Copthorne King's Hotel

hi PSM

thanks for your opinion.
btw i think i bumped into your AD pics a couple of hours ago. was looking for more pics on Tien Court.

nicely taken. whos your PG?

Hi Lois,

thanks, you meant more on the morning or Evening.
I've FreeLancers PG for wholeday. 1 Professional for Evening.

pm me if you need the contacts.

Hi PSM,

i agreed. wine is uptrend now. i know my ex-colleague are crazy on wines so i think i will take free flow of wines. Just 3 tables of my ex-colleagues we can drink 20 bottles of red wines already. That's what it happens the last 2 weddings of my colleague. Crazy eh.. ha ha

Hi PSM

i think consist of both day and evening. its on shutterfly. probably its FL PG.

Shall persuade HB to take wine :p

Hi Joleen,
The wedding show already over in October at the restaurant itself. They won't have any for Nov or Dec as they fully booked for events. Do contact them direct for more details.

Hi Hi!!

Anyone recently have done their wedding????? I am tentatively choosing this as 1 of my choice.. I need opinions!!!

Hi dodolet
Why not call them up for an appointment. better still meet up prior to their wedding banquet, so you can see the set up.

yaya i went to the massive wedding show last sun
but they cant accept my booking for later part of 2009
sian
anyhow took orchard hotel?

I had their wedding package,

For their 8 course dinner u have to pay
1) weekend 738 nett
2) weekday 638 nett

But You can get free flow of beer or wine excl cocktail

Down side you can only have 30 complimentary parking and there after each car is $3 per entry.

No light refreshments provided before or after the dinner for the couple.

The food wise... pretty much usual. So what do you think????

think 30 compl. carpark is more than enough as they don't have too much car park space anyway.
Advice your guests during invitation of the free flow & avoid driving there.

Instead of the light refreshment, there is $60 given to you to order anything you like from the Room Service menu freshly prepare to you, any time of the day beside the breakfast already included.

I think this is better that you can control better. Maybe call Gan Wong for discussion. He helped me a lots.

Why worry so much of the car park? Those drive will know where to park. Understand that the area has more than 2000 parking lots. Those wanted to drink will not drive as well.

I went to king yesterday to view the venue as there is a coming wedding show which provide a good deal but my SO doesn't quite like the embience. It was been blocking by few huge pillars and definitely the guest can see clearly but there is a screen provided. The girl dealt with us is Grace, she clearly showed to us all the charges, wedding favor and wedding card even the chef personally came over and talk to us about the food. Quite impress about this first time service.

The problem with them is they hardly listen to the call and hardly reply email.

Dont think we want to take up this place because of the embience.

Agnes: As per grace, the $60 is payable le..not free 1 le..

I am sure there is some misunderstanding, the $60 is form of allowance given to you to order anything from Room Service prior or after your wedding dinner. Of course you need to pay if you order more and extra.

You are right, can't help it with the pillar. As for the ambience, suggest you to go down to view the actual set up when there is wedding dinner. You will get clearer prospective on the set up. Otherwise, can't help it

April, Copthorne King's has a wedding booth at Vivi City till tomorrow. Go for the good deal as normally the deal for the sgow is much more!

hihi.. i went to king's yesterday too.. i went without any appointment but Gan Wong is really pro.. he brought out everything related to the AD and showed us, serving us tea, and spent time explaining every tinny little details of the package..

The $60 is for the couple to order room service anything during the stay.. He did say will packed those food the couple missed during the dinner but he feels that we should eat hot and freshly cooked food instead of those packed once.. which i think is quite true.. haha

Both my PIL and us like the embience very much.. the downside is that there are huge pillars blocking the stage.. and ppl in the far end cannot see the stage at all.. but it's good tt they have live telecast of the event thru the 4 big projectors around the hall..

I'm surprise that they have everything prepared, even letter to the bank for increase of credit limit, templates for the card printing, AD events timeline, script for the emcees.. this is great for us..

This is still top of the list for us right now..

i have just went to view CK today. the decor is really not bad. Just that i have more than 30 tables so most likely will beed to use the private dining area. this is the minus point. but its on the top of my FH's list.

Anyone can share about their bridal suite? any pixs? can share with me? [email protected]

Dear ladies,

there is a wedding show coming this June 29 from 1-5pm. Please sign up as the deal is not bad at all. For $28 per couple, you get to save quite a bit. Good luck!

hi all....i've visited King Copthorne today and met up with Mr Gan, so thought of sharing my experience...

Mr Gan is very friendly and he made me feel that he's professional and experienced in his field of work. he explained many details to us, showed us the wedding favours, invitation cards and the various documents that they have prepared for the couple such as program list, checklist...

he also shared with us what are the areas to save costs...haha!

all in all, it was a very pleasant experience today @ King Cop.....

the not-so-good of King Cop is that being a restaurant, there are pillars within the dining area... but it is compensated with 3 projectors and screens with live telecast of what's happening on the stage itself.......

Tho we havent decided on dinner venue yet...but MR Gan great service to us should receive a thumbs up!!

We went to view the Tien Court and the funtion room on Sat.My bf like the funtion room is cozy and confortable.Cause we only having 10 tables so only use the funtion room and we can have a straight march-in.We were served by Grace,she showed us the bridal room which is a deluxe room.We find it quite small becuase it is not a suite.But still acceptable cause is very clean and tidy.

We planning to sign up with them on this weekend.Anyone can tell us is there any way to bargin for more perks like increase parking lot from 20 to 30,cheaper room rate,waiver of corkage for wine?I find it quite hard to bargin with them,they stand quite firm.Are they usually like this?

No point getting more parking lots, as the place are not able to accomodate, let your guests know that due to limited lots, they are likely to ask to park at Furama hotel next door etc. And yes, they are very firm & not much to bargain for. ask for additional lunch after the wedding, like one month honeymoon anniversary.

Can anybody advice me does complimentary food testing means we need not to pay a single cents including chinese tea or soft drink served throughout the dinner?Cause we having food testing this Sat.Wondering is it only the food are complimentary....

You should have selected your choice of food & wine served. Thus it is FOC. unless you need to try additional dishes out of the pre-selected. Do make sure there's 10 pax for the complimentary food. extra 2 person is ok as the portion is quite big, Avoid having children for the food tasting. take this opportunity to have your parents & in-law, Bros & Sis who have sense of great food & give suggestion. FYI, I had a dish changed after the food-tasting, as their suggested is general more preferred choice. hope this helps.

Thanks all for the advice.Haha.I thought we need to pay for the drinks like chinese tea and soft drinks....Cause it didn't mention including the drinks.

Livia, do enjoyed the food tasting with your family and in-law. Take this opportunity to network with them to create better rapport, good for the future.
The "FOOD" tasting is quite fun as you may have to do quite a bit of decisions making on your wedding dinner. There was a Checklist given to me before the dinner and Gan Wong helped explain the things we need to prepare and going forward. Very informative and helps to release quite some worries of me and my hubby. I have recommend my girlfriend lately to Tien Court and is served by Gan Wong as well. There have even developed another Final Week Checklist to help to remind the couple to final prepare the wedding dinner. Due to my girlfriend can't get Emcee, Gan Wong will help on this occasion. Phew, my girlfriend has great relief as she really can't get someone and if pay someone to do so will cost her more than $300. Gan Wong did not ask for a fee but my girlfriend is prepared to give him a $88 ang pau based on the Chinese custom must give a red packet who help you on your big day. I have attached the checlist for your easy reference and hope it will help us a little. I am currently looking forward to go back for the wedding dinner as i missed mine, poor bride only can eat up to first two and last two only. Luckily we have $60 inclusive in the package to eat before the dinner, very good gesture from the hotel. Got to go, no worry, just enjoy, ask for Gan Wong, he will help you.

Hi all,I just went to my food tasting last Sat.My coordinator Grace was onleave.The manager Mr Gan served us.He is indeed helpful.Provide a lot of informations such as checklist,sequance of AD and Lunch,etc.The food is nice.The dish we had are :
Combination Plate :Crab Meat Roll,Crispy Eel,Crispy Cod with Spicy Honey Sauce,Seafood Omelette,Deep-fried Pork Rib.(This dish is good overall specially for the Crispy Cod is a must choose item).
Braised Shark fin Soup with Dried Scallop & Seafood(Usually i didn't like shark fin quite well but this one is special i find it very good.Ths taste is different with others)
Sauteed King Prawns with XO Chilli Sauce(The prawns is so so,not fresh enough,but the size is big.Still acceptable,but my in law request to change)
Deep-fried Soon Hock with Superior Soya Sauce(Very nice,everybody like it,but too much bones,my in law change it)
Barbecued "Guang Dong"Duck(This is the only dish not nice,the duck meat not tender,the skin very soft not like freshly toast)
Braised Chinese Mushroon & Broccoli with Superior Oyster Sauce(Acceptable,Mushroom is tender,the Broccoli a bit hard)
Wok-fried rice with assorted seafood(I find it good,but my in law said where got ppl serve fried rice during wedding so she change to Er-fu noodle)
Steamed Yam with Pumpkin & Gingo Nuts(This is the best)The food portion is quite big,hopefully actual day will be the same.

I am holding my wedding in CK in Jan 09... Gg for food tasting this sun... I actually sign the package during their recent wedding fair... and i got to taste some of the food during the wedding fair... the Steamed Yam with Pumpkin and Gingo Nuts is really very nice, not too sweet... Thumbs up...

My coordinator is Mr Gan Wong... I agree he is very friendly and helpful... He is always very patient to ans our queries and will give us suggestions and alternatives on how we can do it...

Hi Livia,

There's a choice of between free flow wine or beer... which one will u choose??? i'm not sure which one to choose... coz i did some research by asking my frenz which one they prefer... It is a half half situation... Dunno which is more worth it....

Hi Wendy,

I choose beer,because mine is wedding lunch.And my fiance said if we choose wine,he doesn't know how are we going to bring in the beer.In cans?In bottle?a bit funny,cause i think nobody bring in ownself beer.

Hi Livia,

If you bring your own wines will have corkage charge of $15nett per bottle rite... purchase from CK is $30 nett per bottle (erm... is their cheapest wine)... only hard liqour no charge as long it is not duty free...

Mi and my hubby intend to buy either wine or beer so that our frenz and relatives have more option on the berevages... Now we wanna c which will consume more...

I have check with Gan... the beer (if you buy) comes in jugs or u can get 30 litres barrel... the problem is if we cannot finish... we must pump out the beer from the barrel... how to keep...

Jus to share my wedding experience with u guys....

Date of Wedding:15 Nov 08

Comments: Excellent environment with tip top standard service !!!

1)To start off..though the restaraunt is fixed with pillars but the view of footage is viewed by every1 through 3 huge projectors located at good viewpoint - Great consideration for guests

2)At ard 4plus when my wife is doing her makeup and hairdo..i passed the wedding album,mini album,signature book and the "pop pop" to Gan's staff for the reception setup by the jie mei later on. To my surprise when i went back down at 6.50pm for our solemnisation ceremony..everything is nicely setup before the jie mei arrived and "pop pop" is distributed to those tables required for the 1st march - Good service and Initiative.

3) AT our bridal table, my troublesome grandmother suddenly want to have vegetarian menu during consumption of the 1st dish, i jus informed gan's staff and it was served without fuss and started with the 1st dish(veg) to my grandmother again - What to say?? Wordless..Exceeded my expectation totally

4)As Gan is our emcee for the whole event..Yum sheng's atmosphere is brought to the highest. March-In is nice timed.Dinner started nicely before 8.20pm and with the guest sending off at 10.20pm.Whole process is enjoying and not rushing. We even have time to mingle around with our guests and take photos - Nice and wonderful night

5) At the end of the banquet, Gan brief us on our bills for the night..short..clear and sweet then signed...our jie mei dun even hav to clear the foyer except the ang pox..Gan's team packed properly(every item verifed by us with gan) and send to our room.Food was packed additionally for our supper without any costs though we had eaten 4 dishes out of the 8 Coz.My wife and i jus walked hand in hand to press the lift and to our room...niceeee - Wordless...Gan and team bend off their back and give their all to make our event enjoying and wonderful.Our Guests have great reviews about the food and environment.

My wife and i make a very good decision in choosing Tien Court as our venue and place the right trust in Gan(The best of the best) and his team.

Now its you guys' turn to try it out.....

Hi Livia (livialw)...jus to tip u off..Gan is the director of food & Beverage at King's wor...u will never find a guy of his status to provide good service to his customers and show a good example for his team to follow..Cheers and enjoy your wedding

Hey all, read about the good reviews on CK and considering about holding my AD there, but one thing which holds me back is the location, wondering if any of your guests complained about the complexity to get to CK??
thanks in advance for the feeback!

Hi Vi (ivy289) ,

Dun hav to worry about the location as the area generally for banquet in hotel and most guests will usually flag cab when going back as it will be over 10pm. PIE and CTE is jus around the corner.Cheers...

Hi Jereld Lho (sunrise77_2000)!
Ya true hor.. ppl will normally flag cab after the dinner.
will pop in these few weeks to check on their package. Happy that everything goes smoothly for ur AD! Congrats!

Hi Vi (ivy289) ,

Its no prob..yep choosing the bridal shop and the hotel venue is the crux so u gt to make a better decision to minimise the additional workload ontop of the wedding stress.Cheers and have a great time with the prep

Can check with you all,is any of you bring in duty free hard liqour for the AD?Will the hotel take any action on this?

halo all brides & grooms who have had their wedding at CK!!
can I check on how's the reviews on their food and service?
Abit worried cos seems there's some negative reviews.. :-/

pls advise...need reassurance..hee..

Hi mercur05,

What kind of negative feedback?From this forum it has been positives feedback lately.I personally find their food not bad.Service also quite good.

oki good good...=) hope to hear more reviews of CK.
I was reading past old threads where there's a few not so positive remarks of them and went to search online for their food review too.
anyway,think maybe food taste is up to individual..hard to please everyone.. ^_^

Is any of you tried bring in duty free hard liqour during the Actual Day dinner/lunch?Any action from the hotel?