DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

hi canny,

my email addy is [email protected]

thanks!!!

HI Ladies,

Wow, read thru all the past postings on diamonds and I'm so glad to have join this group.

Am embarking on upgrading my ring and so far, I've looked at H&A-Meyson (0.54/F/VVS2) -$3244 and this evening, saw Leehwa-Radiant Heart(0.54/F/VVS2)-$3498(usual $6Kodd). At this price range, it seems to me it's more worth to get the one from meyson.

Have anyone seen the H&A from Meyson as yet? It comes with a TIA(can't recall which one)Cert, whereas lee hwa is either HRD or GIA.

I read on Brilliant Rose too. Have not stepped into soo kee to see it. Anyone has idea how much is the price for a (0.54/F/VVS2)? Any opinions to share?

canny,

i didn't receive leh
. can try again? it's [email protected].

ling,

sorry, i can't help you there. i'm not expert when it comes to ideal cut diamonds like H&A, brilliant rose etc etc... what i can tell you is that, because those diamonds have brand names, you most probably must pay a premium. my jeweller says that more facets does not equal to more brilliance. in fact, when the number of facets exceeds a certain limit, the centre of the diamond will look 'dead'. well that's according to her.

for me, the radiant heart looks like a better buy since it's on discount

HI Teatree,

Thanks for your reply. Yes, very tempted to get radiant heart, knowing that it's on sale for now. But yet again, gfs have been telling me you will be paying for the brand as well.

I'm trying to ask around friends who might have the meyson VIP Card, then, perhaps I can get 5% off the H&A collection,which is a great deal. I suppose some of you might have come across their adverts in strests, newpaper etc where they advertise their H&A collection and 10 reasons.

Duno if leehwa still allows vip discounts for their radiant heart collection not..mmmmm

i have a pair of earrings bought from goldheart which cost $1611 after discount(both sides add up to be 0.56/G-colour/VS1/6 claws). Brand New cos i intended to buy for my wedding. Thus, never wear before. I would like to let go due to some personal reasons. Anyone interested, please msg me at [email protected]

canny,

very unique ring!!!
very nice leh... i have never seen that kind of claws before. so in total, you have eight claws surrounding the diamond??

and i think, for the price you paid, it's worth it. takes a long time to produce that kind of intricate setting.

oo and i promise to take photos of my e-ring. hehehe...

Hey Teatree,
The claws are that of split claws... In reality itz only 4 claws but near the end of the diamond they split the claws into 2. I think the more traditional e-ring are like that!

I luv it!

hi canny,

i see... no matter, still very pretty setting. i wonder what kind of wedding ring that goes with that? are you putting the rings on the same finger once you're married?

Teatree,

Actually, I was thinking about it too. I think a plain flat wedding band goes well. However, my mom has already gotten me an eternity band. Perhaps, I will just wear the eternity band on my right hand and the e-ring on my left.

Have u taken a pic of ur e-ring. I wan to see leh!

hi canny,

saw ur e-ring. *WOW*!!!!! very nice leh!!!

what's the total carat size of tiny diamonds u topped up at the side? seems like quite alot, yes?

i agree tt cos ur e-ring is v elaborate, u may need a v plain wedding band....
if not it'll be too much for the eyes!!!

hi canny,

i see. that seems the best way to wear your rings.

is your eternity ring all around or just half or 3/4?

haha... i don't have digital camera, so even if i do take a picture of my e-ring (which i have not done!) it's going to take a while to scan and upload. heee....

oraia, nice hor, canny's ring?

Hey Ladies,

Thanks for your compliments.
The total carat weight on the mounting is like 0.35 or 0.4 (i cannot really rem.)I like the way that the designs are on all 3 sides of the mouning and how diamonds are embedded on the prongs too.

My eternity eing is 3/4... most prob will wear it on my right hand. Or else, it will overshadow the e-ring.

Do they have designs like this in SG?

hi teatree,

yupyup, v v nice!
v unique. i've seen claws like canny's in aspial here before i think. looks like 8 claws but there are actually only 4.

hi canny, yup yup! tts what i like about it too, like the little diamonds are all surrounding the ring.
what did ur fiance say? did he like the transformation to the e-ring? hehehe.

i hardly ever see designs like that here... i think it's more a usa-type of design perhaps? cos i see it alot in us bridal mags.

Hi Oraia,

My fiance hehehe... I dun think he really care after he gave me the original e-ring. I sold my Tiffany mounting on ebay and made some $$$ to subsidize for my new mounting. So very happy about it.

How's life? Where did you go?

hey canny,

hehehe.... okie... that's men for you. ;p heh heh.

really???!!!! u can actually sell the original mounting for ur tiffany? *WOW* tts really cool..
so when u hv the original tiffany mounting, do u hv to buy a rock that is big enuff to fit the mounting?

me went to melbourne for a week.
totally enjoyed myself! how about u? been busy at work?

Oraia,

Not sure about what kind of rock pple put in.
Hehhee... but I dun really care as long as the cash is in my pocket!.

Wow... did u go to melbourne for your PS?! Have to tell me more. Yeah... work is busy. I am in Orlando rite now
BTW... how are ur wedding preps? Have u finalized the design of ur wedding gown?

canny, wooo.... so lucky that you managed to sell the original setting

now must really take care of your ring hor, that kind of setting, i think, quite difficult to clean.

my eternity is not 3/4, tried a 3/4 one before and it felt quite chunky so instead, i got a 1/2 one. the usual, with claws. saw a channel setting one but afraid the diamonds might drop off. hehehe...

Teatree,

Actually, the e-ring was SUPER easy to clean.
My jeweler gave me a cleaning solution (which is safe for diamonds)and I soaked my e-ring in there for 30 mins once a week. The magic works well.... and the ring turns out to be SUPER shiny.

I think the 1/2 eternity one is more comfy too. However, I jus like the look of the 3/4 one... more BLING BLING! Me veri greedy hor?

canny,

what solution is that??? i've been trying to clean my ring with ethanol but it's not working wonders. can still see some grim after that.

hahah.... yeah man. if only it's not that uncomfortable, i would have gotten a full one

Hi canny,

Wow very nice!
Yah I haven't seen that type of design here. How did you come up with that design anyway? Very unique and super bling! hehe... With your ering on left hand and eternity ring on right hand, people will definitely notice your hands! hehe...

hi canny,

hehe, no lah... i just went for a holiday...
wished i had decided to take my PS in melb. i'm in love with the city!! oh well..

haven't finalised the design of my gown... haven't even started. how about u? u got ur gown already?

wow... u sure fly around alot!
lucky you!!

teatree~ u can actually bring back ur ring to the shop tt u got it from.. they'll clean it for u free. i've done it many many times!

Hey Teatree,

I think itz just a jewellery cleaning solution. Why dun u bring it to the store for professional cleaning once in a while? So how's life? Are u still interning?

Leeds,
Thanks. I did not come up with that design. I saw it and fell in luv with it immediately. I like the more retro/traditional e-ring designs. More intricate and obviously... more BLING! Hahhaha... my fiance told me that I should avoid wearing too much BLING when I go bac to SG. Oh well..

Oraia,
So late and u have not gone for ur 1st appt? Wow... then BV must be fast to come up with the gown. Nope, my gown is still in the making.. (it takes 6 months... remember) Plus, itz a SUPER peak-period (Spring - Fall) for weddings. I am just hoping that there will be no delay. So... who is doing your PS? and Where? Mine will be on Sept 15th... veri excited.

good morning

canny, hahaha... paiseh to bring in for cleaning so many times. anyway, i read somewhere that sudsy ammonia would do fine. so maybe bring in once every 6 months and for the rest of the time i'll just use a dash of ammonia with some gentle soap.

so when is your wedding gown going to be ready? are you going to singapore one more time before your ps to pick up your tan yoong evening gown?

oraia, when is your wedding? i would probably have gone kan cheong if i were you. hehehe.... i don't mean to get you kan cheong ah? heard that BV always finish all the gowns just in time for ps.

hello girls,

morning!

canny~ yup... not yet... hehe. hmm... i shd be panicking a little ya? think i shall give them a tinkle! oh... is ur gown v intricate? i forgot tt it takes 6 mths and oh yes, it's definitely peak season for weddings now in the states...

andrew choi's the photographer for PS, eh.. in sg i guess. actually we wanted to do it in melb. but last yr when we were deciding, we thot it may be abit too expensive. so we signed up for a local pkg. and only last mth we decided to go on a holiday there... arrgh. so wasted! ;p

mine's prob gg to be in sept as well. will try to see if i can make it in early aug. i doubt it tho'...

oh btw, canny, do u mind if i ask u how much u paid for tan yoong's evening gown?

teatree~ wedding's in mid dec. shd i be a little kancheong, u think?

hi oraia,

hahaha.... don't be lah. kan cheong no good you know.

can you change your arrangement with andrew choi? if he's free probably he wouldn't mind going to melbourne for the photoshoot.

hi teatree,

cannot cos i've paid the deposit for the local photography pkg w BV.
and anyhow, i've already returned fr melb... so no point lah.

oraia,

ooo thought you are planning to go melbourne. anyway, singapore good enough for photoshoot. got an excellent photographer, pretty bride and handsome groom (not to mention your gorgeous BV gowns) already.

Teatree,

My wedding gown should be ready end of June. Veri excited... simply cannot wait! No lar, Tan Yoong is just going to mail my evening gown to me.
So any hints on taking PS on the day itself? Did u take ur PS in SG?

Oraia,
Hehehe... I will be panicking esp. when I plan to take my PS in late Aug. Give BV a call for a status update. OHohoho... Andrew Choi... my cousin used him too for her PS in Perth.
Heard that he is very good. My photographer is a Martha St. rec. photographer thus, my fiance and I have preety high expectations. I cannot rem. the actual amount for my Tan Yoong evening gown. I think I paid $2800 for my mom's and mine. U thinking about getting an evening gown from Tan Yoong?

hi canny

can i take a look at your ring? mail me at [email protected] thanks

hi oraia

no worries...i think BV takes 4 months to turnaround a WG...my first appt was in mid April, PS to be in mid August and AD is mid Oct. So think you can expect your first appt to be around june or may...but mebbe give mian a call to ask or fix a date.

hi teatree,

hehehe... thanks thanks! but eh... how u know got pretty bride and handsome groom huh? hehehe.. dun have leh ;p

excellent photographer i tink got lah.

canny~ wow! u'll get ur EG mailed to u ah? heee.. when will it arrive?
how did ur cousin's photos w andrew choi turn out? good?
wah.. i think u'll have really nice pics leh!! ur photographer sounds good. i got the latest issue of martha s. mag. haven't finish reading yet.

oooo... $2.8K... quite steep the prices! am toying w the idea of getting a nice embroidered EG. will see how it goes. mabbe i'll see how much ted wu charges.

pheb~ hey! it's been a long time! thanks! hmm... may give them a call nx week mabbe? see how it goes...

Hey Oraia,

Tan Yoong said he will mail it to me early August. I am going to take the final measurements from here and e-mail it to him for alterations. My cousin pics turned out really well. I really liked Andrew Choi's style. Too bad they dun do anything in the states.

Tan Yoong's preety steep but he is so good leh. I did a quick math... with conversion rate and everything... his px is still reasonable compared to the pxes in the states. Doesn't ur BV package include an evening gown?

canny,

think tan yoong gave you quite a good deal considering he's one of the most expensive designers in singapore. and he's unlike indon designers who charge sky high once they find out the gowns are going to be worn for wedding.

any suggestions ah? don't have leh. i just remember i had to smile so much that day, my teeth went dry. and also had to stick out my chin cos got double chin.

oraia, sure pretty lah.... have thought of any outdoor locations?

Teatree,

Really?! I thought Indo designers should be cheaper than Singapore's? Hmmm..... isn't that like a rip-off?

Ha... I know... I think by the end of the PS I would be so tired with taking pics and etc....

hey canny~ great to hear tt ur cousin's photos turned out great! phew!
it's ok lah..... ur photographer oso v good mah!

yeah, BV's pkg has an evening gown... but i'm just being greedy hehehe... i feel like getting one tt has embroidery cos i love embroidery.will see how it goes.

hey teatree~ eh... haven't thought about outdoor locations at all.... hehe.
any to recommend? i actually prefer it not to look like i'm in singapore. so i'll prob choose somewhere ulu.. but will leave it up to andrew choi to propose, i guess.

Oraia,

Hahha... no worries. I think my cousin's pics turned out so good that it was published on last year's Business Times' Valantine's Special. Ask Andrew about it. Very very very nice.

*Greedy Greedy* I am similar too.
Why dun u make a cheongsam and u can use it as a tea-dress?! Also, can wear it when u send ur guests off for the night. Heard tt Amor Meus (dunno if I get the spelling rite?) is an excellent place for cheongsams.

hey canny,

wow! must have been real pretty pics! hehe, if i rem i shall ask andrew about it.

am making a cheongsam.
eh... the lady hasn't started yet, so am contemplating changing the design to one w embroidery. alternatively, i can also ask her to make me an embroidered evening gown as well ;p greedy eh? hehe.

canny, really ah? published in a newspaper, i really should go and see your cousin's pictures. hehe...

seriously, indon designers are expensive. i've got an aunt who was charged (after conversion from rupiah to S$) $4000 for an evening gown! that's a real rip off.

anyway, you're taking photos in SF, so shouldn't sweat as much as if you're taking those photos in singapore. weather ther is just perfect.

oraia, thought BV does not specialize in embroidered gowns? better go to ted wu lah. hehehe...

Good morning gals.

Oraia, wah Andrew choi sounds very good! Me tempted to take a look too. Can PM me his contact and price pls. We brides-to-be all very greedy and vain hor. Making so many gowns, dont know when we'll get the chance to wear them. I also making 3 evening gowns and 1 cheongsam!
Btw, you haven't started making your gowns yet? Better hurry like not much time already leh...

Canny, really ah? I also want to see your cousin's pics. Can ask how does your cheongsam look like? Cos mine is very very tight with the slit all the way up my thigh, how to serve tea or even sit down like that??

Teatree, yah true! Indon designers will rip you off when they find out the gowns are for own wedding!! Thats why must always tell them its for a cousin's party. hehe... But $4K really very expensive leh!

Hey Oraia,

Yupyup... ask Andrew about it.
Maybe he can show u a pic or 2. Hehehe... u really greedy.
Where are u making ur cheongsam? What is the design like?
BTW... who is doing ur video? I am starting to get my pics together for the photo montage - headache...

Teatree,
$4k?! Mann.... total rip-off. But is the evening gown beautiful? However, for $4k I am sure u can get a preety good designer couture gown.
Yupyup... thatz why I choose Sept to take our wedding pics. Summer in SF starts in Oct and only last for 3 weeks.
Hehehehe... on the contary, for the rest of the year, we are more worried about being too cold than too hot.

canny,
true lor! but it was super glam lah. even the bride didn't glitter as much as the mother. hehehe... she also made from the same designer and you guess how much her wedding gown was.

hahhaa... don't think you will feel cold that day lah. hey, how's make up style like over there? more to the natural side or like indon ones, thicker and more glam?

leeds,
hehehe.... what did you tell your designer? can't be for cousin's party right since you're making 2 gowns

cheong sums supposed to be a little tight right? but if you can't sit properly, especially with slits that high, think better get it altered. found shoes to go with your cheong sum?

Leeds,

Are you Indo?! I dun have my cousin's pics.. sorrie. Try to hire Andrew lor... so he can show u the samples. My cheongsam is preety fitted.... cause me vain vain ma. Hopefully, can lose a bit of wt b4 my wedding...
Where is ur wedding going to be at?! U.K.? WOW! 3 evening gowns + 1 cheongsam... did u make all these in SG? I only made 2 evening gowns ad 1 cheongsam... and my co-workers here said that I am "Mad". hahahaaa.