DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

Teatree! Of course I don't mind u telling... but err, where/ which Utopia ad? I haven't seen it. *opens eyes big big* Hahaha!

hi teatree,

why don't u try using the moisturise in ur range of pdts tt u are using since ur cleanser etc etc is suitable for ur skin?

wow... the dimsum promo thingy sounds like it's v popular... yum yum!! hehehehe...
yest i went to a steamboat place but it was so crowded and we didn't make any reservations, i didn't mge to eat my steamboat!

MT, haha... it's the small ad at singapore brides. the one that you'll see whenever you visit singapore brides webpage or the forum. please scroll above and see
keep refresh-ing until your ad comes up.

oraia, aiyoh... still got this week to eat your steamboat
what's the name of the place?

sadly, i tried the moisturizer of the same brand and still got whiteheads popping out.

Teatree haha, I saw it now... looks really like us but unfortunately not lah, hehehe. Must show my HB... even the guy looks like my HB from that angle wah!

Dimsum wahhh... *close eyes and ears* Must control, ate 2 dinners yesterday... :P

hihi ladies,

hehehe.. yesterday got craving mah!!! ;p the name of the steamboat pl is happy pay steamboat and chef. fren told me it's really good. it tink it's v good too, cos it's a no-reservations-means-no -place-to-sit type of restaurant!! and boy, was it packed yesterday!!!

hi MT,

sure not you huh?? so paiseh... have made such a big fuss. hehehe... but they really really really look like you and your hubby.

oraia, where is it? i'm drooling now. but poor hubby if i drag him there. he'll be the only one cooking while i just eat.

are you trying your luck again today? hehehe...

hi teatree,

it's near bugis junction - near the open grass area where the famous charcoal steamboat shop is. i give u the addy k? tan quee lan st, #01-01, bugis singapore
happy pay steamboat and chef.
6336 4101.

it's a buffet btw, the stock apparently is really good.

nope, today i've got dinner at fiance's pl.... hehe... tts why yest cannot eat then v
mah ;p

Oraia, is this the Hai Nan steamboat ? Its REALLY good!!! esp the chicken rice and the crab noodles ! ok, better stop....arghhh...mental torture!

Hey MT, wah...ate 2 dinners ?!! hehe
so nice to be preggie hor
no one will stop/comment on multi meals haha

Nice to see everyone popping into this thread now and then
take care !!

hi sweets,

nope, the hainan steamboat is the one tt is open air right? with the charcoal in the middle of the pot? hehe.
this other shop tt i wanted to try is indoor.. err.. but it's so crowded tt the tables "spill" onto the corridors.

oraia,

thanks for the address. will definitely try that place out someday
. and will make reservation first. buffet sounds good, ha!

haha... i know what you mean. i try to restrain myself when eating with my in-laws. until now they don't know that i can eat like a truck driver.

sweets, same here. love food so much but really scared of getting fat!

hey oraia,

yah yah, that one has 6 tables indoor - think its called 7 stories

Actually the best steamboat I've had are all home-prepared LOL :P

Hope u can kena your steamboat another time

Hey Ladies,

So watz cooking in this thread? Browse through some replies and found tt the topic is on "FOOD".
Hehehehee....

I like Steamboat. The place that I MUST visit when I am back in SG is this Steamboat place in Golden Mill on Beach Rd. Anyone been there b4? Their steam chicken rice is to die for. ;)

Hi Gals!

Me juz got my new setting... Itz so BEAUTIFUL! I luv it luv it luv it. I will try to take a pic of it after I come bac from my biz trip next week.

hihi girls,

sweets, yup yup!! correct tts the one!
i just love steamboat, whether home prepared or outside. coca is really nice, but quite expensive.

canny, is that the same one? the one w the charcoal in the middle of the steamboat pot?

WOW!!!!!!!!!!! congrats!!! all the waiting has ended!!! must show us k? *waiting eagerly to see pic!!!*

good morning laides

canny, wow wow wow! glad that you luv your new setting. now hurry and take pictures and show us your beautiful e-ring.

oraia, i thought coca is not that good leh? went there once and the service was pretty bad. had to wait almost half an hour for the bill

Oraia the one i was talking abt is not called Coca leh...its called 7 Stories

NVM...next time we should all have a meeting there! LOL

hihi sweets,

ya... i know the 7 stories one.. tts e hainan one with the charcoal steamboat rite?
*yum*
good idea!!! but hv to wait for canny to come back hehehe.

teatree, which coca branch did you go to? ya, the svc can be quite slow, cos they are really really busy. i usu go to the one at international bldg (?) -- beside the thai embassy cos tts the only one with the buffet.

hi hi ladies

wow you all know so much about steamboat! i agree with a steamboat outing hahaha... but must wait for canny than we can tour singapore's steamboat restaurants

oraia, went to the ngee ann city branch. ermm.... the ngee ann city one was also buffet leh.

Hello ladies.

Since we are on the subject of food today, can anybody tell me where I can find chicken rice ball in SG? I had it in Malaysia once and I been having craving for that lately but dont know where to find....

Ya teatree, I been to coca in taka and wasn't too impressed with the food and service too. Good idea we should have steamboat gathering.

hey Leeds,

there is one @ Jalan besar...i went there again like few months ago...hmm really cannot remember the name..but if u drive down Jln Besar, its on your LHS, this corner coffeeshop...sorry, not THAT helpful..heheh

Wah sweets, your instructions not clear leh... I doubt would be able to find it. Is it as good as those in Msia?

hihi leeds/ teatree,

i've tried coca a couple of times at taka. it's ala carte leh. aiyah... must hv been kena conned ;p
very ex. some more leh!

anyhow... the branch at the bldg beside the thai embassy is not "high class looking", but it's always v vv v crowded. must mk reservations.

leeds,

what's chicken rice ball?

oraia, think i know the building besides thai embassy. there's a goldheart store there rite? always walk pass it to ogle at the diamonds. hehe..

leeds,
sorry lar *paiseh*...haha

I still like homecooked chicken rice...next time I cook for you lar ... I can make chicken rice balls too LOL
its actually very ez

teatree, chix rice ball is when the chix rice is served in a round ball (sorry..sounds rather dumb) hehe
but it is the traditional way of eating chix rice :P

Hi teatree, oraia,

Isn't that international building? *confused* Didn't know there are things to see in there, doesn't look nice from outside.

Teatree, its like normal chicken rice except the rice is not served in a bowl but made into small balls like fishball size, dont know why but somehow it tastes much tastier!! Yum yum...

Sweets, you can make chicken rice balls??!!! WOWW!!! Lets have a gathering to eat sweets's chicken rice balls!

ya ya.. it's international something... dunno the name of the bldg. correct, it's the one w goldheart outside. i oso ogle at the rocks there when i walk past ;p

leeds, ya, outside not nice, inside the bldg i think there's hollywood secrets, FIL, and a few other shops. there's also coca, angie the choice, ricetable and a few restaurants.

wah...... sweets.... u play masak masak in the kitchen already can cook alot of things ah?
hehehe... can we invite ourselves to ur hse to taste ur chix ball rice? hehe.. ;p

u ladies make me luff...me not in SG now, in China, u wanna come ? sure can cook for u all :P

Actually my SO and I cook a lot...so we are also lking forward to the day when our apt in SG is ready
sure will invite u all over for masak trials when its done

Hey Ladies,

Reading the replies on this thread makes me DROOL. I am awake at 4 am in the morning to catch my 6:40am flight today... and am REALLY hungry.

Oraia, The steam boat place I mentioned does not use charcoal. Hmmm... I think it uses the normal equipment as any another steam boat places. I jus love that place alot for its chicken rice. Plus, I have been eating there since 6 years old. Hehhehee....

Very satifised with my new e-ring setting. However, I have big knuckles... so not sure if I should resize the ring although it fits really well once it pass my knuckles. Anyone with the same pblm?

good morning ladies,

sweets, you're in china? cool.... are you working there?

leeds, that building is just next to isetan scotts. very old building
. have never seen a chicken rice ball before but it sure sounds yummy. would love to try it sometime.

canny, if the ring fits nicely on the finger after it passes through your knuckles then it should be okay. if re-set bigger it might fall off more easily. anyway, big knuckles = extra protection. hehe..

hey teatree, morning too
not working @ the moment, here with my husband, desperately looking for a job though
LOL

Leeds,did u school there ? My SO and I met near Leeds too
heheehe

hi canny,

hv a good biz trip!
"see" you online when u come back! hehe.

hmmm... mabbe it's a diff place then... yum, so many steamboat places to try!!

i also think you shdn't resize the ring, cos if it fits nicely after the knuckles, then it's fine. at least u're sure it won't fall out!!!

i have the same problem as well, huge knuckles ;p

hi sweets... wow.... how long are u gg to be in china? which part of china are u in?

sweets, i see.... hhmm, i think it's nicer to be a lady of leisure. hehehe... can always start working when you're back in singapore. in the mean time can just go shopping, pamper yourself with treatments
. my dream lifestyle.

oraia, me will try that happy pay and chef this saturday. hubby seems pretty interested when i told him about it.

Hello ladies,

Sweets, didn't know you're in china. So how long have you been there? Intending to stay there for long? Btw, whats SO? I studied in london and fiance studied in leeds, met him in Brighton during college...
Were you studying in england too?

Canny, so when do we get to see your new ering setting?
I also think if it fits nicely don't resize it.

hi chamonique

the diamond you mentioned is pretty ex. my jeweller found an 80 pointer, e colour, vvs1 with GIA cert and it was $6k... but then again, buying from retailer is never cheap. my jeweller sources direct from supplier. hth

hey leeds,

my SO and I met at Bradford when he was in final and I was a freshman
but I was there for only 3 sems , went to US after that to complete my studies
So u schooled at Uni of Leeds I guess ? I've been in China for a few weeks LOL, SO has been here nearly 5 years already
Nope, he's not China Chinese.

SO = Significant Other

Teatree, ok lar..its a nice break as i was working very crazy hours in a crazy industry for 3 yrs
Not really nice to be lOL now...esp when I want to work hard now...
and I miss my income a lot ! Wouldn't be back in SG for a long time (prob 5 - 10 yrs) haha
so don't think can find work in SG. NO money so no dream lifestyle too
I guess the grass is always greener on the other side

Phep, that's sounds like a good deal u got there

hi sweets

i din buy that tho...the table was too small...it din feel like an 80 pointer more like a 50... so still searching

sweets...no lar...my jeweller teach me one
cos i compared my mum's 50 with the 80...think the 50 looked even bigger...so she told me my mum's table is bigger...but it's cut shallower so not as brillant...

Hi sweets,

Wah bradford... We used to drive to bradford for the curry and naan. Really really good!!
No I wasn't in Uni of Leeds, my fiance was, I was in London.

How you enjoying life in china so far? No wonder you got time to masak masak there... Better enjoy it, you'll miss the free time next time when you're working. Me don't mind being a tai-tai too

hi sweets,

yeah, one thing about not working is not having an income of our own. anyway, looks like you're going to stay there for quite a long time so all the best in your job hunt
. sent in applications already?

leeds, seems like we have that in common. i don't really fancy working and would prefer becoming a tai tai. hehehe...

Hi pheb,

I'm trying to understand your explanation abt the diamond. A bigger table would make the rock look big, but less brilliance? So what's better in your opinion?

hi leeds

i must first mention that i'm not much of an expert on diamonds...jus picking up along the way

the table of the diamond is the top surface. the carat of the diamond essentially is how much the rock weighs. so let's say if we have two rocks of same carat...one with bigger table/surface area, it may mean that the height may be shallow or even too shallow so that light escapes before reflection (this is how we see the brillance). likewise, if a stone's depth is too high, light may also escape such that there's not enuf "internal reflection" (goodness this sounds so physics!)

imho, i would go for a well cut diamond i.e. with a good table/depth ratio. but it really depends on your objective which is better. my aunt has 70+ pointer with a big table but a not so good colour at $4k plus and it's good to her, so....

but the bigger the diamond, the easier it is to spot flaws and colour...and of cos the brilliance. i would go for a well cut diamond with good colour and clarity for my solitaire ring and settle for an ok one for solitaire pendant.

Hey all

teatree...looking for jobs lar..but responses very slow..been here only for few wks actually and going to US next week :P Thanks for the best wishes.

Pheb, IMO, since diamonds have nearly 0 resale value and most flaws are not spotable to the naked eye...I am ok with any as long as its a decent color and clarity. My SO will tell u otherwise haha :P But I understand your logic, my jeweller was telling me about the same thing too...

Leeds, oic...so u are moving to Brighton then ? Intending to work there ? Or have kids ? Seaside town should be quite nice
Wish I had enough money to go study in UK again
hehee ... ok lar...time now used for myself lor..to make myself happy ...whenever I don't drive myself nuts over loss of career building time hehe

Sweets, I envy you... Look at me still in the office and its almost 10pm!
*Stress*

Me not moving to brighton lah, will go to leeds cos he's based there. But I absolutely LOVE brighton, was there for a year and I enjoy it so much. Ya seaside town is great.

Pheb, hmmm I think I prefer brilliance to size, as long its not too small.
No wonder sometimes those really big diamonds look very dull, probably not enough depth? hehe... I'm getting better at my knowledge of diamonds now.

sweets...hehe...agree abt diamonds having 0 value...but being the irrational woman that i am...i insist on having them even tho the $ can be put to better use...hubby thinks diamonds are absolutely a scam...but he's getting them jus cos he knows he can't get away/can't bear the consequences of me not having a presentable one hehe
*bad ger*

leeds...yeah...for some the bigger the better, but for the discerning, a brilliant diamond will attract more attention
glad to share whatever i know with you gers

Hey Leeds, I used to do worse hours
so cheer up hey but you get paid ! So its a trade off
Anyway, you intending to work in Leeds too ? I'm actualling missing 24/7/365 those kind of work hours haha...my frens and SO thinks I am a bit mad...

Leeds is nice too
though the shops in UK close a little too early for my liking ;P So how long will you be there ? or issit a permanant move ? Next time can visit you there then. My BIL and SIL are on projects in UK as well...more incentive for us to make a trip over maybe next year.

Hey Pheb
yah...diamonds are one of those irrational unexplainables hehehe

Hahaha... Sweets,

I understand what u mean.
Me too... sometimes, I complain about the biz travelling. However, if I stop doing that for a month or so... I feel kinda of werid. Farny hor?!

Pheb,
You looking for diamonds? I can relate to your train of thoughts. I am a prefectionist by nature... thus, am very A on everything including the things I get / purchased. Good luck in diamond shopping.. it should be lots of fun.