Four Seasons Hotel

tinkle

cynthia,

how much did u do the printing for?
So u are looking for those red invite cards now? wat a waste of efforts..

sep03

I'm in the midst of negotiating for a "better" package from FS. Anybody can kindly let me know wat "freebies" they can give?...

passion

HI Sep03,

From what I know, FOur seasons don't really compromise.So quite difficult to get freebies.
But I think it depends on the menu that you are going to have. The more expensive the menu, the more bargaining power you will have. I have spoken to two coordinator and they go pretty strightly by the book. Perhaps you can try and ask for free seat covers. As for myself, I was quite lucky I got a pretty good deal as I sign up during the wedding show. I got free seat covers, free wine and 5% off per table.

sep03

Hi Passion Fruit Latte,

Thanks for your reply...you got free wine???...how many bottles?...sigh...although me looking at Sat, Danny is not throwing anything in even though the Sat price increase of $80+++ is for nothing...compared to Fri and Sun... ;-(

sep03

I'm looking at Crescent Ballrm...find the rm cosy and to my liking...but really...I'm pondering whether how much importance I shld place on how much I like the rm...

would you share how you gals decide upon FS even though there are other comparable hotels whose co-ordinators are much much more accomodating.....???

How do you put and weigh the various factors together?...such as price, package freebies, nice & accomodating co-ordinators?

Personally feel that the hotel shld try their best to accomodate without bringing up : "you got to top-up lor"...I mean I'm already paying $828+++ for the Sat dinner...sigh...not trying to sound like money is everything but the price I pay for FS can definitely get a better deal at even Raffles and Conrad... ;-( now still got to do w/o sit covers, which is like a std feature already!!!

I'm seriously considering FS, but at the same time, to be rationale...you still have to weigh the package as a whole, right?...

Being lor soh here...but really need some advice here...can't totally follow your heart only right?

cynthia

I have been doing some calculations...

We are charged $680 for a 30L barrel of beer that roughly gave 90 glasses. So, per glass cost will be about $7.55.

We are also getting wine from FS, at $28 per bottle. One bottle of wine can roughly give 6 glasses. Per glass cost is $4.66.

Hmmm... I wonder why we are still serving beer, if wine is much cheaper? Any thoughts from anyone?

cynthia

cynthia

Hi Sep03,

I think you have to first think about your BUDGET. How much you are willing to spend on the banquet and the number of tables you are looking at. Also, the likelihood of this number ballooning up... Danny told me that one couple ballooned their expected turnout from 20 to 32 tables in the last week to their wedding

Only when you decided on these 2 things, then you can talk about whether you like the room or not, whether there are high ceilings etc...

Hope this helps in your venue searching.

cynthia

cynthia

Just an update. I have chosen champagne roses with golden showers orchid as the flower decorations. Hope it turns out nice.

darren

I'm getting married next year. Looking around for nice menu and good ambience. Is FS's food good? I look at the Deluxe menu...and feel that is lacking..no abalone..and only sea bass AND IT"S ALREADY $965!!! Dunno how my mother-in-law will feel if it is not up to mark? Advice pse.

sep03

Jus to share a small gossip: Michelle Tay (co-ordinator) is the sister of Zoe Tay.

BTW, Cynthia, can you actually choose the flowers for your floral stands?...you mentioned that you wan to solemnise jus before the dinner...how's your search for JP?...are you allocating a seat for your JP / photographer?

Tks!

F

free_covers

Try to bargain by swapping say your anniversary voucher for seat covers. Push a little, you can get it

cynthia

Hi Sep03,

The flower decorations for the table arrangements (reception table, VIP tables and other tables) and the floral stands will be co-ordinated. Meaning, you just have to choose the combination of flowers to use and the florists will use that combinations for all the flower decor. Of course, your co-ordinator will show you pictures of the arrangements before you decide.

Yup, I have found a JP already - Dr Seet Ai Mee. A 11th seat will be added in for her at one of the table, but she will not be staying for the dinner. So, no need to increase the food amount for that table. As for photographer, dunno leh... they have to move around taking pictures, where got time to sit down and eat?

cynthia

sep03

Personally find it not worthwhile to exchange the $250 dinner voucher for the seat covers...me got 15 tables (with 2 VIP tables already wif sit covers, the cost which I was asked to top up was $260 (13 tables*$2)...find it more worthwhile for pple wif bigger number of tables to swop...for instance, seat covers for 23 tables using the $250 voucher... ;-(

sep03

BTW, has anyone seen a wedding set-up without seat covers?...do the FS' chairs really "look" that good?

inki

Hi Sep03,

Since yours is 13 tables, then you should be able to try to get seat covers to be thrown in since they dun need to set up so many tables.

The FS chairs are okay, in fact good looking without the seat covers. It's not like other hotels where the original chairs look dated and therefore require seat covers.

delany

I too am a FS bride to be in July. I am still stuck between using seat covers or just using the lovely chairs as they are. Anyways, here are my $0.02.

FS is NOT the most flexible when it comes to pricing etc, but since our dinner and dessert menu is customised, they have been very accomodating, we have been to several food tastings & the chef gave us plenty of options. It was great. Our food is french-asian & for the world gourmet summit, their head chef from FS Paris was flown down & he even was nice enough to give us some suggestions on the items. Very lovely. FS is a great professional place, I bet if you start talking to their chefs to create a new menu, you'd be pleasantly surprised.
Don't stick to the traditional predictable & over-rated chinese menu, if that's what you prefer, other hotels should be able to do it similarly for a lot less $$ I think.

I too am not keen on their flowers, so I am bringing our own florist, in exchange for some waiver of corkage.

I just picked up their invitations card but didn't like them at all, but it doesn't matter since we have already designed our cards.

We have several overseas guests flying in that weekend & they have reserved about 16 rooms. The reservation staff have been so nice on following up with them overseas ! What a personal touch !

sep03

Hi Delany,

Thanks for sharing your experiences!...the service level of FS is definitely without question, and this is based on comments from 2 friends who held their wedding dinners there...

Now really trying to decide between Raffles and FS...

BTW, how's your package like?...given that you have customised the menu?...for instance, any top-ups? If I also want to bring in my florist and print my own invites...wat would be the costs like?...pls advise!!!

jellybeans

Hi delany,
Agree with you that the card that FS gives very boring. I don't like them too but don't want to waste $$ on buying myself since it's going to be extra cost and I guess most people throw the card away after the event anyway.
BTW, can I know how much you paid for the rooms at FS becos' I'm also thinking of putting up my overseas guests at FS. If too expensive, maybe I'll try other hotels in Orchard Rd. Thanks.
Rgds, jellybeans

inki

Hi jellybeans,

It's not going to be much cheaper printing on FS cards or select your own cards. Reason is you still need to print the card cover and inserts and if you were to produce your own cards, the extra cost comes only from the card cover which isn't expensive, but gives you alot more flexibility.

It's not like other hotel cards where they need only print the inserts. So, cost wise may not be much difference but you can get something you really like.

darren

Btw Four Seasons and Raffles Hotel..which is the better..in terms of classiness...I can't make a decision..both I like...with inclination to FS.

cynthia

Hi jellybeans,

True... pple just throw wedding cards away after the event. But Inki is right too.

The card covers does not cost much more, it's the printing that makes up the bulk of the costs. How about visiting the recommended printers and see what creativity they can do with those cards?

Otherwise, suggest to choose another card cover which you like.

cynthia

delany

Hi Sep03 & jellybeans & Darren,

For the invites, we got a designer friend of ours based in NY to design it, while the printing was done in India because the type of paper we used supports a charitable cause in India. I don't mean to blow my own horn, but I love my invitations, and so has everyone who has recieved them. It cost aboutUS$2.50/piece. It doesn't matter if you tell FS to keep the invites, it's a neglible cost to them. If you are not keen on using them, then you can always use them as Christmas cards (like what I'm doing

For the florist, I am using Stefii's, who is doing my church flowers as well. All of the floral stands, arches etc will be moved to the hotel. In addition, she will be doing the centerpieces for the table. In exchange for the FS flowers, the hotel has allowed me to bring in 30 bottles of wine corkage free. This works out to be around S$700. We did not like any of their (FS) wines offerings one bit, it was very dissapointing. We could not believe such a hotel would serve such bad wine,so we sat down & told them of this problem & they had suggested this win-win solution for us.

For the menu, we were very specific on what we wanted from the start and told them our budget (around S$160pax) and started working out from there.

Jellybeans, on the contract, the discounted rooms for wedding guets is S$250+++. our corporate travel guy at my workplace did a huge favor for me to secure some great rates of FS, which I promised him that I won't share out in public.
In case you were wondering, breakfast is S$31+++, while Sunday brunch is st $65+++

Darren, don't worry about which venue is classier etc. Both hotels are equally charming. For me, I also was keen on Raffles, but the East India room was not large enough to accomodate our guests. The 'classiness' largely depends on what the wedding couple makes it out to be. I have been to
some really 'tacky' weddings at FS, Raffles and Ritz, and some great, classy and memorable ones at Orchid County Club & Psing Hsiang Restaurant.
It's all up to you !

sep03

Hi Delany,

Thanks for sharing. Mind if I ask how much it would usually cost to bring in a florist to decorate the ballroom?...for instance, the costs of floral stands and table centrepiece?

mandy returns

Hi Delany

I've been hounding Michelle Tay, my coordinator, to swap all the floral arrangements for a free barrel of beer but to no avail. She offered me a complimentary day use of a deluxe room for my helpers or upgrade of fish.

I'm glad that I've found another bride who's managed to get free wine corkage for 30 bottles. I'll check it out with her... She is rather low level in the hotel so she needs to go checking with her superiors every now and then; and she doesn't have the authority to make decisions.

Sep03, to answer your query...most florists quoted me $1,000 - 1,400 for 6 floral stands + 2 VIP table centrepieces, 30 std table centrepieces (floating candle type), reception candlelabra, 2 large arrangements on stage. This is actually a subsitute of FS' in-house decor. Each floral stand should be about $80-150, depending on the species and the no. of flowers used. A centrepiece (floating candles with petals) is about $12-15.

I'm still deciding if I should bring in my own florist...my hubby is against the idea as he doesn't take notice of flowers at other people's wedding and therefore assume they do not leave an impression on my guests' minds anyway. I agree that many a times, I do not remember the flower arrangements at weddings unless they are super well done using imported flowers and exotic leaves and candles.

Delany, may I seek your advice on the colour of the flowers you might be using? I am not sure if I want white/cream flowers as the ballroom is very 'brown/woody'. Will my white flowers look dull? What is Steffi proposing to do for your stage? Are you going to forgo the ice carvings and champagne tower and cake?

As for whether Raffles is grander than FS, I suggest Sep03 u look at the ballroom decor potential. Personally, I shun Raffles cos my sis had hers there...so novelty has died out in the family
Also, do u mind shoppers, diners and tourists zipping in and out of the open hotel premises? No doubt very centrally located in town, RH is still a tourist attraction. FS on the other hand, is quieter and hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the city. I love its boutique feel...very private hotel without dubios characters moving around the compounds...just my thoughts... :p

cynthia

Hi all, just like to share this with those considering or have booked FS.

The Champagne ribs is quite a nice dish. So far, comments from my guests are favourable. Besides that, my in-laws and parents all agreed that the food on the actual wedding day is definitely much better than during the food tasting. Even the shark fins are in much bigger pieces. Service wise, they are wonderful.

cynthia

passion

Anyone here knows whether can we do video presentation in four seasons. Don't think I saw any screen available. How much do you think they charge?

Hi cynthia,
congrats on your successful wedding. must be really a sigh of relief for you. congrats again.

Passion fruit

chemson

It was a sense of deja vu last evening as I attended my good fren's wedding at FS.... same ballroom as well.. Crescent Ballroom.. the menu was a little different the dessert was fantastic.. had this chocolate hazelnut royaltine cake as dessert and it was delicious !!

Anyway, yes we can do a video presentation and they have a screen set up..at the end of the crescent ballroom. The service should be FOC, right? My fren was very lucky as well.. the hotel was full yesterday and she was upgraded to a bigger suite..
With two bathrooms...with two shower facilities.

Hey Cynthia... congrats !!!!! It must be a relief.. there were 2 weddings last nite... but the food quality is still there..

sep03

They have the screen, but no projector...I enquired and they said it will cost $450 to rent one...think if you request, they will rent for you...

Chemson: how was the taste for the other dishes?...the ambience?...coz i'm booking Crescent for 15 tables too...is it cramped?...\

Passion fruit latte: you mentioned that you had free wine?...how many bottles?

chemson

Hi Sept03,

Nope, I found that the 15 tables not crampy at all.. cos I myself have booked Crescent Ballroomas well.. the food.. well.. her menu was different... personally liked the deep fried sesame seed prawns with Mayo sauce, Roasted Sesame chicken, Braised Mushroom with Brocooli and of course the dessert..hazelnut royaltine cake.. very nice... my fren picked the dessert from the Western buffet menu.

mandy

Chemson
What was your friend's centrepiece? And were there any flower arrangements on the stage?
Did she use the ice carvings?

sep03

Confirmed with Danny that $350 is req if you want a video projector...

Chemson: may I noe when is your wedding, wkday/wkend?...any good deal you had b4 or after you signed the contract...me gg to sign soon...

chemson

Hi Mandy,

Her centrepiece was flowers with an ice-carving of a large vase... her flowers are the ones with candles with flowers..

Hi Sept03,

Thanks for letting me know abt the rental charges. Danny is also my banquet mgr. My wedding is Sept 02 this year.. I booked it last year.. not a lot of good deals... anyway, my wedding is a Saturday.

sep03

Hi Chemson,

We have more in common, using the crescent ballrm, 15 tables?, Sep, Sat... ;-)

Do you noe wat are the charges for extra flowers...the choice given by FS is very ltd...are you serving wine/beer?...getting the wine from FS?

chemson

Err.. I am not sure the charges for the extra flowers. Dun intend to get extra flowers. When is your wedding in September? Mine is Sept 14th. Yes I am serving wine and beer and yes getting the in-house wine from FS. I dun mind as if you can the in-house wine, they will be waiving the corkage as well.

mandy

DEAR Chemson...!!!!!!!
Could you be more specific? For instance, what do you mean 'the flowers with candles'? Like votive candles or candlestands?

Did the FS florist for it for her or she outsourced?

FYI, I've outsourced my aisle candlestands and am wondering if I need to do likewise for the table centrepieces. Did you say centrepiece with ice carving? That must be on the stage?

chemson

Hi Mandy,

Err...the flowers with candles are those with candlestands along the aisle.

She uses the in-house FS florist.

Yup.. the centrepiece was on the stage.

When is your wedding incidentally??

delany

Hi Mandy,
For the centerpieces, we are having bold colors, ie red,rose, with lime green, whereas the floral stands will be cream flowers with greens. For the stage, I am having 2 stands and the champagne & cake, no ice carving.

Hi artic hare, you must be relieved that your wedding is over. do share with us if you like your day's events & your emotions etc. (if you dun mind that is)

mandy

Hi Chemson
My wedding is in Dec.

Hi Delany
WOw! I'm so envious...your wedding decor will surely look grand. I kept telling the (external) florist, white roses won't stand out in the main ballroom cos it's got too much brown WOOD panels. It's not like GWP, RH or Fullerton which have more white walls and windows.

Does anyone think baby pink is tacky? Somehow, I am beginning to think that pink and cream roses look lovely under the yellow lights...

I love the DBS Cashline (life is beautiful) wedding setting...

sep03

Hi Mandy,

Have you considered topping up the FS in-house florist for a more elaborate flower decor b4 engaging your ext florist?...BTW, wat is the cost of decorating the ballroom and wat does it include for your wedding? Thanks!

passion

Thanks for all the info. My wedding will be held in the main ballroom. Has anyone tried doing video prsentation there? Is one screen enough for all the guest?
Anyone here considering to change the position of the stage so as to have a longer ailse for march in?
Some of you mention candles with flowers. Do we have to top up?
Hi sep03,
I am given abt 30 bot of free wine coz I sign up during the frederick lee and 4 seasons show.
Passion fruit

chemson

Need your advice. Just collected my cards for printing. Given 4 printers... Acepro, Jasvy Marketing, Generic Printing and Kai Hong Printing. Any recommended ones out of these four ? What's the pricing like ?

Yup.. agreed with Cynthia that the card design is limited and gotta improvise from the design and create something different..

Appreciate your feedback..
Thanks gals !

passion

Hi Sep 03
My wedding in mid-sep and weekday. My FH didn't want me to reveal the exact date...sorrie (don't want him to kill me!) Alot of things not done yet. printing, pre-wedding shoot...I think I am the slowest.
Hi Chemson,
Not sure about the printers by 4 seasons but I check with a place called wedding giftshop in marina square quite resonable. there are three main types of printing namely standard, hot stamp and one more can't remember... standard printing is the cheapest...i think $126 for less than 200 cards. They provide artwork and seems like they do quite a lot of printing for 4 seasons wedding cards. They even do tying of the inserts FOC. How is your wedding prep?
Passion fruit

chemson

Hi passion fruit,

Wedding preps so far so good.. I just had my photoshoot last Friday.. it was fun.. we had loads of fun.. tiring though. Really? Hmmm... sounds good..
Which bridal boutique did you book with ? I am a Flamingo Bride..
We are getting married in the same mth as well..
Have you gotten your cards printed yet ? Just collected from Danny last Sunday..

mandy

hi sep03
much as i know i can top up FS florist for the decor, i did not approach them cos what i want in mind is something that FS does not provide, i.e. 'critical props' - ornate candlestands. I haven't finalise my decoration details yet cos my wedding still a long way to go.

I guess diff brides focus on diff areas. I'm one who does not mind the FS simple card. Well, I might laser-print the rice-paper 'inserts' myself at home and simply punch 2 holes and tie a organza ribbon thru. I'm a boring person; I don't really appreciate wedding invitation cards and usually will jot down the date/time/venue in my diary and chuck people's card away.

As mine is a weekday, I won't drag the show with powerpoint presentations of our lives. And because time is of essence to my guests, I'm not prepared to drown them in spirits all night long!!

passion

HI chemson,
I am a ted wu bride. My photoshoot in July..quite late. Haven't collected the cards yet..maybe next week still trying to do up guest list. I don't mind giving the invites during the seventh month so I think still got time....hope so though. Have you decided on the wedding program already and also the decor. Does four seasons provide candles or must we outsource ourselves? How much must we top up? You gone for food tasting?
Hi Mandy,
Juz attended someone's wedding with video presentation...find it quite meaningful esp when they also talked about their parents and childhood photos. The presentation is quite short less than 5mins and think it really got the guest engaged. Juz my opinion..
Passion fruit

chemson

Hi passion fruit,

Oh.. who's your photographer? Mine is Montage..
I sort of have in mind the wedding program and as for the decor.. will decide when I see Danny during my food tasting.. my food tasting is in early August.

mandy

hi passion fruit

well, i personally like watching other couple's presentations. i find it very meaningful and heartwarming too... like showing pictures of childhood, adolescence, courtship times, tours, etc. i have relatives who even flashed their son's GCE O level results to all. Some friends even highlighted abt their daughter's overseas masters study...

I find that a bit too much for the audience. Another friend did a a la D&D function with modern dance items, singing, lucky draw, interactive games, Q&A with the couple, (ongoing) powerpoint screensaver of their wedding slides on one side of the ballroom, etc. OK, something diff and entertaining to the likes of the guests.

I don't know what I want for my wedding really. Part of me wants it to be really crazy and rowdy with lots of booze, as in we get teased and all till dawn. Yet part of me wants it 'chopchop' straightforward.

I'd like to have a multimedia presentation of my tour and bridal pictures which we took together, but I think that is very time-consuming...wouldn't it? Another idea is to have friends to come up and give 'tributes' about their knowledge of our romance.

I saw FS place a projector in the midst of some 28 tables and I find it really 'obstructive'. And the futuristic OHP screen appears to mar the granduer and classic facade of the ballroom leh...sigh...can't have best of both worlds right???