DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

Hey Leeds,

My fiance got me an oval diamond cause I have some rounds from my mom already. Plus, I feel that Oval diamonds are really beautiful. Been addicted to it eversince I saw a Harry Winston's Oval on one of THE BACHELOR show. It depends on indvidual's taste lar when it comes to things like diamonds.
There are lots and lots of fancy shapes in the market other than round. Most pple go for round cause itz the classic.
However, I think it is more important that you find something u really like esp. when it comes to an e-ring. (Cause u have it to wear it for a long time lor)

What is the shape of your e-ring's diamond?

Thanks for your advice. I will try to scout for a good Chinese tailor in town.

Touraco,

I dun have a pic of my cheongsam. sorrie.

Hi gals:

Wonder if u gals stil ard..
Currently sourcing for wedding bands and e-ring, so wld need all ur advice from time to time..

BTW, pls enlighten me:
1) wats an eternity ring?

Also, sousa, teatree and canny:
Can share ur pix of ring, dress and AD?

Thx so much gals..
Mi ROM in dec..
Panickin now..

hi sashamama,

think u still hv quite alot of time.. no need to panic ok?

eternity ring is a band with a whole row of diamonds... either on the entire band, or just on half or 3/4 of the band.

Hi oraia:

Thanks for ur advice..
That's a nice wedding band for gals!

Mi gonna start teachin in jul, think no time to prepare much from then on..

Excited also la.. Hehe..

Have i chatted with u in other threads before? Your nick looks familiar.. Or it's bcos me read all the postings in this thread.. =P

Mind describing ur rings?

hi sashamama,

yup... the eternity band is quite popularly used as a wedding band.

orh... i see.. but u'll still hv ur weekends mah...
and evenings after classes...
yup, don't we go to the dec 04 thread as well? we've "met" each other there.

erm... my rings? plain platinium bands fr tiff. no diamonds.
it's called the milgrain. so i think if u chk on tiff's website u can find it.

Oraia:

Oic.. Tiff rings are very classic.. Mi & FH have seen.. We like a little design, not too plain nor fanciful, currently like the Goldheart platinum range, abt $1600 a pair.. Dunno reasonably priced or not..
Read in this thread abt fairy's inc custom made rings with good service, so will go check that out..

Thanks for helping & sharing! BTW, dun see u much in the dec 04 thread liao le.. I quite active there nowadays.. =)

hi sashamama,

heee... i think 1.6K a pair is pretty reasonable for platinium

yes yes... do check out fairy's inc.. they are really good.
if you are planning to custom make ur ring and have a lengthy discussion, do make an appt.

Oraia:

Thanks!!! I bring FH go see see look look first, if really wanna do there, will make appt..
Heard they very busy, so will go on weekday.. =)

Where is the location of fairy's inc?
There is any shop called Flower something located at Ngee Ann City,is the jewelleries there good and reasonable??

hayashi,

i've been to flower once to check out the price of a round brilliant diamond ring and felt that the mark-up was quite high.

i wanna have wedding band of platinum diamond
any suggestion.. where can i get for best price & quality..good design also?
Tiff's so ex & too plain..

Zhane,

I got my fiance's platinum wedding band from Goldheart last Dec. I think it belongs to the Sainte Pure series. I recalled that the px is preety reasonable for platinum bands. Maybe u can chck it out. Hope this helps.

hi canny!

how? have u decided what u are gg to do with ur cheongsam?

are u gg to pin it for ur PS and then go shanghai for alteration?

canny,

why must go all the way to shanghai and do the alteration,can't u do it in singapore meh??
or there isn't any seamstress that do alteration of cheongsam?
I am curious to know.
90765.gif

Hayashi,
I dun live in SG lar.
The next time I will be bac to SG is for my wedding in Dec.

Oraia,
Most prob. will do the pin then go to Shanghai in Dec for the alteration. I really cannot trust the Chinese tailors here. Hmmm... have to say that some of them are preety sketchy.
How are things going? Been busy?

Hayashi,

I am I am. Are you?! Hehehee... "the rest of the gang" has been preety active at the Indo Brides Thread. U shld come visit us there.

hayashi hakida,

try the shop just next to it, larry's. je taime might be a good bet too

by the way. are you indo too?

canny, really cannot find a good tailor there ah? have you scoured chinatown for one?

hi canny,

ya...i suppose if you are flying back enroute shanghai then it's prob a better idea to get them to alter it for you... safer lah.

i've been ok.... a little busy fr time to time. how about u? still jet setting ard? heehee.

to add to teatree's recommendation of je t'aime, i will be getting my pieces from there. prices are reasonable and the designs are well, some more tai-tai-ish but imho better than those jewellery chains

Teatree,

Yeah. Tried Chinatown... but the tailors look sketchy.

Oraia,
Have not been doing much flying lately which is really good. Work is preety busy as we are having our Quaterly Business Review for the next 2 weeks.
BTW... did u engrave anything on ur wedding bands?

canny,

i see... well, in that case, just be careful not to show the pinned sides of your cheong sum when taking photos

canny,

sadly, no.... the more i look, the more i want. hehehe... how about you? over there, jewellery shops are aplenty right?

err.. i did walk past flowers yesterday and saw a beautiful oval cut diamond ring! see what i mean? as long as it's diamond, i'll say it's beautiful. anyway, give me an opinion, that oval i saw was 0.73 ct, G, vvs2 and it's selling for S$9100. do you think it's a good buy?

Hi pheb, you getting your wedding bands from je'taime? Can share what designs? remember to share some pics if you have.

Teatree, errr seems a bit on the high side for a G colour leh. My sis just got a round 0.77, F, for less than $8k, but from a wholesaler recommended by a friend lor. Already started looking out for nice upgrades eh??

teatree,

i saw one at leehwa,0.73ct D selling at 8000+,it's destinee series.More worth it rite??
is je'taime prices and standard comparable to leehwa,aspial???

My boss has a friend who is the boss of Diamond Industries,may get him to help me look out for better grades diamond.HEE!!HEE!!

leeds,

hahahaha... no lah, not really looking yet. it just happened the price tag was displayed prominently. you know how those jewellery shops are always very good at hiding the price tags right? it's, like, right under my nose but the important infos like carat, color, clarity and most importantly price are never showing.

where did you sis get her diamond from?

hayashi hakida,

destinee diamonds are so expensive! well, flower is even more expensive. HA!

are you getting your diamonds from that person? may i have the contact if you're satisfied with your purchase?

teatree,
i think i will just ask that persons if i get to see him in my office again.I think not very nice to have the persons contact number,i barely know him myself.Unless,he doesn't mind to give his contacts.I can just let him know that i have friends whom are interested in diamonds.

So is je'tamie prices more expensive than leehwa??

Teatree,

The oval diamond's px sounds preety reasonable. However, have u chck on the cut stats? Heard from my fiance that the cut stats is as impt as color and clarity. Cause if a diamond is cut properly it will show more brillance and look somehow whiter than it really is. Hehhee...

Me... have been trying hard not to go into these shops lately.
But I do window shop once in a while. Itz nice to look even when u dun buy.

me not getting my bands from je t'aime...prob fr cartier...for je t'aime we're most prob getting the earrings...not too sure abt the tennis bracelet yet...i like the idea of a solitaire pendant but think pil favour something grander

jus to give you an idea...i was quoted for one tennis bracelet..ctw 1.853 for 39 diamonds (ave 4.75 pointer) at 5k. my mil tried on one at lee hwa yesterday 3.61 for 58 diamonds (ave 6 pointer) for 6.5k up (this is after 20% discount)

anyway, my pil jus bot a pendant for my sil at lee hwa-.74 brilliant round, d colour, vvs2, v gd polish, gd symmetry for 6.5k. my jeweller said mebbe got fish eye, but i looked under the microscope and din see any...so i think it's quite a gd buy.

i'm surprised that destinee diamonds are going for that price. should be a lot more steep...

hi canny

think we're going for trinity...which a lot of pple are discouraging e.g. his mil ("so old fashioned" well it's a classic! been around since her time so...), my jeweller (can make cheaper copies...erm)...

anyway...jus spoken to my jeweller...she said ideal depth and table size is 58-60%...she also told me that had she known abt our intentions to get a 70+ pointer, she could've gotten it for abt 5.8k...said something like there's a lot in the mkt now...hth

Pheb,
Ohohoh... which jeweller are u going to? Will he be able to make copies that look the same? The trinity design is nice... veri classic.

canny

my jeweller actually works in jt...she's...how to say...she's the one who selects the diamonds from wholesalers...more of a family fren who offers expert advice on diamonds....

honestly, i dun dare to make copies of wat i like cos i know most of the time i will be disappointed...so i'd rather pay to get what i have seen and like... so to answer you, i dunno if the copies will be identical (most prob not cos can't make the cartier engraving) but if you're looking for similar design...i believe any good jeweller should be able to reproduce the three ring concept

but like what my jeweller adviced me, she highly recommends buying whatever you like at the stores instead of trying to replicate a design. there is a high risk that the copy may not turn out well...and the cost may be higher. so for me, i'm asking her to source loose diamonds for me...and not so much as creating/recreating designs that i like

Pheb,

True. Itz like a gamble trying to copy designs unless, the jeweler had past exp. doing the same design u like. U getting an e-ring?! HEheee.... care to share wat u looking for?

Hi Pheb:

May i ask how much do the Cartier bands cost you?
Looking for wedding bands too..

BTW, is e-ring engagement ring?

91505.gif

hayashi hakida,

yup yup... some more i probably would want to only browse and not buy! heee..

the last time i'm at je taime, i found out that i can bargain with them. unlike lee hwa where you have to pay whatever their price tag says. have not done futher price comparison so i wouldn't know.

canny,

i didn't go and check the stone's specs cos i had no intention of buying. frankly speaking the people at flower are quite stuck up.

yeah, heard from not only one person about lee hwa's diamonds dropping off. scary hor?

pheb,

was your sil's round brilliant pendant from the destinee series? sounds pretty reasonable to me.

teatree is right. je t'aime still can bargain one...more "traditional" not like lee hwa where the staff can only do this much

my sil's one is not fr destinee. destinee of this size would easily be above 10 k!

canny...i'm not into elaborate designs...jus a plain solitaire...but prob wearing on right hand cos not possible to wear with trinity...

sashamama...the trinity bands come in different thickness and with/out diamonds...prices start fr $1.3k each

I'm new to this thread.Me and my FH are searching for a nice e-ring and our budget is about 3K. Can anyone give me any advice on how many pointers I can get if I want a E colour and VS2 diamond?
Seems that Larry and je t'aime are very popular company for buying diamonds from. I'm wondering what's their prices like.

Btw, there's lotsa of international cert eg. AGS, GIA, HRD and IGI. I'm wondering if anybody has heard of IGI and which cert is the most "professional" or "reliable"?
I'm quite confused and with all these different certs.

Hi room,

Just wanna ask if all diamonds come with certs? If so, can I safely say that if a diamond does not come with one, it is of cheap quality?

I am asking this cos my lady boss gave me a diamond ring for my birthday. It is huge and the box looks expensive but there is no cert attached. I don't feel right accepting it if it is too expensive. I tried declining the gift but she said money is not an issue, not to worry ... Feel very bad.

Can anybody help me please?
I have a quote from a jewel shop for a round brilliant with GIA cert. All are with ex polish and ex/vg symmetary.
0.53 EVS2 SGD3600
0.53 FVS2 SGD3300
0.58 DVS1 SGD3850

May I know which is more worth the value? Is it true that F colour does not make any different from D colour?
I am in such dilemma.

lynolyn

do you have the other details from the GIA cert? e.g. table, depth, girdle, polish, symmetry, fluorescense. should look at all these in relation to the price.

thru my own research, ideal depth is btwn 58-60%, table size, 53-57%, for ideal diamonds, polish and symmetry should be very good, if not excellent. girdle shouldn't be too thick or too thin, but for solitaire ring, the girdle can't be thin cos may chip off easily. fluroresence in good colour diamonds is not good, but will enhance colour for colours I and above.

d colour is very very white, of cos it will make a difference i believe even to an untrained eye. any jeweller should be able to advice you that as your rock gets bigger, the colour will become more apparent, unless you deliberately prefer a coloured stone.

hope this helps...but you should do your own research...sorry i can't advice on the price cos i've not been looking at 50 pointers.

hi lynoiyn

0.58 DVS1 wit GIA cert at SGD3850,i think it really a good price,where u bought? i might be getin one more for myself..can e mail me at [email protected]

as wat i know was, a aug 2000 ,0.51 DVVS1 ,culet none,polish good,symmetry good,fluorescence faint,characteristics pinpoint,natural wit GIA cert.normal casing already cost $6k plus (after a 20% discount at jewel shop)..

hope the info can help....