Four Seasons Hotel

estherc

Leeds, I think the cards are still the same as the last time you saw. Don't think they've changed.

I don't think we can change anything for the cards but I don't intend to incur most cost buying my own cards so guess I just have to make do with the ugly cards. Anyway, most people will just look at it once and chuck it aside so I would spend additional $$ on cards. Hee hee... pardon me for being so practical!

But seriously, I got many invitation cards and many of the other hotels give much nicer cards. I like the ones that I got from Merchant Court. They're very sweet and unique. I think FS should improve on their frills such as cards and wedding favours. Talking about wedding favours, I wonder if they have new stuff to offer.

estherc

Oh yes, we forgot to welcome our new FS bride, Linda. Was too engross in discussing the details as wedding gets nearer... so what has our newcomer done so far?

Linda, have you booked your bridal and photography etc yet? Which one have you booked? Your wedding is about 10 mths away so I guess you still have some time to shop around.

U said you intend to get your own designer to do the cakes but I doubt FS will allow you to bring in yr own cakes. I've checked with them and they said we can only order cakes from the hotel and no outside food allowed! Maybe you should double check with them before going ahead to order yr own cake. BTw, who's yr coordinator?

leeds

Hi BB,

Yah i agree, i've received cards from other hotels which are much nicer than four seasons' one. quite a let-down hor. the first thing our guests are gonna see is the card so its actually quite important!! But like you, i also dont want to incur additional cost, so will most likely just make do with what they have. Out of the 4, which one do you like most? I thought the translucent white one with some purple motif is the best lor.

Heard from other gals that the wedding favours are still the same, heart-shaped chocolates! Are you topping up anything with FS? Like extra flowers, candles, seat covers etc?

estherc

Hi leeds,

I got the 4 card samples from them on Sat. Of the 4, we're going to choose the white rectangular (1-side) card. The purple one is nice and pretty unique but we thought it's too cumblesome to open and besides, we still have to use a string to tie the cards together! So that's not suitable for lazy people like us! :p

Not sure if we're topping up for anything cos we've not finalise on the menu and decor but most prob we'll not top up anything. Anyway, my food tasting is tomorrow. I'll keep u posted! : )

leeds

BB,

I was thinking can do without the string, it'll still fold properly i hope. Which printer are you going to and how much?

Cool. Let me know how it goes. When's your AD?

estherc

leeds, I don't think it'll be very secure without the string leh... it will open up quite clumsily but it's up to your preference. I personally prefer things with clean cut so I didn't choose that design.
I have not decided on the printer but has asked Ho and some of my collegues to pass me some contact. I'll call to compare prices before I decide.

Yes, I look forward to the food tasting. Yummmy... though I doubt the usefulness of the tasting session cos I'm pretty sure the food quality may differ from actual day.
My AD is in 8 Aug but I've still have not done much preparation!! I'm beginning to panick. I think I've got to go back to draw out a task lisk to avoid any last min. rush!

leeds

BB,

hmmm will consider again lor. Hope when my AD is nearer, FS has come up with new cards. So how's prep? Got your gowns and photographers yet? August very near already... time to get panicky i guess.

estherc

Yah lor... AD only 2 mths from now and I've not really done much. Yes, my gowns are settled. I just have to go down for final fitting on a date nearer to AD. We've done our photoshoot also.

When's yr AD, leeds? How's preparation? Settled gowns and photoshoot?

leeds

Hi BB,

Looks like you've done the bulk of the prep ah. I think guestlist would be a real headache. Have you sorted that? btw got any pic to share or not?

Mine is 9Jan, still long time so not panicking yet. Settling gowns now and photoshoot in July. Trying to do all the fun stuff first then worry abt the nitty gritty details later lor.

How's the food tasting?? Must share hor, let us know whats good.
Which menu you going for?

maverick

Seems like this thread has come alive again! My guestlist is still not out yet and my wedding is in Nov. Can anyone tell me when u guys start preparing ur guestlist? My fh tried asking his mum for the list since Feb and it has been procrastinated till now... Sigh... getting nervous

estherc

Hi all, good to know that the thread got more alive over the Vesak day holiday.

My food tasting on Tues was great. Both our parents were very satisfied with the food. We had nothing much to comment at the end of the session cos everybody was quite happy with the taste and looks of the dishes. I chose the standard deluxe menu and would not be choosing any upgrade. The only difference we made was to replace the sharks fin and honey dew sago with abalone soup and cream of mango respectively. Both are really nice and my favourite among all the dishes. All of us really love the mango dessert cos it's really unique. It tastes a bit sweet, sour and bitter and is suitable as a dessert after a heavy meal.

The other dishes were also pretty unique (not the standard wedding banquet dishes) and the food was not too oily or salty - just nice.

Leeds, I'm still sorting out my guestlist. Had already settled all our parents guests, just left with our own. We're having a headache now cos 32 tables don't seem to be enough for us!!! Looks like we have to start to cut down our list!

JC, I think you can start preparing the guestlist before the food tasting time cos that will be the time when you'll collect the invitation cards to print. But if you think you'll take long to do up the list, then better prepare early loh.... don't be too nervous lah, Nov is still some time away. I should be even more nervous cos I feel that I've not done any serious planning yet. Not even decided on mc, driver, helpers, bridal car when my wedding is only 2 mths away!!! :p

leeds

Hi BB,

Glad to know food at FS is good.
Heard a lot abt this delicious mango dessert. hehe... Cant wait to try it too.

tabbiesus

I am holding a small wedding may be 12-15 tables... very close to signing with four seasons... does anybody have any advice? Any good experience/ bad experience. Any advice on how to get free seat covers?:p

cookies_gal

Hi AC,

Just attended a wedding at The Ballroom at Four Seasons recently. The set-up looks beautiful even without the seat covers. Their chairs are quite lovely actually.

jez

hi there, cookies gal

oh is it? u mean the chairs looked glorious even w/o the chair covers? hmmm... datz interesting
btw, what was the main stage set-up like when u attended the wedding - is it the marquee 'tend-like' which jus got started off...??? if you have any pics, would appreciate it if u cld share it with me - [email protected]

lotsa thanks...

pisduck

hi AC,
i am with FS as well. signed up with them after falling in love with the place after attending a fren's wedding.
regarding the seat covers, i think u can try to exchange something that u dun want for it (that's what i did) cos from my experience, they normally dun give any freebies.

cookies_gal

Hi jez,

Yup, I thought the chairs went well with the setup. I didn't bring a camera with me that day, so I don't have any pics to share.

Nope, no marquee tent-like set-up for the main stage. It was a simple yet elegant curtain backing with swags backdrop for the main stage. There was a single flower stand on the stage, and it appeared to me that the flower stand was an ice-carving.

One other point to note, not all guests would be able to see what's projected onto the screen esp if you are having the max no. of tables for The Ballroom. This is because the screen was not along the same wall as the main stage for the set-up that nite. I'm not sure if FS can change the position of the stage. Ask the coordinator to let down the screen in the ballroom and you will know where you should avoid putting tables if you can.

pisduck

hi hi cookie_gal,
i am deliberating about whether to have 1 or 2 projectors/ screens... 1 ques... where was the stage that day? Was it along the windows or across from the entrance? How about the screen? did you attend the wedding at the Four Seasons or Cresent Ballroom?

cookies_gal

I was at their main ballroom - ie, the bigger ballroom.

The stage was across the entrance that day. Based on that set-up, 2 projector screens would be better so that everyone can see the screen. Alternatively, you may wish to consider having the projector on the same side as the stage.

pisduck

hello cookie_gal,
actually, the set-up that i was shown was 2 screens on each side of the stage. from your feedback, guess i will stick with the FS suggestion.

estherc

Does that mean you'll need 2 projectors for the 2 screens by the side of the main stage? Would FS be providing the projectors? Any idea if there's any additional charge to use their projector and screens?

I'll finalising my ballroom decor soon. Anything I should note beside the projection of video? Any suggestion for ballroom decor?

pisduck

hi bb,
yep, that is the minus point of having 2 screens. you will need 2 projectors.
FS will source for the projectors if u need them to provide. there would be a charge involved. not sure how much... could be in the range of $200-$300 per projector, i guess. my co-ordinator actually advised me to source for the projector myself. but, i am not sure if this way is cheaper.
i am also interested to know....if u find out, can u feedback in this thread? thanks!

leeds

try to rent the projectors from your photo/videographer who are doing the photo montage and highlights. Should be able to get it cheaper, was told its abt $150.

BB, did you top up extra for decor? Is FS basic decor good enough?? Btw are you able to choose the colour of flowers?

pisduck

hi leeds,
actually, i have a few quotes from some of the videographers regarding the projector rental but quite ex... rem it is around $250. was tempted to borrow from my frens...but was told by FS that some projectors dun have the power to project across the ballroom. i.e. it is suitable only for home use.

estherc

Hi leeds,
I don't think I'll be topping up extra for the decor. I've not gone into any discussion with my coordinator yet so I'm not very sure how is their basic decor.

However, I attended their wedding show last year and it seems to me that their basic decor was quite alright. And yes, we do get to choose from a few types of flowers including their colours. I guess I'm only able to share more after I've spoken to my coordinator. Update you then! : )

mezzan

Yah, i agree with leeds. Dun rent from the hotels..i almost wanna rented from the hotel and they quoted me $350.00. Luckily my friend got me a contact and i got it for $140 includes transport and setup!

jez

hiya to all FS brides-2B,

Y dun u all try yr company with regards to the projector? As long as u give them the assurance tt u'll treat it with good care - should not be much of a problem...

anyway, leeds gave a pretty neat soln too

tabbiesus

hi everyone!

I'm just about to meet my FS coordinator to confirm my december 2004 wedding date. I have been trying to get the projector thrown in... they quoted me $350! BTW, I think they can have the stage anywhere, I asked if they could have the stage in the center of the crescent ballroom and they were okie with it.

pisduck

hi qiuyan and ac,
$350? Wow... quite ex, leh. qiuyan, do u mind sharing with me your contact? (can PM me if it is ok with u or email me at [email protected]) 1 ques... does it come with the dvd or vcd player?

cefindre

just wondering has anyone held a high tea reception in Four seasons before? Any idea how the charges are like approximately? Thanks!!!

xiaomin

Hi cefindre,

I have enquired before. It should be min $35+++ and additional $5+++ per person for free flow soft drinks.

estherc

Hi Leeds and Canny,

I am looking for a jazz band for my wedding and I come across your previous discussion on jazz band. Do you still have your contact and pricing for such band?

melbz

Hey cefindre,

I had a reception (2-5pm on a Saturday) there almost 4 years ago, not sure if the prices are still the same. It was about $50+++ per head. Somewhere along those lines. However unlike other hotels which serve only fingerfood like sandwiches, samosas and dim sum kind of food, Four Seasons had stuff like hot and sour soup, a roast beef station, satay, creme brulee ice cream, etc etc. My guests had great compliments for the food, especially the roast beef. Even 4 years later, they still talk about the food!

jazzygal

HiFolks

Can anyone advise on the wedding packages at FS? Thinking of going with the hotel for my wedding in 2005. Can mail me their packages and pictures pls? Will there be a wedding fair at the hotel later part this year?

pancake

Hi everybody!

My wedding banquet is also at FS this year end of Oct. Any of you has seen the four types of invitation cards offered by FS? The cards are not up to standard. My FIL intend to source our own invitation cards.

Saw from the previous posting that we can put two screens by the side of the stage. Is that true? From what i understand from the FS, they only provide one screen, and it has to be put by the side of the hall. Hence some of the guests who are sitting directly below the screen can't really see the screen.

Has anyone asks FS to provide the grand piano as well?

melbz

Hey pyzhang,

Should you require the grand piano, FS would shift it from the foyer to the reception area or the ballroom.

cefindre

Have a query, who are the FS banquet sales serving u? I'm not sure if it's just me, but the guy serving me is not really pleasant. Is it the same for u guys? or is it just me?