DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

genesisgalaxy

oops pepperpowder
i meant brilliant rose cut is NOT the best cut. I meant that its a fancy name for marketing purposes. I think i read somewhere that destinee, brilliant rose et al, belong all to brilliant cut. correct me if i am wrong. not exactly an expert in cuts.

happy_mummy

wow.. its been ages since i last log in.. interested in diamond? can recommend, better pricing n come along w certificate.. from my experience for the "Si Dian Jin"

bubblez

Hi anyone has any idea on the resale value of diamonds as in if we want to resell our diamonds where can we do that other then at the shop we originally buy them at? Thanks

nicatan

has anyone bgt any diamonds from citigems or been to their stores? r they marketed like SK or more towards premium range?

seltzer78

Hv any one of ur bought diamond from D'Meyson??? Me saw one colour D 0.35 carat VVS2 after disc is $2013. Is it worth e $$??

blurrblurr

Me another blurr not blurblur here. What I suggest is a 0.35 dun need a D colour with VVS2 clarity. You wun see any differnce. If you think 0.35 is big enough go for G color or the Most VS1.
If you are looking for high color D with high clarity VVS2 maybe you can get something near to 0.5 carat to match the worth. At least you can see the differnce when compared
HRD cert diamond may be a bit cheaper compared to AGS or GIA cos their standard may not be as strict as AGS or GIA.

magnolia

hey guys, if u are getting anything below 1 carat, from what i understand recently, for i have read up a lot about diamonds, u do not need to get such high clarity and colour. u will just end up paying a lot more for something which is the same to our naked eyes. why not get a bigger diamond which will still sparkle like mad and drop the clarity and colour. then u will get value for money. but do not sacrifice the cut because it is what determine the sparkle of the diamond. if u have a budget and want a big rock, i woulndt suggest u get a D-F range. VVs1, VVs2 is just a waste of money for something even the experts find it hard to tell apart from SI quality with an un-aid eye.

solonavi

Just happened to see this thread thought I'll share my experience.

Most the the B&M shops in Singapore are marketing their Solitaire diamond ring at a premiem. Guess these are due to all the marketing, advertising, certification and others overhead they have.

Has anyone of you consider getting loose diamond and custom make the ring? I did mine (proposal ring).

Agree with Felicia Tan that pricescope has many information on diamonds. I'll like to add on the below few site for those who are currently looking for diamond ring.

The Holloway Cut Adviser (patent pending) evaluates the visual appearance of a round diamond as a combination of four factors - Light Return, Fire, Scintillation and Spread.
- http://www.diamond-cut.com.au/

AGA's information - http://www.gemappraisers.com/

JC

solonavi

Hi Helena,

Alot of time, whether a diamond look big to us depends on a few things. The face of the diamond is obvious. There are also factors like Brillance, fire, Scintillation, spread of the diamond. Hope this will helps explain more, http://www.diamond-cut.com.au/09_brill.htm

The problem with a GIA cert is that it is not able to help you determine the HCA of the diamond. That's the risk, imho.

If your diamond comes with the AGA cert, you can simply input the specs into this tools and you'll be able to tell with more confidence if the diamond will perform or not. http://www.diamond-cut.com.au/holloway_cut_adviser.htm

JC

solonavi

Hi Magnolia, I got mine from Diamondideals a few months back also but its only a 0.556ct H&A. Megan is very helpgul and professional. I'll say most of the online shops recommended by pricescope are trusted as long as you know what you're doing.

magnolia

hi JC, i would love to get from diamond ideals! but they are slightly more ex. i also exchanged emails with megan a few times but i have found something similar in whiteflash and it's 15-20% cheaper. the thing i like about whiteflash is that i get the lifetime upgrade policy. (u know how we always aim bigger and bigger!!- hehe)

i would love to see the rock before i purchase it. but unfortunately with internet buying, it's tough. i just have to rely on things like HCA score, ideal scope image, etc and pray really hard. i guess with these tools, it cant be that bad. but of course it's arguable. they have a return policy too- so i am counting on this.

i wouldnt have to go thru all these if only i can find the same thing for the same price in singapore.

so jc, can u share your experience with internet buying? did u get tax from the singapore customs? i am afraid to get taxed so i am planning to collect it from new york when i go there next month.

magnolia

yes, that's true.

so, you are not often in your ngee ann city store? i never see you there.

i think i have been to your suntec store only once - only outside. but i go inside the ngee ann city one all the time.

but have never bought anything YET.

solonavi

Hi Magnolia, when I was searching for mine, also found that whiteflash seems cheaper but cannot find a piece that I like. Thus went with diamondideals and nvr regretted.

The buying experience is pretty gd. Confirm the diamond with megan, when to TT the $$ to their acount. She'll acknowledge and let me know when the shippment will arrive. When it arrive, FedEx will ask me to pay the Singapore tax. Once received, they will deliver to my home. In all, it takes less than 2 weeks in my case.

Btw, I think you can request for them to send to an independent apprasial in the states. From the independent report, it may help you to decide athought I did not do it.

One word of caution; always bring the diamond to for a local apprasial to be sure that it is the correct diamond delivered. For my case, I just when for a vocal apprasial since it already comes with the AGS cert.

JC

jessica

hi there is a sale for solitares at LeeHwa. I bought a HRD certified 0.75 F colour VVS2 at only 5.3k very good deal i think

magnolia

helena, i dont work in a diamond shop. but i want to!! haha

well, americans have bigger rocks because their dollars are stronger. a lousy 1 carat in america is only about usd$2k. but a lousy 1 carat here is at least s$6k. if u compare dollar to dollar, 1 carat in US is so easily affordable if u earn US dollars.

jc, thanks for sharing your buying experince with me. so u paid 5% tax? i am planning to have it send to New York because i will be there. are u planning to buy more from them?

solonavi

Hi sweetheart, the range u gave is pretty big. Typically a E diamond look very clear to layman like us while a G has a light yellow color. Is the diamond ideal cut? VVS1 - VS1 also has 3 different grading, i.e VVS1, VVS2 & VS1 .

In pricescope, a 0.3cts ideal cut loose diamond is between USD600 - 900. Hope this is a gd guage 4 u.

JC

magnolia

jc, wah.... u r so sweet.... your g/f or wifey now must be on cloud 9. my husband is also interested in diamonds but not like me! haha

tell me about your proposal!!

kowloon

Hi, anyone knows where I can have a diamond exmined, to know the color and clarity? My mom has one diamond ring without cert and would like to know the quality. anyone knows how much it is to get the diamond examined? Thanks!

solonavi

Hi kowloon, I had mine done at;

Nan Yang Gemological Institute
Address : 1 Scotts Rd #04-32 Shaw Centre Singapore 228208
Telephone : 6333 6238
Fax : 6333 6282

Think he can do just verbally evaluation or a full examination that comes with cert.

JC

lilac_lavender

hi, need some advice. I have a 0.5 carat, round brillant cut loose diamond. Is thinking of setting it. But not too sure how many prongs I should set it in. Any advice? 4 or 5 or 6 prongs? I have a 0.28 carat, also round brillant cut diamond set in 4 prongs and it look okay. I'm worried that a 4-prong may not hold the .5 carat diamond well and would also make the diamond looks sqaurish. I want it to bring out the brilliance of the diamond. Any advice? Thanks.

ace88

Hi Lilac,

I think the setting is personal taste, so depends on what you like lor. Though I've read here that.. err... diamonds can fall out if not enough prongs. But have no such experience myself *touchwood*.

Personally have a 0.5 carat, which I wear everyday and its only set in 3 prongs. So far so good. *touchwood* again. kekeke...

Come to think of it, now that I look at it, my 3 prong setting does seem to make my stone look abit like heartshape. Not sure if 4 prongs will make yours look squarish or not as I don't have on one 4 prongs.

lilac_lavender

thanks all for the advice. when my husband bought the 0.28 ct for me, the sales personnel told him that 4 prong is the best setting that brings out the brilliance of diamond. I am contemplating between a 4 and 6 prong. Chances are I will go for a 6 prong. Appreciate the advice. By the way, how much does it cost to set it in white gold?

may2004mom

Hi calling all diamond experts here,

I bought a pair of GIA diamond stud earrings (with GIA certificate) from Sxx Kee last friday and now I need some truthful opinions on whether I had been reaped off or not.

Statistics as follows:
0.31 ct for each side (so total weight is 0.62)
E colour
VVS1

Original price b4 50% sale is $74xx and managed to bargain down to $3288. Somehow I kept having this feeling of being "reaped off".

Please comment, your contribution is greatly appreiciated.

solonavi

Hi Adelynn, since you selected the studs there must be reasons for doing so. And since you have already paid 4 it, why not just be happy and enjoy the studs.

Its not easy to determine a diamond value just based on the carat, color & clarity. Cuts and performance is also impt.

Just my 2 cts
JC

may2004mom

JC,
Something to confess, I bought it on impulse! The decision was made within 10-15mins.

I'm happy with my purchase and I had been wanting to buy a pair for myself.

But the thing is that I kept having a nagging feeling that it's over-priced! Just need assurance. If I've been reaped off, I will not consider to get my next up-grade ring from there anymore.

My hubby keeping saying to me that he will upgrade my 0.32 ring on our 10th wedding anniversary (another 3 more years to go)!

solonavi

Hi Adelynn, I got my proposal ring diamond at S$2400. Its a H&A diamond, 0.551, VS1, D with HCA 0.9.

292583.jpg

292584.jpg

Hope this info helps.
JC

solonavi

Hi adelynn, mine is not purchased from local B&M shop. I got it from U.S online shop (diamondideals.com) and import it in.

JC

solonavi

I ran a simple search in pricescope and it seems like a loose diamond of the below spec cost ~ USD830/S$1370.
Carat; 0.30 Color: E Clarity: VVS1 Depth: 60.6% TBL: 61% Cul: no Sym: vg Pol: ex Flr: no Measurements: 4.3*4.38*2.63

Take this figure + 20-30% should be the normal price local B&M shop retail them.

Seems like urs is not a bad deal after all.

JC

may2004mom

Hi JC,

Oh really!! i just need some assurance that I didn't pay for something that is over-priced and only get remarks from friends saything that I've been reaped off.

Is it safe to buy it from the website?
Do you get it appraised from the local certified gemologist? How much would that cost? Would the retail jeweller do the setting of the stone if we don't purchase from them and how much would a simple setting (like 4-prongs) cost?

Sorry for my so-many questions. I'm just been curious and like to know more for future acquisitions.

solonavi

Hi Adelynn, as I mentioned. Its really hard to tell a value of a diamond based on the 3 Cs u mentioned. If u realised, the one I searched has much more info like, dimension, Sym & flr. There are even some that I found costing over USD1K based on ur 3 Cs. :p

There is certain risk but if you done ur research, the risk is very minimal. I'll not suggest buying online to those who hate hassle with limited patience. This is because you need to search through a whole lot of database. Look at all their specs, pictures, test results, etc. And the delivery may take up to 1 week or more depending.

I got mine appraised by Nan Yang Gemological Institute and his appraisal is inline with the AGS cert.

There are a few jeweller in town that will do settings from loose stones. I did mine at Canary. Price depends on material.

JC

may2004mom

JC,
Gee...it's really alot of research work.
I guess I will go back to take a look at the other specs and run some research on it (for fun!).

Thanks, you're very helpful.

solonavi

I've no intention to make this thread into one of those in Pricescope arguing who is better and such.

Just want highlight a few things.
- loss-in-transit is covered by insurance which is packaged into my shipping by megan in diamondideals for my case.
- U can ask for TT if u are worried abt internet security.
- gd online shop will have exchange policy (some 2 weeks or more). With those info and pics and test result, I highly doubt you'll ever choose a wrong stone. Some example below.

292662.jpg

292663.jpg

292664.jpg

- Many reputated jeweller does do settings (loose diamonds not from them)

Just want to bring a clearer "light" to what happens on online shopping.

But the same advise to everyone. Do it only if u are comfortable and have certain knowledge of diamond. In fact, its the same if you buy from a local B&M to prevent been feeling "reaped off".

JC