Conrad Centennial Singapore

inox

Hi Kath

Yeah, i am referring to Flower Matters. The flowers are very fresh but the owner is quite snobbish --- only like expatriates

I will let u have the band contact again.

nanshee

hai, anyone booked their wedding dinner with conrad? How was the food and decor .. haven't been there before but FH would like to have it there .. so wanna survey first ... ;p

sweets

Hey Nanshee,
We had our wedding at Conrad and it was AWESOME! Food is great!! and we love the ambiance and service
No qualms on holding our special day there...

binbin

Hi Hi, had my wedding there just 2 weeks ago and I must say that we are deeply grateful to the entire Conrad team for making our wedding so special. Special thanks for Debby, Catherine and Dallen (banquet manager), for making the evening headache-free for us, for catering to our last min changes, for the GREAT food, the romantic ambience, and for setting our mind so at ease during the last few frantic days of preparation. I miss my wedding so much!

duffybuff

hi binbin,
yr wedding at conrad was in e ballroom or poolside? did u engage additional stuff other than what conrad has given?

me hvg my AD next yr at conrad too.. not sure if i shld engage florist or to pay more for flowers in ballroom...hmm..????

how many pple did u invite?

binbin

hihi duffybuff, i had full capacity, filled the ballroom up, which is their max 34 tables of 12. my regular favourite florist Poppy Flora enhance the table deco for me, and provided the cute little flower baskets with petals. conrad actually has another flower package which u can top up to get. depends on whether u like it or u have ur regular florist. u can also get conrad to change the colour of the flowers if u prefer other theme.
other than that, the rest is great!

beachygal

hi Bin bin..

is th efood at conrad nice?

i had a company D&D 2 yrs back there.. food not that nice leh.. but i like the ballroom..

so wanted to see if they change their chefs..

binbin

hihi beachygal. not sure if they changed the chef but i love the food! my guests also gave very good comments on the food. so not to worry hehehe...

apps

Hi Nanshee,

We held our dinner towards the end of 2003. Don't worry, the ballroom is nice and cosy and the food was ok. Just make sure you choose the right dishes from the different menus (try not to have too similar dishes consecutively).

Our coordinator was also superb. They were able to cater to our requests, but we did have to compromise.

So far no regrets =)

duffybuff

hi binbin,
we hv signed our contract w conrad few mths ago, but hv not touched on the details on the theme, food & etc..believe catherine will follow up with us later..

btw, do u hv any pics of the flora arrangement done by yr florist poppy?? would like to hv a peek.. how much do u spend on the additional flowers??

as for liquor, i understand that we r not allowed to bring in hard liquor with DFS labels, is that right??

hi beachygal,
nice to c u here... *wave wave
as for the food, i hv confidence in them as 2 of my friends had their wedding there last yr & that's how i know the place & fell in love with the place..tat's y i chose them for my AD.

dhoby

Am new here but considering Conrad for wdg high tea by the pool.

Anyone knows if flowers are inclusive for high tea pkg cos the proposal did not state.

bugbear

Hi hi...i just went to view the actual settings of the ballroom. Very nice...i loved it! Anyone here held their wedding there? I am interested to know if u guys managed to break-even or earn or lose? need a rough gauge
thks!

lily_wong

Hi. I had my wedding last year at Conrad. The ballroom was beautiful. The staff were very attentive and the organizing was v.good. I don't think u can breakeven or earn at this five star hotel. So i would suggest you to stick to the decorations that Conrad provides for you. Don't add or top up.. in that case, you might be earn to save a bit here and there.

bugbear

Hi Lily...thanks for the advice. I have recently been to view the ballroom and feel that the deco was indeed very beautiful. I am quite worried about the corkage & beer charges. Even if i am able to break-even on the per table basis...i will still need to cater $$ for the beverages. Can u still remember roughly how much you paid for the corkage of wine or does Conrad impose rules that we have to purchase wine from their list?

As the date given by my PIL is a weekday...hence i am hopping that i will at least be able to break-even...if not at least don incur too much loses

binbin

hi hi june, i just had my wedding at Conrad and I have to say it is one of the best decisions we have made! hehehee..

if urs is a weekend package, corkage should be waived for the number of bottles of wine equals to ur table number. eg. if u take 30 tables, corkage waived for 30 bottles of wine. as for hard liquor, corkage all waived the last i know. u do not have to purchase wine from their list. just buy ur own if u want, and conrad will arrange with u so that u can deposit them at the concierge the day before or at your convenience. ur coordinator will advise.
for weekday weddings, dun think the corkage rules vary too much, best to check with them.

bugbear

Hi Bin Bin...yes yes! I loved the ballroom the moment i stepped in to view...it's SO LOVELY! :D
Ooh, so they actually waived the number of bottles equal to the table...what about exceeding that amount? Any idea what the corakage charge is like? What about beer? can we purchase our own beer? or do they give free flow?
Who is your coordinator? Can pass me her contact details? cos i only have the 2004 package...would like to see if there is any price difference for the 2005 package...seems like most hotels are revising their 2005 packages

So sorry...so many Qs

bugbear

Hi Bin Bin...so sorry...it's me again...would you mind telling me how many tables u have, roughly how much wine & beer consumed? I am looking at the max of 34 tables of 12...but i dunno how much wine & beer will be needed...as my tentative date is a weekday, i reckon not so many ppl will drink as the next day is a working day...so hopefully not to many bottles of wine needed.

binbin

hi hi june.
oh so u have not spoken to anyone yet over there? well, we have 34 tables, the max coz have many guests. hehehe we have to cut down on our guest list just so we can have conrad....not easy, coz that means we wun have reserve tables hhehehe..

if u exceed that amt, it really depends on ur coordinator.
for our casem we have 4 cartons provided by my FIL. that is 48 bottles, and hotel waived all. it depends on a lot of factors, prob coz ours is full capacity at 34 tables. as for beer, their package is a 36l beer, but we opened a second barrel that night coz not enough. we were charge the second bottle. as for whether you can finish the wine, it depends on the drinking capacity of the crowd u are inviting. our case, all 48 bottles went into their stomachs hehehhe but for his brother's case, they still have about 1 carton left. i am not sure of the corkage charges....coz we didnt pay, better to check the current price. ours is in March, but we booked way back in end 2002 hehehehee.. :p like u said not many ppl will drink if next day working day so no need to worry so much.
not sure whether u can purchase ur own beer but shld be no prob. there are many nice and warm coordinators in Conrad, u can look for judy, heard she is quite nice too...

bugbear

Hi Bin Bin, I have only roughly spoken to the Director of Banquet, but he asked us to talk to the coordinator, but have yet to receive the revised package from her...

Wah...both your hubby and his bro all had the wedding at Conrad! Did you managed to break-even?

binbin

hi hi june no his bro didn't have wedding at conrad hehhee sorrie i didn't make myself clear. you spoken to the director of banquet? weddings are handled by caterings not banquet. the banquet part only comes in on the day itself.
my coordinator is the director of catering, debby.

lily_wong

Hello June Conrad shd be able to waive the corkage charge of wine and beer according to the no. of tables u booked. If you havent get a coordinater, I would suggest Debby the director of catering or Judy Koh. My wedding was handled by both of them.

lily_wong

Hi June forgot to answer ur qs. We brought in a few cases of wine purchased specially from France for our wedding. My colleagues and relatives were too happy and they finished our wine and at least three barrels of beer. Might had been a huge bill but I didn't know how much was that as the bill was settled by my in-laws who didn't bother much about such matters.

caicai

hi ex- conrad brides,
any recommendations on the type of dishes i can select ? in the menu offered , i did not see yam paste ,like it alot :p

duffybuff

hi bin bin,
me hvg my AD dinner at conrad next jan. need yr advise.. understand that they do not allow DFS bottles in the dinner, only allow paid duty bottles. did u encounter any problem with that?

bugbear

Hi Lily...lucky you! your in-laws are taking care of the bills. In my case, me and my FH is handling the total bills...so need to be more careful with the beverages...so as not to exceed our budget too much
As my tentative date is a weekday...reckon i won need so much wine/beer as the next day is a working day...hopefully I'm right.

binbin

hi duffybuff, if i am not wrong, no hotels allow DFS bottles.
only duty-paid liquor or wine or beer is allowed.
ours all bought by FIL, duty-paid.

lily_wong

Hi June. If that's the case, you can get a trusted friend / relative to be in-charge of the wine / beer & set a limit on the numbers of wine & beer both of u want to be opened. So if they hit that limit, you can then decide if you want to open more. My SIL was our beer / wine coordinator, she tried to limit but my father in law overruled so in the end my guests drank a lot. It was a happy occassion so he didn't want to spoil everybody's mood..

bugbear

Hi Lily...yeah...reckon i will get someone to help me with the coordination...guess it wasn't a problem for you as your FIL is paying for them
anyway, will take ur advice in mind thanks.

caicai

Urgent Help Needed .
I hv already signed contract with Conrad , but if i need to change my wedding date , any1 knoes if this is possible ? can this be done ????
i am very worried

relaxfun

caicai

do tell yr saleperson on the new date ASAP and quickly block the date b4 anyone else...but if the date is taken already.. den no choice liao..

caicai

i was told to "write in" and my coordinator has to ask her boss for permission ......

sounds abit difficult .

bugbear

serious? I tot it's ok to change date so long no one has that date? don worry so much...i am sure there's a way out.

duffybuff

hi bin bin,
just curious, how much did u pay for yr extra flowers? cos' me thinking of doing tat.

lily, u mentioned that the hotel waive beer charge? i thot they charge for 2nd barrel?

lily_wong

Hi duffybuff Did i write that Conrad Hotel waive beer charge? Sorry i meant they waived the corkage charge for wine only. If the number of tables u booked meet their limit, then they will be able to give u one barrel of beer free. Thanks

bugbear

hi lily...do u have to purchase wine from their list? or u can get them urself? what is the corkage charges like if exceed their waived number of bottles? Beer corkage charge or have to buy for them?

lily_wong

Hi bugbear you dont have to and anyway we didn't buy the wine from Conrad. We had a short trip to France before the wedding & we bought our wine from there instead. It was more expensive though, but our families are wine lovers and we also kept few bottles for other occassions. For my case, Conrad waived the corkage charge of wines according to the no. of tables u booked. e.g. if u booked 25 tables, then Conrad will waive 25 bottles of wine corkage charge. As for the beer, we bought the beer from Conrad. I think 30L is about $500 or $600 + i can't remember.

bugbear

Hi lily...thanks. Doesn't conrad give at least a barrel of beer? i reckon you spent more on wine than beer...u only used 1 barrel of beer?

lily_wong

Duffybuff: We stuck to the deco provided by the Conrad. Though some may feel the hotel's floral deco is scarce, we thought it was okay. The ballroom by itself looks already v.beautiful, and with the floral deco provided by Conrad - we thought it was good enuf. Simplicity is beautiful if there is too much deco i think it will not be that nice.

BugBear: If i remember correctly, during our nego with my Conrad coordinator, she said the hotel would only give 1 barrel 30 L if you book at least 30 tables. So u gotta to check carefully with Conrad, if they give 1 barrel of beer for 25 tables (which is the min. u gotta book with Conrad for a weekend wedding). At first we only managed to confirm 25 tables & tried to nego for a free barrel of beer as we were not able to confirm the attendance of guests from overseas but Conrad refused. anyway in the end, we booked all tables & we got our beer. We spent a lot on both wine & beer.

sweets

Duffybuff,
you could let your coordinator know how much more you are willing to spend and they can let you work with their florist to get more decor into the ballroom if you ask for.

Conrad did a good job at our wedding too
loads of candles and stuff when my co-ordinator realized when kind of environment I was going for

HTHs.

duffybuff

sweets,
oh did u request for more candles? did u pay extra to conrad to do it?

lily,
ya i agree that the pl is wonderful. i hv attended weddings twice there. & fell in love with tat pl tat's y insist of hvg conrad for my AD.

duffybuff

bin bin/lily/sweets,
just curious, did u request for special theme for the room? oh ya, did u hv special arrangement for guest book?

sweets

Duffybuff,
by room you mean the banquet hall ? I told my coordinator the colors for our theme when we were discussing linens and stuff...and I had made my own candle centerpieces and needed some orchids etc...Conrad surprised us with extra candles and all that
The made the whole place so magical and lovely....grin grin grin

I just reused the guest book we had for church earlier...somehow many of our guests were too busy chatting and enjoying themselves during reception and didn't sign them....

bugbear

Hi lily, yup, roughly how much beer/wine did your guest consumed? Can u still remember how much corkage did u pay ber bottle for the wine exceeding the number waived?

pup_pup

Hi there, anyone with any pics of the ballroom deco with your preferred florists to share?

How much was it?