Conrad Centennial Singapore

lily_wong

duffbuffy: i didn't specially request for a theme but i told my coordinator that my wedding theme was champagne & gold color. She was v.good to e ensure that i had bridal, vip & guests & even flowers in similar colors. More candles too but no balloons though. the ballroom was very nice i received rave comments on that.

Yes the guests were too busy chatting, drinking & forgot to sign my guest books. Even my bridesmaids / helpers were busy taking pics.

caicai: i can't remember the exact no. of beers my guests drank. If i remember correctly from my SIL (who was the in-charge of the wine / beer), it was between 5 or 6 barrels.

bugbear: Sorry i really can't remember how much is the corkage charge.

bugbear

Hey lily...no worries about that...wah! ur wedding really spend a lot on beer and wine huh...i think beer is around $680 per 30l barrel from conrad...

caicai

is it normal , after i signed the contract , Conrad never did any follow up calls with me . and i hv some prob with my wedding date , no one actually called . before signing on the dotted line , she called me a few times . it is partly due to the "good svc" that i prompted me to sign up with them .......
feeling abit negative now .

bugbear

cai cai...why don u give ur coordinator a call instead of waiting for them to call u? do they know that u are having some issues with ur wedding date? i suggest that you give them a call asap...so if there is a need to change your date...most possibilities that the new date will be available...quick quick call them...don wait for them to call u

sweets

Caicai, if you don't call or email with any requests, your coordinator will only call you a few months prior to your wedding to start discussions. Think this is normal practice. Do contact them since u are having problems with your wedding dates.

lily_wong

Caicai.. My coordinator called me a few months only before my wedding to ask me to pick up cards, fix date for trial dinner etc. I completely didn't hear from her since we signed our contract. So if u've any problems u gotta to call them if not they won't call u. They must have think we brides to be are busy with other stuff & usually won't call to bother u unless necessary...

caicai

Hi Bugbear/ Lily / Sweets
Thks for the re-assurance . i actually wrote an email to her abt the possibility of chging my date , but she told me to write in to her boss .
and there was no follow-up calls , left me hanging :p ?

bugbear

cai cai...then call her and ask to be transferred to her boss...or directly call her boss. i would assume that she is waiting for you to write in...i seriously think that if u really want to change date...u'd better hurry hurry call them...they won be bothered to 'remind' u to write in to change date...

quick quick call them...else later ur preferred date is taken up then got another problem liao.

duffybuff

lily/ sweets,
thanks for yr feedback! btw, i signed my contract w catherine.. u guys heard abt her? cos' i noticed fm yrs tat the coordintor is debby & etc... no one mentioned abt catherine?! just curious..

binbin

hi duffybuff, yes i know catheryn.
my wedding was handed over to her for handling when debby was overseas. she's a great lady.
reason why she wasn't that common among the brides is coz she is usually in charge of corporate accounts and not weddings.

sggroom

caicai, my partner and i also thinking of changing date. our banquet is on a sunday. maybe its possible for us to swap? then perhaps no need to pay extra deposit? please email me for more details. thanks!

jez

evening to all,

i'm currently a 'potential' client - ready to sign on the dotted line with conrad but hubby & i feel tt they are not sincere enuff tho tt wasn't the feelin we got during our 1st meet-up session: we were so impressed with the extra personalised service they gave then...

u c - we were actually 2nd in line for this sep05 date. 1st couple had held on to the date for more 2.5wks so we are sort of 'challenging' them to confirm, else it shld be given to us since we'r going to confirm. Let me tell u tt the past 1wk+ had been quite stressful for us cos conrad kept giving us excuses - "oh!we'll give them 3 days to decide b4 we release it to you"; "so sorry-they've decided but hvn't signed as the guy is currently overseas" & so on & so forth...

Hubby & i were very frustrated with them as their follow-up were lacklustre - we hv to call them up ourselves & seek the status of the pending confirmation. There was never an occacssion tt they call us to inform us eg. they've confirmed but guy's away etc (damn xian!) Our only best bet is either the 1st couple has connections or conrad's actually waiting for a bigger booking...

jus my bad experience, i would say... cos i know there are quite a no. of conrad brides who raved abt how perfect their weddings were - HAPPY for you... right now, i shall take back watever compliments i'd sent to them following our 1st session & will follow up with a final email to them (addressed to both catheryn & debby) abt how disappointed we are with their customer service - we were so wrong, boy!!! Anyway, i know i've written alot but tis pent-up frustration has gotta be released at this thread so tt either past brides can defend conrad or future 'potentials' can prove us wrong... i really dunno... asked a fren who's having his wedding tis jul & he also said we've gotta fight for it cos they did tt too...

parting shot - goodbye conrad, hiya 4seasons...

caicai

ooops ppl , my alternative date is aredi under tentative bookg , sianz ...
Jesz , i think it is perfect for u to hv grouses since u hv been waiting for the other couple to commit and they hv been holding u guys back , becoz of their tardiness
anyway , i wld suggest that you ask 4 seasons to HOLD ur tentative booking , perhaps even hint to them that you are considering conrad actually . let them knoe they hv competitor , perhaps this will make them value u even more . likewise , let conrad knows that they are not the only alternative u hv ....

bugbear

Hi Jez...i feel the same about conrad as well...when i went to view the ballroom settings, the director of banquet was so nice and got Debby to get in touch with my FH. We were promised the package info to be sent to us the following monday, but till now, close to 3 weeks and we heard nothing from them...sigh...sian already liao...they can't even keep their promise to send us the package...

jez

hiya, bugbear

PHEW!!! luckily i'm not the only 1 complaining abt them... btw, i've ordy sent another email to them tis morning expressing our intention not to pursue the 'never-going-to-be-confirmed' reservation...
jus worried tt much as we would like to deny, but there is the likelihood that the relationship could be abit strained due to the pressure we had put on their team.
& we also have this nagging fear in us that we may be labelled as being a difficult or unreasonable couple to deal with from the start.

anyway, i shall leave u their direct email addresses:

Director of Catering: [email protected]
Asst Director: [email protected]

yah-btw, who's the person you dealt with during yr 1st visit (Director of Banquet)...??? thnx

bugbear

Hi cai, jez...

Yeah, i have already sent an email to their general email contact as their namecard does not reflect their emails.

The person i talked to then was Steven Lim (director of banquet). he seems like a nice person and he promised to get his staff to contact us, which he did, but upon hearing from her, we never got the package which was promised to be sent to us. Anyway, seems like my guest list is getting longer and has exceeded the max for conrad...so will look for some other hotels liao...

Thanks for the info. Will drop them a mail and see if they respond..if not, then forget...

caicai

jez i wld think that u dun antagonizw them . cos if ultimately , u are going to bk with them , not nice if the team labels u as difficult customers .
anyway , wedding is supposed to be a happie occasion
CHEERS

jez

thnx for yr kind intention, caicai

yup-we do know of the consequences if we really decide to 'blow'it up... datz why we'd rather give it all up altogether, notwithstanding how much we love the place...

my hubby come from the service industry & both of us are very partial when it comes to service - not tt we expect to be served at out feet & at our every whim & fancy. We'll compliment if we receive good service - jus like during my 1st session with them. It was superb - extra personalised service tt i followed up with a complimentary email the very next day (also to inform them of our decision to challenge)

We were jus requesting for a level playing grd - dun make us go thru the limbo rock & then put us on the pendulum swing. it's really unfair & beyond comprehension... Anyway, doubt they'll reply to my last email cos guess they wld be more than happy to rest the case & let the other couple continue to get their preferential treatment...

duffybuff

hi bin bin, thanks!

hi bugbear/jez, perhaps u can try calling them.. sorry to hear abt yr encounters. hmm.. well, so far at least mine went thru fine.. but cross my fingers cos' my AD is next yr

bugbear

hi hi...nay...don think i will call them already..afterall, i don't think i can have it there cos of the max number...but if i ever reduced my guest list...then i will email them again

jez

hiya,

i was wrong!!! tho they din reply to my email, debby called me personally...
yah-as usual, to reiterate tt they were not showing biased treatment & also explanation after explanation... but i thk she was dumbfounded when i impressed upon her the turning pt came when we came to realise tt updates had not been forthcoming... anyway, i know she's not @ fault as she wasn't the 1 whom we got in touch with initially - so may not be in the loop...

anyway, set with 4Seasons...
oni looking forward to the black seat covers & burgundy table top - really hope they turn out stunning... agst the new stage centrepiece which is still on the drwg board *grin

BugBear,
wish u all the best in yr search too... else, u can follow BinBin - she was once in yr situation but she managed to reduce her guest list to the maximum tt Conrad can take ie. 408pax but i was also informed tt they hv 4 extra BIG tables which can accomodate 14guests but if u gonna hv the max no. of tables - dun try & ask for the big tables cos it may get very squeezy & crowded. hence, level of comfort of yr guests may drop drastically
Anyway, jus my 2cents worth of comments

cheerios...

bugbear

Hi jez...good to hear that you finally settled with 4Seasons. you must have paid a lot for 4S. How big is their ballroom? Black seat covers? something very unique.

Yah lor...i think guest list is the thing that changes the mmost often...will keep conrad in view...and if my guest list were to reduce...then i will call them up again
yup, i reckon their ballroom is just nice for 34 tables of 12...looks good...adding bigger tables will be too squeezy.

Jez...can share with me your 4Seasons package? my email is: [email protected]

tokyo

Hi, I'm currently considering Conrad for my wedding dinner. can anyone advise me the rate & how's the food there?

jez

i can send u the package if u wish but i'm afraid i cant help u with the food part... either u sieve thru the entire conrad thread & ask from the happy brides or wait for them to post their comments...

adios...

binbin

hi jezsdear, oh my goodness, u knew i had to reduce my guest number last time? gosh, that was so many postings ago heheee...really amazed u manage to read that. hey, four seasons new image sounds coolllzzz....

tokyo, the food is fantastic! hahaha... i was initially quite worried coz have heard of cold food syndrome last time, but after my wedding, many of my guests said the food was good, and some even said that was the best hotel food they have tasted. the sharksfin that day was delicious, better than the food tasting.
it is like baby "bao chi". the lotus rice was real fragrant and many said so. we had our dinner as our breakfast/lunch the next day....yum yum......

bugbear

hi binbin...how much did you pay for your package? are u using the 2003 package or 2004 package? i have the 2004 package...but i am wondering if there is any increase and how much is the increase between the 03 and 04 package...cos i am targeting mine in 05...but i need to do some budgeting...so need to find out how much increment i should expect...

bugbear

Hi Tokyo, if i am not wrong, conrad weekday package is 8course. but if you want it to be 9course...you can add $$ each table to convert it to 9course...

Any of you have the 2003 package? I trying to estimate how much they increase their package per year
Any one any idea about that?

scobido

Hello Conrad brides (hi, bugbear)

Anyone is having a poolside wedding dinner?Or has anyone attend one in Conrad before? How is it? Can share?

bugbear

Hi Elin, I personally have not attended any poolside weddings before...but should i have any info...will pass on to you

c0co

hi hi Elin, only attended Oriental Poolside buffet dinner before... really nice ambience and quite like the food too
Overall its a very different wedding from normal banquet types.

scobido

Thanks c0co! However, Oriental, MM, Pan Pacific is out

My future in-laws are against holding there...unsure y...

Do you know whether the poolside - whole place will be closed to the public?

How about your wedding? Where are you holding?

c0co

hi elin... me considering Conrad... hehe...
what about shang? Thought there is a poolside there? Or is it Rasa Shangagrila?

bugbear

Coco...i think Shang has a nice poolside...or if you don't mind travelling, rasa sentosa has a very nice outdoor area (white fence) but depends on how many guests u have.

hanny

i'm having my weddg reception at conrad this oct.

some info to share:
there's a poolside terrace (aircon) on 4th floor of hotel. but it's only for max of 80-100 (standing cocktail style). if u want ur guests to be seated and served, i think limit to only about 40+ (not 2 sure, need 2 cfm).

there's also an open area beside the poolside terrace for buffet to be held (but caution, there's no aircon; open area). rather hot in the afternoon.

unfortunately, the pool will not be closed to the hotel guest.

but 4 most with big guest list, most opt for their ballroom.

ger_ger

Hi any confirmed Conrad brides willing to share the freebies or throw in you manage to bargain or swap for the weekend package? Or what extras did you gers get? Me planning to go down to discuss the details next week. My AD is next Nov and Dec.

jas_thm

I have already confirmed my banquet on the 18 of June 2005
Ger, this is what i managed to get for my weekend package of 30 tables and above
All corkage waviered for duty paid hard liquore
Corkage waviered for 2 bottles of wine per table ( my family drinks a lot of wine)
2 nights stay in bridal suite but will get an upgrade if avaliable
1 freee 30l barrel of beer
10 pax food tasting
70% invitation cards
20% parking
first anniversary dinner or top up $80+++ for a room for helpers
That is all i can remember for now. I had jennifer for my coordinator but she left. Now i speak to debby.

ger_ger

Hi Jas,

Thanks a million for sharing the information with me. One more question: Are you sticking to the nine course dinner then?

jas_thm

Hi again,
Yup i will stick to the nine course dinner. Menu looks good. I am considering having a real cake so the guest can have it for dessert too.
Are you considering adding another dish or reducing the dishes to 8 course?

ger_ger

Hi Jas, think will stick to 9 course. The last time they told me that I can reduce to 8 and they swap the dish with a barrel of beer, think I better be smarter a bit. Me and FH going down end of week to discuss the details before we decide. Have not fix a date but probably a Sunday in October or November next year. Thought your deal was quite good. Wish me luck :)

jas_thm

Hi Ger,
Thanks. I didn't really bargin when i got there. I told Jennifer i read the forum and i know what they give. Then i told her what i wanted. She said it is reasonable. I got everything but the increase in complementary parking. Just ask them to give you 1 barrel free. Good luck Ger!
let me know how it went.
Jas

ger_ger

Hi Jas,
Thanks for your valuable advice. Will keep in mind. Let you know once I speak to them. Have a good weekend.