Dragon Gate Restaurant

blink_blink

Hi Katherine

My AD is 30 jan 05

Hi hoshi

can email the pictures to me please? [email protected]

Think will take up ur suggestion on the hotel.

blink_blink

Hi Katherine

U may want to consider topping up about $50 or so and stay in Merchant Court. Cos sometimes they got weekend promotion.

Cos DG bascially gave the wedding favours, free-flow of drinks and printing of cards. Can't really think of anything else to ask from them leh...

paulnelaine

thks hoshi5...my email add is [email protected]

katherine... e smaller ballroom need at least 25tables... but i thk u try to talk to them see they can give e whole room to u or not.

Tancy...u took e bigger hall rite....but u got to be prepared that outsiders r allowed to share e hall with u..that means there will be ppl eating even when u havent start e dinner.... unless u can have ard 60+ tables then they will give u e whole hall...
i find e hotel they giving quite out of place too...

blink_blink

Hi elaine

Ya, they did tell me about that. But they also said that if there's no dinner at the smaller hall. They'll let the walk-in customers use the smaller hall.

paulnelaine

oh tancy...
that's very kind of them...anyway now is already end oct.. n ur AD is end jan... i thk nobody will book so last min rite

hoshi5

have sent the link to u....
at the end of the photos are all the pictures at DG, including the recept table, march in, champange pouring, and the heart of flames lah...

For the bigger ballroom, march-in is very very far, compared to some other hotels i've seen... but really you will be 'centre of attention'!!...

There's basically all the freebies they will give as wat tancy has said... however, if u want to screen montage, do note that lots of guests will not be able to see as there are big pillars blocking them...

paulnelaine

hi hoshi5... thks for sending e photos.. is very nice... i like ur recept table deco izzit done by them or u decorate it urself??

paulnelaine

oh... sorry Tancy n Teng2, shall we wait for Hoshi to send it to both of u cos is her photos.
btw when r ur AD?? mine is in 6nov 05... anyone near my date??

katherine_k

Hi Elaine,

I am looking at 12/11 or 19/11 2005. I check wit the uncle seling joss papers n he say 19 is ok n after 7am. The internet lunar calendar state nt a good day for marriage but after 7am is gd 4 marriage. Tat y i intend to look for another person to check 4 me
Me bery troublesome gal

paulnelaine

hi kath,
u can just go temple... i know waterloo street or geylang seri got. but waterloo st only weekend can go, but i prefer e geylang seri one cos e auntie will tell u very detail wat to do... n e waterloo st old lady seems very very busy so she dont tell u much.

hoshi5

sorry for the late reply... have sent the photo links to u already...

the reception table was decorated by my sisters... they did it very nicely...

blink_blink

Hi hoshi

Thanks for sharing your pictures with us. You look very lovely.

May i know if your dinner was in the smaller hall or the bigger one? That time we only checked out the smaller hall, so didn't really take notice of the bigger hall.

Your sisters did a great job for the reception hall. Btw, did ur sisters got the flower centre piece at own expenses or supply by the restaurant?

hoshi5

Hi tancy,

thanks for ur compliments...

I took the bigger ballroom and had 53 tables all in all.... and it was reeally a long march-in to the stage....

My sisters got their own flower centre... before my wedding, I also learnt how to make candle-gels... so it was really nice... My brother gave me a double 'xi' scented candle, and it was really lovely.... I suggest u gals buy more roses, and use the flower petals for ur receptopm table....

paulnelaine

oh kath..
i dont really know how to explain to u.... if u travel along e road from paya lebar mrt heading towards Eunos Mrt keep to ur right.. just around/after malay village but b4 u reach Eunos mrt... u will see an old temple beside e roadside but e main gate is not near e roadside. that's e one... is a young auntie ard 40+ or 50+ 50+. anyway just tell them u wanna choose dates for wedding then they will tell u who to ask. she very good explain which date, what time ur FH got to reach ur hse n wat time u got to enter his hse.... which date good for ur FH to go ur hse to give e cakes n "ping lee", wat time must comb hair...etc... everythg in one visit unlike e waterloo street auntie cos she very busy so u will find it very rush to ask her thgs...then not everythg she will tell u herself...
hope this info can help u cos me n my FH actually go waterloo st 1st but find tat she didnt give many info so we go geylang seri n realised tat this auntie really tell us alot tat we dont know.

katherine_k

Morning Elaine,

wow tat is very detailed
I thgt normally they will tell u e time n date tat all. I wil try n c if i can find e way there. Thks

paulnelaine

hi kath..
she can only tell u more if u can confirm with her which date u wanna for e AD after she give u a few good dates to choose... but if u still need to consider then i thk she cant tell u much,,, u see how lor...

blink_blink

Hi bluely

Mine is on 30 Jan 2005. So far quite happy with their services & packages. Just collected the wedding cards. Quite nice, won't lose out to those cards from hotels one.

Food tasting is good and the food voucher did help us saved quite lot

bluey

hi tancy,

really feel good after hearing ur positive comments.. coz i hearing some negative frm my frends.. so feel a bit disappointed... but now better liao

so fast u print ur card already??? how many months in advance did u inform them to print??

my food voucher would be used for my birthday celebration yeah.. eheheh this is wat my hb say...coz we got free food tasting...

u getting the big room or small one??? u gt any florist to deco the place??

sorry to luo so... hehehee but really feeling nervous n excited...despite that is 6 more months to go...

blink_blink

Hi bluely

Glad to know tat you're feeling better now. Cos we wanted good food and ideal location for our banquet in the 1st place. Dragon Gate's food is quite up to standard. In fact, better than some of the hotels. Our parents insist that food quality is the top priority, especially the fish dish. At least, the menu i got is serving Garupa instead of seabass (cheapest fish in the market), while alot of the hotels are serving seabass.

My actual day is on 30 Jan 05. It was the restaurant ppl who remind me to print the cards :p Printing of the cards actually took about 3 - 4 working days.

Originally, we took the small room, now changed to the bigger one - 45 tables

Trying to cut cost, so not getting any florist to do up the place. How about u? The small or the big hall?

Btw, as the date draws nearer, starting to feel stress cos of the guestlist

bluey

Hi Tancy,

wow ur AD coming soon... How's ur prep getting along??

oh that's good at least they made an effort to remind you to print the cards.. hope they would remind me too when times come.

me getting the big room and might be getting florist to deco up the place too... now looking for quotations from florist

I think guestlist is the most headahce issue out of all...

adeljoo

Any ex-dragongate brides here to share experience??? will ppl think dragon gate is not a hotel and give less ang pao money?? is it easily assessible??

paulnelaine

hi Adeljoo...
well... i have booked DG liao.. find tat place quite assessible with e mrt station there... but ur guests have to walk a distance to get to e lobby C or D depending on which room u booked. there is also ample carpark there some can even lead straight to e resta. BUT there is something i miss out when i booked e place that is.... they dont give free parking to a certain % of our guests... hai~ . AS 4 red pkt.... e price is a lot cheaper there compared to hotels therefore they give u less $$ also nvm la... as long as can cover will do

hoshi5

Hi Tancy,

fyi, there's no free parking on sunday.
I think there's a per entry charge of $2... had my wedding on sunday....

Hi Jooling,

I think the ang-pow rates will be slightly lower, but it also depends on the relationship with ur friends, etc.... most of my guests gave between $60-$100...

mandyray

Hi Tancy,

Did you get any florist to decorate your ballroom?
I have booked the smaller ballroom for next year Sep 05. Thinking of asking a florist to decorate the aisle and stage.

The bigger ballroom looks very nice with the "blue" ceiling, whereas the smaller ballroom does not have the same design. Thus I'm thinking of decorating the place.

Hi hoshi5,

Will honoured if you can share your photos with me. My email is [email protected]

Hi Bluey,

Hows your process of sourcing for quotes for the florists? Any to recommend

Thanks a million

blink_blink

Hi Ray

The bigger hall is too big. Therefore, I'm not getting any florist for the deco cos saving money for the honeymoon. Hehehe!

But if for the smaller ballroom, maybe it would be nice to have deco. I'm sure will look nice & cosy.

koras

can u share the photos with me also.
thanx

cox mi intending to get there also. but just that the date dun have wat we wanted. Me and my hub went to see the plc where they cater around 30pax. very plain so would like to see how the arrangment and the deco is

my e-mail add is [email protected].

bluey

Hi ray,

i just sign up for a florist today...

dunno whether it is cheap or not but my frend recommend me this florist.. it is just a small shop florist... but i would be finding pics for the florist lor... den she would do it according to my color theme n wat i want...

I went to a few others.. but they told me to cut cost by using ribbons instead of not having some many flowers..

mandyray

Hi bluey,

Ribbons to save cost?? I know we can use fake flowers instead to save on cost...

How much is the cost?? For which area??
I just asked FarEast Florist. They told me cost $60-$100 per flower stand.. of course, also depend which flowers are on season..

I think we need at least 10 flower pots for the stage.. The aisle, still thinking..

What proposal you have in mind? Can share?

The ballroom quite dull-colour. Dun know what colour to choose to brighten up the stage.

bluey

Hi ray,

i went to far east florist before.. they told me 60-100 is based on the height of the stand and have to use ribbons to reduce the cost meaning there is lesser flowers and use ribbons instead...

I sign up for 880 dunno x or not...
this include the reception table, the round tables beside reception, 6 stands in the aisle (would only be place in certain part coz aisle too long) 10 chairs for the 2 vip tables, simple candles with deco for my 45 guest tables and the stages...
flowers had not confirmed yet...
but i would be using the color theme red becoz it is the color for my EG.. initially wanted to be purple coz more dreamy kind of feeling...

it really depends on what kind of color u like.. but i think need more candles to light up the place..heheheeh

mandyray

Hi Bluey,

Yet to decide on the EG, so dunno what colour.
Which florist? Can recommend cos the package sounds very nice.

My AD in Sep 05, so I still have time to ponder..
I was wondering what to do with my reception table. Cos the florists I asked quite expensive..

bluey

Hi ray,

i dun have the florist name with me.. bt it is a small shop.. i would email u when i at home...

u still have time to ponder... me thinking of doing the normal deco at reception table just one row of flower across n maybe a small candles there...

which florist had u ask?

paulnelaine

hi Ray.... ask Hoshi to show u her photos... e reception table is simple but very nice... i like it very much
i am thinking of using balloons to decorate e smaller ballroom... anyone had any suggestion?? i went to a dinner at orchid country club n they provide a small little bear dressed up in gowns n e other one dressed up in coat... very very nice.... thking of getting them for my door gift... anyway my AD in 6NOV so no hurry....

hoshi5

have sent the link to u already...

It would be good to get a florist to decorate the place, but not at the expense of ur pocket..

that's the purpose of taking DG since it's a value-for-money restaurant.
Candles would be good to place at every table.. but I took the bigger ballroom, hence, difficult and ex to put for all 50+ tables.
Think it would be good enough to decorate ur recept table nicely coz tat's where ur guests will first see, and sign at the guest book.

anyway, most people busy eating and talking will not notice anything liao....can save and use the $$ for honeymoon...

blink_blink

Hi hoshi

I totally agreed with you

I'm also on a budget. therefore, we choose DG, which is good food, value for money. I did enquire before from the florist. For doing up such a big hall, it would easily cost me a bomb. Hahaha! I'm saving the money for the our honeymoon.

I also intend to just do up the reception table like what hoshi5 did. Sorry for stealing your idea. Hope you don't mind :p Cos that's where the guest will have the 1st impression of the whole place.

mandyray

Hi Hoshi5,

Thanks for the link. You look fantastic!!
And you look really like your mother..

Your reception table very nice too.. will show to my husband for ideas.