Copthorne King's Hotel

wiz

Hi Cleo and Melodys,

I have been there for a friend's wedding... Actually I was looking for a venue but I didn't settle for that place. If I am not wrong, you are talking about the restaurant on the second floor(tien's Court), right? I feel that it is pretty small and with too many pillars... A lot of blockage. The price is good tho' $340+++. I tried their food... didn't really like it... The first dish, they actually served pregnant fish.. Maybe it is supposed to be a delicacy but guess I duuno how to appreciate it... The music for the first dish also very funny. Maybe you should go to the restaurant to take a look yourselves....

If you are looking at that area, i would suggest... Orient Ocean in Miramar Hotel.. Looks much more classy and nice... really. or River View hotel ($528+++). Good Luck

wiz

Yep, if I am not wrong, they do have a tiny ball room... What thye will do.. is that they will open up the ballroom to connect with the restaurant an VIP rooms.... that is why there is quite a bit of blockage. Have you taken a look at the restaurant?

Wiz

my

I have been there once, i think i can remember liao! the layout was not so good! so what you say the got a lot of blockage and they also consider the VIP also! no wonder nobody choose that place lar!

laughing

Anyone had wedding in King's more recently? Care to share experience?

I viewed the place today, decor is nothing to shout about, but the IC claimed they are superior for food quality. Anybody can verify this for me? Personally, I never knew Tien Court existed in the first place, much less their reputation for excellent food.

rachelcheng

Went Copthorne King's and almost took up their package. But for the price you are paying for just a restaurant even tho the food is nice, I think I would rather spend the same amount on a grand ballroom. I have signed up with River View. Price is reasonable and you get a grand ballroom. Food quite nice also..

acidig

but i heard that the River View service is lousy.
any comments on River View? How about Miramar Hotel?

nicky_boy

Went to River view.. the place is so old. Dun really like the ballroom and bridal suite. Copthorne King had renovated their place, looks nice and good for my guests. Like the bridal suite especially. But I need comments on the food!! Hw's the food????

i did not choose tien court but i can share with you guys.. i met up with their F&B head, really cool guy! very good service! food wise, even some politicians went there for dinner (my bf saw someone but i cant be bothered so i dun rememeber who she was). then place is new. its chinese restaurant with a modern look. nice place. price, is about 600+ so not too bad. can look for stephanie (banquet manager)

marble

apparently, kwek leng beng has lunch there often.

i had my banquet there. comment from guests was that food was good. but i didn't find it so during food tasting..altho' all feedback given during food tasting were looked into.

my banquet theme was shanghainese. so the place was perfect. no regrets using the place at all. moreover, we paid old rate of 500plus for brand new decor.

if u want something different from the usual high ceiling no pillar ballroom, tien court is good. my banquet turned out like a big ra-ra party sort and my guests had lots of fun!

marble

it was nett. we got the bargain then coz the plans to renovate was not fixed yet. also, i think the ex-banquet mgr who sold us the package was more generous...understand the price has gone up alot ya?

nicky_boy

Marble... mayb u can tell wat u get, example: how many litres of Beer, hw many tables u got... blah blah blah. Thanks.

marble

let me see..
the extras were:-
1. 2 night's stay instead of 1
2. 2x30L barrel of beer (or was it 20L can't rem, but we did not even touch the 2nd barrel coz my guests were guzzling the hard liquor and wine haha)
3. complimentary anniversary dinner worth $88

we had 32 tables.

have u signed? if u did, i'll give u some pointers to watch out for.

nicky_boy

Oh.. Mine, only got abt 28 tables.. so can't negotiate much.. Manage to get 50L of beer, 1 night stay at the bridal suit and free corkage for wine and liquor, 40 parking coupons. Most probably I will pay my deposit once I come back from my Taiwan trip with my wine..

So.. what r the pointers? Thanks!

marble

1. more parking coupons not much use. 'coz car park capacity kinda small. late comers have to park blocking early comers. a blessing in disguise if u look at the bright side coz early comers can't leave dinner early ;-)

2. they lost my original wedding music CD, so don't give them your original..give them a dupe copy.

3. when u check into the hotel, make sure they give u the bridal suite. when we checked in, reception insisted we were only entitled to a normal room. lucky i had the contract with me then to show. so bring a copy of the signed contract when u check in in case of dispute.

4. when u settle the bill at the end of the evening, be prepared that the mgr may ask for an ang pow for the staff..i was taken a back by the outright request, made to my drunk hubby directly. if i wasn't next to my hubby then, he could have just given them '00s or '000s of dollars in his drunken stupor. so..err..when u pay, make sure your wifey or someone sober is next to u..

well, i really love my banquet held there. little hiccups here and there but nevertheless i think the staff tried their best and were reasonably helpful and pleasant. hope yours will turn out wonderful too.

deeplyinlove

Just went to book at King's hotel.
Judy(manager) was very friendly, very accomodating, nice lady.
King's hotel is well known for their chef.
Am always a regular at their Penang buffet at their cafe.
They offered us the Or Ni to try when we are there
for 'look see look see' session in the restaurant.
Best Or Ni I ever tasted. Sign on the spot.
Dinner can only held in their Restaurant with ballroom extension beside the restaurant.
Place newly renovated. Semi ballroom, semi restaurant feel. Good mix. A bit of pillar but still can see quite well. 3 projector screen with master control projection free. Invitation card and printing free. Favours included. Free 30L beer. Price is ok. UOB card has discount until end of 2005.
The only minus is the car park. Relatively small.
Else quite a lovely place.
Nonetheless, don't try the Or Ni unless you want to book there. Sure will fall in love with the Or Ni and like me, will sign on the spot.

deeplyinlove

Sorry for the late reply....
Long time did not check the forum.
Was overseas during this period.
I have send a general package to you gals already as I have not collected the documents yet.

I am very pleased about their service and their flexibility. They even offered us free function room and excellent rate for our ROM ceremony.

J&J couple

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_zip.gif
king's pac zipped
Copthorne King's.zip (15.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

yuki31

Hi crazy abt jo,

can you provide me your co-ordinator contact and email? Is this package applicable for 2006 n early 2007 booking?

deeplyinlove

Hello Yuki,

As for your question, sorry not very sure.
I think should be avail for 2006, 2007....dunno.
You can try to contact her or go down to
the restaurant to find her easier
and at the same time, have a feel about their place.
As for package, remember to bargain
for those things you want, she is very accomodating.
I have attached her name card
348097.jpg

paperdebris

Hi Yuki,
have you check the ballroom yet?

i'm slightly confused. so copthorne kings have a ballroom which is the same level as the restaurant?
or it's seperate and there's another package offer by copthorne king's F&amp;B?

paperdebris

i'd jus went down to take a look.
My views are its good for 30 tables and below. if you got more than 30, the additional tables will be in the vip rooms and they won't be able to see the stage.

lilies

Wanna to check if anyone has been to or held a wedding banquet at Tien Court, Kings Copthrone recently (say, a couple of months back)? How's its food? Service? Ambience? Bridal Suite?

I am narrowing my choices of places to hold my wedding banquet in Mar 07... needing your most sincere and honest comments and feedbacks.

Thank you !

denisemarcussim

I'm here to contribute of what had happened. A misunderstanding that had happened between the hotel.

Initially, when we 1st went down to take a look. It was okie. They told me it's a 'ballroom' which can accomodate up to 35 tables. Which they did show us the floor plan of 28+2 reserved tables. The assistant manager from the sales banquet told me I can will get the 30+2 floor plan when it's ready. That happened in Jan 2006 and we signed the contract without asking any further.

In July, we had the food tasting session. It was horrible!! Never had I tasted something so sub standard. They served chicken which was overly dried, and the yee fu mian was tasteless. Luckily they told me I can change the menu if I don't like the dishes they have presented.

That was not all. In the midst of our food tasting, the manager who was in charge of the F&amp;B told us if we wanted to hold the wedding with 30 tables + 2 reserved, they will have to put 3 of the tables in the private room cos the max they can hold is 29 tables. My Gosh!!! That was really shocking cos that was not what we were told. With 29 tables outside and 1 table in the private room... it look absolutely ugly!
And she ended with, this is not a ballroom. it's a function room, which is attached to the restaurant. Overall, we do not have a nice experience with them.

They promise the food will be better during my AD. So hopefully the cook really can cook for 300 guest and not 10 guest!

lilies

Hi Denise,

Your experience with Tien Court didn't seem pleasant.... so, any improvement after your feedback and comments ? BTW, my understanding from them is that all wedding banquets will only be held at the resturant (Tien Court) itself and not in a ballroom. The decoration there is very oriental, ya ?

denisemarcussim

It is not over yet. Last sat suppose to get my invitation card, but the person in charge forgot all about it! It was a wasted trip!!!

Yup, it is not a good experience with them. All because when we sign up the package, it is a new sales manager who served us. All the information given is not correct! But what else can i said? Left 2 months down to our wedding date then the correct information was given by an executive of the F&amp;B department!! At the end of the day, all thanks to them for giving us such an unforgetable wedding. If they had start right.. I believe we can end with a happy ending. Now we are trying to accept the reality of the hotel not able to host the 30 tables. Was terribly disappointed with them!

lilies

Hi Denise,

Just curious, who is the person who is serving you all these while ? I went down a few times previously... those whom I met were rather professional about things and they seem quite accomdating and helpful and understanding. They showed us around, the suite and even the Chief Chef came out to say "Hello". My impression of them.. not to bad leh. Hmmm.....hmmm...

denisemarcussim

Wow.. u are lucky, Lili!

We will be going down later in the evening to discuss if we can get our refunds back,with the GM. We wrote a complaint letter to the GM &amp; the Director of F&amp;B 3 days ago, which they didn't call us or reply us. So in the end I call the receptionist for the ext of the GM no. ( I was quite amazed that this 2 higher management personnel was sitting on it!)I ask Benedict, the GM of Copthorne Kings, to tell me frankly how many tables can they host in the main hall.

His reply: We are flexible. We can place your table at the corridor. It's just a matter of your level of acceptance.

Think its a silly answer. If I can accept my guest sitting at the corridor, I wouldn't mind having them seated at the private room!

Quite disappointed with the management not putting any effort of making things work out.
Anyway, we hope the discussion later this evening will turn out well.

The one who served us is Adeline. She was there at the sales floor during the bridal show. We are at fault too.. we thought we can trust her, and we trusted her every statement made without checking with her mentor. If she had not gave the wrong information, we wouldn't have got into this prob. Now we left 7 weeks to our AD.

So far, the only staff that deserved compliment is Kavitha. She really go the extra mile to make things work. However, we are not askng for the extra service but to be able to host our 300 guest.

Wondering if anyone has faced the same problem with us. Is it justifiable for us to accept the fact of not being host everyone in the main hall? Do we really have to get 1 table of our guest to sit in the room? Can anyone tell me what will they do if this happened to them? Does going to the lawyer help?

deeplyinlove

Hello Denise,

How was your discussion with the management?
Hope everything turn out fine.
I am having my AD at this hotel too.
Similarly, I have booked 30+ 2 reserves.
They have already given me the floor plan with 30 tables in the main hall and 2 reserves in the room. Don't know why Adeline tell you only 29 tables in the main hall? I don't think she belongs to the restaurant. Maybe commission based sales staff for bridal shows only. Approach the restaurant directly, I believe you can get very good service. In fact, I have been receiving very good service from them especially during my ROM. The feedback about the food is good and everything went smoothly without a glitch.

In fact, I quite like the idea of having 2 tables in the room. In that way, i can arrange for all my crazy kakis in that room and I believe they will have tremendous fun in there.
I can 'isolate' them for my more solemn relatives and in-laws....hehehe.

Do you want a copy of the floor plan that they send us? If let me arrange, i may request them to put the 2 spare in the main hall corner, so that I can isolate my kakis in the dungeon and if I don't want any pranks or deadly cocktails from my kakis, I will not go into the room. Maybe put a sign outside "Nuts inside...Enter at your own risk ....hehehe." It will be fun.

Lawyer?? I think no chance. Contract signed only states no of tables/services/food/perks/price.
Nothing mentioned about tables in rooms.
But technically speaking, with the partition between them removed and the front part fully opened, it may also not be considered as a room.
Anyway, you are suppose to enjoy your AD.No point having a court case hanging there and re-scouting for another place with such short notice. Let's hope thing turn out wonderfully for you on your AD.

denisemarcussim

Hello Crazy About Jo,

Thanks for the information! We went down to talk to the General Manager. He did assured us that things will turn out good. So hope things will really turn out good. Ha.. it's amazing that they can provide sub standard service to different people. Maybe my dinner was handled by 2 different people that's why resulted in this mis-communication. Anyway we realised Merchant Court hotel has the same cost(it's lunch) and the place is so much better, so if things still didn't turn out well then we will change hotel.

So when is your actual day? Everything settled? I'm going down this 23rd Sept to take a look at the whole arrangement. Is that your actual day? Haha

deeplyinlove

Our AD is in dec.
Keep us posted if your event turns out fine.
Not settled yet, since 3 more month away, still
have some details yet to look into.
Merchant court? we did look at that place too.
The price is a bit high for dinner.
Lunch? Did not consider as we only plan for dinner. Attend wedding there before. Place is ok but food is only so-so.
Actually, We booked King's because of the food.
Their food is popular among celebrities.
Our first priority is the food and we quite like the food there. Feedback from guest that the food for our ROM is good too.
Their package is also all inclusive.
Even printing of inserts and wedding cards are included. Not much else to worry about.
The only worry thing is the car park. Looks kind of limited. But they assure us there will be valets to help guest to park. So the guest arrive and give the car to valets, and proceed to dinner.
After dinner, the valets will fetch the car for the guests and security will also assist at the exit in case they got problem with the complimentary cards.
Just to be sure, I think I will pop by one of the weekends to see for myself as they told me weekends till the end of the year is quite packed. Will pop by at about 6plus to see their arrangements of seatings, flora, deco....stay until 8 plus to wait for the valets to park the cars. See if there is any parking problems.
Heehee...kiasu a bit.
Maybe you can give me your email and we can share more details together. Email me at [email protected]

lilies

Thanks for all these sharings of information. I heard that the current Master Chef and the resturant manager will be leaving the team soon. Hmm.... let's hope the food will not be of sub-standard, when the new chef takes over, ya !!??

I have gone down to view the resturant, suite room, flora, table arrangement (28-32 tables) twice already... generally, quite pleased and the impression seems good. So, let's hope for the best and stay positive, ya ?!!

I have not booked the package with them yet... will only do so once I confirm my wedding date. Tentatively, Tien Court will be one of my choices.

denisemarcussim

Hello

Yeah.. when we went down for the food tasting the manager, Judy, told us the chef is a new chef. But I don't know if it's before Crazy about Jo ROM function. The food at coffee shop is really better than the food the chef cook for us. Wondering is it because it's not their speciality or the chef was caught unaware that we are coming.

Anyway, my mum is in the F&amp;B line.. recently she found out that Judy, the manager of the restaurant, had resigned. So hopefully things will turn out well when the new manager takes over.

My mum is in this line, that's why she is amazed that the food turn out so horrible.

The other thing we are quite worried is the fire safety of the building. Though what we did are a bit too late, we realised that the information on the no. of people they published on the website are up to 100 people. I've check with the Fire Safety Act that any venue more that is going to host more than 200 people, they will need to produce a fire safety certificate. But what the management can give us is the general no. of people that is allowed entry in the hotel. However accordingly to my friends in Merchant Court, there's a fire safety certificate for every restuarant or function rooms. Maybe they have, maybe they don't have. But they told me they don't have. Pondering , Pondering...........

denisemarcussim

The food is good... but management not good.. The F&amp;B director not professional at all! Was very rude to my parents and my parents-in-law on the actual day dinner, and he actually overpromised and under deliver.. prob he's the F&amp;B Director, so don't know much about the operation. In case you have to liase with him, make sure that everything is black and white!!

You can look for Kavitha.. very impressed with her service!! =)

BTW, my wedding was held last month.

All the best for your wedding.. it can be fun and tiring as well!

kitcat

Thanks for the reply!!! I was a tad worried about the food when i can't find any btb holding at the venue.

My coodinator is carmen. Kavitha is also very helpful.

btw, i am curious as to what did he promise you and did not deliver?
How about ur AD? Was it alright?

denisemarcussim

No Prob!! Was glad to be of some help.

Hmm.. you can refer to another Copthorne King's Thread... I have written what happened initially..

On the actual day, my hubby and I were both bz with our preparation, just heard from my family members that he's very rude to them.. Not one of my family member.. all of my family member + my hubby's family! What exactly happened I also didn't probe cos I was pretty upset with him.

2 week before the AD, I realised that we have 10 ppl of vegeterain, so I called to ask him is it possible to waive the surcharge of the vegeterian food since there's 10 ppl but on the basis that they will not sit together. He said CAN on the condition that instead of having 8 dishes of vegeterian, the 10 guests will have only 6 dishes. To think that I'd called him again few days before my actual day.. He told me it's feasible!!
(Shouldn't have asked him... but Kavitha was on leave during that period.. =(
At the end of the event.. when we saw the bill.. I almost fainted... he charge me additional of that 10 vegeterian food... which means i had pay extra of 1 table!! I tried reasoning with him but my hubby just want to end the matter since the event is already over. I got so angry that I walked off on the spot.. and from the beginning of the commotion till the moment I step out of that restaurant, Gan didn't bother to explain or even bother to apologise!! So you can see how professional he is!

He had left a very UNFORGETABLE day for us on that big day.
HEe.. we also not enthical.. Think Copthorne King's had missed a few biz deal.. cos my friends quite like the ambience.. but after telling them what happened.. all decided to change venue!

Oh ya... if you had already signed up for the package.. remember on the actual day, pls remind them to save some food for you, we thought that it is a hotel, they should send food for the wedding couple after the dinner. We assumed!! Ended up we paid for the room service.. They are seriouly very lousy!! Made us paid extra 1 table because of 1 man's word.. and no food served us at the end of the event.

denisemarcussim

BTW.. if u haven't sign up for the package, you can try merchant court weekend lunch. Same price, same benefits.... and GOOD SERVICE!!! Look for Cathy!

kitcat

Thanks for your comment. Signz... now i really do not know what to do. Hubby prefers to have dinner as some of his relatives are from msia.

Maybe you can look into the contract that you have signed if there are any clause about the vegeterain food. I was also shocked when they told me that if i do not have a table of vegeterain and muslims, i have to pay on top of the table.

Tht they are supposed to serve the food to you before the wedding dinner? They told us that they will serve before the wedding dinner foc but after the wedding dinner, you would have to pay for the food if you order any.