Conrad Centennial Singapore

faith

Has anyone had their wedding held at Contrad Int'l Hotel or thinking of having it there ??? Would like to hear your comments. I saw that the price was expensive but wanna how the service, food and suite ???

jenet

hi faith,

i've seen people discussing contrad in this forum.
try the keyword search and you'll get all the relevant comments.

Hi faith,

Take note that the pricing for Conrad is for a table of 12.

My friend who has attended a wedding there before said it's so-so only. Nothing really that great.

chin leng

Hi Faith,

Some comments were posted under the topic "Raffles Hotel, Hyatt, Goodwood Park, Traders". You may want to take a look there. Sorry that I can't migrate the messages from there to here as the messages were in response to the postings there.

However, it is alright if anyone wants to contribute their comments here.

joyce

I'll be having my wedding tea reception at the Conrad on the 16th Dec 2000.

Well.. so far the service has been good.. they try their best to answer my queries but i can tell that they are really busy with many corporate functions and weddings to hold for the rest of this year.

the wedding cards are simply beautiful. i got many positive comments as i'm now in the process of distributing them.

will fill in more details , especially in these last few weeks..

faith

Hi Jenet, KPO, Chin Leng, Joyce

Thanks alot for your feedback. Joyce, i'd like hear more about your tea reception info fr Conrad. Is tea reception held in the afternoon. Was it buffet style ? If it is, I dun mind to have one like that, so much easier, truthfully, thinking of spending so much money on a banquet seems a waste, would rather stretch the dollar and spend on honeymoon :) but my hubby likes 'yum seng' kinda banquet......

How much are u spending on this tea reception, how much is the required min. no. of guests ?

Hi Joyce,

Yah yah....I would also like to find out about Conrad's tea reception package...what's the price and what does the package include?

joyce

well.. it's $35+++ per person minimum..

traditional high tea kind of food

its held by the poolside , in this aircon place known as Salon by the Pool, in the afternoon..

the whole area is ours till 6 + p.m.

what else do you want to know?

joyce

yes .. its buffet style.. finger food, you can call them and ask them to fax you a copy of the menu.. they are quite helpful. the number is 4327176.

Hi Joyce,

Thanks for the info.
That's a fairly reasonable price. How many items on the menu? I've got a quote for $50+++ for 9 items (+ 3 drinks per pax)...& it's not even a grand hotel!?
Last thing, is the Salon by the Pool really nice? What's the duration of your recep (from ? - 6pm)?

joyce

mine was booked in June this yr.. there wasn't any 50+++ package.. the highest was $40+++.

there are 20 items , free flow of soft drinks, coffee and tea

i think the Salon is nice because there is a view of the pool ... don't like holding a reception in a room that is all boxed up.. feels less informal ( poolside with Aircon!! ( very important to me !!:-þ )

its not a grand hotel? i thought its 5 star?

duration from 3p.m. to 6 + p.m.. they won't chase me away... so they claimed,, but of course try not to stay till too late, coz the later i stay.. the later the service staff have to attend to us.. i intend to be considerate..

rw

Conrad is 5 star! definitely a grand hotel. Just not as much publicity and some other hotels....

hwey

I went to Conrad Centennial in 1997 (I think) for a department's high tea in its ballroom. Not a bad place. I like the effect given by the staircase.

Conrad Centennial is an internationally-known hotel, ain't it? 5-star or not, I am not that sure.

Hi Joyce,

I must have misled you...
I meant to say that I've gotten a tea reception quote ($50+++ for 9 items only!) from a restaurant that's not even a grand hotel. Of course Conrad is a grand hotel..it should definitely be 4.5* and above! ;-P
Anyway, your package sounds really attractive...and I like the poolside idea...will call them up right now ;-)

Hi Joyce,

Another thing...are you having a wedding dinner following the tea reception? I'm thinking of having a tea recep without dinner but my FH and parents not too keen on the idea ;-(

joyce

I;m having a wedding dinner at the Mandarin the following night.. The conrad thing is mainly mutual friends from church of my FH and I. The dinner..mostly relatives and parents biz associates. FH's biz colleagues and our school mates, both past and present.

sorry to have misunderstood your message.

so when is your wedding, KPO?

The quote that I've gotten from Conrad is $35 / $45 NETT? Why the difference in prices between yours and mine?

My wedding date is 2 June next yr...but understand from the sales staff that the Conrad ballrooms are all booked for 2 & 3 June (whole day) ;-(

Looks like Conrad is off my list ;-(
Right now...my FH and I are trying to decide between Regent and Raffles. Any comments on these 2?

Guess you must be really busy making last minute wedding preparations huh? ;-) Wedding pictures/gown all ready?

joyce

Everything ready for wedding..

just trying to get the house ready in time for tea ceremony.

i wouldn't know why the difference in price.. maybe I'll ask to see the new quotation next time i meet my manager.

Both regent and raffles sound great to me.. went for a wedding show at regent.. found it classy, but kinda dark, maybe because for the show, they turn the lights down. raffles, i have no idea.

You mean the grand ballroom @ Regent? Yah...it looks pretty okay...the smaller ballroom (Tanglin) is kinda rundown.

How long did it take for you to get everything ready for your big day? Seems like most people will start their planning and preparations at least 1 yr in advance.

I still have 7 months to go...haven't even confirmed the venue yet...*faint*

joyce

well.. i started preparations since last Aug. .i.e. booked the Mandarin last Aug.. I guess my inlaws and hubby belong to the KS pple that another thread was talking abt... not good to start preparations too early.. now I've got like 5 gowns ( both wedding and evening) as I was so super fickle minded.. but not to worry, the gowns did not cost me a lot

Wahh...so early? *faint*

So...you are going to have a "fashion show" during your wedding dinner? ;-P

I suppose 5 gowns is reasonable in your case...considering the fact that you are having tea reception(s) & a wedding dinner? How you managed to get gowns that don't cost a bomb? As I'm not signing up any wedding packages...will be looking for tailors/seamstress who makes good and cheap gowns...or maybe off the rack gowns...ideas?

joyce

noo.. not having a fashion show , coz me lazy.. don't like to go and change so often.. also dunno what to do with the gowns that I'm not wearing.. hoping to sell them, but i think quite difficult.

Long story about how i got my gowns cheap, don't feel like elaborating, just did not sign up with any body for packages.. mainly bought off the rack, without alterations

no.. didn't get tailors nor seamstresses.

well.. i guess in the end.. the gowns and jewellery and shoes I wore for my photo shoot in June and the gowns and jewellery and shoes for the a actual day in Dec will be different..

which means.. a more interesting photo layout.. coz different gowns for different occasion, which ain;t so bad after all.. coz i love diversity! :-þ

joyce

Faith,

They require 50 persons minimum for the tea reception. now that salon by the pool has been renovated, i think the maximum number of people it can hold is abt 150

we hope to spend not more than 4k on the reception and hopefully regain back most of that money in hongbaos :-þ

That's why the price difference Joyce...'cos for $35/$45 NETT...the minimum no. of pax is 150.

I don't know if it's possible for you to breakeven 'cos for tea reception...seems like most people will buy gifts or give only $20 angpaos?

joyce

$20 hongbaos only for tea reception??? Err.. I hope not lor.. after all , its not a church wedding, its a wedding in a hotel after all..

after wedding i let you pple know the rate lor..

i specified in my invitation card that i want $$, not gifts..

so, looks like the price difference is not really a price difference lah..

Wah..you really specifically say you want only money? How was that statement included in your invitation card? I would like to do that too but not sure how to put it in a less abrupt manner!

Maybe a hotel tea-recep wedding summons a bigger ang-bao...not really sure...the rate of $20 is based on church wedding.

joyce

The statement is this
Your presence we'll greatly cherish,
Your smiles our joy to share.
If it is a gift you are pondering,
It's what they print at the mint.
But above what you may decide,
having you with us is our main delight.

This was given to me by Sharon of the Wedding Gift Shop at Marina Square..

she has many more nice sounding 'poems' :)

WOW!!!!!!!!! That's great! Looks like I've gotto pay Sharon a visit for some great gift/wedding cards idea! What's there in the shop? Any interesting wedding favors that I can get for my guests?

joyce

Yeah.. i should think so.. haven't paid her a visit since Aug. She just gave birth to her first baby in OCt. Don'tknow whether she is at the shop as often or her assistant is there.

Anyway, give them a call at 3375512 b4 you go down, i think that is a better idea. Just mention my name and she'll know. JOyce is my real name.

faith

Dear Joyce

Are you telling me that the tea reception held besides the pool @ Conrad is airconditioned ? I'm considering the chinese banquet dinner @ Conrad but heard alot of ppl say that the banquet sales ppl are very inflexible.....everything extra cost money !!!! For eg., like seat covers not provided, no free barrel of beers rite ? Maybe anyone here who had booked Conrad's banquet can provide me with some ideas ??? Heard also that the food is so so only....wonder how's the bridal suite looks like ?

joyce

yes.. its airconditioned
that's why i chose it.. I'm an aircon freak
i mean.. in my nice gown/ makeup and everything.. , aircon is definitely a MUST!

my package did not include any perks , besides cards.. so can't comment on bridal suite.

yup.. everything extra cost money.. but oh well.. wedding once in a lifetime.. if you are on a budget, don't choose Conrad. They can be quite exhorbitant. They charged a lot for decorations and floral stands.. i had to negotiate quite a bit.. i was shocked at the extras, but since already commited in terms of deposit.. no choice lor..

what to do?? the venue and the hotel so nice and posh and classy.. i just had to have my tea reception there

faith

Thanks Joyce, for your sharing. I'll make an appointment and find out with them personally whether is it reception or dinner banquet.

tidy

Hi Joyce
you had your tea recep at conrad last december? didn't the decor & flower stands come with the package? how much did they charge you for the decor? what were the extras you had to pay for?

joyce

There wasn't any so called package for me. I did not even get a room for the night. I had to pay for the decor and flower stands.. it was combined with another couple who had their wedding there the night before or the night to come, something like that. Each stand was about $100( i had 2 ), but it was worth the money, looked very nice. Each seat cover $2 and the mini bouquets ($25 ) and floral lining the seats were less than $10. Are you considering Conrad of paid the deposit already? The venue for the ceremony was the Grand Salon as I had less than 100 guests.

snowie

Hi Faith,
I'm gonna have my dinner banquet at the Conrad next year. My experience with them has been very good so far. In fact, I would say they're very flexible! The most flexible I've encountered so far. They do try their best to cater to your needs. The package, in fact, provides me with more than what I need. And they will allow me to deduct the value of items that I choose not to have from the eventual bill. Perhaps you should drop by on one of those nites when they've a wedding dinner, and that would help you to decide.

The bridal suite? It's utterly IMPRESSIVE!If you have a copy of their advertisement from the Female Brides magazine, you would be allowed to upgrade to a Presidential Suite, and it's HUGE! On one of the top most floors. When you have a chance to meet up with them to enquire further, they would most willingly show you the bridal suite.

happysunny

hi snowie,
Can you tell us what is your package like? Do you free seat covers? Do you pay for anything extra?
Do they charge you for changing menu etc

snowie

Hi HappySunny,

What I've is a dinner package on a Saturday for $998nett. I'm not sure if what I got is the standard package, but yes, it does include seat covers for all chairs, sashes for VIP chairs, option to have runners on tables, and flowers(8 stands and 1 arch, plus centrepieces for all tables), and the regular stuffs like bridal suite(upgradable to Presidential Suite), wedding cake, wedding cards, party favours etc etc.

The food is from Golden Peony, and they have 2 menus, with similar items but different cooking styles. I was told we could swap item for item on the menu(ie. fish for fish, soup for soup). I guess so long as the items are from either menu, they wouldn't charge more. Of course I don't think they would allow two servings of sharks' fin soup! :p

Essentially, the package provides more than what I need. So I don't foresee paying for anything extra(except for beer and wine), and in fact, may get some money deducted from the eventual bill for items that I don't need.

Is Conrad one of your shortlisted venues? I've so far received "favourable" responses from friends and colleagues when they learnt that I've picked Conrad to be THE place for me..

faith

Dear Snowie
I also have Conrad in mind and had met up with Debbie last Friday. Package for end 2002 for weekends is S$1,048nett, i guess yr wedding is before August 2002 rite ? Actually now i'm comparing Conrad with Westin, my in-laws prefer Westin cos it's a famous hotel and also charge cheaper. Eg. they offset the printing cost for wedding cards, price/table/10paxs is S$803nett, they allow us to buy the barrel of beers from outside and charge us corkage charge but ending up still cheaper than buying direct from hotel (about S$400+ per 30 litre barrel). Why i like Conrad is becos the size of the ballroom cater to what i need (my plan is about 22 ~ 25 tables) and Conrad has only got one ballroom thus exclusive whereas Westin has many ballroom and they wouldn't allow me to have the Stamford Ballroom that i like cos i've only 25 tables and they require at least 35 tables for weekend wedding in Stamford Ballroom (hot favourite ballroom, has got very privacy foyer compared to the rest). Please share with me more of yr experience with Conrad cos i may need to make a decision latest by next Monday. Thanks.
Actually, Westin's suite is very too, i think nicer than Conrad though i've seen Conrad's and never get to see Westin's Stamford Crest (see the pic on their website only) cos it's on renovation, ballroom also very nice too, high ceiling. And most of all, compared to Conrad, i get to save about S$3K ~ S$4K (mainly becos the beer can buy fr outside).

snowie

Hi Faith,

I had found myself in the same predicament as you're in. I was caught between Hyatt and Conrad with the same concerns.

Hyatt was cheaper and more "well-known"(tho not well-liked!), but to get their best ballroom with an exclusive reception area, we either had to guarantee a minimum of 45 tables, or a minimum or 40 tables with an additional cost $40 per table. I guess it's similar for Westin?

And Conrad on the other hand, though more costly per table, had an exclusive reception area(with an impressive spiral stairway!), with only one ballroom, better concentration on your banquet alone(as opposed to Hyatt which had 5 ballrooms!), better service(they'll portion out food for you), and also a lower minimum which we were comfortable with. (We're intending for about 300-330 guests only). I seem to be promoting Conrad! But that's only cos I'ven't regretted my choice since we stamped a $4grand deposit on Conrad.

In fact, Hyatt had a very strong pull factor cos we simply FELL in LOVE with the balinese garden where we could picture ourselves getting solemnised. But eventually, we still went for Conrad cos we didn't want to end up inviting people we haven't spoken to in the past 5 years just to chalk up the numbers!

Well, that wasn't the main and only reason. We felt that Conrad demonstrated alot of flexibility in trying to meet our needs. Plus the fact that we were told the standard package of $998 comes with just dried flowers(for centrepieces, aisle, stage), but they were gonna throw in fresh flowers "specially" for us etc etc. I'm not sure if we've been had - perhaps everyone's getting fresh flowers! Anyone out there getting the same deal - do voice out please! At least we know we're not as privileged as we thought! :p Anyway, we thought it was quite a deal.

So Faith, enlighten me - $1048 - does it include fresh flowers decoration and seat covers and all? Yeah, you're right, my wedding is before Aug 2002.

You met up with Debbie? She's the Director of Catering Sales right? How do you find her? Is she nice?

Westin was actually also in the running on my list. But there was no special draw about the place.. for me, that is. I didn't like the carpets.. and for some of the ballrooms, I felt the ceiling was too high to be cosy.. And Westin is quite a common choice and thus less exclusive, so your guests won't feel that thrilled about another wedding there. The friends I've told all seem to be looking forward to our wedding cos they've never attended one at Conrad. And for whatever reasons, it's nice to know that they're keen to be at your wedding, and not dragging their feet there!
One comment though, everyone seemed to have the notion that Conrad's very expensive, and everyone was asking me how much it is per table! I really didn't know that these questions would be asked.. cos I've never asked my friends how much their dinner banquet is! That's like finding out how much ang-pow to give! ;p

Sorrie.. don't mean to slime Westin at all.. It has its own charm I'm sure.. Just verbalising my thought processes which led to why Conrad was the eventual choice..

Hope you can arrive at a conclusion soon!

faith

Dear Snowie
Thanks for reply. Dun worry, your comments won't affact my decision.

Yup, S$1,048 came wif seat covers and fresh flowers. I think the increase is just basically due to hotel wanting to earn more money, they told me yearend is more hot favourite for wedding.

Yes Debbie is director of catering sales. Who serve you in Conrad ? Debbie appears to be friendly and helpful over the phone before our meeting and during the meeting. But after the meeting, when i called her up on phone, she seems impatient to attend to my enquiries by giving me reason that i've not fix on any wedding date yet and no point to ask/work on anything now...that's it, she just turn me away with nothing to say ! Unlike Westin, Eunice who i've met up, she is very friendly and helpful, attentive too. Though i've not make up my mind on who to sign wif, she also know that i've not got a date yet, she even help me by giving me the address of 2 temples for me to go to check the auspicious dates with. She share with me her experience for her wedding, banquet etc.....she is more like a friend to me rather than just wanting to get my business. Whereas for Conrad, Debbie gives me a feeling that if this is a potential customer, she will serve or else nothing to talk about it. Eunice takes every couples/opportunity as a potential customer whether or not we will confirm with her. That's the kind of service and attitute worth paying for, dun u think so ? I remember my husband asks me one question, "Who do u think will help and work with u better when u confirm with them?" I think this matter is important. In a way, Debbie makes me having discount on Conrad. I'm not saying that i'll forgo Conrad but will have a 2nd serious thought over it now.

snowie

Hi Faith,

Yes, I've met Eunice, and I found that she's a very bubbly and easy-going person. Someone who would try to help you to achieve what you want. Someone you would feel comfortable with. This was a plus for Westin. It would be nice to get the Stamford Ballroom, and I was told the chances are high if your wedding is on a weekday, cos they would typically "upgrade" you to the Stamford(if it's empty) though you might have been allocated another ballroom at the point of booking.

Your encounter with Debbie reminds me of mine with Hyatt! Kinda similar. After he refused to budge for so many things, we told him it's very difficult for us to make a decision, and the next thing we knew - he released our tentative date booking and wished us well in our wedding plans! Sheesh.. we could not turn back even if we wanted to.. but of course we wouldn't.. not after getting snubbed!

Katheryn from Conrad attended to us. I didn't deal with her that much over the phone as my hub-b2b did most of it. But encounters with her in person were pleasant.

But what you mentioned is really important. The person is someone you would be trusting your wedding plans with, so it's of utmost importance that you feel comfortable with her.

When's your wedding gonna be? The dates for Conrad are moving fast cos they only have one ballroom, especially the Saturdays. If your wedding date isn't near, perhaps you could lay off for awhile, and then get in touch with Conrad again. Maybe then, you would get someone else to serve you and the experience may improve?

Anyway, from my entire ballroom-hunting experience, one of the first questions they would always ask is the wedding date. We didn't have one when we started our search either. And we realised it doesn't hurt to put tentative bookings on some of your more favoured dates. And perhaps, even though the date is not final, but the fact that you're willing to commit to a date, gives them more confidence that you guys are REALLY planning for a wedding and they might serve you better?

About the prices.. I think it was $938 before, and I was told they've not revised the prices since they started operations in Singapore, and thus my package of $998 was the first hike. And so soon after - it's $1048?? I guess they wanna make seat covers and fresh flowers a standard package.. that's why another hike..

ryn

I'm new to this site, but find it really helpful. For those of you who are looking at the Conrad, I have finalise my package with them. Solomization in the ballroom, and a dinner at the pool. Nice thing abt Conrad is they don't charge me extra for booking the ballroon - unlike Hyatt. Should anyone want the pool area, they will reserve the ballroom for you in case it rains. Wedding is next year, and the buffet menu looks good. The reason why we choose Conrad is that we can put the old foggies in the Salon, and there is a bar by the pool for the young people. My BF and I love their rooms. I'm taking the standard suite for 2 nights instead of 1 nite for the large suite.

Yes, I admit that there is more to be desired for in terms of the attitude. I was first serviced by Catheryn, but she was sooo rude to my mother, I insisted on changing the sales person. That was when Debby came into the pic. Since then, they have been rather flexible and accomodating. From my experience, I'll say that if you want better service and more freebies, be prepared to "bang table". I got the charges for the seat covers waived too. Of course it helps that my cousin, a work mate and other people I know are getting married there. That's a great way to make comparisions and then negotiate. Try getting in touch with Jennier. I heard she quite good.

snowie

Hi Ryn,

Hey! I'm doing the reverse! It's solemnisation for us at the poolside, followed by dinner in the ballroom.

Ermm.. what do you mean by no charging for the ballroom? As in you book the poolside area, and you get the ballroom as a backup right? I thought Hyatt does the same? No? Then what happens when it rains??

How much do you need to pay for booking the ballroom for solemnisation? Or is this free?

So when's your big day? And what's the deal that you've gotten from them? You got seat covers waived, and are you getting the white wedding theme too? It would be nice to make some comparisons and see whatelse can be negotiated for..

I'm so surprised to hear that about Catheryn.. so different from what I've encountered! But it's good to know that she's been so rude - something to watch out for! :p She had always been so "professional" about her dealings with us.

I'm wondering what type of freebies can we actually ask for? I mean the only thing that I want and is missing from the package is a REAL wedding cake.. That's something I don't believe they would ever give! Besides requesting for more flowers, nicer flowers, really dunno whatelse there is!

Care to share??

faith

Dear Snowie
I've told Debbie 2 dates (Sats) i have in mind tentatively but also told her these dates may change cos i'm still waiting to meet someone who can read the Tong Shu or Ba Zhi for me in order to finalize the date. Debbie didn't propose a tentative booking for me.

Do you know that they're having a show with Divine Bridal this July ? Date is not finalize yet but the main purpose of this show is to promote the wedding banquet of Conrad. I forsee that there will be some discounts, freebies if i booked with them during the show.

snowie

Hi Faith,

Oh really? No, I haven't heard that they're having a bridal show with Divine Bridal. If you're looking for Saturdays, I'm not sure if it would be safe to wait till July? Anyway, you still have Westin as an option right? Do they typically offer freebies at these shows? Wondering if they may jack up the prices then as well..

Hmm... actually, I gave Conrad two dates that we wanted. One of them already had a tentative booking, and that was our first choice. So they called up the tentative-booking couple, and since they couldn't confirm, they released the date and gave it to us. In fact, I think you could actually have tentative booking for 2 dates. That just means that you've first priority on the date. Should someone else enquire about the same date, Conrad is obliged to call you and ask if you still want it before releasing it.

Do keep us posted on the date of bridal show yeah? Do you happen to know of other bridal shows that are gonna take place within the next few months? I haven't started looking for my gowns yet.. Thanks much!

eve

Hi Snowie,

Just like to find out how much does Conrad charge u for using the poolside for the solemnisation or is it complementary from CONRAD as this idea of having the solemnisation at the poolside followed by the dinner really interests me and may want to consider that for my wedding too!

jo

Hi Snowie,

I ever went down to bridal veil to look look see see and i left my contacts with them. few days back, they called me and told me that they will be having a bridal shhow at pan pac this oct. i dunno when is your wedding but hope that this info is useful to u.

joyce

I dealt with Catheryn for my wedding last Dec. She was not unfriendly to either of us, but she was professionally distant. Lacks the warmth factor i guess. Overall, however, she got her job done, and even appeared personally to apologise on the day of the wedding when the chocolates were not distributed to my guests, even then, her apologies were not very sincere, but the act of apology was there nevertheless.

faith

Dear Snowie
My case was opposite fr you. I've booked the bridal package before the banquet. I've book with Divine, my favourite bridal shop during their show @ Mandarin S'pore this April 1st. I know that banquet is more important and should look out for banquet 1st but i guess i'm sure that Divine is the bridal shop that i want to book so my hubby says there's no need to wait and anyway they're having some discount during the show. U should give yourself 9 mths time to prepare for yr bridal package, so if yr wedding is mid of next yr, then u still have sufficient time. Go for Divine show in July @ Conrad, i think Wedding News has a show too with Marina Mandarin soon, not sure of the dates but they usually advertise in magazines like HerWorld Brides, FemaleBrides, Wedding etc.....I encourage u to go for the show becos during the shows, they'll definitely give u some discounts or additional perks.

ryn

Hi Snowie, and everyone!

For double booking the ballroom is free, and dat's why I'm, using it for solomization. Need to pay $1K if I want another function room. Hyatt said that to double book the ballroom was $3K to $5K. If it rains (crossing fingers and toes) we will make the decision by 3 o'clock to have everything in the ballroom. There are no charges for using both ballroom and the poolside.

The big day is 29th Mar 2002. It'd Good Friday. Actually wanted a Sat, but Fri gave us more room for negotiation. Only need to confirm 240 pax, and got a more bottles of wine waived (now have 50 bottles instead of the original 24 bottles) but had to give up invite cards in exchange for that. No biggie anyways, cos I already wanted to make my own wedding cards in the first place. Trying to get Heineken instead of Tiger beer right now.

Yes, I'm thinking of the white wedding theme, but alos considering the green one too. Was at Conrad abt 2 weekends ago, and they had the green laid out for the Singapore Law Society, and was rather nice. What abt you?

I was also rather "lucky" cos they gave me a inaccurate quotation when I first asked for it. Think they gave me this year prices instead of next year, but thay are honouring it. If you are not in a rush, wait till the show. Madarin hotel gave ppl 2001 prices for weddings in 2002. I suspect the pkg from Divine Couture will be $4K ish, inclusive of indoor and outdoor photography.

If you are worried abt dates, I think they have May fairly free. I was quite surprise, cos May is usually peak period.

The menue they gave me was quite good. They were also flexible abt ppl with strict diets. Had to tweak the menue a few times before all parents are happy. Also asked for 3 VIP lots, but they will confirm closer to the date. If MINDEF not having a function, shld be no problem. As for the cake, it's not too impt to us. But his mother insisted on champange pouring. I know they have waived corkage for wines, but hard to get that cos it was abt $100 per head for those weddings, but mine is abt 2/3 of that per head.

Correct! Catheryn have always been distantly professional, but she really made a bad mistake with my mother. I hope your experience will be better than ours.