Dragon Gate Restaurant

okeanosmao

hi bonbon,

i din upgrade to a better rm. jus remain deluxe rm anyway jus staying for only 1 nite.
yup, mine is also miramar hotel.

batty

Hi okeanosmao!

Thanks for sharing!
We have been to some of the places you mentioned. Some are very nice but beyond our budget. We like Chevrons as well but we want to keep to our budget of below $450 per table as much as we can.

Our parents adviced us not to book DG so soon as the econonmy is not doing v well and the SARS outbreak has not helped much either. They are afraid that we would not be able to fulfil the no. of tables.

By the way, when is you wedding dinner? It's ok if you just state the month and year. We understand. We're planning for june 04 or earlier. We really hope to get DG for our wedding dinner. Now we're just adopting the wait-n-see approach.

okeanosmao

batty,

no prob in sharing..

mine is on 16 nov(sunday). i've booked last yr, hee..1 yr in advance..no choice..nov alot of ppl getting married.

mine even earlier than yrs and i dun think i will delay the dinner..since mine in nov, dun think SARS will drag so long..
how many tables u r looking at? or maybe u can try tok to the restaurant n c if there is any alternatives if really by then, SARS still hv not improve. for economy, though economy is bad this yr but it will improve nxt yr..unless if u feel tat u can wait till economy is better then jus go ahead with yr plans lor..but wat if economy still remains the same?? dun tell me u r not going to get married leh...

batty

Chevrons is near Jurong East MRT. I think the road name is Boon Lay Way. It's actually walking distance from IMM. It's a SAF recreational centre. Hope this info helps!

Okeanosmao
Thanks telling us your wedding dinner date. We still have yet to book DG yet. Still waiting for our parents to give us the exact wedding date haha. We gave them 3 options and they still haven't gotten back to us.Must check to see when is the best date for all our overseas relatives I suppose.

by the way, how is your wedding prep? Took all the bridal shots yet?

okeanosmao

batty,

still have not start my prep yet..2moro i'll be going for gown selection..hope to find one i like..how abt u? hv u selected yr bridal? mine is with french bridal.

now, hv headache choosing songs for dinner..march in great headache..hee..cos march in will be shorter..

r u the one who did most of the things? frm planning to preparation?
my hubby doesn't help me leh..he oso hvn not start prep yet..

batty

Hi okeanosmao!

Wow...I suppose you will be very busy the months ahead. Must share your experience with us ya!

We haven't really decided which bridal shop we like. We do have a couple in mind, and are in the midst of confirming the ONE we want!

My FW does most of the planning and major decisions (Of cos! :p ) My job is really to support and encourage her! (But she disagrees haha..she's beside me now)

She says my job is to give my opinions ans then after discussion, we will make the decision together! (So sweet..

Oh by the way, if you do drop by DG anytime soon, can u help ask if June'04 Sat evenings the big ballrm is still available? We would really like to have our wedding dinner there..

okeanosmao

hi batty,

ya, really bz ahead..7 more months to go..
yr wife oso joins in the chat huh?? so gd..my hubby dun lor..he is the kind of guy who dun chat so often, he feels funny especially this is a bridal forum..
my hubby told me, if ever i have any ideas for certain things (wedding), i must get approval frm him first but of cos, he must really be resonable then i allowed him to change my plans..

if not fat hope...hahaha..small things i find, like searching for songs, cakes, preparation etc..big matters he deicide but i wonder wat are the big matters we have????

oh for the restaurant, y dun u call the restaurant first b4 all the sat dates are taken up? cos i wil only go to DG for food tasting in sep or oct..so by the time, i asked the dates for you, i'm afraid it will be taken up..
better act first lor, cos now singaporeans like to book wedding dinner 1 yr in advance!!

seh

hi everybody,
i have book my wedding dinner with DG and would like to check if anyone has attended wd using the songs DG arranged for the wedding nite or has used songs DG picked. I'm wondering abt the standard of the songs they pick coz if they are nice then i might want to use them instead of finding songs myself. I've checked with the person in charge and was told that I can either give them one disc to play or I can use theirs. Thanks in advance.

okeanosmao

hi seh lee,

u mean only 1 disc to play? i will be choosing my own songs as i dun wan any chinese songs to be played.
did not ask abt the songs so i'm not v sure abt that oso.

jun

hi okeansomao,
actually i have already check with dg and the ger in charge told me tat if i dun want to use their songs for the nite then i have to give them one cd to play for the entire nite... for the march in i would have to prepare 3 songs..... but it seems quite troublesome as i would have to gather all the songs i like and burn it into one cd.... any suggestions as to where to buy the cd that can be used for the entire nite????

okeanosmao

hi jun,

it depends on wat type of music u wan for yr wedding nite..once u narrow down yr selection, u can go to any music shop to search for it..most music shops do hv wedding songs available..
how come marchin need 3 songs? tot only 2 mah..one for 1st marchin then 2nd march in only???

batty

Anyone using Dragongate as their wedding dinner venue for 2004?

Wanna share experiences, ideas?

batty

hi rabbit!

We did our research! We checked out many places and finally decided on DG. Reasons being:
1. Price (As low as possible: below $450 per table)
2. Location
3. Freebies
4. We must like it

Think DG is pretty classy, even though it is a chinese restaurant. Plus my uncle got married there 20 years ago, so their reputation is quite good.

What are your concerns?

What are your other alternatives? Maybe we can share with you our experiences as well?

marrying

Hi Batty,

Congrats! So u have already settled on DG? btw, when is ur big day? Me too, also looking around see what is nice...
u mean u took the below $450 pkg? btw wat are the freeies that u were talking about, care to share?

batty

Hi Marrying,

Yes I took the one below $450 pkg. We're on a tight budget :p

Freebies to us are:
1. Nice seat covers provided for free! Many places charge for them.
2. Free flow of beer and drinks.
3. Free 1 nite stay in a hotel (Although not the best hotel in town, but we're happy still. )

Ultimately it really depends on what kind of wedding dinner you want. Grand or Cosy? Hotel or Restaurant? Budget?

Our Wedding is near the middle of next year. When is urs?

Share with us your experience so far?

marrying

Hi Batty,

Woohh...thats nice to hear, so many freebies, i mean these days, everyone on tight budget,
me too, so i am actually looking for resturants coz i think its more cozy & not so commercialized like in hotels lor, but the only feedback i get for resturants are that they will kinda rush the dishes coz their staff need to go off in time & stuff like that, & also car parking space problem lor....that is about it.

So ur big day is mid next year? when did u book ur pkg? mine will be somewhere end next year

batty

Hi Marry..

We just booked our wedding dinner package not too long ago. As we really needed to have our dinner that particular month(due to my job) , we decided to book early to avoid disappointment.

We decided to get married mid next year on Feb this year, so we took our time to source for suitable bridal studio and book our church in advance. So far, we have finalised all these.

We are now waiting for the best time to get a place for ourselves. Being new to the workforce (about 2 years) we decided that we must work on a smaller budget or else our monthly payment would really be a strain. That's where my FW comes in. She does the calculating. I just give the feedback. She's a great help and thank God she is simple (like me!), that's why we chose DG. It's nice and simple.

Share your experiences, fears or whatsoever.
It will be good to exchange ideas, etc

marrying

Hi Batty,

Ohh... I see, yeh, me too, but haven't got the finalized date from my inlaws yet. Actually I was looking for like a grand hotel & stuff, I mean girls can get pretty carried away when it comes to wedding, but when i really sit down & look things thru', no point saving like crazy to just spend it away meaningless, (have seen my frd: really bad ex, coz they wanna be tip top, they held their dinner at Ritz!! They took up a bank loan for that,thinking that they can make some extra $$$ but end up they did not make any at all!! So 2 yrs after the wedding now, they are still paying back the loan) really sad to me

So I have sort things out after discussing with my FH, that we want the food to be good, & actually I just want a simple dinner with only my close frds & relatives, that would be more meaningful so guess he is also glad that I managed to sort out my thinkings!

& thus, meeting u in this thread! =) So, care to share ur pkg deal & the perks too?

batty

Wow! You FH is a lucky man! haha... I guess I can understand why ladies want a grand wedding. It's only right to have one. I am grateful to my FW who's so understanding. Our focus right now is on our future home. We decided that the bulk of our savings should go into something that will last and one we'll enjoy. I guess it's a matter of preference.

Not sure if you've visited any of the bridal studios. 'Beware!' is my advice. Do your homework first and then be firm with what you need and don't be tempted by what they throw at you.

We were a little green initially. Thankfully when we went to see these studios for ideas, we weren't ready to commit to any packages then, or else we would now be in huge 'debt'! haha..

We found one finally. We chose it because:
1. My FW looks really good in their gowns. We insisted on trying before deciding on anything. :p
2. They gave us quite a lot of freebies for the amount we paid, (Ard $3000), which included MTM gowns, photos, on the day photo, etc.
3. We felt that there's no 'perfect' studio, we went for the one we 'like' most and one where once we decided, we would stick to it w/o complains.

At this moment, we haven't done anything yet. Will start our gown fitting/choosing next month. Not sure how their services are like. Received both good and not-so-good comments. Well, it's our choice, have to love it!

How about yourself? What do you have in mind? Maybe my FW can answer your qns better than I can. Am coming from a man's point of view.

marrying

Hi Batty,

Wwoohh...u too are really lucky to have ur FW so understanding, true, kinda agree with u that spending on ur future house for something that will last...btw, where about is your new house? have u guys shifted in already?

Well, so btw, when is ur big day? kekekekeee....
For my bridal pkg, well, I have already chosen the place liao....so keeping my fingers crossed that nothing will happen lor, basically we noticed their gowns in a roadshow in Great World City & then we went down to their shop on another day to see see look look, then like u too, my FH wanted me to try on a few gowns which he personally like,I did & he was happy with wat he see, so then we went back to the roadshow to close the deal, well, we kinda get enough freebies too (I think??) The most important thing is to have them write everything in black & white lor, so they can't run later...

as for my fittings? not so soon lah, should be next year maybe, so urs is next month? Cool.... can't wait to see u 2 photos if u r willing to share, any ideas on the places of ur outdoor shooting yet? Couple of my frds are also having their weddings next month....so its nice to learn from others too....

If u dun mind, maybe u can let me know which bridal shop u 2 took? share some pointers maybe...
(who knows we might even take the same one!!) =)

batty

Hi Marry,

Haha...as I read the treads I realised that we're diverting quite a bit from the main heading.

Anyways was thinking if we should communicate privately, since we'll be exchanging details of of wedding plans and am not sure if it's a good idea to write them in the forum.

Mail us at [email protected]

It will be great if we can exchange ideas, etc.

Looking forward to your mail!

batty

Hi Marrying.

my FW and I are looking forward to corresponding with you. Think you're too busy to respond at the moment I suppose.

Anyways, which bridal studio did u choose? Have you met up with them? How's their services?

You can either write in this forum or email us. Both will do.

God Bless!

marrying

Hi Batty,

Sorry, been really busy lately, I've already email u, have a look & love to corresponde with both of u too...

cancan

I would like to transfer my wedding package to anyone who is interested in Dragon Gate, getting married on 2 Oct 2004 (Popular Month), 40 tables at @ $488 nett. I have paid $1K as deposit and willing to forfeit $500.

We have decided to settle for a smaller affair and hence thus our decision. Anyone interested, pls contact me at [email protected].

tigerjes

Anyone have booked wedding dinner at DG? Do you know about the private room in Dragon Gate? It can cater for max 15 tables, as I need only 10 tables so would like to know more about it. Thanks.

blink_blink

I've already booked my wedding dinner with DG for Jan 05.

Going for food tasting next week. WIll update you gals. But I dine there a few times and their food are quite good.

The package also include free printing of the wedding cards. While for other restaurants, you've got to find your own printers.

Their freebies are also quite attractive. Free flow of beer & soft drinks, no corkage charges for liquor or wine.

Other than the free food tasting, there's another $300 voucher which you can use it for your ROM.

tigerjes

Hi Tancy

Which package you chosen? How many tables? Is it a standard that they will give the $300 voucher, or you requested from them?

blink_blink

Hi Jes,

I booked for the $488 package in the smaller ballroom, around 30 + tables. I'm not sure whether is it a standard to give voucher. But they told us that other than the complimentary food tasting for 10 pax, they also gave us the $300 voucher which can be used at any of their 4 restaurants. We're going to use it for our ROM lunch in Oct

silhouette

I am also deciding to book DG but anyone has any comments about their decoration for the actual day? We thought of asking a florist to do up the stage decor for us...

blink_blink

Hi Carole

There was a wedding in the smaller hall on the day I went to do my booking.

The deco are quite okie with white cover seats on all the chairs, and some flowers along the arisle. So quite a nice combination of pink, white and abit of peach color around. Bascially for the price that we're paying, i would say that DG offer quite a good deal with lots of freebies. Most importantly, the dishes are much more better than the ones in hotels. So hotels charged so much more but only offer 'seabass' for fish, which is the cheapest in the market (big & cheap & not tasty at all) :p

Not forgetting the location, with ample carpark lots, MRT, bus terminal & cabs. That was one of the things that we considered. Cos we went to a wedding dinner which was abit out of place. Around 9 plus, already some of the guests start leaving fearing that they can't get a cab later when all the guests started leaving. Haha, we wouldn't want a half emptied hall before end of the nite

bluey

Hi Tancy,

I had already book my wedding dinner with DG.

But i did not manage to c any wedding on the day that I went down.

could i check with u if the flowers on the arisle real flower or not? me thinking of getting florist to deco the place

blink_blink

Hi bluey

Congrats! So when's the big day? & which hall did you book?

I'm not sure abt the flowers along the arisle. But I'm going down for the food tasting next week, I could check it out for you

troubles

Me also oredi booked my dinner at DG for 28.11.04, went food tasting oredi, used the voucher oredi. I'm taking the smaller hall for my 37 tables.

U all leh?

Seriously, i haven't seen them really decorating the place for dinner, so i'm now thinking whether to get florist to do it or not?

silhouette

So I guess most of you is getting a florist to do it? If any of you have any good quotes, pls share with me.

Do DG put flower stands along the aisle or the wedding arch? I went to see their stage the previous time & din like the pink styrofoam where they put your names on...

blink_blink

I'm also taking the smaller hall for abt 40 tables.

I'm going for the food tasting tonite. Will take note on the flower deco.

But I think I'll pass on the deco cos wanted to save any extra $$$ on our honeymoon. Actully my FH and I are more concerned abt the quality of the food rather than the ambience. Had we wanted a great ambience, we would have booked with a hotel rather than a restaurant. :p

I did casually ask a florist before and it can cost from a few hundred to over a K.

blink_blink

Went for the food tasting last nite.

The food was tasty, fresh & big portion enough The restaurant assure us that the portion will be like last nite on the actualy day

I've also seen the flowers. They are all artifical flowers along the aisle. Guess ur gers got to start thinking of the flower arrangements. Good luck

cllk

hi all, my AD will oso be held at DG in mar05.. hv not go for food tasting yet, gg to use d $300 voucher during ROM..
care to share when's the parent of both side met for the first time? both side parent not yet met, we r thinking if it's a good idea to meet at the ROM for d first time..

blink_blink

Hi Carina

Our parents during the food tasting, which is 1 week before our ROM. So that when they met during the ROM, it won't be so awkward. But then it's up to individual too

paulnelaine

i have also booked my dinner at DC but is for Nov05.... hee heee me n my husband quite kiasu so booked it quite early once we got our wedding date. Anyway i quite like the place... Just happen to go there when they have a wedding dinner in e bigger hall n it looks very nice n grand. but i dont really quite like e "flames of love". anybody see that lighting up b4??

katherine_k

Hi Ladies, i intend to have wedding dinner in 05 n considering DG too. Wat shd i ask or look out when I go down? Can someone help me? Thks in advance

blink_blink

Hi Katherine

I think that DG package is very worthwhile. You just have to pay for the tables and nothing else. You'll get free flow of beer, soft drinks and tea. You'll also get a nice heart shape chocolate as wedding favour for your guests. Printing of the cards is also free. Corkage is also wavied for wine or liquor.

There's also a 1 nite stay in Miramar Hotel, if you don't like the hotel. Just let DG know and they'll reimburse $90.

We went for food tasting and both our parents are quite happy with the food. At 1st, we took the smaller hall, now have changed to the bigger hall which i think look much grander.

katherine_k

Hi Tancy, thks a lot
I been 2 DG n i nearly cant find it so i a bit worry abt tat. So i a bit worry if e restaurant easily located 4 guests or not? Am i thinking 2 much?

I tint i only need 18 or 20 tables. Do they have any min tables required? May i know wat package did u take up? Do u need to top up if u change to bigger hall?

blink_blink

Hi Katherine

The invitation card would indicate which lift lobby to take (lobby C or D) depending on which hall you take. So locating the restuarant won't to be difficult. Plus we took DG becos of its location; bus, train, cabs and ample carpark lots.

I only know that the bigger bigger hall requires a minimum of 45 tables. There's no top up if you change to a bigger hall.

hoshi5

Hi elaine,
I had my wedding at DG early Jan this yr... took the bigger ballroom.... if u want to see the pictures, do leave ur email add... the flame of heart is quite ok, but looks nice in photos...

also, i suggest u all dun take the free hotel stay, coz it's only 3 stars and the facilities are not that great....