DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

wendylee

Seeking sincere advises and views on my findings of diamond yesterday.

I been to one of the neighbourhood whereby they have lotsa diamond jewellery shops around, all selling cheap cheap diamonds.

I popped into one of the shops and browsed through their collections and of course when I did asked about the grading and color, 'they are all commerical grading...' then I was showed a 0.38ct with G color, VS1 and comes with a GIA certificate costing around $1300 (w/o settings).

Can I ask what are the things I have to look out before I buy this diamond? Was told that GIA certificates' diamonds come in 'loose'/without settings as customers prefer it to be loose so that they can have a better view/inspection of the diamond.

And can I trust that shop with the quality of the diamond just that it comes with a GIA certificate? Is the price reasonably cheap or xpensive for this piece of diamond of the above description and why those high-end jewellery dont sell at this price. Any difference buying a GIA certification at any jewellery shops be it branded or normal shops?

I just find that the size, color oki and it comes with GIA certification and will consider... so need advises from all diamonds lovers!

Thank you...

muffin_bear

hey, i got a vvs1 0.48 , tink 1 grade better than G, for 2.3k after massive discount as we know the wholesaler.. so i tink is possible to get the one u mentioned at 1.3K, coz usually the make-up is very high..

wendylee

<font color="aa00aa">MUFFIN_BEAR</font>
Hi, but isit worth getting a VS1 with G color of 0.38ct for $1.3K? Or is like you can get better grade/color with this amount? (have thoughts that the grading/color very common...) So its still SAFE to get from anywhere as long as it has GIA certification?

clueless2705

hi wendy,

for your reference, i got a smaller stone than yours 0.33ct, D color (Colorless, VVS1, with GIA cert and setting at $1.5k..

i heard from those top-end shops that some GIA cert on give min info, so may not be accurate as well... in any case, for me, i would prefer that my stones come with international certs..

wendylee

<font color="aa00aa">YAN</font>
WOW... yours then better bargain wor... what I can recall is stated in the cert is brilliant cut and cut: good.. then duno what: good, florscent: none... then duno liao. Of course this wont be like those Asprial GIA selling those hearts on fire ranges lah... that one I've seen is really with losta info on the certificate.

Yours is a D color with VVS range wor... so I think yours better bargain. Mine just G color with VS range... so think might not look shinner right?

My that shop is not those high-end shops lor... those found in neighbourhood areas with losta jewellery shops... HOW?

It might be my 1st diamond so wana get it a good bargain or better assurance. But after setting its around $1450.

So any advise on settings as well? All the shops' white gold setting the same standard? I've been to DI and find their white gold setting feel like sterling silver wor.

clueless2705

your shop is the "T" shop izzit??
mine is also have neighbourhood shop but has outlets in shopping centres... i cant remember the details on my cert too...

what is DI??

my setting is white gold too with 6 claws.. safer for me, cos i very rough one.. scarly knock the stone off the setting..

buttercookies

Hi Wendy, I believe GIA is international certificate. The certificate gives you guarantee on the colour and grade, and tells you the cutting of the diamond. Diamond should be cut in an ideal proportion in order to reflect the best light. So you may need to understand more on the depth and cutting as describe in the Cert. Sorry unable to tell you more what is the best cutting, cos i don't know. You may want to go to good jewellerer and study a bit. Linking back to your question, it is SAFE to buy with GIA Cert in terms of it can give you assurance on the colour and grade and cutting. However, it doesn't guarantee it is cut in the best or ideal way. (I think..someone correct me if i m wrong)

From what i know, the difference between VS1 and VVS1 (better than VS1) cannot tell from our naked eye. So, buy a VS1 is sufficient, since it is cheaper. I rather pay more for colour upgrade that the clarity. If you are willing to spend, you can consider upgrading the colour. commonly, people buy F or G colour (which they term commercial colour), but of course higher grade D&amp;E is very clear.

Can't comment on the price of $1.3K that you mentioned. Seem like a reasonable price.

wendylee

<font color="aa00aa">YAN</font>
YES... something like that... DI = Diamond Industries.

<font color="aa00aa">BUTTERCOOKIES</font>
THANKS, cos I always assume that commerical color is always G or H and Im buying G only with that it comes with GIA certification... so tot it might be like normal/common and worry that Im only buying those normal commerical grading diamonds at a higher pricing. Bcos I also duno about the cut blablabla... And its not like those Hearts on Fire ranges thats very very sparkling bright so duno should I get anot. So getting better color is better than comparing VS to VVS range lah... looks like I have to raki raki again...

mtmtmt

GIA cert is the most recognised (compared to other certs), but end of the day, it's only a cert that lists out the attributes of the stone- this helps you to make an informed judgement of the stone.

GIA cert does not "claim" the stone is good. No other European or similar cert for that matter, claims such. You do have to pay abit more for the cert, it's like paying money for your child to take a test. Does not mean your child is SMART automatically because he took the test... must decipher the test results yourself.

The only claim the stone is "good" would be from "brands" such as ACA (A Cut Above), Tiffany (sorry to say they are NOT the best stones, and stones are not equivalent to the value you pay for them... but they DO ensure that the stone is of a CERTAIN quality. Except you *may* find a similar quality or even better outside of Tiffany, if you are familar with diamonds) etc.

Brilliant Rose, Gabrielle are simply more no. of facets- very subjective preference and not an indication the stone is "better".

The stone may be loose most of the time because during GIA certification it must be loose for them to gauge properly- you may note that D to F appear the same when set into the ring, the differences in colour is only apparent if the stone is LOOSE, placed FACEDOWN on WHITE PAPER... that's why most jewellers who "look" at a set ring and say, oh that stone is whatever colour is making a guess most fo the time unless they've seen the cert.

Without a cert, I wouldn't trust a jeweller or worse, a sales, who claims, oh this is "E" colour and says you are saving money cos not paying for a GIA cert. They can say anything, how are you as a layman supposed to verify?

Sometimes after they've gotten the stone and the cert, the jeweller sets it "FOC"/ or you ask for FOC setting. Bear in mind FOC setting is sometimes risky- you get what you "pay". Always check your stone periodically, esp. if it snags on your clothing etc, or you may get a nasty surprise (of lost stone).

Singapore retailers have a huge mark-up due to rental, overheads. But everyone globally buys their stones from the same sources at a disclosed price (Rappaport Sheet), so you may want to key in the info you have of the stone in these search engines www.pricescope.com to see how other global retailers are offering price-wise, and use as a bargaining guide. Your limited info as given when keyed in has a wide variance from $820-$1000+ USD depending on the cut proportions (info. which you did not give, can ask to read their GIA cert to find out table/ depth %).

As for whether whatever VS, colour etc is "good"- the most important attribute is cut proportions, which is reflected in the table/ depth % on the GIA cert.

Another point is usage- if you wear often, don't clean regularly (some diamond lovers buy a supersonic cleaner and drop their rings in it every night before bed), it will seriously deteoriate the PERCEPTION of the stone. ie. a D will look like a G with all that daily grime. That's why jewellers polish and polish the stones before presenting to you (and polish yet again after you hand it back to them). If you are going to pay for a high clarity, high colour, good cut stone, then don't shortchange yourself- maintain it well.

End of the day, no matter what grading, what specs, as long as you LIKE that stone and feel an affinity to it- who cares if some other lady comes along and bitchily asks, "eh, what clarity ah? Mine is VVS1." ;)

buttercookies

Hi Wendy, one more thing to add. Some diamonds inside got bubble or crack, THAT really is no good, and should be sold at huge discount! Do take their 'loop' to look, and casual ask them if you see any black spots or whatever. I do not think the Cert will tell you whether got bubble or crack. Again, i really don't feel worth it to pay higher price for better clarity (ie higher than VS1) cos you really can't tell from naked eye. I would go for bigger stone or better colour if i can afford.

wendylee

<font color="aa00aa">MTMTMT</font>
THANKS THANKS and very appreciated for all the valuable facts posted!!!
Will certaintly lookout for all the pointers!

So mayb I should raki around for D/E/F color with VS range... slightly smaller 0.35ct or lesser but 0.30ct above? Seems too big for 0.38ct on me thou'

For the piece of stone mentioned above... it just appear alittle brighter than those off the shelves claiming commerical grading/color lor... but not bright enough...

But those pricing compared to Asprial... are too xpensive as just around 0.35ct alone ie: Hearts on Fire would cost $2K and above.

Bubbles/Crack?!?!?! How to lookout for that? My BF worries is that scare they will 'do' something to it while it takes for setting ie: changing of the diamond... but I assure him that the stone has a 'birth cert' in the stone with certification number. Right?

kitt

MTMTMT
Wow. v impressed with your knowledge! u muz really be diamond lover.

Wendy
i usually dun buy GIA certified diamonds. Think not worth mark up and the cert will not help in resale, but if you buy from places like LeeHwa, think they will buy back from u (at discount of cos) But like MTMTMT said, v hard for laymen like us to verify good stone, esp since all the shops have v strong lights!
Dun think the stone has a 'birth cert' inside. Tat's why they seal the diamond with the cert when they sell u.

But think color more impt than clarity and cut most impt, and if without cert, cannot see the dimensions. There is an optimal cut proportion, but i cnt rem liao. My brother checked out some US wholesalers websites for the optimal proportion when he bot proposal ring. Maybe u cant try too?

ingenue78

hi wendy,
diamonds is never too big!! hehehehe...
basically, i think if u have the budget, shld try to get a bigger diamond. D/E/F belongs to the colourless range...It does not matter whether it's VVS or VS coz yr eye can't tell the difference...
Also, try to get get Diamonds with the "Russian" cut...it's more brilliant...
;-)

wendylee

<font color="aa00aa">INO/CLARE</font>
Im very impressed with all the information on Diamonds! *Wow Wow*

<font color="aa00aa">CLARE</font>
What I meant was the salesguy will use a magnify glass type to look at the stone then tell me the number in the certificate. Mayb a little tag/chip that intacted in the diamond? Oh, now must read what type of cut lioa... *must print out this page to go there for referencing*

After comparing to GH, G color VVS2 0.294ct cost $1400 (with settings) then Asprial, G color VVS1 0.30ct cost $1699 (loose) after disc (UP $2428) but its HRD certification wor. Mine like very 'normal' wor...

<font color="aa00aa">INO</font>
Wei hey hey...~ Scare too big then wear liao not nice... or "bu(4) se(3) de(2)" wear then wasted or some places cant wear... very dangerous... *LOL*

kitt

Hmm, INO, wat's Russian cut?

Wendy,
Meant the table top and depth proportions when i say cut. Otherwise, sometimes some pp refer cut as different shapes (ie, round, princess[rectangular]...) Round which is most widely avail and also likely the most brillant for the relative price.

As for size, there is always a tendency to buy bigger and target bigger ... best is buy something u are comfortable and also satisfied with. Spend so much $$ must wear it and not keep it! ;)

For color, i personally dun go below G (or at most H, which is wat most stores like LeeHwa/Soo Kee offer). D wld be nice, but too much of a premium (at least for me). But if you dun go for GIA cert, then can probably get nicer color.

If you have any fren that has a nice diamond, can get her to wear it and shop with you. Then you can at least see the color discrepancies (and even shine) when you are at those neighbourhood jewellers.

Always try to discount what the sales pp say... altho i've met some pretty nice and honest ones.

Me have not heard of tag identification b4 except for one of Larry's i think that has something inscribed inside the stone.

wendylee

<font color="aa00aa">CLARE</font>
Ya lor ya lor...! Thats what im refering to... they have something inscribed inside the stone only using the magnifying glass then can see although I neva read myself.. but the guy was actually reading the same numbers out when I was looking at the cert same time. Think need to do more researc again...

ingenue78

hi clare,
russian cut means the the diamond is cut in Russia. They are reputed to be one of the best cutters in the world...enhances the brilliancy of diamonds. Sometimes a GIA certified dia may be cheaper than the rest becoz they may be of an inferior cut (indian cut...i think...can't remember liao)

there's a lot of tok of looking at the girth, depth of the dia...me also dun noe much lah...
;-P

hi wendy,
aiyo...i tell u...if u dun get a reasonable-sized diamond...u r gonna to regret...hehehhe! i tot 0.5 carat is big...until i saw my fren's diamond...it doesn't look tat big afterall...
me made a mistake of opting for a 0.25 carat, D colour, VVS1...regretting greatly now...
am pestering my FH to buy me a much bigger dia(at least 0.5 carat).

The only adv of a smaller-sized dia is that u can wear it out and no one will say that u are flashy wif yr jewellery...
but who cares man! the bigger the betta!!! (although it may be more prone to robbers...) ;-P

oh one more thing...the bigger the dia...the nicer it is...no one will say that it doesn't look nice wor...i think pple will be more envious of u ...

but then again...it depends on yr budget lah...most imptly, u have to see yr priority...big dia can come later...while things like reno/house/wedding takes first priority. ;-)

wendylee

<font color="aa00aa">INO</font>
Really ah.. mmm, in that case... then must humtump him liao. KEKE! But I think between 0.30-0.35 is reasonably nice liao.
Ya, after comparing.. so should I ask the salesguy where is the diamond cutted? Will he know? As the certificate wont show/indicate rite?

buttercookies

Hi Wendy, I believe most shops do not have an 'inscript' inside the diamond, except for Larry's Lazzare diamond. Hence, when you get the CIA cert, it does not have a reference number to link back to the diamond itself. however, it is supposed to be for that diamond. That's why people buy from more reputable shop, like Lee Hwa, Soo Kee, Larry, etc to have a better assurance that they wil not cheat.

I do agree to above postings that bigger size better, rather than clarity. however, it depends the size of your finger too. if too small, cannot take too big. the diamond will stand out too much. I also agree that i won't go lower than G colour. in fact, will be probably go for at least F.

Happy Shopping

wendylee

I duno wor... from wat I see ystd, the salesguy use the magnifying glass to read the diamond' with the numbers in the certificate leh. @_@"

Btw... how to see like how many % of the depth or 'tbl'? Isit the highest the better? Saw the webby... duno how to see...!

buttercookies

Oh..maybe other diamonds also have inscrption. Ask them to teach you how to see. can see one. at least that way not cheated.

i don't know much about the cutting.

gracian

dear all

i think thios is a very interesting topic. lots of info can be learn from here.

i think the size/appearance of the set diamond depends on the setting used. for example, Sook Kee has a very nice 3 claw setting that "magnify" the stone.

i think a cert, whether GIA or HRD etc(any other types of certs?), is a good refernece to the cut, clarity, colour of the diamond. think it will be more safer to go for a stone with it's cert number engraved. won't get cheated and easily to sell should the need arise.

i believe that for any types of jewellery, may it be diamonds, pearls, precious stones, you must be able to trust your jeweller.

another cost issue is that high-end shops usually factor in their advertising costs into the retail price, so it maybe more worthy to purchase from neighbour shops.

it is quite worth the money to purchase diamonds with certs from certain shops, like Taka.

my mum bought me a 0.56ct G grade VS1 ring as a wedding gift for $3.2k. agree that it may not be the best grade but i can't tell the difference when compare with a E grade VS1 at Tian Poh. as my jeweller advise, look at the finish cut and polish, either one must be very good or excellent. also look at the overall finish grade.

happy shopping!

gracian

another thing... anyone knows if in-house certs engrave certs numbers on diamonds. know that certain shops, Sook Kee, offers in-house certs.

wendylee

<font color="aa00aa">GRACIAN</font>
Of course! Im the one started the thread ma... *joking* KEKE~~

Yeap... learnt alot from all the xperienced diamonds lovers!!! I dun think in-house certs engraved their cert numbers cos they are mainly 'commerical' grading. And most of the shops have in-house certs.

Btw, I duno how to see the cutting leh... like the depth.. tbl... and the size, height blablablabla...

Thanks too!

kitt

wendy
me no expert with the proportions but probably ideal cut abt table: 51 - 62% (% of diameter), depth: 59 - 63%. have heard b4 tat table shd not b bigger than 70%. the idea is that it shd not be too wide or too deep in order to relect most light. The cut will probably be irrelevant if u going for in-hse cert cos i really doubt they can tell you so much details

Setting can give illusion of differing sizes. To me, the more claws the bigger it looks.

Inno
Thanks. can understand why u'll want to ask FH to upgrade. Heh heh.. if i have choice, i also want 0.5 or more. For me, my FH surprised me with the ring... so got surprise cnt choose ring lor. But i'm quite happy with the shine ;) Yah, balance budget v impt. So much to spend on ... think getting married in Singapore too expensive!

mtmtmt

Erm, cracks, impurities etc can be seen on the LOUPE but you need some skill, may be hard for layman to focus. It SHOULD be drawn on some GIA certs (some are not drawn cos the cert is smaller version) but AT VERY LEAST definitely mentioned (feathers etc) in the description. Anything significant on the TABLE is not preferred cos it would be more obvious than say on the GIRDLE.

Birth cert... you mean the GIA CODE ie. the code on your GIA cert is laser-inscribed on the stone, you can see through the loupe to verify they gave you the right cert for the right stone... sometimes mix-ups may happen.

In-house grading is the normal receipt where they say "eye-clean" etc, not recognised other than in-house... but if it doesn't matter to you, then no issue lah.

GIA cert difference is the assured testing method... in-house is like school own paper, GIA like GCE paper.
1. Put the smart kid through both tests, he gets good results in both... but GCE more recognised.
2. Put a stupid kid through both, his poor results will be shown no matter which test (again my warning that just cos stupid kid goes through GCE doesn't automatically mean he is smart).
* note: smart and stupid have no non-politically right implications in this case!

GIA cert will have DETAIL INFO. of cut proportions eg. table/ depth %, culet, girdle etc... all these info. are NOT written on in-house cert, and impossible for you as layman to figure out by looking at a stone cos the info. derived from measuring devices. This info. lets you know about the cut proportion (cut proportion affects light return/ brilliance of the stone).

Setting is an interesting topic
Some jewellers claim more claws makes the stone appear bigger because of mass, some claim it makes the stone appear less cos light blockage from the claws.

Other than claws, there are the "old-fashioned" (perceived lah) bezel (again some claim it looks bigger), or illusion setting (lagi illusion bigger hahah).

White gold/ platimum generally makes white stone whiter... but very very yellow stones in that will show up as more yellow (contrast). If yellow gold, can afford to be more lax about colour grade ;)

Size... whatever makes you happy lah. But, less than 0.5 ct perhaps some have advised not to go for Gabrielle, Brilliant Rose cos the difference is less apparent on a stone that size. Similarly, clarity, colour is more obvious when you go up much bigger... so your IF (internally flawless) 0.2 ct... well, on your hand/ worn, no one can see that it is IF. But, maybe you prefer IF for the symbolism (like flawless love or something like that

muffin_bear

opps, i mean offer.. my bf got conned once, bot a pair of diamond studs for 900+, when his uncle (diamond expert) saw it he said only worth 100+, when he let me see with some special magnifying glass, there is a big crack!! so if buy from small shop better get cert unless u really know how to scrutinize.....

fairymoss

Wendy, u still hunting for your diamond ah? (btw, i'm mimosa) haven't got it yet? if u like the diamond in DI, why not u buy the loose diamond, then get it set at other shops which the white gold won't look like silver?

I'm back to this thread again, coz me looking for si dian jin, also haven't buy yet. I also went to neigbourhood shop and selected a few pieces of the jewellery for the si dian jin, but haven't decided yet. the design a bit errr...not too new, but the high end shop in taka is selling so ex, for just a G color diamond. I think for a solitaire ring, it pays to get a D or E color if it's gonna be big. Otherwise can really tell with naked eye if the color is no good. it will be less sparkling, and looks 'dead', like a piece of crystal or got a 'glassy' feel. hmmm..what u think?

mochamel

HI all

Lee hwa is now having 32% off their diamond range. Seems like a good price. And most (especially >0.5ct) all come with GIA certs.
Most of the stones are F/G colour, and vvs2/vsi clarity. But i will say they are very hard-selling types.

Plus all shops regardless brand have so many white spotlights, frankly any stone will also shine like mad.

So happy raki. And importantly is you like the stone that you ahve chosen against your budget.
As setting-wise can be changed.

HI MTMTMT,
please advise me is there any differences between Heart&amp;Arrows and normal brilliant round cut?
I am raki for mine now. And i am stuck bet the
price difference ~$1k more for a H&amp;A stone (but color &amp; clarity being the same for both) -> is it worth paying more for the H&amp;A? and according to some website, they claimed that H&amp;A looked bigger compared to a normal round same carat stone, true or false?

mtmtmt

Hi Mocha, as far as I know, H&amp;A is,
* superior cut proportion (this increases light return, reduces light leakage, and stones with more fire tend to appear bigger than duller stones of same caratage).
* symmetry (can see the H &amp; A under viewer)
H &amp; A assures that your stone has well-cut proportions, whether you feel it's worth a $1K premium is personal

Also, a non-H&amp;A stone may not be NECESSARILY inferior, just that it's a touch less symmetrical, and/or not under the H&amp;A BRANDING. Depends on the stone... could be a really poor stone, or, could be an almost H&amp;A stone, or, could be a "H&amp;A" stone that was not put under that brand.
* Check the cheaper stone proportions (should have GIA cert right? Compare both stones' depth &amp; table, if the cheaper stone is very close to the H&amp;A stone, by all means, save the $1K difference). If not from same jeweller just copy down the info. to compare.
* If from same jeweller, place both stones side by side too... if you can't see a REAL difference with your own eyes, forget the more expensive ;) your peers won't be able to tell either. Can put the $1K to a bigger ct or a nicer setting so on. Unless you would like to inform your friends that yours is a H&amp;A
Some diamond lovers who own a personal loupe enjoy admiring the H&amp;A outline of their stones though

-------------

Regarding colour: light return is a separate issue from colour... a D colour stone has as much chance of being "dead" compared to a G colour stone if CUT PROPORTIONS are not ideal. Thus, a G colour with great cut proportions will scintillate more than a D colour with poor cut proportions. UNLESS, you are talking about VERY wide variance... say, a white diamond compared to a black diamond.
Comparing a D and a G with SIMILAR cut proportions, they should both shine similarly, except... one is whiter the other less white- a colour perception.
Some people have a preference for "low" colour grades simply because they find the Ds too white (cold, or too perfect like Cubic Zirconias ie. CZ) and prefer Gs (warmer).

Digressing onto CZs and lab-real diamonds: Abit of irony, the new super-breed of CZs are deliberately created at warmer colours because a "D"-"IF" (Internally Flawless)-1ct is a dead giveaway that it's a CZ (the real ones at D-IF-1ct cost more than most can afford). They charge higher for warmer CZ haha cos easier to tweak CZ colour than it is to reduce CZ clarity to more believable VS2.
Then there are lab-created diamonds (ie. real! but created in lab not nature. Not the same as CZs which have different composition from all diamonds). Not commercial yet, the problem they face is in growing it to bigger sizes ie. easier for them to grow many tiny stones than 1 big stone. Some speculate that will drop the value of nature-created SMALL diamonds because there's a lab-created REAL diamond alternative at lower price. But that nature-created BIG diamonds will hold their value (hence some speculate should buy BIG diamonds now only haha, not that diamonds have any real holding/ resale value anyway). Some purists are dead against lab-real diamonds as it's not created by nature.

Further digressing on resale value: Do note that your real nature-created diamond CAN shatter/ crack/ be scratched. Do not hit it against hard surface (yes, diamond is the hardest natural substance... but man-made substance maybe not... anyway, even if it IS harder, it's the FORCE at vulnerable point of contact that can shatter the stone). Placing a few diamonds jumbled about in a case will have them scratching each other. Beware, if you buy resale from another person whom you know has worn the stone before... whatever NEW cracks sustained by that wearer will not be reflected in the GIA cert when she bought it new. Some people have had their clarity grade of the stone reduced eg. from IF to VS, because they sustained some damage/ cracks during wear. Anycase, I haven't heard much of people reselling their stones...

Regarding clarity: Clarity is important more in the need for it to be eye-clean, no one wants to be able to see carbon particles with the naked eye. Unless the heavily clouded SI etc type that will affect the light return, otherwise... VS/ VVS/ IF is pretty interchangeable.
Some people must have IF (cos... more the concept of it being flawless), some don't mind SI if it's a carbon bit that's nicely situated at the girdle (can set the diamond such that a prong covers exactly there).

Regarding cut proportions: If you see the sectional diagram of the stone, it affects how light enters and is refracted.
Consumers focus on clarity and colour grades almost solely to make their purchases cos proportion needs more understanding of the numbers- much easier for retailers to draw a chart and tell the consumer to keep to D colour, IF clarity for the "best", ignoring cut proportions (some will just assure you it's "ideal cut, of course" but sometimes that's only just what they say).
Some knowingly buy a shallow (poor cut proportioned) stone cos for the caratage, they get a stone with more TABLE AREA... they sacrifice light return (looks duller) but maybe they prefer it to physically look bigger by virtue of the bigger surface area. Their mentality is instead of getting a small stone and make it seem bigger by having more fire, why not simply get a bigger stone with less fire- different strokes for different people.
Others focus on cut proportion, as long as colour and clarity satisfies a min. standard, priority is placed on cut proportions.
ie. They prefer a F-VS2-ACA or great cut. Instead of a D-IF-mediocre or poor cut (very possible cos to preserve the IF clarity they sometimes have to cut the raw stone to avoid the impurities, or try to save the carat weight by compromising on cut proportion. Since most consumers don't comprehend cut proportions but do understand the clarity or colour grading system, it's easier for retailers to hawk a mediocrely-cut IF than an ideal-cut VS stone).
Or, they prefer a bigger normal round brilliant at bigger caratage instead of a Gabrielle (some don't like the manner in which it flashes light... some described Gabrielle as "more, in tiny flashes", compared to a normal cut which is "less, in big/ dramatic flashes").

No real hard and fast rules, as long as you know all these and come to whichever decision based on your personal preference, good enough.

andreal

Hey ladies,

ahmm do you test and check those wedding band w/ diamonds (both rings also got)??

just curious :p

mtmtmt

Wedding band w/ small inset diamonds, diamonds on a tennis bracelet, smaller diamonds set in a cluster, or some earrings (earrings tend to have lower setting so that you can use the phone, unlike certain high settings of rings, so catch less light anyway and accumulate more grime. Also, hairstyle may hide visibility)- tend to be alot more lax.

As long as eye-clean, near-white, ok cut proportions. Not as obvious as a solitaire engagement ring setting, no need to bother too much.

If anyone asks (and most people won't be rude as to ask specifics), they will only ask about solitaire engagement rings OR significantly large stone rings.

Pendants catch alot of attention, but honestly, most people normally only have enough cash/ desire to blow on one good stone ie. the engagement ring and then upgrade the engagement stone (or add small diamonds to change the setting). Whatever other stones for pendant, eternity band, earrings, tennis bracelet... tend to have less budget/ desire to shop around.

So pendants tend to be overlooked with regards to quality compared to rings. Another reason is, it's easier/ more opportunity for the owner to admire a ring on her finger than a pendant round the neck, if she's a diamond lover

elle

hi could someone here tells me when the sales promoter says the diamond is "GH colour(Or commercial colour)" what does he mean?
I bought a 0.56 carat and price after discount $1700. I've checked using their "so called microscope" and have compared with those diamonds with cert.. doesn't really differ much leh..

But mine doesn't come with cert thats why pretty worried when you gals emphasis on the need to get GIA.

any advise?

wendylee

<font color="aa00aa">FAIRYMOSS</font>
Hi, mmm... now still sourcing around lor... havent really decided yet. Havent been to DI to see loose diamonds for GIA only their in-house setted solitare... so duno. Btw, how's their pricing like?

<font color="aa00aa">MUFFIN_BEAR</font>
Thanks, but I dont like their settings for solitare... and so do Sookee... nevamind, there's still time... will lookout more then decide.

Im very impressived! Either you are a pro... if not then you must be a diamond collector! *LOL* Anyway... I asked liao... instead of a G, 0.38ct and VS1 costing $1250 have found another 2 of F, 0.36ct and VS2/VS1 costing $1100+ and F, 0.34 and VS1 costing $1090. MMmmm, shall I go for a better color than the size?

<font color="aa00aa">ANDREAL</font>
Heyo! My WB oso have 3 princess-cut diamonds. But dun think can check cos they would have been setted liao. But will see properly the setting into my WB and the 'frame' of the diamonds.

chia

I think the inscriptions in the diamond is sort of temporary, will fade as time goes by. That's what i was told by 1 saleguy fm some jewellery shop(either LeeHwa,Sookee or Goldheart)

Think would be better if u buy ready-made diamond ring rather than loose diamond coz u wont know if the jeweller swap ur diamond with another 1 during the process of setting. Or mayb could be scratched during setting?

Another reason why you shd buy a ready-made diamond ring is becoz if in future, u dun like it, u can juz go back to the shop for trade-in(at discounted prices,provided the shop still exisit).
But for loose diamonds, is it possible to do trade-in?

Anyway, i choose color over clarity becoz it's easier to see the color diff via the naked eye rather than the clarity.

wendylee

<font color="aa00aa">CHIA</font>
Hi, for my understanding GIA certification values more than in-house certification. The most worrying part is the 'xchanging' of the loose diamond lor. But oso depends on the jewellery shop lah, what if they closed down... no more shops to go back for trade-in liao lo.

fairymoss

wendylee,

The price quite competitive at DI. loose diamond think not more than 5K for a really good one. If u compare same grade with Tiffany, u would probably faint at the price. i also haven't been there for quite a while, am busy with bridal prep now. maybe when my gowns are in the pipeline, then would go there to see see for si dian jin. but they always having sale hor, so no need to worry having missed the sales. Maybe u can keep me updated when u visit DI.

andreal

thks for the advice, i bery suay ku lar...but really learn alot fr u gerls!!

wendy,
happy serching for the 'one' okie hehe.

wendylee

<font color="ff0000">FAIRYMOSS</font>
Thanks, but isit they mark-up the price liao then gibe you 50% discount? And I think I would pick that F color, VS2 0.36ct... in all included settings would cost about $1280. Cheap?

Btw... isit those retail shops or jewellery sell their settings not less than $180.00?

wendylee

Oh ya... Tues just saw a lady wearing a real big one... very shiny and sparkling... and her claw/settings oso very shiny and new... I think it must be above 0.40++ct and now Im thinking... mayb 0.38 is not that BIG... KEKEKE! But comparing with naked eyes... 0.38ct and 0.36ct doesnt make any difference.

So if you were to choose... G color, 0.38 VS1 cost $1250 OR F color, 0.36 VS2 cost $1100???

ingenue78

hi wendy,
hahahha...see...i told u so! diamond is never too big for women!
If possible, go for 0.45 carat (though they are quite rare)...it's close to 0.5 carat (can't see with naked eyes) and yet it's much cheaper...the jump in px is very great when the diamonds size changes to 0.5 carat...

;-)

wendylee

<font color="ff0000">INO</font>
Hi Hi.. yes yes, was told by the salesman... there's ALOT of diff in price for 0.99ct and 1ct cos of the 0.1ct difference the price jumped very high! Hahaha.. to go for 0.45ct is far impossible within the budget range. *LOL*

Anywhere with setting cost less than $180? Or its usually cost above $180? Btw, its in white gold.

meixue

hi wendy, I would go for the F color, 0.36 VS2. Clarity of VS1 and VS2 cannot be seen with the naked eye. Even under the eye loupe, it's not easy to see. Carat-wise, 0.36 and 0.38 is not a great difference. But to me, colour difference between G and F can be seen. I was at Lee Hwa and Soo Kee, and whenever the sales person shows me a G and F and better, i can always see that the G is slightly yellower.

just my opinion....to each his own in the end. =)

wendylee

<font color="ff0000">MEIXUE</font>
Hi. But surprisingly when I put the 2 stones side-by-side... G's seems brighter than F's leh... I wonder Y... Zzzzz

Now Im worried on the settings... will it chip off the grid of the stone? How to get good setting?

straighthairgal

Sorry to interrupt here.

Any babes who are going to Goldheart to get diamond accessories, pls pls let me know.

As I've posted before under "Anything Under The Sun" under this subject - Anyone intend to buy "Si Dian Jin" from Goldheart Jewellery Shop?

I won myself a 0.5 carats criss-cut diamond ring worth $ 5041.00 from Goldheart this year, 2003.

I do not need this ring becos when I got married last year, my dad bought me 1 full set of "Si Dian Jin" in white gold with diamonds.

So I called up Goldheart &amp; asked them whether can I sell the ring back to them. They mentioned that they do not buy back jewellery from customers but I can trade in for other items which add up to $ 5041.00.

I hope I can go down with whoever is buying from the shop &amp; trade off my diamond ring.

I'm willing to give you 15% discount. Meaning, you can purchase jewellery up to $ 5041.00 but you only need to give me $ 4284.00.

Btw, I also have the VIP card which might give you further 20% discount but I will need to call up Goldheart to check if the card can be use in this transaction a not.

Any further enquires, can email me at : [email protected]

Thks
Elaine

ingenue78

G seems brighter...mabbe becoz of the lighting from different angles? Brighter is not = to bigger yeah? It cld also be becoz of the cutting of the dia.

when u choose dia...must go under their white light to see whether it's yellow or not...did u notice that most of the jewellery shops have lights that are yellow in colour?

I think u shld not be worried about chipping off coz diamond shld be the hardiest stone (if i din remember wrongly fr my science txtbk...;-P). U shld worry more abt yr setting. Were u the one who said u preferred a 5-claw setting a couple of mths back? Make sure yr claws are not the thin kind coz the diamond may drop out...

For workmanship less than $180...i think a bit difficult leh...i enquiried at Lee Hwa b4...it costs slightly less than $500.

Is yr diamond GIA certified? i think u get GIA certification is more for assurance that what u are really getting what u are paying for. As for trade-in value, i dun think u wld trade in coz the dia will have sentimental value. in addition, the depreciation for diamonds are ard 35% to 40%...so it's not worthwhile to trade in.

juz my 2 cents worth. ;-)

wendylee

<font color="ff0000">STRAIGHTHAIRGAL</font>
Hi. Im going down to pay off my balance for my WB, do you think it still valid for further discount (your discount too)? My outstanding balance is around $700.

wendylee

<font color="ff0000">INO</font>
Hi. Yes, I love 5 claw but that dia ring at PohHeng was sold... and now I have seen some with 6 claws but I will let them know that I want those claws not to be too thick... so that I wont see only claws instead of the stone.