Four Seasons Hotel

arctic_hare

Hi Jazz...unlike chemson who is watching weight, I have to lose weight :p

perhaps my expectations are lower, or that FS are more willing to bend if a higher-value package is taken up. anyway until now, we are pretty satisfied with the service rendered by Danny.

i am with bridal zone like minnie. waiting for my first fitting and photograph session too... in February... which means I do not have much time to tone and lose weight... actual wedding is in June.

minnie

Hi Jazz and all

My FS coordinator is Michelle. me and my hubby quite chim chai so far... maybe we are not experienced (so I try to read this forum to learn what to look out for) and we rather have a hassle free wedding, so if try not to worry worry things will go wrong, or if the hotel shortchange us if we don't bargain.

so far so good... suppose the real test is the wedding day itself.

minnie

Inki

I saw a setup with 28 tables and found it crammed. my comments dated 4 Dec.

But opinion is subjective... why don't you FS catering staff when they are having a wedding with 32 tables, and drop by FS in the evening of the event, like about 6 something, to see the actual setup and judge for yourself?

inki

Hi minnie,

I saw a setup for 29 tables and I thought it looked crammed but I wasn't very sure since I didn't really try walking between the tables. Many hotels are also pretty crammed when we max out the space.

But the FS personnel kept telling me they could put 32 tables, no problem, and it wouldn't be squezzy,just how they organize it.

I really hope to hold at FS, but everyone must also have a good time there. No point squeezing people if it's gonna be uncomfortable.

Btw, are you swopping any lunch items with the other menu ?

jazz

Hi Chemson,

Hmm... maybe I can drop by Flammingo Brides to take a look one of these days. Happened to saw one gown that I liked from a bridal magazine.

Let me know when you'll be doing food tasting... will surely like to have some pointers on the food.

Hi Arctic Hare,

No lah, I dun think it's that exaggerating lah... You'll definitely look very good on your wedding day!

Hi Minnie,

Which package did you go for?

chemson

Hi Jazz,

When is your wedding day....must be long way from ours, right?? Yep... drop by Flamingo and have a look.. it is located at International Plaza, Anson Road, #01-22, Tel: 2262728. Do talk to Shirley Li, the designer and owner.. she is very nice and friendly...
It's her friendliness and personalised services that drew me to the place...

Yep.. will sure give you pointers on the food tasting.. no worries.

jazz

Hi Chemson,

You're rite! Mine's still a long way, most probably in end of 2003. Originally, it was planned to be beg of 2003. But due to disagreement on the location of wedding banquet (in Sentosa), we were forced to drop the idea and look for somewhere central.

We were actually debating to have it in Hyatt but they have only one room left (and moever my friend's having it at the same exact ballroom). Then I saw the pic on the ball room of FS and it looked really marvellous, so thought might want to consider FS instead. The only prom is that FS is much more exp than Hyatt and the price is not nett.

Now that date is pushed back, kinda regretted for signing up too early on the bridal package...

But never mind, it gives me at least more time to do preparations. Hopefully, the price of FS won't go up!

Thanks for the info on Flamingo! I'll drop by to take a look.

Cheers, Jazz

minnie

Hi Inki

Personal opinion is that 32 tables are quite crammed... but well... not sure about the standard table spacing, and other hotels. Basically my hotel hunt comprised a quite tiring saturday of visiting 6 hotels (Panpac, Conrad, Ritz, Traders, Hyatt, FS) to view all the ballrooms and collect the wedding packages/quotations, then falling in love with FS ballroom and deciding on it. I think we can discuss a lot in this forum, but when it comes to the ambience of the event venue and table seating/ room shape, etc. nothing beats going down to take a look, or go down 2 to 3 times if not sure... after all so convenient. = )

Conrad is also quite nice, the tables seat 12 persons, so perhaps it would be more spacious for 320 people. Price is quite high though the table price should be divided by 12 persons instead of the usual 10 person... but it did cross our minds that it may be quite difficult to plan to seat 12 persons in one table, vs 10 persons... considerations of having familiar people/same group to seat together so that they are at ease etc.

I am taking the lunch menu I but "upgrade" from seabass to Soon Hock for additional $. Mummy's opinion that Soon Hock more presentable than Seabass, better fish.

Hi Jazz
I think my package is the Bridal Zone 3,188 one, which is discussed under the Bridal Zone topic in the forum.

Cheers, Minnie

inki

Hi minnie,

Thanks for the advise. I'm been going down so many times to FS, and I also feel cram, but the heart keeps saying "Maybe not that bad lah". Choosing FS vs other hotels is really a case of mind over heart or heart over mind. My other choice was Westin whicn you can't compare in terms of looks but the attractiveness was the price and a much bigger ballroom (Giving me the Stamford ballroom which is their nicest and very spacious).

I called Conrad but they were taken on the afternoon I wanted, else it will be the best choice for me.

May I ask you how much you topped up to 'upgrade' to Soon Hock ?

Btw, how many tables will you be having ?

chemson

Hey Jazz,

Am sure you have time for mid or early 2003.... you have already booked your bridal package? Where did you book with ? Oh yes.... am sure FS still has vacancies for next year? Have you booked with them yet ?

arctic_hare

Hi all, anyone interested in special wedding package from Four Seasons Hotel?? sorry ladies, think this will only be open to those who have not booked with FS yet...

here comes the goodies:
FS will be hosting the Inaugural Bridal Clearance Sales on 12-13 Jan. Besides gowns and suits, they will also be promoting the hotel and its ballrooms. It is written in the promotional materials that there will be special wedding banquet packages from Four Seasons.

For details, can check up my posting in the Bridal Shop Sale thread.

Jazz, Inki... hold your booking for another week or so... maybe you'll get a better price or more freebies...

For other ladies, perhaps we should pay our co-ordinators a visit as a group. then, we can get more freebies??

jazz

Hi Chemson, wanted to try FS for jan of 2003, but it was taken up. 'Cos it's still within the "Snake" year thus the "tong shu" has dates till end of Jan.

That's why I signed up with B&B (Bride & Bridegroom) 'cos they gave me quite a number of stuffs and the photos taken are quite nice. But not sure if I can ask for refund or not. Now I'm in a dilema if I should continue with them or not... have not talked to them after I signed the package, not sure if the attitude would have changed for the better or worse...

Thanks Arctic hare!
I'll go check out the wedding banquet packages for Four Seasons. The only prom is that I still don't have a date for the banquet. Was waiting for the "Tong Shu" to come this July, not sure if FS will be able to hold the freebies... maybe, I'll drop by and ask them this question.

Cheers, Jazz

chemson

Hi Jazz,

OIC.....May 2003... is a good period as well..
Usually... couples book their venues a year ahead... and in FS' case, they have only 2 ballrooms... therefore, it is impt to act fast. In any case... did you place a big deposit with them ?

minnie

Inki

I upgraded from seabass to soon hock for $20 per table. Later I read somewhere in this discussion thread that it only costs $10 per table, but well, decided to let it go since I already sign contract. I also change from seafood rolls to prawns at no additional charge. Will see how the food tasting in Mar goes... maybe more changes once you get the parents down to eat.

Arctic Hare,
thanks for the info on the bridal clearance sales. I pre-registered! a little curious on what special package FS is offering. if really good freebies, then maybe will try to bargain a little more with my co-ordinator. hee they better make sure it is not too far off what we signed up for! if not all of us pay visit to them hor!

inki

Hi artic_hare,

Thanks for the advice. I'll hold back till the bridal fair. But I'm holding lunch, so, don't know what kind of incentives they can offer.

jazz

Hi Chemson,

Nope, I've not placed any deposit. I'll be dropping by the FS this coming Sat to see the sale and the special package FS is offering... See if there're any good freebies and if I can bargain for more.

jazz

Hi Minnie,

I'm going to the clearance sale too! Want to see what type of "special package" is FS offering...

Maybe, we can help give some pressure on them for more freebies! Ha ha!!! :D

arctic_hare

Hi minnie, you registered for the sale at FS this sat and sun, right? have you received any confirmation from them yet?

I registered too, through Internet... but have yet to receive any mail from them... let me know, okay?

inki

I can't wait to go for the sale too! Last week I called FS and asked them if they were taking part in the fair. They said they will only be promoting the place, but no incentives leh

Hope they've changed their mind.

Hi artic_hare,

I've not received any mail from them too!

inki

Hi minnie,

May I know which manager you liase with ? Your request to upgrade the fish to Soon Hock is at $20 per table. I just called Danny and he told me it's $40 per table!

Really worried here, I don't know which manager I should work with.

minnie

Hi Inki
I'm surprised. maybe you can double-check? you can contact Michelle... or just wait for the fair?

another reason I can think of is the wedding date, perhaps mine is real soon, this Apr 2002, and your wedding is in 2003? but the fish price cannot go up by some much in 1 year?!

Hi arctic hare
no internet confirmation received yet...

inki

I've received my confirmation!

Hi minnie,

Phew! Danny called me back yesterday afternoon and said it should have been $20. Btw, I'm holding mine this year in June.

Oh yeah, about the fair: FS isn't having any special deals, that's what they told me. If they have, their policy will be to extend to everyone, and not only to the 2 days or those who sign on the spot.

inki

Nope, no bear for me, sob sob.

I have a question for FS brides. FS is definitely beautiful and service and food (so I'm told) is definitely thumbs up. Are most of you expecting to be able to recoup the dinner/lunch or perhaps a huge loss? Is the food at FS really that good ? My main concern is that food must be good, else holding at FS (besides the nice decor) isn't that important.

minnie

Hi arctic hare

got my bridal sales confirmation too! = )

Inki, re: food, my friend's brother held his wedding there last year, and she felt that the food was ok, sharks' fin good quality.

will share with you how my food tasting go in Mar, but I would expect that to be much better than the actual event, which would be "mass production" for the kitchen.

arctic_hare

Hi Inki,

no doubt that costs are high at FS... think food should be of some standard (less the coffee ribs, of course...hee hee

we are actually not expecting to recoup the dinner costs at all
my FH is of the idea that the dinner is for close friends and relatives to share in the joyous occasion... (we dun intend to invite a lot too)... and guests should not feel oblige to bring us gifts or red packets...

we have saved enough $$$ for the wedding costs, so not expecting to offset using the goodwill from our guests.... will definitely end up being poorer (but still got enough to eat lah...) but happier that way... $$$ from guests will be our bonus loh...

in this way, maybe I also no need to keep track who give me how much, no need to face black black when not enough $$$ to cover this and that on that night...

jazz

Hi Inki,

I agree with Arctic Hare too...

Normally, I believed that you'll be able to reoup almost all the dinner costs if the cost per table is abt $600 to $700 (after +++) as the market standard is abt $60 to $80 per person. If it goes above $800, it'll be harder and be prepared to get back only abt half or less than the total cost.

For me, I'm not prepared to get back the money but I just wanted my guests to feel good and grand. So their ang pao will be a bonus to us. If I can get back abt half of what I paid, I think I'll be very happy!

Cheers, Jazz

inki

Hi FS brides,

Would like to seek your opnion about the chairs.
(1) Do you think the chairs look nicer with or without seat covers ?

(2) Did you have to pay for the seat covers or could you swap e.g. the anniversary voucher for seat covers without having to top up any extra cost?

Hope you can all advise!

arctic_hare

Hi Inki.

For me, I prefer seat covers for all the chairs. Find it a little weird if only the VIP tables are with seat covers. So, we negotiated with Danny for them.

The cost for them is $2 each (correct me if I am wrong). But since we took up a higher package, he gave it to us FOC. said that he has to cover the cost for ironing each and every seat covers.

Hope this is useful to you

U are having wedding lunch, right? Sit-down or buffet style?

inki

Hi artic_hare,

We initially wanted a lunch, but a better plan came out and we might have dinner instead.

So, the seat covers aren't free ? I thot someone here mentioned that they managed to trade the $250 anniversary voucher for seat covers. So, I'm asking the FS brides here if they manage to get this deal. I'm gonna meet FS next week and really hope I'm bargaining for the right stuff.

arctic_hare

Hi all, Chin Leng had just updated the banquet prices.

Very funnily, the minimum table requirements for FS is now 12 tables for both weekdays and weekends. Wonder if there's a mistake in updates? Or is it referring to Crescent Ballroom only?

??
??
??
??
??
??
??
??
??
??
??
??
??
??
??
??

minnie

arctic hare

definitely only for the crescent ballroom lah... and if I only have 12 tables, I won't have it in Four Season Ballroom, look so bare! unless you have a big big wedding watlz as well!

cynthia

Hello
3389.gif
, how's everybody here?

Hi Inki, how's your "bargaining" with FS?

Hi Minnie, have you picked up all your wedding invitations? Is it still that ivory coloured card? Do they have any new cards? Danny says there's a possibility they might bring in new cards leh...

3390.gif
cynthia

material_gal

Hi Guys! I'm the FS bride-to-be, thought that I should share this news with you guys.

Has anyone heard the news that FS is having a Bridal fare this coming Sunday?? You have to pay entrance fee charge of $10.00 p.p in order to attend, I'm very keen to attend as the FS cordinator told me that if I have a date in mind & is able to confirm on the day itself with deposit, I could get extra freebies and enjoy 5% rebate off per table etc...., there is also a bridal boutique and a wedding consultant involved in this fare (not sure what's the name of the boutique, only interested on the freebies that FS offers).

Anyone out there attending this fare?? maybe we can share some info on the freebies..Hee!...Hee!

cynthia

Hi material Gal, may I know who did you heard the news (about the bridal fair) from? FS pple? Where can we find out more details? Thanks

breeze

i personally got a call from Mr Ho Mun Foong the catering sales manager... told me the same thing true... it's true!

corrine

Hi gals, me juz signed up with FS le.... dunno can negotiate for the 5% discount or not ..... a lot le.... must call my coordinator liao....

corrine

cynthia

hi breeze, have you signed up with them yet? Me never received any calls from them leh...

any idea who and what will be featured in the bridal show?

hi corrine, i doubted they will extend the 5% discount to those who have signed up, but perhaps maybe throw in more freebies? more carpark coupons and more wedding invite also better than nothing.

cynthia

breeze

Hi cynthia,
I haven signed with them coz still considering bet conrad & FS:p
I have no idea who will be featured... he just called me in case i wan to confirm and book then can get discount.... very nice of him...

Corrine,
is you have booked I am sorry to tell you but there won't be disc and all e freebies extended to you... coz they are trying to catch new deals...

breeze

cynthia

Hi breeze and Material Gal,

How was the fair last Sunday? I know whatever freebies and discount may not be applicable to me now, but just curious what FS is offering to the new clients...

Thanz.

excited26

I understand that there are 2 ballrooms in Four Seasons...I'm very keen to book my wedding venue there but I intend to have 20 tables...which is neither big enuf for the bigger ballroom but too big for the smaller ballroom....Anyone holding your wedding in the smaller ballroom?...may i know how does it compare to the bigger one?...i understand that the bigger ballroom has got nice tall windows...how abt the smaller one?...if it is not as good...then I got to try and rack my brain to see if i can meet the 25 tables requirement for the bigger ballroom....

Would appreciate any advise thanks!

cynthia

Hi Excited26,

I am having 20 tables too! Am holding it at Four Seasons Ballroom. Crescent Ballroom is half the size of FS Ballroom. No windows but mirrors (if i din remember wrongly...) From afar, looks like real windows too.. coz also arched. Hmm... think Crescent maximum can only take 18 tables leh... and that would be very cramped.

Well, if your budget allows for it, maybe they will lower the minimum 25 tables requirement if you can take up a slightly more expensive menu. Same thing in my case... I'm taking the superior menu in exchange for the lowering of minimun requirement. After doing my sums, think it is slightly cheaper that way loh....

When's your wedding?

cynthia

fish

hi excited26,

Have u thought of Raffles hotel. I had a dinner there b4 and I'm rather impressed with the setting. heard from the bride-and-groom that they were very pleased with the banquet. but the price also a bit steep. I think the ballroom can hold max 20 tables. so it would look too sparse for your wedding. Just being kpo : - )

excited26

Hi Cynthia and Fish...

Thanks so much for your response...both Four Seasons and Raffles are in my preferred list but the price of Raffles is really STEEP...

Me already thinking of a Sun wedding (coz cheaper than Sat)...and yet the price of Four Seasons is still exp compared to the mkt...and if i were to upgrade...price per table is going to shoot up and i heard that the max capacity for crescent is actually 15 tables!!!....but i want my guests to enjoy the food leh...also dun wan to "lose" too much for the dinner...so how?

And I may want to hold the solemnisation earlier in the hotel (but dunno where) on the wedding dinner date....sigh....extra costs!!!

excited26

BTW, any co-ordinator would you recommend given the high turnover of staff?...eeh who's left?

I'm actually thinking of Sep/Oct 2003 wedding...

Have you gals considered Hyatt, esp the food?

cynthia

Hi Excited26,

Mine is a Sunday dinner. June 02. I'm not sure about the prices for 2003. But for us, if we do not hold it at Four Seasons but somewhere cheaper, we may end up inviting more people (whom we have never seen or hear before - parents lah...) We think will still end up to about the same amount of $$$. Which is why we rather spend more per table for closer relatives and frens, then to have more people eating cheaper food. btw, we already have saved enough for the wedding, so anything from the guests are purely bonus. Perhaps, this is why we feel comfortable about paying the slightly higher price.

Me trying to get a JP now. Will be having my solemnisation before the dinner itself. So, using the same ballroom, should not have any extra charges loh... besides the dinner can start on time coz of the ceremony...

junebrides

Hi Excited26

Just something for your consideration. If you are having 20 tables, the ballroom at Raffles Hotel would be good. Coz their max is 26 tables. But the coordinator told me 26 tables would be really cramped. 20-23 would be ideal.
And the table setting is really gorgeous. You can have flowers AND candles as decoration. I was showed some pictures by the Wedding coordinator can loved it very much.