Four Seasons Hotel

arctic_hare

Hi Minnie.

Yes, their stated minimum is 25 tables, but they are willing to lower the minimum requirement if you can take up a better menu (i.e. a more expensive one).

Instead of the Deluxe menu, we opted for the Superior menu. And have a guaranteed minimum of 20 tables + 1 reserve table.

Now that times are bad, perhaps they will allow you to lower the minimum requirement without incurring additional cost?? You probably need to speak to them to find out. However, if you are holding it on a weekday, then they can definitely accomodate your request.

When's your big day?

arctic_hare

starbright

Hi Arctic_Hare, did you confirm your minimum requirements before signing of the contract ? Wonder if they can be so accomodating after the contract is signed. My contract stated everything at the minimum, ie 25 tables, Deluxe menu, 1 barrel of beer etc.

arctic_hare

Hi Starbright.

Yes, we agreed on the new minimum requirement before we signed. Coz we told Danny we would not considered FS if they are unable to accomodate us on that.

Your contract includes 1 barrel of beer - FOC?

mandy

Starbright

I'm curious too whether u got the free barrel of beer. Let me know ok!

Agree 28 tables is a bit cramped. Mine got 30+2...xiao liao!! how to drag my train all over the place?

arctic_hare

. Anyone had any idea how FS's "grand first dish presentation" is like? Did anyone ask? Or can those who had experienced it before please share?

Thank You!

minnie

Hi hi

Arctic Hare, spoken to Michelle, and like what you said, they would only allow less than 25 tables if we take the superior menu. Did you book for a weekday or a weekend? My big day is in Apr 2002, Sunday. Kinda of surprised that the date is not taken up by anybody yet. Perhaps it is not exactly a very auspicious Chinese day...

Am considering wedding lunch instead of dinner... If you have attended or helped a wedding dinner on a Sunday night, you know what I mean... or if your colleagues have also on Monday mornings, beary eyed due to a dinner that ended late. also more within budget, hee.

Anyone have any idea who is easier to negotiate with at FS? *sigh* I hate having to bargain, but seems that you really have to for wedding banquets.

minnie

Hi Mandy

The setup I saw with 28 tables was with some small tables at both sides of the ballroom, as the hosts requested that each dish be presented to the guests, then brought to the side tables for distribution into individual plates... plus the hosts rented some rather big aromatic candles to place on the tables and along the aisle.

Maybe the max capacity of 32 tables would be fine if the set up is simpler.

mandy

Minnie
Where to rent those gigantic aromatic candles, I mean those like a big bowl of 'potholes' ?

Was at Fiore Dorato (florist)when I saw pictures of some wedding that used those nice candles. But will the fragrance affect the gastronomic senses of the guests?

For aisles, FS only provides 6 stands right? Dunno nice or not?

starbright

Hi Arctic_hare & Mandy,

Sorry for the confusion made with my statement.
I didn't have the beer FOC ... rather I got nothing in my contract that is FOC *sign* .... think my negotiation skills are not up to standard

My banquet manager told us that he just put down everying in the contract as minimum requirements ... I will try my best to get a better deal when the time draws nearer to my wedding date.

minnie

Hi Mandy

Don't know where to rent the gigantic aromatic candles. personal option that having one on every table, and somemore along the aisle is kinda... well... just too many candles! and too aromatic. Maybe fewer would be better. When I saw the setup, the candles were not lighted up yet... so not very pretty at all, plus the candles are obviously not new ones.

I'm currently undecided between Hyatt or Four Seasons. would welcome any opinion. Which has better food? Is FS' Jiang Nan Chun a Chinese restuarant that you would eat at, if not for weddings?

Thanks and Cheers!

chemson

Well..... Jiang Nan Chun is well-known for its Cantonese cruisine.... that is a plus point... FS has only 2 ballrooms... very exclusive... great decor, ambience and 2 nites free stay !! Whereas Hyatt has more ballroooms and the quality of the food may not be there.. but it has a great central location....just my opinion.

kreampuff

i held my wedding dinner at the four seasons in october.

of course, not having held a similar dinner at any other hotel, my opinion may be a little biased, but i must say that i had the most marvelous time at the four seasons.

the staff were unbelievably helpful and approchable and when my flowergirl hurt herself just before the march-in!!!!!, the hotel sent someone up with a first-aid kit to patch up her thumb. all this special attention is at no extra cost!!

post wedding, i stil feel happy just driving past the hotel!!! : )

ultimately, if u can afford to pay a little premium, go for the four seasons. good luck!

arctic_hare

Hi kreampuff, how is your grand entrance and the first dish presentation like? Did you use your own songs or the ones provided by FS?

Please let me know. THANKS

kreampuff

although i had a live band, i still played a pre-recorded title from a soundtrack i was fond of for the march-in. i felt that it really captured the mood of the night. if you have the time and the inclination, i would really recommend that you spend some time picking out your favourite tunes/ CDs. the sound technician at the four seasons would be happy to accomodate your requests.

as for the first course, i didn't have the usual fanfare, instead, i asked the band to play something more upbeat during the first presentation and it worked out fine.

minnie

Hi Arctic Hare

Saw your postings in some other sections as well.

I think we just might be using the same hotel and same bridal shop.

I signed up for HK broadway long time ago, and just visited Bridal Zone to pick my gown and confirm package last Sunday...

Am likely going to finalise reservation at Four Seasons!

When is your wedding? Mine is next April.

arctic_hare

Hi hi, dear minnie...My wedding is in June.

I think I am super KS. have settled my WG and EG about a month ago. Confirmed FS about half a year ago too...

Who did you liaise with from FS? How many tables are you thinking of having?

I like FS because I can stay 2 nights there and of course the arched windows are just so BEAUTIFUL
. How about you?

warm regards.

minnie

I am liasing with Michelle at FS. Hope to only confirm 22 +2 tables. Also fell in love with the FS ballroom.

it's good to be early. when are you having your photoshoot? Could you share with me how is your EG like? didn't pick any during my last visit. Now that I bought a cheongsam (a really traditional looking one, I think most modern brides wouldn't wear), maybe will not have the EG.

Best regards too!

mandy

minnie
dun hesitate anymore. just go and book FS. You'll not regret it. Hyatt is not that bad but it's gotten too commercialised. too many ballrooms, all low ceiling, and all the backdrops are replicated from room to room. whenever i look at the sample photos at any bridal shop, i know right away it's the hyatt trademark gold drapes plus wrought-iron frame backdrop.

but must say hyatt is very particular of the table decor. very well-coordinated and tastefully done up. i was most impressed by the wide array of fabrics and sashes to choose from.

hey but do be prepared for the many weddings in one nite that's all lor.

food at hyatt is good too. i have makan at the chinese restuarant there during one of my family christmas lunches. must say got fight with jiang nan chun :p

well, it all depends on your wedding theme. do u want it to be an exclusive private function tucked in one quiet corner of Orchard Blvd surrounded by greenery or be engulfed in the midst of a hugh traffic jam at scotts rd? do you want shoppers/pedestrians to be walking all over the hotel compound as you prepare yourself to march in? Why, we know grand hyatt is a very PUBLIC area, with Pete's, Brix, and other restaurants heavily patronised by the hotel members at night.

if anything, Regent is a good spot for weddings. so secluded at the end of cuscaden rd...high ceiling some more...and a large foyer for your guests to mingle around before the dinner.

arctic_hare

Wah... Mandy, you really did your homework well...

Minnie, think i'll post my reply in the Bridal Zone thread, dun wan to clutter the FS thread. OK?

chee chin

How much does it cost per table ? I heard it cost the same or more than Fullerton and Ritz Carlton hotel, is that true ?

arctic_hare

Hello, chee chin... here's the price list for Four Seasons.

<TABLE BORDER=1><TR><TD>MENU</TD><TD>MONDAY TO THURSDAY</TD><TD> SATURDAY</TD><TD> FRIDAY &amp; SUNDAY</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Deluxe</TD><TD> S$698.00</TD><TD> S$828.00</TD><TD> S$748.00</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Superior</TD><TD> S$768.00</TD><TD> S$898.00</TD><TD> S$818.00</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JNC</TD><TD> S$908.00</TD><TD> S$1038.00</TD><TD> S$958.00</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Premium</TD><TD> S$1108.00</TD><TD> S$1238.00</TD><TD> S$1158.00</TD></TR></TABLE>

A full bar can be available at the attached banquet bar rates which includes special bottle prices for hard liquor and wine. Beer can be arranged at $680.00 for a 30-litre barrel (95 glasses) or at $580.00 for a 20-litre barrel (65 glasses).

All prices are subject to 10% service charge, 1% government tax and thereafter, 3% GST.

I still have the soft copy of the wedding banquet quotation, please let me know if you wish to take a look at it...

chee chin

Hi Artic Hare

Thanks so much !

For the Deluxe menu, is it a 8 or 9 course dinner ?

Do you think a 8 course is sufficient ?

arctic_hare

Hi chee chin,

it was stated in the proposal that all wedding dinners includes a choice of a sumptuous 9-course Chinese dinner or a 4-course Western dinner or a buffet dinner, with Muslim, Indian or vegetarian menu alternatives.

DELUXE MENU as follows:
* Hot and Cold Combination Platter
(Jelly Fish, Shrimp Salad, Roasted Duck, Drunken Chicken, Vegetarian Cuttlefish)
*Braised Shark's Fin Soup with Eight Treasures
*Wok-Fried Glass Prawns with Deep-Fried Minced Garlic
*Roasted Sesame Chicken
*Steamed Live Sea Bass with Soya Sauce
*Deep-Fried Spare Ribs with Coffee Sauce
*Braised Vegetable "Lo Hon Chai" with Wolf Berries
*Fried Rice with Seafood
*Chilled Honey Dew with Sago
*Jasmine Tea

But heard from a couple of posting up there that the coffee spare ribs is not as tasty as it should. i have not tried that but anyway, it is not in my menu...

happy searching

minnie

I have never tasted the coffee ribs myself, but I sure heard a lot of negative comments on it. Seems that it leaves a very bad memory esp. for the older guests, like my auntie!

wonder who invented the coffee sauce...

ada

Forget about the coffee spareribs served in any hotels. They dun even look appetising at all, and taste horrific (just look at the guests' expressions and you will know).

corrine

I am in a dilemma here, i am in the midst of booking , me the KS type coz wanna lock in price for banquet but my actual day on in Nov 03! He he sure all of you laugh one.

But i've got a problem here, u c, we have got abt 28tables estimated for our dinner, as all of you know FS can only accomodate 30max so, i am really afraid that they cannot accomodate to unexpected 'guest' if you know what i mean.

On the other hand, i have also called up FS and gotten the quote, seems like they do not offer any seat covers or complimentary beer.... &amp; on top of that they charge corkage fees.

Anybody has idea on how much is the beverage list? And do you think i should book now or should i wait till next year. But if i wait till next year, dunno the price will increase or not hor......

Appreciate all your comments for this 'new bird'.

rgds

corrine

chee chin

Hi corrine,

dun worry, my friend booked 30 and the room is filled with 32 tables and it still looks cozy and nice!

looks like the charges are comparable to that of Fullerton which is going at $838+++ regardless of whether it's a weekday or weekend.
Still thinking ..

arctic_hare

Hi Corrine,

Have you received the barlist and the winelist I sent you last week? Pls let me know if you had not rcvd it, coz I did sent it to you.

Read from my-marriage.com that there will be a Inaugural Bridal Clearance sale at Four Seasons next year (12, 13 January). Bridal gowns, evening gowns, suits at clearance prices, Free makeup/ makeover services, discounts on honeymoon packages etc...

I never thought that such an event will be held at such an exclusive hotel. Shock me a bit when I first read it.

It will be held in the Crescent Ballroom. So, for those who had yet to visit FS, you can take this chance to take a look.

corrine

Hi Arctic_hare,

Thanks for your wine list, i received alady, hmmm, me went to FS last weekend and I am swooned! I love the aura 'grand' feeling when you walk in, but the guy who serve me Mr Ho, not very good le... gave me a lot of sales talk and no negotiation at all, so wondering if i ahould change coordinator. Anyway, fiance leave the decision to me so... am still considering ....

corrine

Hi Arctic_hare,

Me and FH quite firm on FS alady, maybe pay deposit in Jan coz wedding still far far away in 03, guess we r the KS type... (ha ha ha), how abt u? u booked ur actual day photographer alady? I quite like Ray Ong's style, he's got very nice angles...... Will keep you informed once I signed...

corrine

arctic_hare

hello. Yup... we are having Andrew Tay from the Edge as our actual day photographer. Saw Sunny's pics taken by him, and his other sample pictures. Really like the way he captures the spontaneous moments. Some are heart-warming while others are just funny. Once, he even managed to catch the last drop of champagne on film. Amazing.

starbright

Hi Corrine, you are also served by Mr Ho, me too ! and for once I thot I am the only one in SingaporeBrides being served by him. You are rite that he put in a lot of sales talk and refused to negotiate.

So did u change coordinator ?

corrine

Hi Starbright,

Ya, me definitely going to change coordinator, recommendated to go to Danny Yok the sales manager... So did you book with FS?

When's ur wedding date?

starbright

Yep, I have made a booking with FS. Didn't chg coordinator 'cos don't wat excuse to use. Hopefully, Ho can be more accomodating when we get down to the details of the banquet.

My wedding is in October 2002, so do u plan to get married in early or late 2003 ?

inki

I'm holding a Wedding lunch at FS. It's an 8 course set. Has anyone done this before ?

One of the items - seafood roll, is it nice or is it very small and ordinary ? I'm thinking whether it's necessary to swap it out.

I went to view the FS ballroom today (the 25 tables one) and was wondering if anyone changed the walk-in to be the length of the ballroom instead of the current default walk-in. Reason is my gown has a long train and within a few steps I'll reach the stage. Need advise if anyone has requested for a change in the walk-in (ie the stage is at the windors instead)

I've yet to sign with them, very tempting, but Danny didn't seem to be negotiable

corrine

Hi Starbright,

My weddinng only in late 03, very kS hor to book banquet so early, but wat to do , we wanna lock in the prices in case it goes upwards...

Btw how's ur own preparations coming along?

starbright

Corrine,

Wow, u will have lots of time to shop ard. I started mine in July this year, so only managed to confirm on my banquet, bridal pkg and church venue. Next on my list will be deciding on the design of my WG, EG, hairdo, photographer, church deco, banquet menu &amp; decor, scout around for wedding shoes, florist for the church deco, wedding stationeries etc etc, and oh, not forgetting my house renovation. The only thing I left out is honeymoon ... 'cos after paying for all these, got no money left, so must save up first.

So want have you done besides scouting ard for the banquet ?

minnie

Hi Inki

I am also having a wedding lunch at FS instead of the dinner.

My event is in Apr 2002, so if it is before yours, could share with you about it then.

I will be signing contract next week!

inki

Hi minnie,

Congratulations! I'm so glad to find someone who is holding lunch in FS. When is your event exactly ? And who did you liase with ?

Are you 'bargaining' for any other perks ?

jazz

Can anybody help to advise me when is the best time to book a wedding banquet in FS? I was thinking of holding mine in 2003 and was wondering if they'll have any promotions or exhibitions where I can see if I can grab hold of any freebies...

Thanks for the help!

Cheers, Jazz

minnie

Anyone picked up the FS invitation cards already? I just got a sample. seems that they only have one choice. Find the embossment a little ugly, but can do, lah.

Jazz, don't know of any promotions / exhibitions they will be participating in. Advice is to just meet up with the manager if you are really keen, and see what price/package fits your needs and budget. I know hotels like Holiday Inn has very good bargains compared to FS/Hyatt etc. but is there really any basis of comparison?

inki

Was told the FS ballroom could have a max of 32 tables. Would that be very very cram ? I'm very afraid of not having space to move and guests
feeling uncomfortable. What would be an ideal number?

jazz

Hi Minnie,

Thanks for the advice! I'll give them a call to check it out.

Can you help advise me is there any particular manager that I can approach? It seems from the messages above that some of the managers are not very flexible to work with...

Cheers, Jazz

arctic_hare

Hi Jazz,

I recommend my co-ordinator - Danny Yok, the catering sales manager. He can be contacted at
tel: 831-7101
email: [email protected]

He is quite a nice chap, we find. Rather easy to talk to. Dunno why he is not negotiable to Inki's requests.

chemson

My catering sales mgr is also Danny Yok. He is a nice guy but not very flexible in the negotiations.. I guess... the mgrs are all the same lah... they dun give in to your bargains. But then.. if they can make our weddings memorable and stress-free... I dun mind lah.

jazz

Hi Arctic Hare and Chemson,

How are your weddings preparations going? May I know which Bridal shops you've signed up with? I've signed up with Bride and Bridegroom but I heard that the service is bad... but they sounded professional and good when I visited them. *sigh* Not sure what to do now...

chemson

Hi Jazz,

Wedding prep ok lah...now.. just watching my weight and hope to lose some more weight... before my 1st fitting...
In any case.. I have signed up with Flamingo Bridal.

jazz

Hi Chemson,

Seems like Flamingo Bridal is quite a popular choice... is their package expensive? Are their services good?

Can you share a few pointers on what to ask for the banquet dinner at FS? Have you have the food tasting already? Thanks!

chemson

Hi Jazz...

It depends on what you want.. it range from $2,988 to $4,888....service is excellent.. she is very personalised and very very friendly... you feel so at home talking to her... she gives really good advice...

My wedding is in Sept 2002... have not gone for food tasting....pointers... dunno yet.