Dragon Gate Restaurant

hi ray,

my florist is
Primula Florist, located somewhere in Parkway Parade and you can call Serene at 97820107

Hi Bluey,

I have feedback to DragonGate on the deco for their smaller ballroom..

Cos its really a pity if we need to get our own florist to spruce up the place..

Hope the Managment can do something... Cos I personally really like to bigger ballroom.. if only the smaller one is a replica of the bigger one.. then it will be lovely..

hi ray,

ya hopefully that the management would do something abt it..

I understand from my florist that the resturant could have some additional deco too upon request or something.. as they went down to c c n ask them abt the deco the resturant provides...

how many tables are u looking at?? not sure if u say before but i cannot remember

Hi Bluey,

I have booked 33 tables with Dragon Gate.. with a VIP room on standby.. up to 37 tables..

Think its going to exceed to 40 tables..

Anyway, cos due to my number of tables, I cant book the bigger one.. The Manager who shows us around told me if I booked the bigger ballroom, I must be ready that there will be walk in guests..
The ballroom will not be totally full too.. looks 1/3 empty.

You mean your florists went down to Dragongate and ask??

Hi ray,

ic... mine is ard 45 tables only...so the ballroom would not be full oso...

the walk-in customer would be in the VIP room not in the ball room... really hope that the other couple if any would take up the VIP room... so that there would not be any walk in guest during my dinner...

yes, they went down to c the deco n wat is required for the ballroom...so tat they can have a feel of the place...

wishes u a happy new year

hi merzy03,

i have not had my wedding yet..

depending on the ballroom u getting, the larger ball room gt a veri long march in...

hi bluey, oh..I thought maybe someone might be able to share some pics. Maybe muz go there and see for myself would be better. Btw, just curious, which hotel do they tie up with? And the reason u chose restaurant over hotel is becoz of better food?

hi bluey... when u said deco by your florist, u mean u r going to have all flowery stuff?? is the shop in parkway parade shopping centre??

hi pple,

m oso using DG to hold my dinner in JUne.....any experience to share...most prob will be using the small ballroom.....the march-in really very short...

hi d woof... welcome.

i'm also using the small ballroom. how many tables do u have?? u looking for a long march-in??

hi merzy03,
i think it would be good if u go down to take a look at the place instead of looking at pixs... how's many tables are u looking at?
i choose restaurant partly becoz of budget.. but the major reason is becoz my hb finds that the food is better compared to restaurant n the price we are paying is not that high...
there would be a one nite stay for hotel at minamar hotel...

hi levynn,
ya i would be using real flowers instead of the artifical flowers that it presents.. but I would be using the stage deco by the restaurants...
the florist is in Marine Parade central just beside Parkway parade..

Hi d wof and levynn,

Bluey is using the bigger ballroom, thus she is engaging a florist to enhance to walk in..and the stage too...

The florist might not be applicable to the small ballroom cos the stage is also small..

When i asked her about the florists, I was thinking of decorating the stage with flowers or maybe flower stands for the walk in instead of using Dragon gate.. But it seems..quite pointless, the walk in too short..

I have a total of 37 tables.. myabe not enough too.. have to RSVP first..

To enhance a short march in, my husband is suggesting that we asked DG to make a U-turn for us..instead of walking straight to the stage...
Are you aware that the second march in will be from the changing room??

Have to improvise..I'm racking my brains very hard..

Sigh.. hope everything will be ok on my AD..

Hi Bluey,

Need help.. when you call the florists, how you ask them for the deco??

When I call DG for the projector questions, cos my videographer wants to see the ambience when there is a wedding at the smaller ballroom.. DG says no need to see...sigh...Now I need to arrange a date for my videographer to see the ballroom, so that they can plan for my montage..Have to wait after CNY..

DG staff said first time a bride got so many questions to ask... I'm a bit disappointed already.. I ask questions, cos I dunno what is going to happen..its not like I'm getting married the second time..

Family members not exactly helping, asked for the guest list also vomit blood... few months have passed still nothing...

hi levynn,

im still struggling wif my guest list but den i m sure i wont have a lot of tables...i guess max is ard 30..well i saw the march in for ballroom a,itz too short i hope itz at least a bit longer...

hi ray,
i ever suggesting to my HB too..i told him we can enroute to make our march in longer...if their service is bad den tell them off lah...we r paying for their service....can i check wif u how much u pay to engage ur videographer? i m looking for one too.....

hi ray,
becoz it is recommended by my frend loh.. so i tell them my frend name n i wan to decorate the restuarant.. den i tell them wat i wan n we tell them to go down to c to have a clearer picture n c whether we miss out anything or not.. dun need to make arrangement... i tell them to go down any time they wan..heheheehe...maybe u can have a tealight for each table to enhance the ambience loh...

i oso wan to c the projector n sound quality at tat time but they say it is ok wan lah.. but I think I better go n ask them again coz i understand from my SIL that the sound system is not really good..

dun be bother abt them... just tell them i got a lot of questions mah.. if dun ask how i know wat would happen... or maybe u can ask them to give u a prize since they say u r the first one to have questions.. I think it is our rite to ask n demand.. coz their pay come from us...heheheheh

btw who is the one whom u liaise with? when is ur AD?

guest list is always a headache man... my parents keep on asking whether need to invite this or that.. my PIL i dun think they even have a list in the first place.. must call my HB to go n ask them..

hi d_woof,
when is ur AD?

Hi Tancy,

ur AD is coming soon.. congratulations!!! Best wishes to u n HB...

can share ur experience with DG when ur AD is over...

if u r using the projector, do check tat DG sound system can connect to ur projector. I did my own montage and borrowed the projector from my company. In the end, could not connect to DG sound system. Luckily, they have wireless mic and we asked our cousin to hold in front of the speaker and effect was quite ok.

To allocate the guest list... simple thumb of rule:
Just allocate them the number of tables and leave it to ur parents or PIL to arrange who they want to invite.
For eg: if gal side is 10 tables. Just let ur parents know tat they have 10 tables, so total guest is 10x10=100. Who they want to invite is up to them.

Bigger ballroom has a very very long 1st-march-in. starts from the entrance and march to the back of the ballroom to the centre, and then march in to the stage. 2nd march-in starts from the back.

Hi d woof,

My photographer/videographer is recommended by my hub's cousins..We saw them in action during their wedding too, and very comfortable with them. Thus we enagaged them. Cost about $1.6k. They giving us 10 rolls of film, edited montage and the day event to play during the banquet too.. Its a 2-person team, photographer and videographer.

Also thinking of en-routing, but the DG's attitude already make me a bit disppointed.. Dunno how to bring up to DG. Think I will talk to their Manager instead..

Hi Bluey,

When I checked with DG recently, they told me to bring my own lap top. Cos they are providing only both the projector and screen.

Luckily I asked, cos I assumed I just need to bring my CD. Anyway my videographer said he will provide the DVD player and plug into DG's system. Thats why he wants to see DG's ambience and projector system. The sound system not good?? Then maybe I bring my own march-in songs to play as well, when I bring the videographer see DG.

You have someone you liaised at DG?? Everytime I called them up, they didnt even said who they are and just answer whatever I asked. Maybe that is also why I'm starting to find faults with their customer service.

I told my husband to liaise with DG, cos I dun like to talk to them. Talking to them makes me feel stressed. One more time, DG staff answer my questions in a non-customer service way, I will write to complain.

I'm becoming the complaint queen ever since I started preparing my the AD..

Oh.. btw, my AD is is 17th Sep 05.

On the day of the banquet will be quite hectic, coz u will have to pass the songs to the person-in-charge and tell him which are ur 1st march-in song and 2nd march-in. U also need to choose ur 'food march-in' songs. Dun worry if u didn't bring anything, coz DG has lots of songs to choose from.
Before the start of the banquet, abt 6pm, the manager will brief the couple where to march-in, when to stop, etc.... then 2nd dish it's time to change to evening wear...

We had a shock when we saw our first dish. The cold dish was supposed to have this 'candle-gel' in the middle of the plate to create the romantic feeling coz the ballroom was darkened. But, I think they ran out of candle, and they put in those 'bicycle flashing backlight' as a replacement.
so, guess u all have to double-check.

hi ray n d_woof,
my AD is 28 May... guess i would be the one to experience the process first.. would let ur know areas to look at by then...

btw do ur have any ideas on how to deal with the ang bao box?

hi ray,
oh okie, I would go and grap my bro laptop...
normally we would ask the lady whom we sign up with loh.. but rarely go n ask... when they call us to make cards that I would face to face ask them all at one go...
me oso getting my own wedding songs that y i think we would need to go n test the songs first...a bit worry tat last min all the DVD/VCD/CD cannot play how?? I think i would cry leh...only top of that i thinkin of having a suprise CD for my HB.. still thinkin of the theme...

i guess service is veri impt especially during wedding coz u need pple to coordinate with us..n most important we pay for it lor...

if really veri bad, i would oso write in to complain.. maybe we can join force...hehehehe

Hi hoshi5,

I will ask "ah yees" to ensure on the march in songs.. "Food march-in" i have choosen too..

They really put "bicycle flashing lights"?!?! oh my god.. But how to double check?? We will be busy and hectic that evening.

By the way, I was browsing through DG's documents, they have put a small statement that "There must be a representative to check on the dishes before commencement of dinner, esp. serving of the fish".. (something like that)..

Did anyone do that?? But I think I will ask one of my hub's brothers to check for us.. cos they act like "gangster".. haha.. can ensure everything is ok..

HI Bluey,

The DG's documents also states that the couple is to fax over the confirmation for the printing of the wedding cards; 4 months in advance of the actual date to confirm the printing of the wedding cards, any delay they will not be responsible for any delays... Food tasting is to book at least 6 weeks in advance..

Better check with them..

I was worried about cork ups.. so I read all the documents all over again and plan accordingly to bug them for things..

As for the ang bao box.. I need to have 2 of it.. One for my parents, the other for the friends and husband side.. Think I will make my own boxes..

Hi Bluey,

Have a question.. DG said their flower stands are equipeed with candle holders... But I noticed you are getting own flower stands..

Their flower stands really not nice?? I am thinking of saving $$, so only decorate the receiption myself..and involved my sisters to help.. Think I better check with DG myself when I go down..

We spoke to the DG's manager abt the checking of the food. He told us that some people esp old folks may complain that the fish is not fresh, hence, they put down in the contract that we've got the rights to check the food. But no worries, it's nothing much, unless u really very worried abt the food.

As for the invitation cards. Actually once u've confirmed, check and double-check on the list, just need to fax over to them. They will print a draft of the actual wordings for u to verify. Once u've verified everything is ok, it takes abt 1 week to print out. I think they only provide 70% of the cards. but it's more than enough, coz u dun have to give all the cards. one family, one card...
I also didn't spend additional $$ to decorate the ballroom. Everybody will be too busy eating to notice them!...

hi ray,
ya me oso noting the dates now.. so most likely feb i would give them a call liao...

really worry got cork up... so we need to be more hardworking... eheheh

the stands like fine but not the flowers so we decide to use real flowers loh...

actually it is up to individuals... for us, my hb says it is so called a compensation for me coz i nvr insists to have in hotels.. furthermore he oso veri particular at the floating candle in every table he say this would enhance the ambience and we would need to inform the waiter not to remove it..

i oso wanted to do myself however after looking at the schedule found that there isn't sufficient time...

for the ang bao box, who would help to look after it for ur har? coz i understand from my frend, if they would place in the hotel safe box but we dun have any.. so I was thinking to get my sister to look after it.. however think it is not safe leh... cracking my head..

hi hoshi5,
how do u handle ur ang bao box? thanks...

Hi Hoshi5,

Im new in this thread. read alot and u all are great. gain alot. do u mind sharing your pic with me?? i have booked DG.my AD is 19 jun 05. Heard alot of bad comment after i have booked...haiz...now abit worried..iszit true tat we better dont use their emcee???anything to take note???

hi bluey,
u need to put all the ang-pows into a safe bag. Then just the bag to someone whom u can trust (eg: sister/brother) who will hold on to the bag at all times!!.... just need to take care of the bag and nothing else....

hi novel,
pls give me ur email add. definitely dun take their emcee. he's actually the restaurant manager.. very uncle... sigh... pls get ur friends or sisters to host the wedding will be much better..

hi ray,

can i hv the contact of the foto/videographer..pls send to [email protected], u "test" the manager lah...c how's the tone...when i booked the banquet, the manager oso mentioned abt the checking of the fish coz they had bad xperience....they wan to save guard themselves....

hi hoshi5
den how many mths or wks b4 we have to fax over the form for the invitation card...if we haven confirm the number of tables den how....wat i noe of is tat the latest we have to confirm our tables is 1 mth...izzit true? can u pls show me some of ur photos too

hey bluey,
ya i agree wif hoshi5. itz gd to pass the ang bao box to someone who u can really rely on....if not no one will be repsonsible for it.....do rem to share wif us ur experience.....mine is exactly one wk away fm urs...hope tat everything will go well for us

Hoshi5,

thanks for your feedback. will ask my friends to host tat night.

do u all have any idea whr i can find '2-doors' sport car??anyone who owns one and willing to rent at cheap rate???

hi hoshi5... can u email me your pics for your deco of the place, esp the recep table? thanks. [email protected]
btw, which menu did u choose to have the candle-gel?? it's included, or u asked them to add in??

anyway, girls... i think the ang pow box would b safer wif parents or PIL... coz older folks r more sensitive when it comes to money n they dun tend to wander ard as much as the young pple during the dinner...

FIY, my FH's friend is having his wedding banquet at DG on 23rd this mth... so i'll ask him n then maybe let u girls know how it went.

better dun put with parents, coz they will most of the time, be standing and receiving the guests, so they will have no time to 'guard' a big bag of ang-pows....
mine was the $488 package, I think... but the candle gel shld all come with the cold-dish..

As for the invitation cards, I can't really remember, but think I got my cards 2 months b4 my wedding. coz u need to write the names, and send out at least one month b4 wedding.

have sent the wedding photos to u all liao. Not much at DG, coz i didn't scan all. But u can see the recept table..

Hi Hoshi5,

Thanks. I've received your photo. u look stunning and gorgeous in that blue gown. like the deco for your recept table....

I'm wondering if i can request DG to place the candle gel on each table ?? cos im read some comment stating tat during the march in very dark...worst have to spend some $$$ on it liao....

Hi hoshi,

Does DG decorate the VIPS seatcover??? eg..with ribbon??? I hv already viewed the ballroom b4 i book and I find it rather plain with only white ..any suggestion?? sori ah... alot of questions ...

Hi novel,
thanks for ur compliments.
not sure whether u can request them to help u put the candle-gels at each table. We went to the restaurant at abt 5.30pm and staff were busy taking their dinner, and after that they will arrange the utensils nicely on each table. Not sure whether they can help u put them at the same time when they arranged the tables...no harm asking lor...
Can't remember abt the ribbon thing... hehe.. too busy to notice.. and anyway my wedding's already 1 yr ago...

hi hoshi5,
thanks for ur advice.. I would go n get a bag to ask someone to look after it...

hi d_woof,
sure i would let ur know abt it..

hi levynn,
i agree wit hoshi5.. guess our parent or PIL would even be more busy then us... heheheehe

hi novel_chew n moo,
welcome

hi hoshi5,

I'm also holding my dinner at DG, the bigger ballroom, mar 6. could I have a look at your photos and get some ideas on how to make the place look nicer? right now, not happy with most of the decor: fake flowers everywhere and quite a plain stage. Gotta see what it could look like...

hi d woof...
u can go to the photographers pg in dis website to look thru their portfolios. have u decided wat kind of style u wan?? n ur budget??

hi levynn,
i did go thur the forum in this website....i juz wan ordinary one.....my budget is abt 300...any?

hi d woof...
looks like it's juz u n me.
anyway, if those photographers r not wat u r looking for, maybe u can surf thru some threads here?? i'm sure there'll b some freelance or young photographers ard.

btw, how're your preparations?? AD photographer the last thing unconfirmed??