Dragon Gate Restaurant

woof

hi levynn,
haiz....finished my PS last wk. found my videographer n now lookin for fotographer...
guest list not confirmed...

claire_liu

DG brides,

What're you going to do about the venue decor? Will anyone be getting external florist to come in and redecorate? Actually, FH and I prefer the old floral arches but they're gone. Dun fancy the new flower stands.

woof

hi levynn,
my PS fotographer is fm J&M.....my AD is in early june...do u tink itz early......anyway wan to get things done asap..if nt last min will gan jiong one

hi claire,
haven really thot of the venue decor...i oso find itz a bit "china"...any other ideas

claire_liu

Was thinking of using rose petals on all the tables, and using our own fresh flower arrangements for the reception, photo album table and red tables. Then the horrible table number things will change, thinking of using long-stemmed rose, and attach the table numbers to the rose. Still scouting around for cheap vases. Stage is a headache...so big, and so plain.

mandyray

Hi Claire,

The old floral arches gone? How does the new floral stands looks like??? The last time I went was last year Oct.

I was recommended the florists (Pink Tangos) by DG, maybe you people would like to call and ask.

You can try contacting my videographer/photographer for the AD. They are a team of 2 guys, quite ok. You can call Steven Lee @91875044. Just tell him, you are recommended by Mandy.

Actually, for the deco at DG, its "China" but its what we have choosen to book. Guests who attend the wedding will give red packets accordingly to the restaurant rate. Even if we redeco it at our own costs, the red packets are the same.
Just my own views, when it comes to $$.

I wanted to redeco, but come to think of it. I dun think anyone will appreciate. Like what hoshi5 said, just concentrate on the reception area.

levynn

i agree wif ray. pple will stick ard more at the recep area. i think once they go into the restaurant, will sit down n concentrate on eating. for me, i feel that the simple deco is enuf for me. i'll juz b doing up the recep area n also the table number thingy.

levynn

d woof...
i think your timing is ok. i also finish settling almost everything already n my AD is in dec. my cousin said i a bit kiasu... but earlier is better for me too.

woof

hi ray..juz wanna find out the rate of ur video/fotographer b4 calling them.....

i booked DG coz of the food n i agree wif levynn as to do up the recep area will do.....save $ for ur HM.....
btw levynn, who did ur PS?

mandyray

Hi dwoof,

They are charging me about $1.6k.. seems steep too..

But they are giving me 8 rolls or film w/ photo album, montage videoclip, actual day events edited and unedited version, including the march in. They work as a team. So have to enagage both...

They will accompanied the couple throughout the day, except when the couple is resting.

My husband is very comfortable with them. The previous wedding I attended, they were there too. I dun even feel that they are intruding.. They even joked with the guests.

I'm not good in negotiating.. maybe you can negotiate a better price..

novel

Hi Claire,

me too...prefer the old floral arches but ... im thinking of asking external florist to deco the ballroom but yet to check out the pricing...

woof

hi ray,
ya sounds a bit steep..over my budget...i found one videographer @ $400 so now lookin for one fotographer which is below $500.....wan these two items to be lower than $1K

levynn, when r u doing ur PS?

levynn

d woof... i'll most probably b having my PS in jul. but haven't thot of where to go for the outdoor shoot yet.

btw, anyone attended any weddings at DG recently?? how's the audio n visual systems??

claire_liu

went down to DG the other day and saw the setup prior to the wedding. Looked a little cramped near the centre aisle so will ask them to space the tables out a bit more towards the outer walls. No idea abt the audio and visual tho.

Just realised yesterday that the main hall can only take max 57 tables? means some of my frens will end up in the VIP room, and that's not very nice. Initially, thot they meant can fit 60 in main hall and 10 in the VIP rooms, but no...so now got another headache: who to put in the room? Got CCTV, but still dunno how they'll feel abt it.

Still thinking about how to do up the place. FH will get frens to pluck rose petals...then get another fren to do table flower arrangements for main table and recep. Save $$ lah! btw, the glass on recep table will not be covered? only had skirting when we went the other day, no table cloth on the top.

hoshi5

Hi claire,
initially we tot tat some of our guests had to sit in the VIP rooms. How many tables are u taking?... we had total 53 tables on the actual night and DG managed to squeeze all the tables into the main hall.
Initially we als wanted to decorate every table to make it nicer. I even went to learn candle-gel making. But realise that cannot do every table coz will be very ex, and time-consuming. So in the end only decorate the reception table.

hi levynn, the sound system quite good... only the projector screen too small and guests are blocked by the many pillars....

claire_liu

We booked for 60 tables, and family itself is abt 53 tables...then still got about 7 tables of frens. phew, dunno how it's going to be that night. good to hear that the sound system is gd. We decided against the montage and projector coz of time and $$. Hopefully, the guests will be happy with just emcee and us in real-life
Is it usual for the father to make a speech? My dad wants to make one...

hoshi5

hi claire,
is ur banquet on weekday or weekend. I would suggest saturday if u can. We had ours on a Sunday and started at abt 8.45pm.. and by 11pm, all the guests were rushing to go home coz next day is a working/schooling day. We didn't even have time to finish taking all the table photos. One thing to note is, be prepared to keep shaking hands, smile and say 'thank you' to all the guests as u r sending them off. We shake hands until tired.. and smile until mouth almost frozen... hhahaa.. coz too many guests liao.

xiaozhu

I m new to this thread ...
I've signed up with dragon gate for my wedding banquet on Oct 2005.
May i join in?

Hi Claire,
I have ard 60 - 70 tables ... but i booked 55 tables first.

levynn

hi hoshi5...
u had your wedding in the big or small ballroom?? i'm taking the small one. only 30 tables.

hello, angela... welcome.

claire_liu

My dinner is on sunday. Going to print little note-cards and slip into the invites to ask ppl to be punctual. Got quite a lot of teacher friends coming so not v nice if they are kept up too late
Also, we're having the sword ceremony, so we really want to start at 745, 8pm. Already told my friends to come for dinner and not eat beforehand! Otherwise very lugi, already ordered the 600+ menu for guests...actually, if they dun makan elsewhere beforehand, shd be hungry enuff to come early for dinner, right?

hoshi5

Hi levynn,
definitely in the bigger ballroom, which can take 50 tables or more.

Claire,
it's really hard to start early. coz most dinner no matter weekdays or weekends will usually start at 8.30pm. Also, most of the guests are normally ur parents or PIL ones, so they will normally reach ard 8pm... not sure if u can afford not to wait for them, so u gotta tell ur parents very clearly tat u are going to start punctually unless guests might be unhappy, esp the older folks. also, gotta note that ur friends only make up for minority of the guests.. unless u invited more friends than relatives/pil's friends...

levynn

hello claire...
r u a teacher then??
anyway, if it's on a sunday, pple shld b able to get there on time. i read fr another thread that the couple actually called up their friends n close relatives to remind to arrive on time for the dinner... the day b4 the banquet. i think if the older folks r close to ur parents, can ask them to call them also.

so, anyone had ur banquet on a weekday??

claire_liu

yep, I'm a teacher
Actually, it was my parents who insisted that we start early coz they said family is usually waiting for friends at the dinners. So according to them, friends are the ones we need to watch out for. If that's the case, then looks like it might work out. Fingers crossed ;)

hoshi5

hi claire,
in tat case, do notify the emcee and the restaurant in advance of the time u r starting. hope everything will go smoothly!...

claire_liu

Just collected the invitation cards yesterday, and passed them off to the parents to write and send off on their own. Rushing for GDL on sunday

bluey

how's everyone getting on?

Quite some time since I last come to this thread...

Hi Claire,
wow ur AD coming soon in less than 2 month time, feeling excited?
Can share more on GDL after sunday? Thanks...

levynn

hello...
so, no one had used the smaller ballroom b4?? wanted to know how the audio n visual systems r like there...

so, who's going to b our 1st DG bride??

levynn

hello bluey...
all's fine...except maybe caught a little cough. must b the terrible weather nowadays. wat abt u?? how r ur preparations coming along??

hi claire...
KPO a bit la... may i know which sch r u fr?? i got a lot of friends in the teaching sector. maybe u know them or u may b one of them!
anyway, i'm interested to know how your GDL went too. thanks. btw, which dialect group r the both of u fr??

claire_liu

wah, now quite tired from GDL...spent the entire afternoon with my parents going around sg sending out invitations. Now back in my own place, but FH's family all here playing mahjong n watching soccer. Dunno how to ask them to leave w/o sounding rude. Probably no way. Sianz since gotta get up early tomorrow to go to school
Levynn, I'm teaching at River Valley High: it'd be a really small world if we know each other! We're both sort of Hokkien: my dad's originally from taiwan, and he's jiao huan. Dunno the dialect spelling, sorry!

OK, GDL was fine. They just bring over all the stuff that was asked for. Actually, my parents and I v blur abt GDL, but my gran knows everything, so she pretty much ran the show. They brought cakes, wine, oranges, pigs trotters in cans, and other stuff. Most of it, my mom took some and returned the rest, and gave ang pao for those who came (only 3 incl FH). Then all sat down and makan mee sua. After that, FH and family took the returned stuff back and i went out with my parents to send invites. GDL v short. Not much. Think AD will be more fun

I'll be using balloons too since fresh flowers are quite ex. FH did the balloon arches for his D&D before, so he'll do that with his frens. Think it shd work quite well. We're getting the balloons from concourse: 100 for $10. If heart-shaped ones, 100 for $12. All the shops same price...if anyone got better lobang, pls tell me
then he'll also decor the house with balloons on AD>

levynn

hello claire...
thanks for sharing your GDL experience. my FH is a teochew... but i think everything will b more or less the same. but dun think mine will b so soon coz AD is in dec.

so, i think u r going to b our 1st DG bride here?? since ur AD is in mar...

bluey

hi levynn,
me nw buzy with work... so my prep got no progress... except that i had my PS last week.... photos are ready but my hb n i got no time to go down to c...

me nw a bit start to panick liao onli left 3 months plus... n a lot of things we have not done yet...

hi claire,
sounds like GDL is goin to be veri buzy...

balloon is a good idea coz cheaper.. but i got no ideas on how to deco with balloon..
u using the bigger ballroom?

hi d_woof,
add to the list
d_woof 4th June
bluey 28 May

claire_liu

Hi d_woof
add to list
claire_liu 6 Mar

Yep, will be using the bigger ballroom, but walking in from the back. The march in from front really either too long or too short, so make life easier for us and our sword-bearers. Then tables can be shifted more into the aisle: less cramped.

Will definitely need rehearsal man. A friend offered to ask his string quartet to play for the wedding, but no idea where to put them! It'd be lovely, but if they'r on stage, it'll be inconvenient after we walk in. Was thinking of using the VIP room, but sound may not be able to go out into the main hall.

Found out that the smaller hall will be used that night too. Hope both halls quite sound-proofed...

hoshi5

Hi claire,

think it's quite sound-proof. during my dinner, there was also another couple who used the smaller ballroom. we didn't hear anything from the next ballroom. Make sure u let DG know tat u have sword-bearers and shift the tables away from the aisle. tat time my aisle quite cramp and tables too near to the aisle.

claire_liu

thanks hoshi
I'll remember to make a note to them.

btw, could u send me your photos for the decor at DG during your reception and dinner? Much appreciated!

woof

here is the list:-
claire_liu ---- 6 Mar
bluey -------- 28 May
d_woof -------- 4th June
novel_chew ---- 19 Jun

so seems like claire gng to be the 1st....oh..itz abt a mth' time

paulnelaine

thks claire.. but do u have to ask friends to help in e deco of e balloons.... cos on tat day we will be so so busy so i am thinking of hiring someone to do e deco near e entrance n e hall... but really got to make sure e balloons wont block anyone view n also wont block e photographer..
anyway my AD is 6 Nov...

levynn

hi d woof... mine is on the 28th dec. thanks. guess i'll b one of the last few of the year.

btw, i'm sure u girls have a march-in song? dunno how to synchronise the march-in wif the song so that it'll have a nice ending when we reach the stage...

woof

alrite more brides updating...
as of 2/2/05...

claire_liu ---- 6 Mar
bluey -------- 28 May
d_woof -------- 4th June
novel_chew ---- 19 Jun
Ray ----------- 17 Sep
elaine -------- 6 Nov
levynn -------- 28 Dec