Four Seasons Hotel

chemson

Hi jellybeans,

Yep.... same as you.... when I signed the package, I signed the deluxe menu.. in fact we will be upgrading to the superior menu. Danny Yok is my banquet manager and he will be in-charge of us.... yep.. love the exclusivity and the excellent service over there... the price may be steeper but you are paying for the ambience, quality and good service. Well.. my brother-in-law's wedding... dun remember abt the flowers or the candles.... actually.. they won't be my main concern.... more the food and the guests must enjoy it...
Maybe can ask genesis... she may be able to tell us !

If you look closely the pricing... Saturday is the highest... guess it's the start of the weekend.. and we get to have the bridal suite for 2 nites...

genesis

Hi Jellybeans
I can understand your excitement!
I too was thrilled during my wedding. Four Seasons was almost the only choice for us. FOr a moment we did consider COnrad, but in the end fell in love with the boutique hotel style of Four Seasons...

Oh our guests and us had a fantastic experience with Four Seasons. My catering mgr was Danny Yok and he took care of us well. The head waiter (Azlan) and coordinator (Geraldine) on the actual dinner nite itself also did a magnificent job of running the dinner smoothly.

I had my church wedding on 28 Jul and dinner on Sun 29 Jul at the Four Seasons ballroom. It was truly truly magical. The food, the people, the ambiance, the service the lighting...eveything! I had a good friend there that nite who was so happy with the experience that the very next day, they ran down to Four Seasons and booked for their wedding next year

The food was great. We had no complaints. The guests went home happy and full We just took the normal menu and changed some dishes here and there. During the food tasting, the chef will come and sit with you and you can be open about your comments. We had about 26 tables that nite.

Yes the ballroom looked magical at nite. The decor and lighting are really so pretty. You don't even need things like chair covers. And the decor matched my theme! Cream, Ivory and Gold... Their flowers are fresh and fragrant...

Plus their wedding suite is sooo big that I even managed to have my tea ceremony before the dinner with 30-40 guests all in my room talking and changing and getting ready at the same time! A lot of fun...

What else would you like to know? I'd be glad to share...the wedding was a whole lot of fun! Dyou know, my dad MC'd the dinner! It was reeeally his nite...
Bet he waited his whole life to see his daughter as a bride.

arctic_hare

Look like Four Seasons is an excellent choice.

Hi Genesis,
How was the wedding cake at Four Seasons like? Danny showed us some pictures but cannot remember liao... can tell me more?

I am having my dinner there too ...02 June 02. I just love the windows in the FS ballroom and the availability of the grand piano (or was it just a baby grand?)... and of course the 2 nites stay.. hee hee...

But there one headache... the wedding card. It's all white. Danny told us that they are not printing anymore of the Chinese type of wedding cards, so we only have a choice of taking or forgoing the cards... really hope that they are indenting new cards in by March next year. How's your wedding card like?

arctic_hare

jellybeans

Hi Genesis,

Happy to hear u enjoyed your wedding at FS. I'm sure it was a memorable night for u & your family. Having your dad as the MC of the nite must have been truly memorable & fun. Hey, was the bridal suite really that big becos' the one that Ho showed me seemed a little small altho' they did have 2 bathrooms. i thought it looked smaller than the one my friend had when she had the bridal suite in Hyatt. But then again, Ho told me that that room was only a showroom of the bridal suite, so I was jus wondering if all the bridal suite are the same? BTW where did u book your bridal package? Care to share some info on your experience? I'm actually considering between Allure, Flamingo and Bridal Veil.

Hi Chemson,

Since your wedding is also in Sept 02, have you booked your bridal package yet? Which bridal shop r u intending to book with? Actually going for the show by Bridal Veil in Pan Pac tonite. Hope I see something I like there.

Hi arctic_hare,

Congrats! Good to here we will have another FS bride. Agree with u that the card seemed pretty plain. Hopefully, they will have more designs by next year. BTW, have you booked your bridal package yet since yours is in Jun 02?

chemson

Hi jellybeans,

Not yet... have shortlisted a few.. Charis, Allure, Flamingo and Emanuel B. Need to go and have a look at the place though. Have a budget to play around... and I want the package to be comprehensive as well.... me.. not a Bridal Veil person... :p

Hi Artic-Hare,

saw the cards for my bro-in-law last year... agre.. the designs are rather plain and am hoping that they will come out with newer and nicer designs.. if not... since I am having the smaller ballroom... may even consider doing it myself.

chemson

Hi jellybeans,

Not yet... have shortlisted a few.. Charis, Allure, Flamingo and Emanuel B. Need to go and have a look at the place though. Have a budget to play around... and I want the package to be comprehensive as well.... me.. not a Bridal Veil person... :p

Hi Artic-Hare,

saw the cards for my bro-in-law last year... agre.. the designs are rather plain and am hoping that they will come out with newer and nicer designs.. if not... since I am having the smaller ballroom... may even consider doing it myself.

arctic_hare

Hello Jellybeans
Hello Chemson

My bridal package was booked in June 01 with Bridal Zone... (me a little KS lah...) Going for 1st appt this coming Sunday... Very excited about that...just 2 days more...

Was thinking of doing my own wedding card, but then that would add to the cost. So, right now, am trying to "squeeze the creative juices" to see what can be done with the plain white cards.

Any ideas, anyone?

chemson

I remember the ones from last year... had the word 'Xi' in Red or Golden colour.... at that time.. did not really think much of the cards until recently and I have a few nice ones.... see how lor.... besides.... no one keeps the wedding card, right?

Bridal Zone @ IMM... heard that the photos are good..... but have to becareful of the hidden costs....

arctic_hare

hmmm...

besides the extra costs for the makeup artist and actual day photographer, is there anything else that I should look out for?

chemson

Especially the photos..... ampoules and fake eye lashes... have seen their work before... they can really transform the bride and the groom.... and bargain for the negatives.....

jellybeans

Hi Chemson,

I guess we still have time to look around first b4 deciding on which bridal shop to book with. I went to Allure for an appt yesterday evening. The designer, Daniel told me a rough guide would be about 9 mths from the wedding day. This would give us ample time for selection of designs, fittings, photography etc. He has quite a no. of beautiful gowns there. I got to try on 5 pcs! Daniel is very easy-going and he also gave me some suggestions as to the gowns I would be suitable for my frame. Will seriously consider him. Personally have a soft spot for organza and chiffon. Daniel does carry quite a no. of pcs with very nice beadings and embroidery. His mix of fabrics are also very good. Flamingo is also quite similar but Allure is more expensive though. Shirley of Flamingo is also very nice. Yet to visit Bridal Veil to see their gowns but mostly gowns are of duchess satin. I don't see much of organza altho' I did see a few in the recent bridal magazine. Bridal Veil uses swarovski crystals in her gowns.

Agree that when we book a package, we have to be very careful about hidden costs. A package might look cheap at first but with developing of photos, drycleaning of the gowns, etc might add up to quite a huge figure. Shops like Allure might be more expensive but they are very upfront about what is inclusive in their packages so u won't have a surprise in the end.

Hmmm... I guess once u have decided on your wedding date, there seem to be a million and one things to do! So many things, so little time ..heheheh!

Will chat again soon.

chemson

Hi jellybean,
Guess time is on our side... cos.. I intend to confirm my package in Jan.... will bug hubby to go to the shops with me.... you see... my frame is on the meaty side.... that's why..... How much was the package over at Allure?? I want a comprehensive one.. so far... Charis is very comprehensive.. from MTM WG to MTM Suit including Car rental. I am interested in Allure and want to see that place... maybe shd make an apptm to check it out at Allure. Dennis of Charis also told me that 9 mths is a good time frame...
Like you... like embroidery and beadings but I have a bigger frame.. Singaporean gals are more petite and most are on the slim side....

Who are the photographers tied up with Allure? What does the std package include?

genesis

Hi Jellybeans

So many questions! I will answer them from home tonite ok? By the way, I was a DELIRIOUSLY happy Bridal Veil Bride!!! I loooooove Bridal Veil cos they made all my dreams come true!!! I am also going to be at the wedding show @ Pan Pac tonite. Helping out at the reception.
Why don't you look out for me there? Maybe you can ask me your many many questions in person
hee hee!!

jellybeans

Hi Genesis,

Oops! Sorry I only got to see your msg now. If i knew you were helping at the reception, I would have looked out for you. The show last nite was fantastic! It fact, sort of decided to book with Bridal Veil. Don't think I'll go to other shops to see anymore. I can understand how happy it is being a BV bride. Hmmm.. in fact I have made an appt with BV this afternoon. Can't wait to see the gowns again! Bet they'll be flooded with enquiries. Michelle's gowns are reeaally sooo beautiful & fabulous! I especially like this new collection becos' she used more of organza and chiffon. I personally have a soft spot for organza which will give a soft, dreamy look... hehehe! Will chat again soon.

Hi Chemson,

Allure has 3 packages : $3088, $3588 & $4688 depending on whether the EG and bridegroom suit are on rental or to keep, and whether u decide to take the studio & outdoor photography. He is pretty flexible about the packages so I suggest you make an appt to see him. Errr..I think the photographers they tie up with are Utopia, Robin, The Edge and Wizards of Light.

I suggest you also take a look at Bridal Veil. Don't worry even if you are on the meaty side becos' I'm sure the designer Michelle will be able to design something perfect for u. She specializes in bringing out your best features. Went to Bridal Veil show last nite & few in love with all her gowns! I'm sure Genesis will completely agree. If only we get to wear so many gowns on the actual wedding day ...kekekeke!

Rgds, jellybeans

chemson

Hi jellybeans,

Sorry..... from day one... never thought of Bridal Veil. I dun think so.. besides I want to have a part in the whole process of designing my dream dress... one of my frens actually went to BV and one of the gals bluntly told my fren that Michelle decides on the designs and she only needs to agree or disagree and that remark cheezed off her totally. But good for you... a lot of gals have great experiences and Michelle makes it a point to attend your wedding and she even gives you your WG... besides... can't afford BV... it is like Ted Wu.. and yes I will take your suggestions and visit the Allure and now I can't wait to see the place. But thanks for telling me the pricing for the packages... ;)

serene

hi Jellybeans and Chemson!

Thanks for the reply!

So far, I have shortlisted and am pretty keen on Marina Mandarin & Sheraton Towers. Initially I was hoping for Westin, but heard pretty bad comments about the food at Westin, thus dropped it..

From the Forum, I read that MM is really good and thus I am keen...

but nothing is settled yet..

Me? My wedding is planned for Feb 2003, lots of time, thus looking around now.. doing my research and homework...

tango

Hi Genesis,

Did you have to request for an upgrade of the suite ? I was brought on a tour around FS, and the suite they showed me was very small, especially after viewing Ritz and The Oriental. The living room could hardly stand 8 persons!

I'm very keen on FS, and the only drawback is the suite. Do they have any complementary upgrade of the suite ?

Serene, guess we are both holding around the same time in 2003. It's such a headache doing all the research right now ....

genesis

Hi Tango,

No i did not upgrade the suite. I did see the larger suite (can't remember what its called) but my parents and I decided that the extra space in the larger suite is mainly in the bedroom and bathroom and not in the living room where my guests wld be.

They don't offer complimentary upgrades. U may ask them 2 switch the 2 nites to one nite in the larger suite tho.

Strange that you found the living room small. The one I was in was definitely a basic wedding/honeymoon suite with 2 bathrms and bedroom and living room housing dining table and sofa etc. It comfortably fit at least 20++ relatives in the living room and the balance 10++ in the bedroom or hallway milling around...even my granny-in-law in a wheelchair!!

chemson

Hi Tango,

I have been to the bridal suite... either on the 15th or 12th floor.. can't remember... but all I can say that there are 2 bathrooms.. one for shower (The bigger one) and the other for the make-up.... the living room was big enough and it could at least accommodate over 10 people in it.. I have looked @ the bedroom as well.. it is not really small...hmm.. am a little surprised...

mandy

Was at FS on Sunday to peek at the Grand Ballroom and Geraldine who was on duty then orientated me around.
Am wondering if anyone of you, who have already signed the contract with them for 2002 wedding, managed to get some freebies like waiver of corkage charges and better bar discounts. You see, most of my guests are solid alcoholics, including the groom. Don't think I can bear the huge bill afterwards, given the $580 per 20-l barrel and $680 per 30-l barrel

chemson

Hi !

$580 per 20 litres barrel - 65 glasses
$680 per 30 litres barrel - 95 glasses

I did not manage to bargain for the waiver of the corkage charges but you take their in-house liquor and wine..the charges will be waived and they have an extensive list of wines and liquor....

Just for your infor...

arctic_hare

No, they would not waive the corkage charges, unless of course we get the wine from them. BTW, I have the wine list from Danny. Anyone interested to take a look?

I only managed to get free seat covers. Now, not even sure if I have gotten myself a bargain, since they have changed the chairs and it is supposed to look nicer.

arctic_hare

chemson

Free seat covers? I thot they only have free seat covers for the VIP tables... anyway, per seat cover is $2... it's ok I guess cos I will be on the VIP table... hehehehe...

arctic_hare

Yah...originally that is what he told us...but he agreed to give us free after we told him that we are actually looking at the superior menu.

starbright

Hi to all FS brides, I have also booked my banquet with FS. My wedding dinner is on October next year.

Arctic_hare, can you send me the wine list ? I didn't manage to get it from my banquet manager.
My email address is [email protected].

Thanks a lot.

chemson

Say Starbright.. welcome to the FS brides club... :p

May I ask who is your banquet manager? Me... have a list too.... but it is in a hard copy.

mandy

Thanks for your info. WOw, they are strict about corkage aren't they? Just attended the Hyatt bridal show on Sunday. Even they agreed to waive that; give you free flow of beer thru'out; free gold/silver sash to cover over the already FOC white chair covers; free 3-tier genuine wedding cakes; free supper vouchers for 2 (provided you sign up with them at the bridal show).

I do have the FS bar list too. As for FS giving the free cover chairs, I don't feel that it is much of a value-added thingie, cos those new chairs with the gorgeous upholstery blend in perfectly with the majestic ambience of FS Ballrm, don't you think?

One more thing, FS-club members, how much will they charge if I wanna add candles to each flower centrepiece?

Am meeting Michelle this week to find out more. Please let me know if there are other rooms for bargaining. heh heh!

chemson

Hi artic-hare,

I dun quite remember... I think it's a 2-page list... with hard liquor as well as the wine list.

Hi Mandy,
Yep... now that they have refurbished the ballroom... dun think having the seat covers is an impt thing... am not too sure abt the additional of candles...did not cross my mind.... maybe when the banquet date is closer and we are finalising the details.. I will ask Danny about it.

genesis

Yes the deal where you take their wine and they don't charge corckage is really rather good! Saves you money and their wine is not bad you know. Candles are nice to have but you don't really need them cos the ambiance is sooooo lovely already...dim and nice. You can ask them to add three tealights in little glass each per table and they will do that free of charge.

mandy

Hello...
Tealights will be lovely as well. Are you certain it's free of charge?

Do you think it's space-consuming to have those tealights or candles on the table if I'm having Chinese dinner.

Dunno lah, I just have this fetish for candle lights... I had initially wanted those candlesticks that hold 3 tall candles per table, like what they show on the website. At Hyatt, they give you at no cost on the VIP tables and a flat fee of $30 per candlestick per table.

Yeah, wines, I suppose it is more cost-saving if my guests order directly from the FS bar.

genesis

Yes dear I am sure the 3 tealites were free during my time. But then...now with the economy doing so badly...I'm not sure. Would you like to ask Danny Yok? He was my banquet mgr. Four Seasons is already lovely without the tealites

arctic_hare

Anyone has seen the refurbished Four Seasons Ballroom? I have not seen the room since signing on the dotted line....

Danny mentioned that it is much nicer than before, the carpet now have blue strip across the room compared to previously golden beige.

??? very hard to imagine leh.

He mentioned they are trying to source for new invitation cards. Hopefully, they can find something nicer by March next year.

sigh.. still cracking my head over that..

arctic_hare

chemson

Yar the wedding cards were rather plain... the ones that my brother-in-law had last year. The new refurbished ballroom... have seen them... the place is brighter now.. and yes there is now a blue strip on the carpet.. the chairs are now purplish in colour instead of the golden yellow ones... the lighting is much brighter now and I saw the setting for a wedding dinner the day I went to view the ballroom and I must say.. the flowers went well with the setting and room... love it... was so tempted to change to the grandroom but I stopped myself from doing so.. :p

mandy

I cannot agree more. The refurbished FS ballroom reminds me of the Imperial Palace that I visited in Vienna and Versailles--so regal and majestic. It just fits my bill to have a window view, something that most function halls in singapore lack. I guess the new royal purple-gold-cream theme has further heightened the royal ambience. However, I think the design of chair legs could be better (hehe! I'm too fastidious, am I?)

What captivated me was the cream carpet aisle with the deep blue borderlines that cut across the hall, straight towards the stage. Unlike Hyatt where they just use temp red carpets, which I deem 'obiang', FS ballroom has a permanent 'aisle' design on the carpet.

Oh, also, the utensils and crockery have intricate pewter trimmings.

The place will be perfect for brides with a fairy-tale like gown. She will look like a princess that night, trust me!

arctic_hare

Mandy, pls elaborate on the fairy-tale like gown part. Mine is A-line. Now I am having second thoughts about it after your comments

tango

I've been trying to reason with myself, but looks like Four Seasons keeps coming back to my mind although it's much steeper than most other hotels. And my parents insist on Saturdays

Are there any 2003 brides who have placed a booking with FS ? I wonder if I'm too early.

chemson

Hi Tango,

To my knowledge, the banquet manager did mention to me about some bookings made in 2003 by other couples but he did not elaborate on the month though... Of all the days of the week.... Saturday is the steepest and I guess you are paying for the ambience, service and quality. What to do... Saturday is the best...

Hi arctic-hare,

A fairy-tale like gown... is more like a ballroom silouhette... the skirt is more puff-out... whereas A-line is more triangle in terms of the shape.... like the shape of the letter A.

mandy

Chemson got it spot-on : 'puff-out'. But of course you can ask the designer to give your skirt a flatter/steeper front and a 'puffier' and longer back.

Actually, arctic-hare, A-line is also perfect. Just that I'm building castles in the air to wanna look like the ballerina doll in 'Nutcracker'
Hahaah, simply my personal preference on the theme for the night.

My childhood dream has always been to make my wedding night surreal & magical; so far, I cannot find any other venues apart from Four Seasons that can make this dream come true.

This ballroom will not make your guest feel claustrophobic, really!

arctic_hare

Dunno leh.. Think I'll make a trip down to take a look for myself.

I agree that it's every girl's dream to make their wedding night the most beautiful night in their entire life history.
Me too, but got to watch my budget. My FH thinks Four Seasons is a little way too much already, though he will still go with what I want. Such a nice chap, where to find... so I need to curb my spending too, cannot have too much "wishful" thinking. Cannot stress him.

arctic_hare

chemson

Hey Mandy,

So I take it that you have signed up with FS for your banquet. Welcome to the club ! Which ballroom did you take? I guess to make it the puff-out look... you may have to wear an additional layer of tulle or skirt-like thingy... saw my sis-in-law wearing that to make her silouhette more puff-out.

mandy

Actually not yet part of the Club, but already got the go-ahead signal and concurrence from FH and MIL. Meeting the banquet mgr to discuss on details tomorrow and is very likely that I'll be taking it up, just gotta make sure that the dates MIL wants are available.

I believe I'll be taking the Ballroom as I've btw 30-35 tables. But the hotel said 30+2 is the max they can squeeze, so I need to be very selective with the guest list, meaning, children are preferred to be left home alone.

My budget has become kinda tight as a result of falling in love with FS. *SOB* But alas! wat to do...a dream is a dream...even in such bad economic times. Luckily, most of those so-called auspiscious dates the MIL gave me are weekdays, so even if I want Sat also "bo-pian". Maybe I'll try Sundays.

Chemson: tulle will make my already wide hips wider! I'll go for sheer organza instead. Contradictory to wat I've been raving abt, I actually want to drop the can can altogether after considering the style of photography I want, i.e. the flowing dreamy effect. The puff-out look is gonna stiffen my whole physique up!!

chemson

Hi Mandy,

Me & Hubby... sort of set our minds on FS since last year.... we did not even look at other hotels.... Yep... we took a Sat one and wow.. the costs are the steepest.. wat to do.....like it... but We decided on the Crescent Ballroom.. wanted a small and intimate affair.. which means.. kids must remain @ home too... ;) Anyway, just to let you know... a deposit of $3K is required. Danny actually brought us to this lounge to discuss the details and we were served complimentary drinks and nuts.. we were very impressed !

arctic_hare

Yah.. we were impressed by their gestures too! We went after work to sign the contract. When they knew that we have not eaten, they actually invited us to have our meal on the house at One-Ninety restaurant.

mandy

Wah, they are so nice to you all...I'm very impressed! OK, will feedback to this forum after tomorrow's meeting. Yeh, I did read somewhere in the previous postings abt the $3K deposit. I'll get it ready when they invite me to sign on the dotted line. Thanks!

chemson

Yep... what impressed us was that he had another set of contract ready for us.. be it we signed on the dotted line or not... he actually asked us if we would wanna have dinner as well.. but we thot it could be off our own pockets so we declined his offer...
Anyway, he will explain the things to do.... basically.. you won't hear from him until 3 mths before the event whereby you need to settle the cards, details and food tasting....

bonny

I have booked my banquet with FS as well for my Dec 2001 wedding..must say the service is good..also like the new decor..very royal...altho' the price is higher but I reckon we're paying for the service...did U guys asked about the waiter to table ratio..guess that's quite impt,rt? Will be going for my fd tasting soon...any pointers for me???

starbright

Hi, Chemson. The banquet manager who serves me is Ho Mum Hoong, the assistant director of catering sales. I noticed that very few of the brides here are served by him.