Four Seasons Hotel

leeds

Cat,

Sounds yummy.... waffle station is really cool.
Glad to hear you had a fantastic experience. Definitely give me more confidence in FS.

whowillbe

Canny, no lah... I'm very free that's why I'm doing the legwork now... But I do know that it brings immense joy to my FW when she knows that I'm as 'excited' as her. Initially all the gowns all looked the same to me. I really couldn't differentiate between what's nice and what's isn't (from the mag that is). However one day I suggested that we shall go to some shops and take a look and that's when I got pretty interested in all these gown thingy.

JC, thanks for your reply... : )

cheerygal

I am a Jan 05 FS bride-to-be. Booked last Oct during FS bridal show. Heard from my coordinator tat FS is looking into changing the wedding favour. So, I was asked to hold back sourcing my own favour.

maverick

Roy, not a problem... We are all sharing information to get the best we could for our wedding. On top of that, we are also sharing our joy as wedding is really a joyous ocassion and it would strange if u r not 'excited' abt ur wedding right? ;) Do take ur time to pick the correct BS, but one thing for sure, we were all right abt picking FS, no doubt abt that!

Hi cheerygal, so what favour are they going to change to?

Hi canny, I'm just curious, if u changed the wedding favours and cards for an extra night, r u going to get ur own invitation cards and favours?

cheerygal

Hi JC, they r sourcing for candles, potpourri, bears, etc. Waiting for top mgt to confirm quotation. So, now everything is still not confirmed yet. She will call me once the favours r in.

leeds

Cheerygal,

Waahhh really?? Sounds much better than chocolate hearts….
But Billy didn't mention anything abt changing the favours when I saw him last week to confirm. Hmmm…. Do you think they are only trying to lift up our hopes?

Btw, can tell me what extras did you manage to get from the fair? My wedding is in Jan 05 too. What's your date?

leeds

Btw, did you gals see the suite?? Absolutely gorgeous!
So peaceful too… makes me feel good abt choosing FS.

maverick

Wow, cheerygal, bears seem like a good favour to have... something different will be nice...

Hi leeds, we didn't see the suite, u requested to see it? hehe... I think we'll keep it a 'mystery' to surprise ourselves a little! :)

estherc

Really, leeds? Is the suite really gorgeous? We didn't see it but from the pictures in their website, they look very nice. Hmm... I'm now very excited!
Really looking forward to the stay in FS!

leeds

Yah... We gonna have tea ceremony in the suite in the morning so had to go up and see how it would fit. Very very nice!

canny

Hey JZ,

Yeah... me custom making my own invitation cards + favors. I am preety paranoid in having the right invitation card as it sets the style of the wedding. Thus, I decided to roll up my sleeves and design the cards on my own.

As for favors, I am ordering wedding cake candles from this store call illuminations in the US. Itz very cute.

How abt u?

canny

Roy,

Good to hear that u are so involved in wedding planning. Ha... I wish my fiance is a bit like u. So have u all sort of decided on which BS to use? Let me know okie...

maverick

Canny

Wow, designing your own cards is a rather time consuming process but I believe that u will add a v personal touch to the card which is v unique... I'm sure it will turn out extremely nicely

As for me, sadly, we'll only be using the cards that is provided by FS as we are not particular abt the design of the cards as long as we are able to invite our relatives and friends. Tot of putting this money to better use, maybe get a jazz band or something to that effect. Same for wedding favours, don't wish to spend too much on all these... hehe, v practical my FH, but I tend to agree w him.

Roy, do let us know which BS u choose in the end, but keep in mind that u should not be too impulsive, BS are v good at their sweet talk, so be careful. U can try Kai bridal as well, the gowns there are also v nice, soft and romantic touch! Good luck!

canny

JC,

Yeah... I wanted to get a live band initally but my relatives are all preety loud. Thus, I think it would be a waste of $$$.
Hehehe... I like doing crafts thus, designing the cards myself is a preety interesting project tt I enjoy.

Which BS r u with? Kai bridal? When is ur wedding again?

maverick

Canny,

I'm with Silhouette, wedding is on the 17Nov. Have to agree with u that designing the cards yourself is a v interesting project

As for the live band, I attended my friend's wedding in Conrad and they engaged a jazz band, playing 3 sessions, 45 minutes each. Most wedding have quite 'rowdy' crowds, including my friend's, but the live band just adds to the ambience of the event! Cheers!

maverick

Hi leeds,

Its my friend's contact, I'm getting it from her soon and as soon as I get it, I'll share it here! As for the price, I think she said something like $1.2k for 3sessions,45mins each! The band was really good, I can vouch for that! Hope this helps.

leeds

JC,

Wah! $1.2K that’s really ex! Read somewhere in this forum abt $600 for 2 hrs or something. Hmmm… Gotta rethink abt having live performance then…
Let me have the contact when you have it anyway ya. Thanks

maverick

I'll keep u posted about the contact as soon as I get it. I'm not sure of the market rate for live band, but if u have the $600 contact, pls let me know.

canny

Hey JC,

I am sure a live band will add a little something to the reception. Heard tt ur BS is very good. I have seen some of their gowns... pretty amazing.

maverick

hi canny,

Yup, live band will be great for your reception! Your crowd may be rowdy but so what... having that music at the background will spice up the ambience right?

As for Silhouette Bridal, we scouted so many places before we finally made our decision! Most importantly, the designer that served me was extremely professional and their gowns are like what u said... "pretty amazing"

canny

Hey JC,

My crowd not really rowdy lar.
Jus tht I am transferring tt part of the budget for a real wedding cake. Hehhee... so I guess my guests have to listen to pipe music lor.

Hehehe... have to show me ur gown lor. When r u
getting it?

maverick

Hi canny,

don't mind me just share with u my 2cents regarding having a real wedding cake... I find that maybe its not that necessary but this is v individual right
I feel this way because I feel that no one actually eats the real wedding cake... forgive me if I'm wrong, but its only good to see.

As for my gown, I'll be going for my first appointment to come up with the design on my 'dream' gown this fri, so the gown will not be out so soon. Will only be doing my PS sometime in July!

What abt u? Have u decided on the design for your gown already?

canny

Hey JC,

Hahhaa... but to me a wedding cake is kind of impt. Hmm... I dun like the idea of having a dummy cake.. feel kinda of werid. Hehhee.. just like having a dummy bday cake for Bday. I guess itz an individual choice lor.

Anyhow, I am subs. my dessert for the wedding cake instead.
So... hopefully, my guests will have room to eat. If not.. I will take it home... cause FS cakes are really really TASTY.

NICE! Hahaha... I am sure u will have lots of fun designing your gown. Do u have a design in mind? My gown is in the process of making.... I got it from where I am living hehehe... and the designer takes 6 months to make it. Hehheee.. veri long hor?! But it is common here to take that time for a gown.

maverick

hi canny,

I'm just a little puzzled here abt the dummy wedding cake, I've the impression that FS will be providing us with a wedding cake, maybe the top 2 tiers are dummy but the one at the bottom should be a real one... so maybe u can share with us your 2cents here...

Ya lor, designing the gowns will be v exciting
but I haven't really have any designs in mind, just that I don't like satin or can can type of gowns... I'd like my gown to have a soft, flowy and romantic feel, as if I'm floating in the air... hehe... I'm waiting for the new bridal mag to be released and hope that I'll find something that I really dream about!!!

Wow, 6mths to make your gown??? It must really look awesome.
So what is the design for your gown? I'm v sure u'll look absolutely stunning in it... will make all those brides-to-be like myself envious...

canny

Hey JC,

Hmmm.. from my understanding the top tier is real and the rest are dummy. I could be wrong... cause I did not ask in details.
As I'm preety set in having a 3 tier real cake.

Yeah... luv my wedding gown. Hmmm... hard for me to descb. cause I am not good in descb. it.
Hehhee... I am sure u will look ULTRA good in urs too.

maverick

Hi Canny,

Pls show us maybe a pic of your gown if u do get the chance... when my gown is completed, I'll also show it to u... cheers!

canny

Hey JC,

Dun have the pic of my gown yet leh. Hmmm... but I will try to show u the pic of my gown as soon as it comes in.

Other than the banquet stuff, what preps are u busy with?

maverick

Hi Canny,

Actually, not so busy on the banquet stuff at the moment because its still quite some time away, we've already consolidated a draft of who we will be inviting, that's all.

We'll be getting the keys to our flat in May, so we are now sourcing around for a good ID firm to undertake our renovation project. Apart from that, I'm still trying to look for more ideas on what my dream gown looks like. Don't know whether I've missed out anything... think we are not too bothered abt our big day yet... just enjoy planning things together now! Its a v exciting thing to do and can actually de-stress us from our work...

kikis

Just spoke to my wedding co-ordinator, Billy Yap, he said there are no new wedding favours. It will still be chocolate!! Going to select and collect my invitation cards next week. Food tasting..yet to decide on a date..Renovation works starting next week for me! Phew..lots of work for me till June...Wedding in 3mths time.

Done my photo shoot already...Waiting for a draft to be out before they start printing onto the album, magazine-style.

estherc

Hi Cat,

Really, still chocolate? Why are they so boring and slow in coming up with new ideas! Sigh... Never mind lah, I'm sure some guests would prefer chocolates, especially if the dinner is going to start late.

Renovation is a real headache, I'm sure you'll be visiting your place very often to "supervise" their work so that you wouldn't get any shock when seeing the completed work!

Btw, what do you mean by magazine style album? Does that mean you album will look a magazine book?

leeds

Hi Cat,

Wah... June is so near already! Busy busy time for you now ah... So disappointed FS is still sticking to chocolates! Sigh.... Must let us know how the food tasting go yah. And pls share some pics with us when you have them!

kikis

Hello JC, Leeds and BB...

Hiyahhh...as the wedding date gets nearer, the STESS factor also multiplies by a few folds!!

I think the biggest problem is packing everything too near to each other! Renovation actually just started this week and estimated to take at least 2 months till May. Hope it will be all be done on time...My wedding is on the last Sunday of June...

BB, magazine-style means the pictures will be printed onto the pages, so that there will be no pictures jutting out and even when people touch it, there wont be any smudge on it. Usually, there will be some artwork or picture that they will blur into the background..something like that. My album will not be the ultra-heavy type..will be lighter. Paid extra $1.8K for that and for 70 pictures.

Hi JC, my PS is done by my BS, X-Zen.

Hi Leeds,
Going for food tasting soon, will let u know how it went. Actually, I've eaten at one of the banquet held at Four Seasons before and it was fantastic. Four Seasons was the 3rd hotel that we went and it was simply 'love at first sight!'..hehehe cant explain it, just like the atmosphere and the ambience that it brings..very cosy and homely.

estherc

Hi Cat,

Don't be stress lah..... if not you wouldn't be a beautiful bride. Must relax and enjoy everything. : )

Anyway, there's still about 3 months to go so don't worry too much. Just let your FH handle the renovation work loh.

Do show us your wedding photo when ready!

kikis

Hi BB,

Thanks for your advice. Will try to relax.

Hubby is busy with work and travels away fr SIN most of the time...Thus, I'm the one handling most of the wedding stuff.

We went to collect the invitation cards already. Billy is real fast. He gave us a few to select and we chose one and then he got us a bag of the cards within 5 mins! Now sourcing for a printer to do the printing. Billy has given me some contacts as well.

How about U, BB? Your wedding is in August right? Pardon me if I'm wrong...Gd luck to you too!

estherc

Hi Cat,

Yes, you're right. My wedding is in Aug so I've got 3 more months than you to prepare. I think my food testing should be in May.

So how's the invitation cards? Are they really the ugly and "obiang" type? Actually, I was thinking I may want to save on the printing fees by buying those translucent paper and print the wordings on them before tying/pasting on to the FS's cards. Should be quite easy as long as you got the wordings and design ready. Just an idea! : )

kikis

Hi BB,

For the invitation cards, Billy showed me about 4 of them. All are pretty normal looking until we saw the last one...The last one is the latest addition. It is a 2-piece card, the outer layer is translucent with leaf motif on it, which you open from the front. The card is square and white in colour. That's the nicest. Can't missed it! My food tasting is scheduled for April in Jiang Nan Chun.

Have you gone for PS yet? How about your lovenest? All done up yet? All the best!

estherc

Hi Cat,

Glad to hear that there is at least 1 nice card design. : )
I'm going for my PS next month and my house is all ready for moving in but I'll most prob move in after my customary.

All the best for your reno! : )

estherc

Serena, you can refer to our earlier discussion to find out about last year's perks.

Cat, I renovated my house last year in Oct (I think), took about 2 to 3 months to finish. They handed over to us around Christmas. As we were not in a rush so we took our own sweet time and did not rush the contractor, who also took their own sweet time to complete!

leeds

Hi wanlow,

For 12 tables you can get crescent ballroom. FS is $788+++ for the simplest menu. Also depends if you want weekday or weekend.

anticipate

I'm a new FS bride ...AD is Mar 05. Well... sad to say... not freebie when I sign up... pretty standard.....
But I'm in love with the Hotel... so beautiful. I just love every single corner of it.
I intend to do part of my PS there.... it's so beautiful.....

Anyway saw the dummy cake.... *Yucks*.... my coordinator says I can top up some $ to redeco the cake....
Wedding cake also not fantastic.... will need to get my own designer to do it....
I guess for me the "Pull" factor is the ballroom, the ambient of the hotel and the function room.
I've decided to do my tea ceremony in the function room -the one facing ochard rd.....
Well hope all turn out well.

estherc

Hi Leeds,

My coordinator had just emailed to us the 4 card designs. They all look sooooo... super ugly from the picture!!! I hope the real cards will look better, otherwise really bad impression on the guests leh! hee hee...

Anyway, I may want to take a look at the cards before I make any order. Have anyone seen the 4 designs? Which one look better? My parents prefer the reddish ones but I like the modern light coloured ones. Wonder if we can choose 2 different designs.

leeds

Hi BB,

Cool. I'm going to ask Billy to fax to me the designs too.
The last time i went there, they showed me a few card designs and they all look so plain and boring and ugly! Thought they might have changed by now. Will keep you posted when i've seen them.

Any other options for you if you are not taking their cards?