Copthorne King's Hotel

denisemarcussim

Wow.... pls have everything written black and white!! If they promise they will serve you food before your dinner starts, pls ask them to write down in the contract. They didn't tell us at all cos my relatives and friends told me the hotel will arrange it after the event end.. seems like this is a sub-standard hotel... that's why the sub-standard treatment.

For the vege/muslim food is as long as you can make up 1 table ALL sitting together, with 8 dishes, then you won't have extra charge. But for my case, I requested all my 10 guests seated in different tables and Gan told me on the condition that all will get 6 dishes instead of the 8 dishes.

Oh, for you want a dinner ah.. a fellow singaporebride host her wedding in qian xi.. though it's a restaurant, the ambience is super magical.. she showed us the pics! I heard the food is very nice and value for money. But the hassle is chagning! and after the dinner, you still need to pack up. Have you sign up for your bridal package? You can go to J&M as well.. not pushy and nice ppl... =)

kitcat

I do agree with you that it seems sub-standard. I emailed them asking some questions which i am not sure and they did not reply me for some time. Haiz. These things are making me really worried. I wanted qian xi. However, which qian xi you are saying is magical? There are alot of branches. Went to view the bliss garden qian xi at expo but heard from reviews that food not nice, place also very wierd. Some sort like a conference hall.
Will speak to my muslim friend cos think she would prefer to have those yummy sharks fin stuffs.
Called them up and the coordinator told me to wait for them to call me to go down sign the contract. Cos she have a few on her hands.... Scared.....
Thinking of "e Pines".
Is it good?

denisemarcussim

Haha... don't have to wait for them to reply your msg.. they don't like black and white.. that's what the impression I had from them too!! What my friend said that I should write an email to them after I call them up to ask them any qns.

I'm referring to Bliss Garden. The pics she show us really impressive.. Most important is to have a straight and long isle.. which Copthorne King's do not have. Not too sure about the food.. but you can go down with ur hubby to try their food 1st?

How about holiday inn @ Havelock Road? And Parkroyal HOtel @ Beach Road? Parkroyal hotel just renovated.. that was one of my choice.. but didn't choose that because my cousin also wanted to host it there. The package we got was quite a good deal. The Hotel which I like best is traders hotel. Very very professional!! THat time didn't choose that hotel cos of the space contraint, which later then we realised that Copthorne King's also has the same contraint. Merchant Court still the best.. If you can convince your hubby to host it during lunch it will be good.

amy_chin

I share my wedding banquet at Copthorne King's Hotel,Tien Court Restaurant.They are wonderful & Helpful which is Mr. Gan Wong (F&B Director), Kavitha (F&B Executive) & Ms Carmen Loo from the Tien Court(Assistant Manager).Thank you all of them make me & my husband memoradum...

agnes_chong

Hi Amy,

Actually im looking for my wedding banquet but dun know which place is better?Can i ask you questions?

1.How's the decoration?
2.What are the priced like?

amy_chin

Hi Agnes,

Nice to meet you.I can introduce you Copthorne King's Hotel.They do the very good job.

1.Restaurant goes fo the modern oriental theme.They decoration are very romantic cause they all use rose & candle light.The food there is very good expecially the master chef(Chef Ho).All my guest feed back to me very good.

2.The price they have weeday & weekend priced.For weekday $638nett & weekend $698nett whiach is 8 course.I'm taken that $698nett package cause there included 2 night stay at bridal suite room, and beverages free flow of beer or wine, soft drinks & chinese tea throughout the dinner.If u free can go there take a look which is u can look them which is i mention above the name.

agnes_chong

Amy,

Thank you for your information.I'll go there and make an appointment & booking.Thanks for your comments.And i can buy you some coffee.Heh...Heh...

kitcat

Hi amy and agnes. So glad to see someone responding to this thread cos seems like not many pp knows abt copthorne. As u can previously see, it seems i have some probs with the coordinators.

Amy, could i check with you if you have any such problems? I require the chinese menu for quite some time and when i email kavitha, she din reply and when i call her, she said she will send me and reply to my email but i've already waited for many days and weeks but still no replies.

My mother-in-law is already rushing me for the chinese menu so she can decide. How????

amy_chin

No, i dont think so they are like tat.I suggest you should call them up or maybe call the Dir of F&B yourself to test him up whether he is like Denise said! Gan also help to be the Emcee of the
evening and my guests and us have enjoyed it. It's hassle free. They have not replied maybe they are too busy during these period as seems that they have wedding every week! Why not go to meet up with them these few days and decide once and for all! Or email to [email protected]?

denisemarcussim

Yeah.. kitcat most importantly that you must try interacting with the employee.. seems like lady luck is not by our side compared to Amy Chin. She has everything a bride wish for.. no hipccup.. NO HASSLE.. it's amazing.. prob you should ask Amy how she manage to get hold of them and what ask her for the advise of how the hotel did a hassle free service for her. This is very interesting!

Hi Amy, when is your AD? YOu should have join Singapore Bride earlier, should have discuss with you since I guess you should just held ur dinner only recently. If you are here earlier probably I would have another person to adivse me since I guess Copthorne Kings' is not popular at all! But why join the forum when your dinner is over. You really lucky and trusting gal. Most females are skeptical and will do a thorough check on the forum before deciding the venue and photography package. This is only your 1st post in Singapore Bride and its after your wedding is over. maybe all of us should be like you.. shouldn't know too much and expect too much.

kitcat

Hmmmm yup. Funnie that after your wedding, you join the forum. Hee.. for me lazy bride, most prob after wedding i would fly off to some special place for the honeymoon and enjoy some quality time with my hubby after all those hassle. Hee.

Well, i did interact with the pp there. I've sent more than 3 emails about some questions i've had and some concerns. However, i did not have any replies. So, after sometime, i decided to call them and was assured about replying to my emails. But after waiting for some time, i came to the conclusion that what for fred about these things. If they mess it up, i would most prob just change venue or postphone dates. I do not believe in pushing for the wedding when the feel is not right. And the last thing i would want is for unhappiness to happen during the actual day (1 lifetime only once). Hee

When i rang up the 3rd time, the coordinator replied that they were not availiable and thus was not able to also get back to me.

Their coordintor did call me up to ask us to go meet them to answer also my concerns. And after the meet up, they replied that their system crashed so they did not have my email thus replies are not possible.

Signz. Now, not pining high hopes. Just hope for a normal wedding.

Amy: How did you manage to get Gan to help be Emcee of the evening?

Denise: Thank you for your suggestions. Now, just pray nothing funny happens.

donchan

I just went to see Tien Court on 31/12. The coordinator who showed us ard seems sincere and helpful.

The restaurant is quite small, with a lot of pillars. But otherwise, the ambience is quite nice.

Thinking of signing up with them. Anyone just had wedding there?

denisemarcussim

Kitcat.. It's my pleasure. I also do not wish other bride to 'suffer' like me. It's not a memorable event, but what else can i said since it's already over. Forum is for us to share ideas and experience which I really hope that I can share with fellow singapore brides like how other brides share their tips with me.

Oh ya, another factor is the car park. If most of your guest are driving then you will have to pre warn them cos I think at the end of the day prob we have only 20 cars manage to park into the hotel.

Wedding prep is a good experience and a lot of sharing & learning curve for you and your hubby. Anything just let me know.. will be most willing to help. =)

Donchan, I held my wedding in Oct. The ambience is nice which my guest like it. Other than the ambience, you can see my past post of what I had gone through. The live-feed which they had to make sure that all guest able to see what's on the screen doesn't help much cos the one handling the live-feed is one the employee with a shaking hand.. haha.. my guests told me they eat and see the screen at the same time.. just like the blair-witch.. just what I had gone through.. prob not every couple has the same exp as me... we are just one of the 'lucky' one..

pskin

Hi all, i am also interested in having a wedding at Copthorne King's Hotel..

Amy, just check with you, you held ur wedding at the restaurant? cos the website didnt mention where it was held..i assumed it was a ballroom..
do they have ballrooms? i do not wish to have a venue with so many pillars as donchan mentioned. Any one has a picture of the venue so that we can take alot? couldn't find any..

btw was the bridal suite nice? big? got jacuzzi? hee..

kitcat

Omg, Denise, i really can't imagine eating and watching "blair witch project" together. Hee hee... watched the show before and really felt green.

Think will try to see if can get someone (either brother or sisters) to do the live feed if possible then. Hee... Thanks so much. still feeling jittery abt the whole thing. Think i won't be able to relax until after everything's over. A wedding is once in a lifetime. Really hope to have things smooth. =)

kitcat

pskin, they do not have ballroom. It'z at a chinese looking resturant (looks quite high class though) with pillars. However, there are projectors and screens situated such that views are good.

Pix of venue will not tell u much. Recomend you to go view the place. Was pretty impressed with the deco though i can't really sae the same abt the coordinator. (I like carmen from tien court though.) The bridal suite is normal. Not as nice as M hotel.

pskin

opps i guess i wont be going down on fri.. i emailed the hotel but till now (been days already) there was no response.. called them no answer.. sigh.. guess they dun wan to make my $..haha..

see how it goes then.. btw is corp king a 3 star hotel?

denisemarcussim

Hi pskin

Hee.. I don't know.. think u have to call them.

Their emails only has inbox, no outbox. hahaha...

kitcat,

If you want your dinner to start promptly, remember to tell all ur guest that there are limited carpark lots. That night my hubby and my hp kept ringing cos of the carpark.. and we have no time to explain to all our relative and friends where else to park. It's an oversight on our part.. neither do we expect that 80% car lots will be taken up by the hotel guests.

pskin

hihi.. went down to the brides asia fair today..

corp king had a booth there and spoke with kavitha. they are having quite a good promotion now.. like free tables.. free sodomization, muscial performance etc.. the bridal suite looks okay too.. with balcony

i also went down to see the location. although the package was really attractive but the we dun really like the idea of having it in a restaurant..

for others who dun mind.. its a good bargain so head down to suntec now!

agnes_chong

Yes, good package. I like the zen design of the restuarant. Like the set up over the weekend wedding dinner. I will take their offer as it's really good deal. Good luck to those who are late.

Agnes

amy_chin

Wow, it seems that I am the most kay poh after marraige bride after Denise as her name appeared more than anyone else. I am still writing to you bacauase I am helping my classmate to be her helper on her wedding on this March lah!

Denise, please don't get anyry, we supposed to share, right!

My hubby like the food and Zen designed restaurant , same with our house. In-law like a bit pf china china look restuarant. Do't like ballroom with 4 walls only. Good to see only. We bring them to see many place. So tired lei. Must say the food is very good.

Kitcat, we try so many friends to ask them to be emcee. So angry with man, macho but stage scare and dare not to go up to stage, useless man! Ask for profeesional emcee from one freind, $500 lei, so ex! So, after gan comeby to say hello and he was holding an extra emcee speech to gave to other couple. We try our luck lah! But he said only use him as last man only. But he still help on that day, no one help us. He is quite good lei, worth lei($80 from our red packet to $500. I think I still have his no, want me to call him for help, he is helping my classmate also. But, don't count on me lei, I only can try oh, plaese let me know oh!

punkpunk

Glad to hear some good points there. Cus i will be holdin my wedding there in Dec this yr.
Seem like the gan seem to be a mood swing pax.
Hope on my weddin day he be in a good mood n maybe be my mc too........
How he like actually.... Hope he and my parents will be screaming all ard cus i am sort of ching chai pax. First thing i must say i am at least glad the food receive good comments. U koe la those auntie relatives go for the food n wine etc.

denisemarcussim

Gan ah... hmm.. My videographer 'accidentally' record down how he use his 'professional' people skill to interact with my family.. if I can attached it up here.. it will be my pleasure...

Haha.. prob he really had mood swing.. I also did saw how he really help out with his crew during my wedding day.. like helping to lay the carpet.. arrange with my coordinate.. but whenever I see the video.. all these unforgetable & 'memorable' event will flood my mind..

Of course I'm will not get angry with Amy.. it's pointless anyway.. I don't gain anything at all.. it's really a good deal they are providing.. this is no doubt about it.. Btw, I won't lose out in anyway if brides here don't agree with me. Of course it will be good that they can provide a better service after my incident. Unless they are not teachable people..
haha.. then my infor here will be beneficial to the brides, at least they know what they will be getting other then the attractive deal.

deeplyinlove

Had my AD last december. Everything went smoothly.
No Hiccups. Also ask Gan to be my emcee and had a wonderful night. Parking was a problem as the hotel had advised us previously. So what I did.
Few days before, I ask all my friends and kakis to park next door. At the reception table, prepare some parking Ang Pow to reimburse them for their cash card. When guest arrive, my recept will ask them where they park. If in hotel, give complimentary, else is next door, give ang pow to reimburse their parking. No problem, all guest was able to get to Tien Court in time.

Small place and had a very cosy event. Only intro 1 of my kaki as the main co-ordinator to them. Empower the co-ordinator to make decisions, then just get dressed and looked pretty. Whole night busy enjoying all the blessing from guests, we were not troubled at all. All the back end decisions of wine control and playing of music, to the display of menus and misc... they work with my kaki, we were totally relaxed and truely smiling . The only worry was if we will tripped on the march in with such a big dress...hehe.

Food wise, no need to mention much. It is already well complimented in this forum.

I understand what some brides to be are concerned about the lack of response from emails and phone call before the event. Me too had similar experience. I know the trick to catch them.
I go down personally with all my concerns written down at around 8pm on a weekday. Will check with them if that day is a wedding day. If not, go around 8 plus when the dinner crowd is gone. They are very free. They welcome me, sat down ,offered tea and we discuss in details on all my concerns. Everything they show me samples, print place layout, decide exact wordings and even ask the chef to prepare a dish which my parents want to change after food testing for us. Yum yum.
With my lists of concerns, they answered all completely and had a lot of advise for us. Some even we were not thinking about, they also remind us like remembering to pose longer for the cameras when cross drinking, what to look out for and timing consultation which is very very detail. They are very experienced. Went home feeling good. And once before I had some concerned about the deco and seating arrangement, same thing again, everything noted down, call them to see they have a wedding on a weekend and went down at around 4-5 to see the actual wedding decoration, screen and seating arrangement. Like that then had a better visual idea than using phone and emails.

When the Actual day arrives, we will very busy with our make-ups and hair-dos and was guided all the way. They will tell us to come down by when and when to do what, we just simply follow and everything was just simply wonderful.
What a night! Sincerely wish to thanks Tien court from J&J couple.

Will be back in dec 07 for our anniversary and hope to see you gals there for brides that are getting married then.

kitcat

Thanks a lot for your info!!! Did just that and went down to see them. Khavitha answered everyone of my concerns and was very happy. CHeck with you gals. When did you all sign the contract?

enlightenme

me too a btb at Tien Court... nice ambience... nice place... nice co-ordinator after some hipcups... yes I do agree that they are slow in replying emails... what I do is keep forwarding the same email which i sent... then eventually after 2 to 3 forwarded email she reply... so many good and bad comments on their service.. Have not met Gan Wong before so dun knw how it will turn out if he is really that bad!! getting worried....

enlightenme

should we believe Amy Chin... she seems to encounter only the good things and everything turns out too smoothly for her..
I spoke to a lady whom is Carmen Loo assistant before in the restaurant and so coincidentally her name is Amy Chin too.... If anyone out there is me, will you suspect anything? trying to put good words for Tien Court? Everything seems to good to be true huh?!?!?
..................hmm..........

enlightenme

hi kit... me in the process of signing the contract... when is your AD?? you haven receive your contract?
I checked mine via email and hv them amend some things then they mail original for me & hubby signature...
maybe we can share some details since both of us are BTB there...
seems like you found this place quite sometime ago.. actually i only get to know them in late Jan. Went there for lunch with in-laws, they like the place me and hubby also like the ambience so less then a week we decide to confirm the place... I just read thru this thread and saw that they actually hv a booth at suntec at bridal show... i didn't know man... I think I miss out alot of freebies lor... sad huh!!

agnes_chong

Dear friends,

My wedding is months away but feeling the heat now lei! Anyone feel the same?

Thank you to Crazy About Jo for your advice, grat help!

I went to meet Kavitha yesterday to finalise a bit here and there. Quite a sincere and friendly lady. Very unusual for a Indian wedding planner for Chinese wedding dinner, but who cares as long my wedding is smooth sailing!! She helps us with all the checklist, emcee script, dinner sequence and lots of advice!! Make sure you get a copy too. Very helpful lei! Quite spoilt with the invitation card choices till we almost argue over what to have, haha!

Kitcat, happy for you to clear off all the concerns. Did you have a chance to meet Gan? (Hot topic?)Is he helping you with the Emcee job? My hubby quietly say, ask him to be the emcee, no need to search, haha, lazy man! My hubby don't involvet much, how about yours?

To be frank, I want to enjoy my BIG DAY. I certainly don't want to crazy meself over things. I told them and shared my concerns and apparently I got all the responds even with advice. I am happy and continue want to be happy the enjoy the process of togetherness with my hubby. Since they can do it for Crazy About Jo, I think they can do the same for us. Same to you and EnlightenMe.

Whether or not they are professional, as along my wedding dinner is smmoth sailing, I will be very happy.

EnlightenMe, there is a wedding show next week on 25/3/2007 at GrandCopthorne Waterfront. Don't bother if you already signed up.

After all this, I am checking my guest list, very ma huan lei. But, still I have to do and move on and be happy, that's will make me happy.

See you all then!

kitcat

WOW!!! nice to see so much responds here now.

EnlightenMe, just to share with u with what they gave us. We booked the place last year in dec. however, khavitha was nice enuff to offer us the some of the newer stuffs that they have so i would sae 2 thumbs up for her service.

Have not met with gan yet. I've only seen him once but we did not deal with him much so would not be able to say how he is. EnlightenMe, since u had ur meals there before, how's the food? Carmen is actually very nice and one of the deciding factor to sign there. Did not deal with amy also as she was not around when we went down.

Agnes, i totally agree with you that we should be as happy as possible for our big day. Now crossing my fingers and hope that everything would be smooth on that day. I do no hope for much just that all my tables are filled and that no hicups from the hotel side. kekeke...

I have met up with khavitha already to sign the contract. Getting more used to their style of things. Guess i was too nervous previously.

enlightenme

Hi Kit
My AD is on Sep30th. How abt urs?
Yup agree that Kavitha is good. If she's able to give she will loh. If can't then she won't beat around the bush also!! I think like that easier to trust their work loh!
Me too have not met Gan. Actually didn't knw he exist till I come this thread. hehehehe....
Did you engage Emcee or ask your friends do? I cannot find emcee leh... Looking at abit budgetted one! haiz...

deeplyinlove

Glad to be of some help.
Just hope all of you will enjoy the most important day just like us.
Attached is our table layout for your reference.
Use it as a guide.
465434.jpg

kitcat

Enlightenme
My AD is 11th Nov. Is yours in 2007 or 2008 year?

So far, very happy with all the improvements of the place. Emcee have not been "arrowed" yet. keke... would think of something when itz nearer. Now have to settle wedding photo shoot first and my house reno. Any one of ya have any contractors to recomend?

Crazyaboutjo
Wow! Thanks a mil! It would be really helpful from your pix to see how the layout would be. Now praying hard we would have full attendance. Is yours filled up?

enlightenme

kitcat,
My AD is in 2007. 6 more months....
Me having headache finding emcee... Don't know how!!
I asked Kavitha abt asking Gan to help for my AD emcee, she says only restaurant colleague able to help. Hmm... wonder how Amy Chin got his help and have a wonderful night..
haizz... 'fan'
Oh I forgot to answer one of your question. I went there for brunch and their dim sum is Good! Tried a few of their a-la-carte dish also nice...

isabel_n

I've also booked Kings, AD in 2007 too. Have wanna try Waterfront but we settle for Kings 'cos of the cantonese food and we don't have many tables in the 1st place.
As for the contract, they also took a long time to get back to us but we aren't too bother, for we have already paid the deposit. Still in process of signing.

Kavitha told me they will be getting better flower deco with crystals from new florist, or something else I think. Plus, we can change the deco color or flowers?
I know this is a restuarant but I hope everything won't not be too cheena :p Just don't give me red lanterns, haha. Kavitha is ok but sometimes, her tone could soften abit. Find her too bland over phone at times. Not yet met her.

Haven't gone for the food tasting. Will update after we meet them to discuss further, plus checking out the deco. Hopefully all will go well for my own coordinator has minimum tolerance for sub-standard result, haha.

Btw, anyone getting the 2 or 3 men instrumental band? Sounds jazzy good

african_fren

Hi Isabel...
when is you AD?

I'm planning to book Kings', but too bad was turned off especially with "Kavi...".

Her attitude was, maybe still is that "S--K"

God bless, things surface before I ever sign up.

God bless you.

isabel_n

My AD is this yr too. We are thinking of changing the coordinator, if there is another one. Is Carmen the manager there? Better?
However, will still stick to this hotel as I believe our families will like the place & food.

Not sure abt others but I find K getting on my nerve already. She was nicer initially. But further discussions with her over phone, I find her having great mood swing. Have realised that her tone would only switch to mild mode if I talk louder than hers. Thus, I don't feel good on meeting her now.

I've also managed to speak to one lady who spoke exactly like this "Amy Chin's writing" in the earlier posts,ie, equally painful to understand. I know some managers would make a short welcome speech for the couple or toasting only, but director as an emcee??? Pity him :p

Ok, that's all for now. Hopefully, the rest will fall smoothly after these hiccups. Please let mine be as happy as others too.

kitcat

Carmen is very nice. However, think she is the in charge over at the tien court and not the hotel. Don't think there are any other coordinators as so far, i've only heard abt k.

So far, she has been quite nice to us after the initial part whereby i was very worried after not getting any replies over emails. Thus, we went down to see her and so far, it is very nice.

Would still need her to send us a copy of the last page of the contract (gan have not signed) and would visit most probably in june to get it done. So far, think going down to see her is the best method and not via email / phones.

isabel_n

I don't see why I need to be harsher to get better treatment from K over phone. Might as well state in their webby "good service will be rendered by the coordinator during meetup only" Ok, will give another chance. Give me another of her crappy attitude/tone, I'll surely complain to their mgmt until someone reply me.

Actually how is their bridal suite? just the usual room or bigger?

denise_sim

Hey gals...

Wow... so many people sign up for Copthorne King's Hotel? Time flies... my wedding is almost a year back!

As for the bridal suite... there's isn't any proper mirror for my make up. Prob I forgot to request for one.
And no dinner will be serve after your AD. So please remember to ask your friends to ta bao some food for you. Ha.. me and my hubby so stupid.. wait for the food to be serve after our dinner till 12am then we realised that we should get our own food before the room service close for the day.

All the best for the wedding preparation. Wedding is only a day event.. marriage is for whole life.

isabel_n

How is everyone preparation? *wave*

Managed to meetup with them, not Kavitha, last month and signed the contract. And I am quite please with them now.

These are some issues I've checked/finalized:

- march-in can be arranged in straight line
- given $60 voucher to (as per contract) and room order is 24 hr. need not worry for food.
- they will prepare tea-set if we need
- full-length mirror can be arranged if need 'cos theirs is only a table mirror.
- to finalize on the color of flowers during food tasting
- wedding favors, key chains, soap, bear and bell......can't decide, all r nice
- provided a sample of emcee script.
- managed to meetup with the chef.
- even though we won't be utilizing the whole place, we won't be sharing the resturant with other strangers due to partition.

- please with the menu selection.

Even my HTB is pleased with them now, commenting the place is cozy, and decor is alright.

Btw, realised they provide vegetarian banquet too.

pink_rose

I went to Copthorne King to view their ballroom. Once I exit the lift, I can see the chinese restaurant, and then beside the restaurant will be the ballroom right? But how come the reception area is so narrow?
Do guests enter tat entrance or through the chinese restaurant's entrance?
Lastly, does anyone have pictures of the ballroom for viewing? If yes, pls send to [email protected]