Christian Brides

jedilim

HI all,
just wondering, for christians, do we still need to do all those chinese customary stuff like guo da li, an chuang, gifts to give both bride and groom etc? seems like alot of things to do...if parents are fine with not doing, then is it alright? anyone to share?
wah Kwa design also must check ah...maybe flower designs will be better?

yuene

Hi JJ,

I didn't do GDL, an chuang and all those things, mainly because both our parents agreed that there was no need to do them. I suggest that both sides meet up and discuss these together, to avoid future misunderstandings.

I don't really care about what's on the kua. To me, dragons and phoenixes do not represent the devil, they're just mythical animals. I didn't wear the kua for the reason that I found it stifling and heavy, so I wore a cheongsam instead.

shilo

i hope this thread still alive as i am also a christian from NCC. abt to get married! but then so stress out lots of things to do and a bit conflict with HTB at times....

also feel a bit tired of all these preparations

eunicet

Hello all...Know this forum has been a little inactive, but would appreciate some help on the wordings for church invites! How should it be phrased, especially if the parents of the groom are not Christians? But it is going to be the solemnisation as well, like ROM...So how?!

sparkless

Hi Ocean Claudia,

From what I know, Si Dian Jin is a teochew tradition. Guo Da Li is a chinese culture/ tradition. Both practices are not religion based.

Since i am not teochew, I wont have the Si Dian Jin. But will go thru the guo da li, since it is exchanging wedding gifts from both families.

Hmm... you are from NCC, rite? May I know where is your wedding venue? Are you going to be solemnized by NCC pastor?

shilo

hi twinfairy

i guess i will als not go thru GDL . Im a cantonese. i look thru the GDL list and I nearly fainted. So stress to do all these and i dun believe in doing these. If i do it and miss out one item then i will have condemnation, like law . so might as well dun do it.

anyway marriage is blessed by the Lord, not thru these practices. Sorry no offend but i just want simple wedding.

Thanks for yr advice. Now i know at least Si Dian Jin is for Teochew.

Yes am from NCC. My wedding venue is at Hilton.
have not confirmed solemnisation by NCC pastor yet. What abt u?

sparkless

Hey Ocean Claudia, i'm also cantonese.

no lah, not offended. we also want a simple wedding. Just a church wedding and reception. no banquet.

When's ur wedding? we are planning 8 Aug 2009, but the date still subjected to parental approval. Bf has not speak to my parents formally abt our intention to get married.

shilo

hi twinfairy

my AD is on 7th Nov.

if u are taking 8 aug, i think it is a hungry ghost month. Just highligh, though we are christians, but yr guests who are not christians may not turn up. and ur guaranteed tables may be affected.

also 8 aug is national day hence lots of roadblock, so if u take marina or orchard may be blocked

sparkless

Hi ocean claudia,

Thanks for reminding. we checked the lunar calendar. Next year 7th month is in late august and we are not having any banquet so there's no need to worry abt roadblocks.

what my mum doesn't like is that 8 Aug is lunar mid-6th month. She said no ones gets married in mid year. anyway, if we cannot get a house by next year, we may just postpone the wedding.

shilo

hi twinfairy,

i think as christians, doesnt matter which date, it is yr wedding ok. it is the Lord who blessed yr marriage

are u from NCC also?

sparkless

Hi ocean claudia,

my bf's from NCC, i'm a Methodist. we shuffle between 2 churches in the meanwhile. But the decision would be moving to NCC, the transition will need some time.

Have you done ur marriage prep course? We just talked to my pastor this morning. we will be doing our MPC with him, since we are thinking of getting him to officiate our wedding solemnisation.

sparkless

Hi ocean claudia,

will be with my church.

Not too long ago, there's a marriage seminar conducted by NCC pastor. Wanted to sign up for that, but in the end, we didn't.

dodolet

My pastor just reminded me to do my mpc too. But my pastor will not be doing my mpc. Need to find one outside, but must be within the methodist group. Anyone knows any starting soon?

Anyway the GDL is something to please the Old folks (esp on the bride side). Though tedious, and not of the christian faith, I will still go through as I know my parents would wanna me to marry "Well". BF and I are both cantonese >.<.

sparkless

Hey sotonglet,

Try BRMC. I believe they have a course starting soon.

When is your wedding day? Have you booked ur church venue?

dodolet

Where is BRMC?

My wedding day is at 27 Dec 08. I have booked my church and pastor already. Now need to confirm if my church is "Ready" to be used during that time. But I still need to finish my MPC first.

cocoabun

Hi All!

I'm from NCC as well! Just happened to chance upon this thread and am really glad that I did!

I had also booked a date with NCC next yr and am wondering what do I need to prepare. Is it ok to hold my ROM/church wedding at home?

By the way, what is "mpc"?

sparkless

Hi Cocoabun, how come you booked a date with NCC, yet doing the church wedding at home? I thot when you book a date, means you're holding the wedding ceremony in NCC premises? Just want to know how does the procedure work in NCC.

MPC= marriage preparation course

Hi keer, i know St Theresa church in Telok Blangah is popular for wedding photoshoot.

cocoabun

Twinfairy: I thought that we can choose any place on our own for the church wedding? Cos I looked through the registration form and I remembered it stated that venues have to be sourced by ourselves. I remembered attending another friend's church wedding (NCC as well) at Grand Hyatt Hotel. So I decided to hold it at home to make it special~ And I don't think NCC has much place for wedding ceremony.

shilo

the date book with ncc, is for pastor's solenisation. ncc does not provide the wedding venue., we have to source on our own...

shawntrevis

Sorry to repost this question but can't seem to find much info.

My FH and I are both Christians but our church does not have a physical building now. Understand most churches require membership from either couple before they allow the ceremony to be held on their premises.

Could anyone kindly help if they know of any churches that allows Christians but non members to hold their ceremony in their chapel? Other than the abovementioned, True Way Presbyterian, Trinity Christian Centre and Trinity Theological College.

Please email the info to [email protected]

Much appreciated!

mich55

previously got this from the earlier postings here, have do some changes, but havn't called up yet, so duno any changes to the contacts.
Hope is useful.

God bless<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
Church list
church_list_2-546485.xls (28.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

stac

In case you are looking for a choir to sing for your mass, you might want to consider the Saint Thomas Aquinas Choir from Nativity Church of the BVM. They are a youth choir that have many experiences singing for weddings and they do carolling for hotel during the Christmas season too.

This is their website if you need more information.

http://stac.fateback.com

wildwood

Do you know how much it would cost to decorate the church??? Where can I find florist who are good in decorating churches for weddings???

cereal_killer

Hi there wildwood,

My church is pretty particular to let only the church florist handle all floral decor in the church but the charges are $500 - $800, depending on the arrangements(eg, pews, centre, side etc). Perhaps you can approach florists to see if they are indeed in this range.

Sotonglet, my wedding will be 27 Dec 08 too
and it will be at Barker Road Methodist Church. Do let me know if you still need help with info on MPC.

dodolet

wildwood check out mrs teo from some of the forum topics.. just cannot remember which. She does pretty good work with pretty reasonable prices.

cereal killer, wah cool!!! Actually I am attending MPC with Barker road, so am going there every week for lessons. Will you be doing dinner as well?

dodolet

wildwood check out mrs teo from some of the forum topics.. just cannot remember which. She does pretty good work with pretty reasonable prices.

cereal killer, wah cool!!! Actually I am attending MPC with Barker road, so am going there every week for lessons. Will you be doing dinner as well?

wildwood

Hi Cereal killer,
I haf not asked my church regarding the church florist yet.. i wanted to set my budget for this..

my wedding is still 16 mths to go.. v v long time more..

xta

For everyone's information..

Trinity Theological College's chapel is not available for bookings already...

cereal_killer

Hi Sotonglet, oh thats great!! If it has not changed, the Pastor that oversees MPC would be the one that would be solemnising my wedding - and our 2 female church counsellors are pretty nice too.. yes, i'm having a small dinner (tried to make it very small but still more than 10 tables sigh) at a restaurant..My Humble House. how about yours?

Wildwood, ah - good lots of time to plan and get the best deals...

dodolet

Hi cereal, oh mine is in M hotel. ah.. your pastor Noel Goh or something?
Yeah, I have the soft spoken 1, found her nice and soothing.

Wah, 16 more months.. that is long... Anyway I am also lepaking about my wedding also.. too lazy to do anything and it is round the corner liao.. LOL.. \o/

cereal_killer

Hi hi

yes its rev noelle goh - fatherly one

that must be Ai Jin - she too was my assigned counsellor, yah she is very soothing.

ya, im like a snail even tho wedding is coming up..sometimes just dowant to touch it. plus i got no pre-wedding photoshoot, lagi lepak..

dodolet

hey.. anyone has booked or has any advise for florist and caterers to be used? I dun like to have any loose ends.. so wanna settle this earlier .... ^^

shilo

i would like to know if we christian brides are allowed to wear kua that is with dragon on it?

pls advise, thanks

jenvin_08

halo, anyone here knows how to translate the following in Chinese? Thanks in advance

Celebrating the Marriage of
xxx &amp; yyy
Saturday Oct,18th 2008

1. THE BRIDAL MARCH
2. WORSHIP
3. MARRIAGE VOWS AND SOLEMNISATION
4. EXCHANGE OF RINGS
5. SCRIPTURE READING
6. EXHORTATION
7. BRIDAL COUPLE'S 1ST COMMUNION
8. SIGNING OF THE REGISTER
9. BENEDICTION
10. THE WEDDING MARCH

jenvin_08

HI Christa, it is quite useful... although there are differences, but still, they have been useful! Really thanks a lot!

Cheers..

veracity

Hi fellow sisters &amp; brothers

Anyone know of any church with seating capacity of 400 - 500 and is available on Sat afternoons (say around 3pm) for church wedding?

I know Trinity C.C. has large capacity but they are not available for Sat afternoons...

Looking fwd to your advice. Blessings!

dodolet

Hi gals, Do you know any nice christian songs (contemp) for march out? I was thinking of using the parent's prayer for the march-in btw. If anyone can suggest more songs for the banquet march in 1 and 2, will be excellent too.

I din know finding the right song can be an headache though.. -.-".

Veracity, you can try faith methodist and paya lebar methodist too, but I am not sure if they accept non methodist members.

sparkless

i know faith only takes methodist members and both must be christian. but sanctuary only open for booking from next year march onwards.

mich55

Hi SotongLet,

Saw you in Thomson Bride posts also. I also TWD bride to be...you can try this song call To Your Majesty...romantic feeling....tried sending here, but file to big...if you want PM me your email address??