Four Seasons Hotel

estherc

Hee hee.. so there are 3 of us here having a red EG! What a coincidence! : )

Pisduck, yes I enjoy my session with Amanda and will be going down for my first fitting 2 weeks later. She said my WG and EG almost completed... makes me so excited and anxious! I hope everything turns out alright.

Canny, what did you exchange your wedding favours for? What favours are you getting instead?

canny

Pisduck,

Heard tt Bridal Veil is very good.
Hehehe... have to let us know the design of ur wedding gown lor.

BB,
I did some neg. and exchanged the wedding favors + the parking coupons for an additional nite at the hotel. I am custom making my favors... itz a wedding cake candle tt I ordered from Illuminations ( itz a candle chain store in the US) What favors are u getting? Ho only offered me chocs as favor.

estherc

Canny, you wedding favour sounds interesting. It must be very cute also. I don't know what favours I'll be getting, most prob chocs cos I doubt they're ever going to offer new wedding favours.

pisduck

Hi Cat, you must be very busy with your ROM, now.
My WG is duchess satin as well with crystals. You can send the ID details to [email protected]. Thanks!

BB, can understand your excitement. Well, have a good time.

Canny, my WG is done. It has a very simple design. Duchess satin with crystals. Ballgown. Will let you see a picture when my pictures are ready.

canny

Hey BB,

On 2nd thoughts, my friends told me tt chocs might be a better choice. Cause pple can actually eat them. With other inedible favors, pple jus misplace it. I have to admit that I am one of those culprits.

Pisduck,
Mann... u are QUICK! Your wedding is in Nov and ur gown is done already! Wow. I ordered my gown last Dec and the designer is going to take 6 months to make it. I guess I will be seeing signs of it sometime in June. What kind of train did u have 4 ur gown? Chapel or Sweep or Cathedral? I will also share the pics of my gown when I get it.

pisduck

gee Canny, had to hurry my gown cos my photoshoot was last week.

So, you have decided on the design already? I am totally clueless as to what kind of train I had. Left everything to Michelle (Bridal Veil). It is kindda round, about 2 m long and weighed super heavy. Felt like I had bags of rice tied to my feet. ha....

estherc

Hi Canny,

I got the same feedback from some friends about the chocolates too! Hmmm... maybe it's useful afterall but hee hee... a bit boring loh...

Pisduck and Canny, do show me a picture of your gown when ready. I'll show u gals mine but wouldn't be ready until maybe June. My WG is also duchess satin but with embriodary and a bit of beading. : )

canny

Pisduck,

My design has been decided. Strapless and a waterfall back which is really hard to describe in words. I am going to have a sweep train cause i dun wan my gown to be too heavy plus, me not having a church wedding... so i guess it would not really matter.

BB,

Your gown sounds lovely. Hehehe duchess satin seems like THE material to use in SG hor? I think I am using Silk Duchesse. Dun really know the diff cause I just heed the designer's advice.

HEhehe... so ladies, any plans for V day?!

kikis

HAPPY VALENTINE's DAY!

Hi Pisduck, my WG is also duchess satin and beadings!

Hi Canny, actually there are 2 main looks for the WG: Either the romantic, dreamy look or the classic bridal look. The first is the organza layered on satin, this creates a floaty/dreamy look. The second is what Pisduck and I have, the classic bridal look, clean cut. I feel is a bit Vera Wang style...Classic and elegant. Actually, there are more brides here going for the romantic/dreamy look. But there are also more going for the Ted Wu/Vera Wang/BridalVeil clean cut look. Since my WG is the classic look, I have selected a romantic gown, with handpainted flowers for my photoshoot.

Yep, busy with my ROM..Calling the guests to confirm their attendance, got the entire gear for myself. Collecting hubby's suit today, order hand bouquet on Mon + collect marriage papers. Phew! Quite a bit of work to do...

estherc

Actually, I think mine is the romantic look cos there's a layer of organza on top of the duchess satin. The embroidary is on the organza layer.

Cat, do keep us updated on your ROM. May you be a happy and beautiful bride on that day! : )

kikis

Hi BB,

Thank you...Selected the flowers for the ROM, corsage, and flowers for my hair.

Didnt expect so many people on both sides wanting to come to my ROM! Budget for 30. Now, 37...Hehe...getting a bit nervous and having butterflies in my stomach already!

Will update abt my ROM...

rainbow

Dear all FS Brides,

I'm still deciding on the venue for my wedding in 2005. Went to see Four Seasons and loved the place very much!
But, am now deciding between Four Seasons and Fullerton. Any of you decided between the 2 before? Is the Service and Food of FS better than Fullerton's? Thanks in advance for your help!

leeds

Can I join in the discussion? I'm going to sign up with Mr Ho this weekend.
Hope you gals can share your experience at FS. I haven't seen the Window East room, but it sounds really nice from the way you all describe it, so I'm thinking of using it for afternoon tea ceremony. Can share with me what is the cost per person & min no of people for that room? BTW, are you all taking the big ballroom or Crescent?

estherc

Hi Rainbow,
I didn't consider Fullerton cos it was just next to my husband's office and we didn't like to wed near our office! Not too sure about Fullerton's food but I've heard that they're only so so. As for the food at FS, I've heard both good and bad comments but it seems that most people like their food. One difference between the 2 choice is their ballroom capacity. If I'm not wrong, FS is very much smaller than Fullerton so if you're inviting more than 30 tables, then maybe Fullerton is more suitable.

Hi Leeds,
Welcome to the discussion. Glad to know another FS bride. I've not had any experience with FS except when I sign up with Mr Ho last year. Did not hear from him ever since. He'll prob contact me again when my wedding date is near. Actually, I've not seen the Window East room as well cos I'm just going to have my dinner banquet at their main ballroom. Maybe Cat will be able to share her experience after her ROM today.

Hi Cat,
Today's your ROM. Congrats! I'm sure everything will be beautiful and memorable. Enjoy!

I think Canny is still in a romantic mood after Valentine's Day. Haven't heard from her since. So how did you celebrate V-Day, Canny? : )

leeds

Hi BB,
So when is your wedding?? I've just signed up today with Billy instead of Ho, apparently Ho is not doing anymore wedding planning. They really are very inflexible, probably know that me and FH like the place a lot, so no chance for negotiation at all...

Hi Cat, can share your experience at your ROM?

canny

Sorrie..sorrie... for disappearing.
I jus got bac from a biz trip in Florida.

I had a GREAT V - DAY! Too short hor? Hmm... I received 2 dozen of roses from my fiance and went to Morton's for dinner lor.

How abt u - BB?! How did the other ladies celebrate?

Leeds,

I think u may have to work ur way when it comes to neg. with them. I find Ho sometimes preety easy to talk. I actually sort of upgraded my 1 dish from my menu without having to pay extra.

Cat,
How was ur ROM? I wan to hear too.
Did ur after ROM makan at Four Seasons go well? Hehhee..... Shre with us lor!

leeds

Hi Canny,

So lucky of you... Your fiance still go the extra mile to make Vday special...
Mine was spent researching on wedding banquet venues, which is ok lor since I found THE place.

Which menu did you choose? I wanted to change chicken to duck but Billy said $10 more per table. What did you change? Which ballroom are you taking? & When? hehe.. sorry got a lot of questions...

canny

Hey Leeds,

Thanks. My fiance is preety romantic in some ways.

Oh... I went for the Superior menu. Changed the seafood roll for the cashew chicken in taro ring from Jiang Nan Chun menu - dun really know if it is an upgrade or not? I am taking the Four Seasons Ballroom for the dinner reception and the Windows East for my tea ceremony on the Actual Day in the morning. My wedding is on Dec 19th and 20th... When is urs?

leeds

My wedding is 9 Jan 2005. Still a long time but so excited already...
I only got the Cressent ballroom cos the big ballroom is taken up already. Apparently that day is an auspicious date to get married, checked out a few hotels & most are booked up already. So I gotta work round my guest list now.

You're getting Windows East too? Heard it's really nice. Wanted to take it for tea ceremony, but Billy suggested I use the suite to save $$$. Can you tell me how much do you pay for that room? Including food, decor etc?? Do you have a church wedding too??

whowillbe

I need some help here... I'm currently considering Four Seasons too but would like to check whether has anybody tried the Deluxe menu and how was it. Also I found that Billy was rather inflexible so I would like to tap on your experience and know what can be bargained for.

canny

Leeds,

Ya hor... so crazy... I cannot believe that it takes at least 1 year to book ur wedding venue in SG. Oh well.

I did not have to pay for Window East. However, I am ordering high tea for 40 pple. I think it was $50/person. The package is like any other regular wedding packages FS has. Thus, flowers and etc... are included. I dun have a church wedding... most likely a friend of mine will get a license from the San Francisco City Hall to marry us in SG. Hehehee.....

Which menu are u getting?

canny

Roy,

I have never tried the Deluxe menu thus I cannot offer my 2 cents on that piece.

However, FS in general is rather inflexible. I find myself doing exchanges like this exchange for this more than getting freebies. Hmmm... have u tried approaching Ho? He is my coordinator and he is very efficent.

leeds

Canny,
Wahh you got everything planned already yah... didn't know you could bring someone from overseas to marry you. Are you local though? I'm planning to get Jiang Nan menu cos I'm only getting the small ballroom. I had dinner at FS Jiang Nan restaurant and I'm quite impressed with the food presentation & the food.

Can tell me where did you get your bridal package? Any recommendation for videographer/photographer? Are you planning to get musicians for FS?

Roy,
I got Billy as coordinator. Actually preferred Ho but he said he's not doing weddings anymore. (Dunno how true that is...) Billy is quite inflexible, but FS is generally like that. Like what they said, FS only got 2 ballrooms so they don't need to do hard-selling. I believe whichever menu you choose, the food would be good cos I tried the restaurant there. The only thing I managed to bargain was change the invitation cards + favours for seat covers.

BTW, don't you all think the cards are a bit boring??

canny

Leeds,

No choice lor. I dun live in SG and was only bac last Dec for three weeks to do wedding plan. The next time I am in town will be for my wedding.

Jiang Nan Chun's menu is very good .. yummy.
My wedding gown is from SF, my evening gowm from Tan Yoong and 2 cheongsams from Shanghai. I am doing my PS in SF. I hired Moomedia for Videography + photography... u shld chck them out. I think their style is the same as the photographers in SF.
Make-up by TG Goh and florists... (geez... forgot the name) but I am using the one rec. by Tan Yoong.

No... me not getting musicians lar. My relatives are preety loud hehehe... i think it will be a waste of $$$...

Sounds like u still have alot of time to prepare for ur wedding. Take it easy lor.
Have u scouted for ur bridal salon?

leeds

Hi Canny,

3 weeks to plan everything?? Thats quick... and you got everything from all over the world!
I got my package from Bridal Zone, easier that way cos package includes gowns, photoshoot, makeup etc... BTW, when you said cheongsams from shanghai, do you mean shanghai in china or some bridal shop in Sing called shanghai something? (i know i know silly question but there's a shop here called shanghai broadway or something...)

Do you have some pics of your gowns?? I'm gonna design the gowns on 7 March, now still looking around for nice designs, colours, materials etc... This is the most fun bit actually!! hehe....

maverick

Hi all, I've signed up with FS lately, wedding is on the 17 Nov(Wed). Sigh, weekends all taken, except for 24th Dec which is christmas eve and my family are christians so have to attend church that day so that day is out.

BB, I understand that your ID is AT design, I posted a question for u, care to share your exp with them?

Roy, FS is rather inflexible with their package, not much room for bargaining. I chose that location because we love the ballroom. We will be bringing our own liquor using a decanter. As for beer, we will be getting a barrel only as we have decided to order their in house wine. I think the prices of their wine is quite reasonable at around $30 per bottle and u can be assured of the quality. If u bring in wine from outside, it will cost u around $15-$20/bottle plus corkage charge, it will come up to around $40/bottle. Hope this helps.

estherc

Wow! There're so much discussions since the last time I visited the forum. Glad to meet so many FS brides and welcome our new comer, JC.

Leeds, my wedding is on 8 Aug 04, chose the date cos it's a Sun and next day is public holiday. Really? Ho is no longer doing wedding preparation? His also my coordinator but haven't heard from him ever since I signed up with him. Maybe he'll inform me of the change very soon.

Hi Canny, so sweet and romantic of your fiance to make your valentine's day special. I didn't really celebrate. Just spent the day with my husband watching SCV!

JC, are you by any chance one of the couple whom Joanne brought to my house in AMK about 2 weeks ago (on sunday)? Anyway, I've already replied your question on my ID firm. I can email you my exp cos it's not too convenient to do it openly in the forum.

So we all agree to one thing - that is FS is really inflexible. So if anybody from FS is reading this, pls do something abt it. :p

kikis

Hi Ladies...

Sorrie, been very busy since my ROM on Sat, went for PS on Monday and got to handle lots of work in the office...

I am delighted to annouce that I had a beautiful solemnisation ceremony in Window East last Sat. Billy Yap, himself came up to make sure that everything is in order. He even suggested a march-in which I didnt even think abt. So, we chose a song in 5 mins, he and his staff tested out the song and told us when they will open the door for the march-in. It was very professional.

The decor was simple and elegant (what I've always wanted). Billy decorated the room with big red roses, which we hardly see in SIN. Each chair at the solemnisation table was tied with a satin gold ribbon. The atmosphere was very romantic and dreamy for me
They also got up a red carpet from the door leading to the solemnisation table (which is the isle for us to walk on). The only bad thing that we experienced was the mike that went cranky a few times and b'coz Window East is on the same level as the swimming pool, we got ang mos walking down the last window (naked!)..apart from that, it was certainly a very well-done job by Billy and his team.

estherc

Hi Cat,
Glad to hear that you had a good experience with Billy and his team. This will give us some assurance on their service quality.

Your ROM really sounded romantic. Do you have any photos to share? : )

leeds

Hi cat,

Sounds so romantic... Did you request for the way the decor is done or Billy's idea?

Any pics??

maverick

hi bb,

I'm not any of the couples Joanne brought to your hse, but do u mind us going down to take a look? Btw, my email is [email protected]
Pls let me know your exp with AT, we are scheduled to have an appt with them next week. Ur wedding date seems really good... happy for u!

FS is a great place to hold the banquet cause it looks really good, but it will be great if they can throw in some freebies instead of us exchanging tit for tat... Maybe we should all write up to FS with the same comments and keep our fingers cross that they will offer us some freebies... Maybe a free barrel of beer or whatever.

We changed our champagne in our room for seat covers... cause each seat cover cost an additional $2/ chair. We will also be getting our wine from them cos they are not willing to waive corkage charge. As for liquor, I don't think there will be any charges as long as it is not duty free. If it is, just buy some decanters to store the liquor and u can save quite a bit.

If there is any other things we should 'bargain' with them, pls let us know in case we miss out anything. ;)

whowillbe

JC thanks for your advice, very much needed.

Canny, it all depends on my FW. She kinda like Ted Wu's emboidery but when I was blown away when I saw Tan Yoong's gown on the most recent Female Brides mag. They were fantastic (IMO)

To all, I'm seriously considering FS. Though they're quite inflexible but I believe that their service would be good. Billy told me that every table has a waiter and every 3 tables have a beverage server. These are something I dun think I have heard of so far. Further more the ballroom is nice and so far this is the only hotel which I can get a nice ballroom with high ceiling for 25 tables. However due to budget constraints (because I've got only 1 year to save up for) I can only consider the Deluxe menu which I'm still a bit worried as to whether is it nice or not...

Anyway what's decanter???

canny

Roy,

U are so nice... shopping for ur FW. I highly doubt my fiance will shop / find out about wedding gowns for me.
Hehheeee... my cousin did Ted Wu. His emboidery really really nice.. but Tan Yoong designs are more me. Thus, I decided to use him for my evening gown. Hmmm... I think it depends on individual taste. At the end of the day this is your FW's BIG day thus, she has to be happy in watever she wears.

Hmmm... why dun u do a nice buffet reception? It may bring down the cost a little.
Have u thought about this idea?

leeds

Hi JC,

Didn't think of changing champagne for seat covers... think its good idea. Btw, is it partial cost of seat covers or full cost?

I agree FS should thrown in a barrel of beer. Other hotels nowadays usually include beer in their prices yah...

maverick

Hi Roy,
U might want to try Silhouette at Stamford hse. Make an appt with Minda and I'm very sure u won't regret it! Minda is the designer there and she is v professional! The gowns there are pretty and the package is also reasonable! At the end of the day, don't commit into a bridal boutique on impulse, service must be made a priority as wedding is a happy ocassion and should not be spoilt by choosing the wrong BS! Best of luck in your search for the right BS! Do check the Silhouette forum for more reviews!

Decanter is a bottle to contain hard liquor, can get it from Robinsons or Tangs, just ask the salesperson where to look for it and she will bring u to it. cheers!

maverick

Hi leeds,

its full cost if I remember correctly! My coordinator is Geogette and she was v helpful and told us that it shd not be any problem to change that, so we immediately took out the champagne as we don't feel that we would need it and change it for seat covers! Glad that it is of help to u!

And don't think FS will throw in a barrel of beer... but will try to 'test' water nearer to the date. Meantime, any FS brides or grooms to be, if there is any thing that u have bargained for successfully, pls share with the rest of us here! ;)

estherc

Hi JC,
Ok, I'll email you my comments later. Don't think my hse is worth seeing lah... I'm not very happy with their workmanship.

One word of advice for those who are considering FS but yet to sign. Don't rush to sign the package now. If you can afford the time, you should try to wait for their wedding fair promotion cos you'll be able to get quite good offers. I signed my package with them last Oct during their fair and I got 30 bottles of wine, 1 barrel of beer and seat covers free. I think they may have another promotion in Apr, assuming they have a fair twice a year. There're usually lots of promotion in Apr-May and Oct-Nov, right after the time where the wedding magazines are launched (in Mar and Sep). : )

leeds

JC,

The only thing I managed to get from Billy is candles for all the centerpieces at no cost. Right now still deciding if I should change wedding favours + cards for seat covers. Or maybe change champagne in room for seat covers? hmmmm.....
Have you seen the invitation cards?? Not nice at all... Any idea what I can change it for??

estherc

Yah lor, quite heng also. But at that time, when I compared with other hotels, I felt that their promotion was no big deal. These are the basic things that other hotels are offering.

I actually didn't prepare to book so early at that time but with that promotion, I was forced to make a decision quickly. We even took 1 day leave to visit a few hotels at one go before that promotion. In a way, it's also good. Forced us to settle it quickly instead of dragging on not knowing what to book.

Haven't seen the cards, but not surprised that it's ugly cos FS has always been emphasing on their service and not products. I am just hoping now that the Deluxe menu is nice!

leeds

BB, no need to worry about food. Tried it and its a thumbs-up! The food presentation is impressive too.
I think thats why we are all paying so much....

estherc

Your wedding is next yr and you've already tried your food?!? Anyway, good to hear that the food taste and look good.

leeds

No no... Haven't gone for the official food-tasting yet. Went to Jiang Nan restaurant before signing up, just to be sure that the food is as good as Billy claimed.

estherc

That's what I'm worried. The food standard for the restaurant and the banquet is different cos they're doing it in bulk...

leeds

Really you think so? But I was assured that the same chef in the restaurant would be used for the banquet. Let's just hope the food & everything else would turn out great on that day!

Maybe Cat can share with us the quality of the food & service?

maverick

Wah, BB, I'm so envious u have so many freebies... Think we should all try to bargain with our coordinators if there is a promotion... squeeze them a bit... hehe... worth giving a try right? after all, as BB said, those freebies are just what the other hotels are giving.

kikis

Noted all the comments above. What I had for my ROM is a high-tea buffet that includes a waffle station (with a chef there preparing hot waffles), mini pizzas, dim sums, quiches, desserts (mango pudding is 2 thumbs up, tiramisu). Everyone loves the waffles and the mango pudding. Apart from that, I had attended a business function with a an 8-course Chinese dinner in the Cresent Ballroom (Superior Menu). Their sharksfin soup with the mushroom mixture is different fr the usual crabmeat/chicken combo and it tasted fantastic. I love their prawns with lime dressing as well. Overall, their service at that time was impressive. They even served diet coke there! Whenever there is half-filled glass, it was quickly filled up (without asking!). Service is prompt. The waiters are all very efficient and attentive. Hehe, I think I have praised them too much
But really, it was defintely a very positive experience.