Club Chinois

Hi Agnes,

They charge service charge for wedding? I don't think so... cox the recent contract which I signed with them was just including GST, no service charge and Cess.

Hi Agnes,

Just looked through tung lok website. Unless you want modern chinese menu, then you need to pay service charge and cess. cos for modern chinese, all guests are served their portion by servers. Hope this clarifies

Hi Agnes,

CC only charges GST, no service charge and cess.. and yeah, mawie is right, tats only for modern chinese menu..
Enjoy ur preparation!!

Hi mawie,

Thks for the clarification...definitely eases our minds...

Heys Agnes,

No worries. if there's any doubts, good to ask early, cos will definitely benefit the rest of us

Parmida,

Most welcome

Rislee,

Wah... thats like so soon... share your bridal pics wif us ley.. heheh

my hubby yesterday called n checked wat time will the free flow of beer stop and was told dat it will stop at 10pm+.. but we can tell them to standby a few jugs juz in case

wow, rislee.. urs even nearer... muz share ur pix :p

rislee... u got any photos of their ballroom layout?? what color cloth for the VIP u having? I havin mine in 30 days time... do take more pics and let us see k..

hello gals

i am also having my wedding at OPH(CC) in 31 days !! i think in that case i am 1 day after anise ?

Hi agnes.. im saro from the other thread, i changed my nick.. hehe

hi anise, hows preps.. mine still slowly on the way only !! hehe

saro, how com u changed ur nick? long time no hear fm u wor.. time passed so fast... already Nov liao, our AD coming up soon!

kks... tink urs is one day later den mine.. urs sat right =p.. i onli juz settled my actual day menu.. changes some of the dishes =>... onli send eric lately for the MYstamps as wedding gift.. how abt u? Have u decide wat flowers to use etc??

All ladies here, need to seek some opinion... For the wedding favors, there's only the stamps option and the chocos available. My hubby and myself were v inclined to go ahead with the stamps. However, my dad (being v conservative) was telling me that it arent safe to put pics of ourselves and give it away. Just in case got some funny people do weird stuff behind our backs... Does anyone here have advices to share?

hi agnes

hi anise

Ya time pass fast, exactly 1 mth to my wedding !!
Mine's on a Sunday... hehehe

I tasted the food already. Overall Good ! Only 1 dish needs improvement... hehe
I chose the table cloth colour already and now
contemplating between the colours of the flowers, most prob i gg for Red ?

I made my angpao box already and now doing the corsages for jiemei.

Guest list 80% done and now preparing the wedding
invites.

Going to collect my photo album this weekend and buying gold with MIL tmr ! hehehe..

Thats all for now ba ?

mawie, i initially wanted stamps, but i tink most them will juz use the stamp n throw our pic into the bin. so i'll juz get the chocolates. am tinking if i shd get cupcakes as additional favours.

kks, i went for my food tasting on 21oct, it was quite disappointing.. of all the 8dishes (i changed mine to romance menu, lugi one dish!!) oni the shark fin n scallops+asparagus is good, the rest all kenna so-so comments fm my in-laws n family. the worst was the lotus rice, we barely touched, left more than half. we had tis changed to ee-fu noodles for our AD. tink for my own wedding, my expectations was high coz the last two times i attended wedding a club chinois, the food was great.

i haven choose the flowers n table cloth colour yet, eric told me choose one week before can liao.

now i'm in the midst of writing my invitation cards, hopefully can send it out over the weekend.

my PS album already collected in aug n some of my frens n relatives had already viewed it during my housewarming in sept.

my GDL will be on 09dec, MIL haven even go shopping for my SDJ. she said she's getting me white gold n not yellow gold coz she tink youngsters dun like yellow gold liao. i dun tink she's bring me along to choose. i prefer yellow gold though i dun wear coz it's more valuable. now the price keeps going up lor.

Hi Agnes,

If you plan to have cupcakes, will there be too much sweet edible giveaways? Not planning to have any momento? Just my personal opinion

Sorry I cant recall the two other menus other than Romance. I chose Romance for mine, change to vermicilli and yam paste for dessert. So which one did you initially had?

mawie, i'm still unsure on the cupcakes la...

my iniital menu was Regal, which was the old menu which still has 9 dishes. mi so stupid, my MIL wanted cold dish n my mum wans suckling pig, so i changed to Romance menu. i shd haf oni changed the 1st dish. *bang wall

for changing to yam paste, did u top up?

Agnes, Regal is which one ah? cox the names i know are Valentine, and Romance...(can't recall the other one). I suppose its the most ex menu, since it came wif the suckling pig?

Nope I din top up for the yam paste

mawie, Regal was the previous menu before they introduced Valentine, Romance, etc. it's the 2nd expensive one but i dun tink the suckling pig was a whole one.

i dun really like the mango cream, so i tot of changing to yam paste but my my hubby dun allow. is the yam paste good?

Hi agnes,

I feel that CC is more of a Teochew kind of restaurant, so for me I will take the yam paste..

The menu wif the whole suckling pig is Valentine, the most ex menu...Romance is a not bad pkg..its not tat bad lah..cheer up!

Hi Agnes,

I din try the yam paste before.. but its my personal favorite so just wanted to have that to end off the dinner. Romance is the mid-tier one.

hi agnes.. no worry for the yam paste.. i changed my red bean to that =) it's not very sweet, juz nice.. I also changed my whole suckling pig to the cold plate.. if not i guess alot of pple wont eat wor.. hehe...

i will be getting the stamps.. to me, i want to give my guest somethin diff.. at least if they dun wanna keep as gift, den use it away.. =p anyway i m using a pic without showing our front view.. onli our back.. hehe..

Parmida, yup.. Romance menu is nt dat bad, juz dat it's 1 dish lesser than the Regal menu which i had for chose earlier when i signed the contract with CC.

Mawie, yam paste is my favourite too! nw trying to pyscho hubby to let mi change the mango cream to yam paste. i tink still haf time coz i haven fax the confirmed menu letter back to Eric.

Anise, whole suckling pig is more expensive than cold dish leh... liddat u still paying the same rite.

Agnes, I guess with anise's assurance on the yam paste, we should be ready for a great sweet note to end our wedding dinner

Btw, how many tables are most of you expecting? cox they could seat only 17 tables in the restaurant main hall, so who do you guys choose to sit in the private rooms?

apple_gal,

i felt dst the mango cream was too sour... the pomelo in it too bitter, still haf little bits of sour strawberries.

my hubby said not many ppl wan to eat yam paste leh
but he said if i wan i can go ahead n change the mango cream to yam paste.. but i tink my MIL sure say i beri lay chey lor

mawie, i am serious considering to change the mango cream to yam paste.. but need to consider wat MIL will tink.

i'm expecting abt 27tables but i'm using the Antica ballroom n not CC itself.

agnes. m aware that the suckling pig is more ex den the cold dish.. but anyway i guess pple will love cold dish more =p just my thoughts... coz mi myself dun like the suckling pig.. hehe.. anyway the pricing still the same...

yaya the yam paste is definitely thumb up.. so no worry for those taking this =)...

agnes... hmmm lugi but no choice.. i rather haf something I like.. anyway he not charging me additional for the yam paste =p... actually abit regret not taking the most ex package previously.. the cold dish is lobster wor.. =< mi also top up additional for the change of cuttlefish to scallop =p

today got wedding show.. dunno wanna go there and see see... wanna see the set up as well..

Hi Agnes,

Since its one less dish, did they give u something else to "compensate"?

Hi anise,

why u didnt get the most ex pkg? the pkg got lobster as the cold dish meh? hmmm.... why me didnt see it?

Hi, went to their wedding show today. First time i attended a sit down type of wedding show with dishes been served. Felt like a real wedding. Ha...overall food was ok. The ballroom feels quite plain. With 23 tables, still not that cramped. Anyone signed up there today?

i was at the wedding show too. tot the carpet inside CC full of black unsightly spots leh. Food was ok. The ballroom looked plain but I guess for the price, CC's offering's reasonable la. Could anyone kindly suggest the next best alternative? I dun mind paying a bit more.

parmida... they no longer having that already wor.. this was their previous package... y i din get the previous one coz never cross my mind.. trying to save mah.. hehe.. anyway i top up for scallop dish.. coz mi additional cost in the end =<

Hi Cindy,

the last time when i went down to place the deposit, the ballroom carpet had some stains too, on the contrary it was CC's side which was clean. I guess the next would be Orchard Hotel or Traders Hotel.

Alvin, care to share what dishes you had tried during the wedding show and some reviews please.. cox i guess i wun get the chance to try any until end of next year

Hi, there was the suckling pig cold dish, Sautéed Prawns &amp; Scallops with Asparagus, Fried Marble Goby, Braised Shell Mushrooms with Chef’s
Spinach Beancurd, Crisp Roast Chicken and Chilled Aloe Vera Jelly with Lemongrass.

Haha..mostly all right I guess, sounds like a full wedding menu hoh! Prawns were a bit small. Dessert was unique, quite refreshing.

Didn't notice the stains on the carpet as lights were dimmed most of the time, haha..

anise, oni the most exp menu has abalone n sea cucumber... but my hubby will kill for take the most exp menu coz we dun even koe if we can break even with the romance menu.

parmida, no lor.. no compensate... dat time when i said i wan to change, eric oni said the old regal menu was more worth, nv even tell me romanace menu is 1 dish lesser. i oni found out later on, too late to change back liao.

hi agnes

The food really not up to expectations meh, both my in-laws and parents also commented not bad lei, and i was quite pleased with it also lei..
cos my mum quite fussy about food one..

i went to buy gold with my MIL liao, hehe.. i chose both gold and white gold... hehe...

my GDL is next Sat !! hehe.. and i just collected my photos from my BS.. overall also satisfied la..

and i haven even send out the invites ... hehe.. u are fast ! planning to send out this weekend
i just printed my inserts with a printer i sourced myseld and now tying the gold string..

my invites are very simple and basic ones.. no fanciful type.. wat are u gals using for invites ?
hotstamping or ?

Hi, all

I went to the wedding show yesterday too. The food was ok.. Already confirm the banquet to them few days ago before the wedding show.
Me too also never notice the stain.
There was live band at the wedding show too. Just wonder if taking the live band is worth it or not. Kind of expensive when asking how they charge...

kks, maybe dat day the cook nt in a good mood, so our food tasting nt good.. i also dunno y i felt it was nt up to our expectation. my youngest BIL said the lotus rice like home cook fried rice.

i juz KS la.. so i printed my invites in mid sept n collected them 1st week oct. but we haven finish writing them...

i chose the invite with a double xi embossed on the top center. printed an icon, our names n wedding date at the front cover bottom. we need hotstamping on the invites itself to save $25 fm nt having strings. total paid abt $242. the oni thing bad is the envelopes given was grey color.. dun feel like for wedding lor.. stephen fm focal-ad said it was to match the invites colour.

hi agnes

don't worry, i think the food will turn out good
Club Chinios is known for their food ma, so
probably u feedback to eric and maybe he can help u tell the chef ?

I chose the squarish rose design, i had 50% red and 50% beige cards.. hehe cos my parents preferred the red and my in-laws and me the beige ones, i didnt do hotstamping.. i printed on paper and tie gold string.. string cost me 8 bucks and the printing was quite cheap.. hehe all in all less than 100bucks... keke..

the ballroom underwent some minor reno and i think it looks brighter now ?

just wondering anyone having their dinner in CC itself on the same day as me or not... cos if have, then guests might be confused and i afraid the reception area might be cramped...

kks, we nv seek our families for the card opinion
we chose wat we like, my mum oni complained abt the grey colour evelopes. $8 for gold string? u buy fm focal-ad and tie urself? i was told the strings are $0.08/card if u tie ur own n $0.10/card if focal-ad ties for u.

how many tables u have for ur banquet, if it's nt alot, will CC let other customer coms in anot.

i'm oni afraid dat our guest will get confused n drop the AB into other couple's AB box.. coz i was told by Eric if there are two weddings on the same day (CC and Antica ballroom), some guests might get confused n go to the wrong reception table. the reception table near to the toilet is for couples who booked the ballroom.

Anyone who was at the wedding show would hv seen how time-consuming the projector took to place and remove.

Can we petition to OPH and CC to do something about and "force" them to upgrade to a mounted projector? What do you all think?

Hi alvin,

hhmm not too sure how inclined will they want to have it as it will be permanently fixed, like for myself, I chose to opt out of montage during the dinner. Saves alot of cost for the live feed also

hmm, the projector n screen has to be removed after the express highlights? it's nt permanantly fixed there one ar? i personally have not view the ballroom with the banquet set-up and n projector

Hi agnes, both projector and screen are not fixed. Hence they have to spend time to remove when not needed and put it back when it's going to be used again. A bit troublesome lah and time wasting.

hi agnes,

I guess its their tatic of not telling u abt the 1 dish less..dun wori, Im sure it will turn out fine..

hi alvin,

i think the restaurant will also face the same problem..and it seems not so nice to let the guest see the ppl dismantling it..Hmmm..