square last 2 weeks. Collected last Sat. 400pcs, double sided with map and 4 icons = RM218. I think their prices went up as compared to last few months.

starzstar

Hi gals,need some advice. Furama is one of my shortlisted hotels. Have seen the ballrooms and quite interested in taking up the mecury room,weekday. Was told tat the package signed now and the wedding show packages would be the same. Not sure whether to sign up now or at the wedding show? tks.

adnl2002

Hi Starzstar,
You could go ahead and sign with them first.. more or less the same..but b4 you sign, you may want to discuss and negotiate what you want for your pkg with your co-ordinator instead of waiting for their wedding show..

pinjie8275

Probably U can ask ur co-ordinator what r the promos for the upcoming fair. If possible, block the date u want then sign up at the fair. Usually if they wan to close the deal fast, they will give u the fair promo de...

Last yr, I know if u sign up few weeks before or after the fair, u r getting the same freebies. Cos' I m 1 of those who signed up 5 days after the fair. =)

adnl2002

Hi pin&jie8275,
most probably not.. U? hey, same same with me, I oso sign up (i think) 1 mth plus ago last yr b4 the show and we got the same promo as the wedding show..then we got to attend the show FOC coz we gotta to pay the deposit at that time.. ;) they are rather flexible oso.. furthermore we are easy-going so I guessed they close the deal without much difficulty so they let us attend the show ba.. what theme & favors are you choosing? albert let us choose the latest theme le but so far we only managed to see the theme on the photos which was shown about 1mth ago...

li7

Hoping for some help here, am thinking of signing up with Furama for wedding banquet for March 14 09. But will prob go with Jupiter ballroom since we're only inviting 220-240 guests. Does anyone have any exp/comments with the venue? Plus we'll be goin with the muslim menu. From the other posts by pin&jie8275(pinjie8275) n 2002 (adnl2002), I guess signing up during the fair or before wouldnt make much diff. Prob is that Im in Australia, FH in Malaysia n parents in Europe so we're plannin this from outstation. Pls help! thanks

mashi_mashi

hi Lyana,

If u are having 22-24 tables, tink u hv to get mercury ballroom instead. tink will b quite pack if u use jupiter..

Yoz gals,
received invitation card fr FRF for the wedding show liao. tinking whether need to email them bk for RSVP or nt lei...
any gals receive their invitation card?

shanni

Hi mashi mashi,

I have received the card but not FOC rite? Anyway dun tink going lor...Sorry!!

Hi Lyana,
I heard tat they jus increase the price for the Muslim packages. U intend to have all Muslim food or with Chinese oso?

I agree with mashi mashi, jupiter mayb quite pack. Perhaps you can try to email the hotel to check if the date u wan stil available.

Hi pin&jie8275,
Jus to check, did u ask the BS ppl permission to take the pics when trying the gowns? I heard some BS are veri "meow" to let u take pics fr ur own cam.

Btw ladies,
Jus curious...Normally wat r the freebies u guys will ask for during the fairs? Thks in advance...

pinjie8275

Hi 2002, mine is 5 days after the fair. I actually wanted Notvotel Clarke Quay but my dad find the ballroom too petty and the sales person also not flexible one. I haven't choose my theme and favour cos my AD is in Dec. Can send me the pic of the new theme?

Hi Lyana, I would suggest that u email the co-ordinator and ask for the venue layouts and packages, etc. Then inform them u r currently overseas. Or if u have a date in mind, even better. They may be able to reserve for u for a short time. =) Heard tha ttheir muslim food are nice... (^_^)

Hi mashi, u receive the invitation for the fair? So good! I ask my co-ordinator ytd abt the fair and he ask me to pick up from him if I want to attend. =(

Hi Shanni

By right, we are not allowed to take photos. I think this is a common rules among the BSs. Probably there are no one ard that day hence they close 1 eye lor... =P

mashi_mashi

Hi Shanni,

For mine shld b FOC as i already bk my banquet with them liao.. But i will email them to check again..

hmm.
normally when in fairs, sure ask for wat u need. some hotels dun free flow of beer or 1 free wine per confirm table or extra nite stay or more carpark coupons or helper day room.
so during the fair hotels will hv add in these freebies lor. thus ppl will wan to sign on the fair.

mashi_mashi

pin&jie8275,

oh. like tat de ar. cant they send to u meh? keke.. or u attend b4 liao tats y like tat. haha..

Shanni,
I agree wif pin&jie8275, BS normally dun allow ppl to take pics of their gowns de. so far all BS i knw is like tat...

pinjie8275

Hi mashi,

Last yr, I paid my own tickets to attend the fair. 5 days later, I signed up the banquet with them.

I think current FRF package already include free flow of beer and 1 night for helpers. Probably they will throw in additional night in bridal suite bah. In fact, I thought their current package have more things than what i have signed. At least they have 1 bottle of wine for every confirmed table...

mashi_mashi

pin&jie8275,
ya, nw their package very comprehensive liao. so bascially tink the fair wun hv much additional freebies..
i wanted extra nite for the suite. but at the pt i confirm, they cannot give me. abit sad. but mayb can work something out wif them ba. haha...

oic. u attended last yr. i neber attend b4. so they say will invite us. tink also becoz need us to pay the bal deposit so invite us ba. haha...

anyway, i drop them an email. hope they will reply me soon ba...

shanni

Hi mashi mashi and pin&jie8275,

U gals r rite, nw the hotel gif free flow of beer n 1 bottle of wine for every confirmed table. But I dun have both bcoz my bf is Muslim. So I ask for free nite stay for anniversary n 1 more nite stay. Tried to fight for 2 nites stay for helpers but was turn down.

I tink me and my bf too "meow" liao until I ask my co-ordinator to state clearly on all the freebies they offer and make sure all states in the contract.

During the day of signing of contract, my bf realise tat they nvr state on the table deco for the solemnization table so ask them to write and sign. No doubt they agreed verbally tat will deco it...which I'm afraid kana put aeroplace. Jus dun wanna to take any risk so gonna b veri thick skin to ask them to write...

Anyway...

mashi mashi,
I oso had confirmed my AD wif them n had paid the deposit. But dunno y the card still state S$18 per couple. My bf dun wanna go bcoz he dun wanna waste time to see the local BS or other vendors tat the hotel gonna have during the fair.

pin&jie8275,
Thks for ur info. I like ur gowns...Veri nice. I oso thot of going JB to lok for BS n do the printing of inserts there. Able share ur BS packages?

Btw...Thks ladies...

adnl2002

Hi pin&jie8275,
Sorry le, I never state properly..I seen the new theme when I meet up with albert abt 1 mth ago..I dun have the new theme photo.. anyway I think I might go to the fair just to see the new theme again so that could confirm to them our choosen theme right on that wedding show.. I c how it goes ba...

Hi Lyana,
I agreed wif mashi mashi, shanni& pin&jie8275, since you're in australia currently, you may wanna drop them an email to ask on their pkg (esp if you already selected your AD date-those v popular dates) coz I guessed again the response during their show this yr will be v v good coz I heard they closed ALOT of sales last yr. so if you are happy with their pkg and the ballroom concept etc...u need to act asap... hehe.. typical kiasu.. ;)

li7

Hi mashi mashi, 2002, shanni & pin&jie8275,

have emailed furama and waiting for their response. Checked the package online and im pretty happy with everything, although I want to source out a real cake if they can find me one. Will be going with full Muslim food though.

am planning to go to the fair but will try bring my aunt instead, since bf and parents overseas. If we have signed up before then, will they give us the same package as in the fair? or do you think I will have to bargain for them?

pinjie8275

Hi Shanni

U wanna PM me so that I can email u my package? (^_^)

Hi 2002, no worries! I will probably be going down on the 8 Nov then I take photo and post it here lor... hehehe....

Hi Lyana,

Since the fair is so close, I would suggest that u bargain for what u need and want, thereafter ask what is the fair promo and whether they can offer u the same on top of wat u have bargained. Either way lah. I think they should not have a problem finding real cake for u. But I would suggest u ask them for the quote and at the same time, u source ur own. I guess hotel normally would charge higher than outside cake shop, right?

Wedding is sort of a time to bargain!!! So the more u bargain, the more u save... No need paiseh cos' it's ur hardearned $$. Especially if u are saving for ur honeymoon.... ops.... Do I sound very cheapo?? -_-!!

pinjie8275

Hehehehe....

Another thing to remember... Going for budget doesn't mean settle for something u dun like...

Utimately, this is still a once a lifetime event... (^_^)

mashi_mashi

Shanni,

tink the card is pre print for all guests. be it paying or nt. haha..

i will b goin dwn as need to pay the bal deposit. also to view their themes since it will b held at venus ballroom which my dinner will be held..

anyway i send an email to my co ordinator. hope he will reply me soon ba...

1 ting no gd is tat the email reply is slow fr them. haha...

Lyana,
the package they provide is quite comprehensive, so i tink at the fair will nt hv much diff ba..

sometimes when u like it, u hv to bk. heng i ks abit to bk my venue early. as i heard tat another couple wants to bk my date n venue...

pin&jie8275
i will be goin also. might saw u there. lol..
hmm...

li7

got the email from furama, my date is available but there is another couple who are tentatively looking at it too! Wha should I do? I can't decide anything till I see the place, n I only go back on the 2nd Nov, do you think they'll wait that long?

Told them I'll be going to the fair as well, so hopefully they take pity and give me time to decide..aiyooo...pening man..

shanni

Hi pin&jie8275,
I have PM u my email add liao. Thks.

Hi mashi mashi,
My bf told me tat our co-ordinator told him the fair is free when he went down to pay the deposit last sat. But I still haven called to confirm. Anyway now my bf like 50/50 wanna go like tat.
I agree wif u tat their reply is quite slow, tat's y normally I called or sms them directly. If nt reali dunno wait til when.

Hi Lyana,
I understand the hotel had jus increase the price for Weekday from S$478++ to S$550++. The food will be from their Kintamani Indonesian Restaurant which is jus next to the jupiter room at level 3. My bf went there b4 and he said the food is not bad, quite nice.

For me, I was given free flow fruit punch and orange juice and extra favours. Initiali I was onli offered fruit punch during the 1st meet up, but during the 2nd appt, I was offered xtra orange juices. It could b bcoz I have both Muslim and Chinese packages tat's y they throw in extra orange juice as we do not have any liquor. But no harm asking for juices or free night stay bcoz seriously Muslim packages dun reali have much things to ask for.

I guess u can check wif the hotel which ballroom is the couple lokin at. Then mus kiasu abit by doin ur hmwork fast n book the room u wan.

I have seen their bridal suite, not too small, still better than 1 hotel I've seen. Btw, jus curious...when is ur AD?

Anyway ladies,
Hope to see u all there during the wedding fair. Provided my bf wanna go. Hahaha...

mashi_mashi

Lyana,
the couple who made tentatively booking will hv the priority to get the rm. thus, even if u confirm, they will need to ask the couple first. IF the couple willing to let go then u can get it.

tink u go view the ballroom b4 u decide is better lor.

Shanni,
Mine shld b free. as i need to pay deposit on the fair, lol... so dun care lor. juz go c...

been sometime since i last went to wedding show... lol...

i still yet to c their bridal suite. hope tat day can view it. lol...
can tell me which bridal suite u c liao but no gd?? kaka