Dragon Gate Restaurant

daystar

Hi DG BRides,
I have also booked DG for my dinner for Nov 2006, so nice to see all the buzzle gg on here.
does anyone has any photos to show,esp on how to decorate the place? shld DIY or get professional to do it?

Tks a lot!

twinkling

Hi Elaine & d_woof,

Thanks so much! Ya, i emailed them to ask and they say the min cap for the bigger ballroom is 40-45 tables depending on dates. So will be taking the smaller ballroom. will go down n c c =) Glad to know that the food's good. So elaine & d_woof, how does their original deco look like? Do you have a couple of photos to share if convenient? I have been there for their dim sum buffet before but dunno which is the smaller ballroom..

Thanks gals! So nice of you all to be still active here after your wedding =)

twinkling

Oh ya, forgot 1 thing. Hee hee any advice on the things to "bargain" for? [I heard ppl saying the more time to the AD the more bargaining power one has??] Or are they quite strict with their package?

Thanks~

paulnelaine

hi Gladys...
how many tables do u have???cos e ballroom A can only accommodate up to 37 tables... then if u need more will have to use e VIP room which e guest wont be able to see ur march-in through e plasma TV.
unless u confirm sure less than that then is okie

xiaozhu

Hi cynfei,
I had my banquet dinner at DG ... 63 tables in total.
The only problem with the plasma TV is the one in the VIP Room.
It was not functioning well. Our colleagues complaint that they could not see us.
However, they stood at the doorway to welcome us for our march-in.
No guests complaint abt the plasma TV at the hall.

twinkling

Hi elaine!

We are planning to have about 35 tables so should be ok. Does DG hire a cab etc to bring you to the hotel after the dinner? Is it tiring?

Thanks gal!

paulnelaine

hi gladys...
i dont thk they got such service... I thought e bridal car should send u there?? anyway I didnt use e DG hotel stay that immediate night... cos is valid for 3months so I went to book a night stay during christmas eve

twinkling

Hi elaine!

I c i c. That sounds nice.
Oh, it's been wat i wanna do for ages.. to tour europe.. How long was your tour? Free n easy or package? I'm sure it was very romantic...

paulnelaine

hi Gladys,
i was there for 12days.. with tour group. went to switzerland for ard 5nights then paris 2 nites n london 2nites.. switzerland very nice n beautiful, paris e evening cruise quite nice, london is more or less like singapore.

twinkling

I was at DG for their dim sum buffet and so lucky, margaret was there at the door! So asked her about the small ballroom and she was very kind to let us take a "tour" of the room. I was so attracted by the marlion view, but too bad they can't allow us to hold anything outdoor. On the whole i'm quite pleased with what i see except the march in is a bit unusual but perhaps it's good to march in from 2 different directions for the 2 march ins. only 2 tables were blocked when they had 34 tables there. Don't know about the quality of the plasma tv though. Hee though pleased but yet to sign up cos' still haven't get a date yet. =)

paulnelaine

hi Gladys...
thk e plasma tv shld be ok... cos no complain so far.. butif u r going to show slide show u will expect a few of e tables (those adjacent to e stage) wont be able to view anything...
but no worries la... over all e place, price, location n food is consider very good for restaurant

twinkling

hi elaine!

thanks heehee, forgot abt the slideshow. yup the menu looks good for the pricing and the place's very nice too.. (still like that open area beside the smaller ballroom v v much -- if only can have open air live band.. oops i'm dreaming, she said can't hold anything there..) Margaret is very helpful too. Good good! =) muz settle the date 1st but since we r planning 07 3rd or 4thQtr may have to wait for the tong shu to be out next yr.. heehee told my FH that we can give London a miss and go Switzerland and france, actually if time (and money heehee) allow, i would like to go venice too..

Dear brides,
Do you know of the manager named ERIC ? Cos he is the manager in charge on my AD on 26th Dec.

Any comment abt his attitude / services ?

Elaine,
Oh is it? U had used his service before ? I am going to DG tomorrow for final testing of laptop, songs and march in... hope to see him and discuss the details with him. My AD is on next monday..

paulnelaine

hi....
my coordinator is margaret but i have seen this guy b4.... looks quite alrite...
nv talk to him b4... but dont worry la.... overalll dragongate is quite experience is wedding banquet.

Relax urself n have a wonderful wedding

Hi elaine,
Finally my AD is over le... hee hee
Yap, Eric is quite a good wan... On my AD, i saw Tony, Eric and Margaret... overall, was very successful and our guest were happy with the food too.

Hi Gladys

The songs i used for march in are :
1st march in- Perfect Moment
1st dish - Allegrato by THE BOND
2nd march in - I finally found some

As for deco,
I used rose petals on both my recept table, on the round tables, were 4 red tealight candles, lightup, and i put my album and a pair of wedding bear.

As for recept table, were my guest books, rose petals, ang bow box.

I also put candles on every guest tables, DG provide clear tealight candles, but you need to request for it.

twinkling

Hi Jenn,

Thanks! Oh i didn't know DG provides tealight candles, that's good =)

I haven't heard the 1st 2 songs (or maybe heard but didn't know their name) but i love the last one, it's so loving =)

Hi Gladys,
U are welcome

I also didnt know till that day too. The manager in charge is ERIC, and he is very good, can fulfill and act fast to your request.

Do you need me to email you the 1st 2 songs, the music used for 1st dish - Allegrato by THE BOND , is very nice... very techno and unique.
If you want, just give me your email address and i will forward to you..

woof

me back here again.....heard fm my colleague tat they r doing a minor renovation again...izzit true?
my colleague is oso gng to hold her wedding there......so any updates?

d woof
Me not so sure that DG is undergoing renovation.
BTW when is ur colleague going to hold her wedding? Maybe you can ask her to call Margaret to ask abt the renovation.

twinkling

Hi Jenn,

Yup, got them. Thanks! Planning to be in 3rd or 4th Qtr of 07 so it's still a long long way to go. Quite keen on DG especially after hearing so much good reviews from u gals =)

Are you going for your honeymoon soon?

Hi D woof,
Oh, now till nov still quite long time... the renovation shld be done already... perharps her wedding dinner will be in the new dragon gate restaurant... hee hee

You gals, know of the keychain wich i had selected for my tables. On my AD, i closed 3 tables last min due to some ppl "flying kite". Then the 3 tables keychain were also taken by my other guest. I couldnt find out who was the culprit. So quite angry on my AD when i was settling my bills.

Hi gladys
Hope you like the songs which i used for my march in. Now is year 2006, so if you planned for 3rd or 4th qtr 07, it is abt time to place an deposit with DG if ur date is gotta to be quite hot.

If u sill hv more enquiries, just hope on this thread, me and other DG bride will be glad to answer...

twinkling

Hi Jenn,

So DG did not collect back the keychains after u told them to cancel the extra tables? Hope u r not angry now since it's over.

How many extra tables do they allow?

Thanks for the songs i like the perfect moment too. sounds very nice. hee we haven't consulted the masters for auspicious dates yet..

Gladys
No, DG did not collect back the keychains... so the guest just took it... Wondering who are the "thieves"...

Since it is over, i am not angry over it lah. After all, was my AD, supposed to be a happy day.

I also like the song " Perfect Moment", the beginning music is long enough for ur march in and the song itself is very meaningful. I had my 1st march in with my daddy .

Next wed, going back to DG to eat again for the 3 tables which we had already paid for. Hard to get 30 ppl meh.... We only ask those close friends who gave AP but didnt turn up wan.

woof

hey Jenn,
u cant clear the 3 tables each at a time..all muz be at one shot......
izzit applicable for CNY..if yes, u can go there for reunion dinner...haha

d woof,
Yup, must clear 3 tables at one shot
No lah, the 3 tables hv to eat with some conditions , ONLY
1) Mon to Thurs
2) Not applicable to CNY eve,CNY

As my dad worked in night shift, he is off only on either fri or sat, hence, he cant join me for the dinner. Mum also dun want to come. Hence i only invited some close colleauges for 1 table, the other 2 tables are all my HB's frenz and relatives.

woof

hello Jenn,
wa this type of condition hor but den they r still charging the weekend price....anyway at least still can get to clear the spare tables not like hotel....

so this time round hope tat u can get to enjoy the food....anyway i guess if they serve less tables the food will be BETA...

d woof
Ya, this kind of condition hard to fulfill, right ? So it is also quite tough for us to gather 30 ppl to go to eat together ....Haiz.

Anyway, me going back to DG on next wed, so far , only can get 25 ppl.

I had went once for food tasting. On my AD, only managed to eat the 1st and 2nd dish... hungry throughout the luncheon... so now must eat full full again.. hee hee

Hopefully the food can be better than on AD, cos only 3 tables... hee hee

twinkling

Hi Jenn,

Initially i still thought your 3 tables were your "on hold" tables. Well.. At least now you have 25 people, about 8 person per table shd be nice. In case there's too much food, you all can leave out the rice/noodles =)

Gladys
No lah, the 3 tables were my "minimum to be fill" tables, cos i guarantee to open 30 tables which come with a HEART OF FLAME FREE, but in the end i only manage to open 27 tables, so the 3 tables hv to be paid... and now go back to eat lor..

Ya, i will leave out the ee fu noodles... but the dessert is nice - Haisma, hee hee, so must eat, good for skin lei.

d woof

Me going to eat in DG later le.... now very hungry, must eat till full full, to pay back the hungry i suffered on my AD, ha ha ha

Hi Gladys,

Happy Lunar New year to you too, so how is your CNY ? Busy collecting AP... me giving out AP le, so siong !

<font color="0000ff">Ladies, can i asked one question : -
When u do settlement , did TOny or any manager request that u give some $$ as tips to reward the restaurant staff? </font>

gigi

Hi Jenn(jendome),

y give $$ to reward the restaurant staff? U mean the manager requested for it? Did u commit?

levynn

hi...

tony, the manager, did actually ask us if we wanted to give tips or not. i dunno abt how other restaurants did it... maybe it's normal, maybe not. but we didn't give. coz the supervisor who is serving us at the red table, i think she lost her grip on a shark's fin bowl n it dropped n broke right in front of my sis-in-law. though i understand it's an accident, but my MIL n father were not very happy...

limjonana

I just had my wedding dinner at DG in Jan. Was very happpy with their service and rec'd no complaints from the guests.

After settling the payment, did give the manager and supervisor an ang bao each and the others a common one. Don't think it's compulsory to give one but I guess it's a gesture of appreciation for their help.

The manager, Eric did not ask for any ang bao... in fact, I was so busy and tired tt we left without giving any and when we realised the following day, quickly went back to give them the ang baos.

Gigi,
Ya, i give $80 as AP, i gave partially was bacause of the help that Eric and Magaret had helped me. But on my AD, that TOny did nothing.. and i was quite surprised that he request from me.

levynn ,
Oh dear... no wonder you didnt give any AP, anyway, dun give is right cos they make the mistake.

BTW, that day, u are very pretty ya. I saw u just outside the ballroom but u are busy chatting with ur guest.
A mei mei bride, can share ur AD fotos?

levynn ,
Oh dear... no wonder you didnt give any AP, anyway, dun give is right cos they make the mistake.

BTW, that day, u are very pretty ya. I saw u just outside the ballroom but u are busy chatting with ur guest.
A mei mei bride, can share ur AD fotos?

Hi Joanna
Glad that ur AD went smoothly,
To conclude, i think ERIC is quite a nice manager too and he can really help out, but not TONY.

gigi

this is the 1st first i heard that restaurant managers demanded for ang baos! My wedding was held last nov at 88R, both the managers there had done a gd jod on my wedding day. But they never request for tips when we were doing the settlement.