Christian Brides

hunnybunny

Thanks sylphide =)I got them from Justgowns. The pricing was so reasonable.

The mermaid gown is $208 to rent and the one I am wearing for church is $188 to rent. =) You have to put a deposit when you take out the gowns - but this is refundable if they return undamaged.

I found Jean, the owner, really sweet and very wonderful. You can say Geri recommended you. =)

hunnybunny

debbie - really found yesterday's sermon by Pastor Prince to be really good.

Quickly emailed and called HTB in India to share with him (he is there to direct a docu). We found it so uplifting.

yuene

They're really pretty. And the evening gown is just so beautiful. But it's okay, I won't be needing a gown so soon. My wedding's gone by, but when the 5th anniversary comes around, I'll go do my PS then. =)

Will your son be your page boy? Kids are the cutest at that age, I swear (too many cute babies in my church, I think!)

keer13

Hi all sister-in-christ,

I had my ROM held this year but customary next year. As my husband is a non-Christian. We didn't solemnize in church. Me being a Christian, would love to have a church wedding deep within my heart. Thus, I was thinking of doing the holy matrinony again on my customary at a church.

Please provide some feedback if you think that it's feasible.

Really appreciate your thoughts.

lingdiver

Hi all.. was surfing around and came upon this thread
hihi to all of u

Nicole - I understand how u feel as I was in a similar situation as u. My fiance is a non-christian and when we announced our wedding plans to my parents & family, everyone kinda ask abt the Church Wedding portion which I was really very bothered about as I felt a very negative feeling from them, comparing to when we announce it to my fiance's family. But God has been great.. my fiance has been attending service with me and he is very open, just that i think he needs time.. Many churches in Singapore does not allow a church wedding to take place if 1 party is a non-believer, however when i spoke to my pastor who watched me grew in church with regards to how comfy is he to be solemnizing for my wedding, he spoke to my fiance and agreed to it as he could feel the openess within my fiance and how interested he is, which is critical as that determines whether he feels right to solemnize our wedding. My fiance and I are going through our pre-marital counselling cum evangelistic bible study for him. Am really praying hard for him to receive Christ and i know that God will touch him in His own ways, His Time..

You might wanna speak to ur hubby and see how open he is and speak to ur pastor in church to see if anything can be worked out...
hope this helps...

josh_xin

I'm deciding between holding the holy matrimony at a nicer church and my own church, which the ambience is not that nice. My pastor was asking me why don't I hold in at my own church, kinda difficult to tell him the real reason. Where should I hold it? Can share your views on this?

keer13

Thanks for ur reply & encouragement.

First of all, Praise God that he's open to going to church and even, the pre-marital counselling. Yes, I'm sure God will touch him, in time to come.

A little background on myself.. When I first knew my bf, I was still a Christian. Initially, my bf is very open to church & had even accepted Christ as his personal Lord & Savior after a year of sharing Christ with him. I was very happy then. But as time goes back, I felt that he was actually confessing to be a Christian, not bcos he knew God but it's wei le wo. Then, slowly, from his actions, can tell that his old self remains the same. At that time, something happen in church & I back-slided.

For me right now, there's nothing much I can do except to pray for him but it's kind of hard as he's a stubbord person who have other beliefs.

Back to the church wedding, is there any church who solemnise a wedding if only 1 party is a Christian? Can't the Christian be blessed in the wedding?

lingdiver

hi Nicole...

To answer ur question first, the reason is simply because the relationship is not right as it is unequally yoked. This is stated very clearly in the bible. The man is meant to be the head of the house and if he is a non-christian, there'll bound to be a day where the wife (who is a christian) to fall away from God, which is definitely not what God has intended. Unless, the woman is strong in her faith, but it is very common for the woman to backslide especially if the man is not open to Christianity at all. There will also be a lot of unhappiness because of different thoughts/views/committment to God, etc... So.. since it's not intended by God for an unequally yoked relationship, I'll say that no church (as far as i know) will solemnize that.

Great to know that your fiance has already accepted Christ by saying the Sinner's Prayer. That is the most critical point as he's willing to die to his self and be reborn again.. although the reason of him doing it in the beginning was not exactly right, i would say it's still a 1st step.. and as he grow to experience God's goodness, God will touch him in His ways.. however, most importantly, u have to be faithful. No matter what happened at Church before, altho' i don't know what it is, but put it behind u and move forward... backsliding is quite common in a Christian's life.. it's how u learn and go back to God even more faithful than before.. GOd has a purpose for everything He does.. It may not be something that seems will benefit u in the situation, but u'll understand His Purpose in future.. Prayer works wonders.. so i'll encourage for u to go back to God/rededicate urself first and slowly bring ur fiance back to Him..

My fiance is extremely stubborn BUT i'm amazed how open he is in receiving the messages, but i guess he still needs time before receiving Christ, which is something i'm praying hard about.. He has seen God's goodness and guidance in our wedding plans.. so I know and I do trust God that He'll work in His Time, not anyone else.

When you say u really want a church wedding, what do u really mean? (This was the question 1 of my friends asked me when i shared with her on my initial problem.) A church wedding would be quite meaningless if it's not Blessed by God/Right in God's Eyes. The reason for having 1 should not be because it's really nice and cos u really desire for it... but more of bcos the couple wants God to be the center of their HOly Matrimony and this can only happen if it's right in God's eyes...

Really sorry if this sounds really harsh k.. i learnt alot during this 1 year of wedding preparations.. my initial plan never included a Church Wedding, but.. really Thank God for His goodness...and i find that ur situation is kinda similar to mine.. so i'd really wanna share what I've learnt with u... Moreover, i think it's quite amazing how i chance upon this thread, cos i'm not one that spends time checking out all threads except the one with my Bridal Studio, but happen to just surf around last nite suddenly..
Maybe this is a little message God wants me to send to u
Really hope that my reply would be helpful for u.. do think through k..
I'm happy to clarify if needed..

Enjoy ur Preparations!

~ Ling..

blessed_1

Hi, sisters.
Not sure if my contribution is going to make any sense but here goes.
For me, my fiance was a Catholic. Thing is he still tells me no matter wat he's always a catholic. I think to them, it is a matter of pride cos they come from a very respected clan or smthg.
However, he has been attending church with me and occassionally the devil aims fear to my heart by asking 'what if this rlp doesn't work out? what if he backslides?' etc. But u know what the Lord said? 'Perfect love casts out ALL FEARS." So i decided to continue to look to God for my fiance's transformation, that by His grace alone, not by my might or power, works or nagging, God will change him to be a godly man.
Today, I sit in awe and anticipation cos I see a gloriously transformed man.
He did not like to pray and called me a fanatic cos i said 'praise the lord'. He used to smoke and drink heavily. He used to sit during the sermon and criticise every word Pastor said and sometimes even fell asleep. During worship, he'd cross his arms and not open his mouth to sing.
I am saying all these not to put him down or depress anyone but to show u that our Abba is a God of impossibilities. Nothing is too hard for him. How much more a human heart? So the truth is- turn your eyes upon Jesus and look full into His wonderful face. You will see that as u rest in Daddy's faithfulness, ur fiance will be transformed from glory to glory.
Just to update u:
Now my fiance has been delivered from smoking completely. A bondage he had since the age of 11. Now he is 31. He has tremendously decreased the intake of alcohol. Again, it is not by his effort. He only attends services when he is not working and yet there is such an improvement. Why? Cos the grace of God and His faithfulness to His promises are MORE REAL than wat we can see. Also, he enjoys listening to Pastor's messages and even asks me with concern, "Why today not Pastor Prince preaching, ah?" He even prays with me and says "Amen." and "Praise God." He doesn't hestitate anymore to glorify God or pray and give thanks. All to the glory of Jesus. It is always about the glory of Jesus and His finished work. In Him lies the answer to all our questions, fears and stress. Shalom, sisters. God works mightily in our lives when we rest in His finished work at the cross.

Geraldine- Hey, dear. Yup, it was super awesome. Felt so blessed by the sermon that week too. Actually, every msg preached by Pastor Prince and the othr pastors are so encouraging. Even Holy Comm prayer can be so uplifting. Like one time Pastor Matthews said, " Our times are in His hands." and suddenly some fears in my heart just vanished. Praise Jesus!

Just finished printing my solemnisation slips. did them on A4 ppr. very simple. 60 slips only. so much preparation ahead and so excited!
-

hunnybunny

What a beautiful testimony debbie!

1 Cor 7 tells us that the unbelieving spouse is sanctified through his/her believing spouse.

So big hugs to the Christian sisters there marrying un-believing spouses. God's grace is bigger than what we can imagine it to be and I am sure His grace over your marriage will only see things getting brighter and brighter. Keep interceding for your spouse. The best way to be a testimony to them is to show them your love, understanding and patience about their beliefs. =)

And I agree with debbie - Perfect love casts of all fears! No point worrying and letting the worrying get to you. Be of good cheer. Our Daddy God is there for you all the time and his plans for us are always for our good!

In my case, I was the catholic and my fiance is christian... and I was very adamant about remaining catholic too. I grew up Catholic and I was quite sure I knew my stuff.

As I came to read the bible more and know the gospels better, I came to see very clearly some issues I had with the Catholic Theology (no offence to any Catholic sisters). My fiance did not ever put my beliefs down although he did say he will not be able to become Catholic as it is against his beliefs. I can safely say the same for myself today. Any Catholics or Christians with Catholics spouses who want to understand the differences more can read books like "Once a Catholic" which is excellent.

I have to give credit to my HTB's patience and love and understanding (eg. attending church with me as I attended his with him) as these qualities about him helped us overcome that initial hiccup we had.

And yes... to answer sylphide, my son is going to be my page boy =) My nieces to be will be flower girls =D

blessed_1

Hi, sisters!

just completed printing my wedding booklets.. looks nice. yst me and my bridesmaid went scouting for very nice deco items for the guest book and managed to get some ideas from Spotlight(Plaza Sing).Rehearsal went alright last Friday at Yishun Safra. everyone was late including Yours Truly..hehee. But all was well and the weather was really good. Hope and pray that it will be just as good on that day too.Do pray with me n believe with me that THIS SAT it will be excellent weather for an outdoor wedding at Safra!! My gosh! just 5 more days! so excited! dunno if i can sleep like this! tonight, we'll b meeting our helpers for a briefing. grace grace =)

Any reco for mani-pedi? working on a budget..

How are u girls? need any help? will be 'freer' after 14 Dec so can help u gals if u need me, leme know =)*hugs to all..

blessed_1

hi, Tiara!
Yes, Chris Best Florist- 96312434. do tell her deborah recommended u.
Well, 3 more days to go.. today, went for mny facial. You gurls must go to her. Her name is Susan Foo and her company is called True Beauty, located at Shaw Centre.
No 1- she is a sis in Christ from New Creation Church so u can trust the Holy Spirit in her to guide her session with u.
No 2 - She DOES NOT hard sell her products and services at all.
No 3 - Her products REALLY WORK.
No 4 - They give u EXCELLENT service.
No 5 - They give gd discounts.

To be honest, we are a lil tight on cash flow as we are paying for many things without a loan and before the wedding date so i was kinda hesitant to go for the facial today bt prayed abt it. I asked God to make the price very affordable.
Then suddenly, i was prompted to say these words, It is fully paid by the blood of Jesus. And u know wat? She gave a complimentary session, without even me asking and best part, instead of angpao for my wedding, she has given me a complete set of products, which I really cannot afford unless I have bonus and she blessed me with these!! hallelujah! i jus love the way Jesus loves me. i even told Him, today heavy rain, can... no problem. cos i know u want to make it all fall down BEFORE my big day.. hehehe... do believe with me sistas that 8th wil be blessed with excellent weather. hugs..

sparkless

Does anyone here have an AD program that goes like this?

Groom picks bride from her place, proceed to Church, after ceremony, reception and that's it.

I am thinking if the wedding program goes in this way, then I will only need a wedding gown because there is no wedding dinner.

sparkless

Not sure how to put in the tea ceremony.

what about when groom fetches bride, then have it at my place first? then proceed to church for more tea ceremony?

blessed_1

hey sistas!
me's back!! =)
so much to share wif u all.
Was so blessed must share w u all.
8 dec 07 was my big day. up till 7 Dec my wedding favors were not ready for collection but praise Jesus I asked the company staff to deliver to my hubby's place and as i finished telling the girl the add, i got a surprise! she said, 'hey, guess what? i am his neighbor! i will deliver to his doorstep.' praise Jesus and lo n behold, she really was staying in the same blk and same floor as him! wat r the odds? only Jesus can do such amazing thgs.. =)
and Jesus did not stop there.. she delivered the coasters at 1am and we were supposed to pay $400 cos it is $1/coaster. but when my hubby asked her how much, she said '$107' and he was like, 'pardon?' and she showed the receipt and it was stated as $107. i dun knw y bt tt was the price and he just collected, paid only a fraction and thanked the Lord!! favor with God and men, amen!
then on my big day, there were passing showers and even rain clouds lingering.. since ours is an outdoor event and also has no tentage, i was hoping for gd weather and n prayed against the rain n oso tht my hubby will b brave and nt b tempted to jump to plan B, which was to hold the wedding ceremony indoors. my makeup lady came late and she had some trouble w my tiara and such bt praise God by the time i got to my venue, it was a beautiful evening and everythg went so well. unbelievin frens smsed me that it was moving and beautiful and that they could feel the vibratiions, which i believe they mean to say they could sense the presence of God.

the dinner went well. raving reviews on the food and there was more than enuf but no wastage of food, even tho some ppl couldn come at the last min. the only lack was the angpao cos some ppl jus dun give more than $20 for indian weddings bt i m proud to say that the highest amounts came from frens at New Creation Church( $250 fr a couple n their 2 yr old baby). we were jus slightly short but since we had paid most earlier, we only had to cover 2k plus fir banquet side. we got a further discount fr them as well.

Praise Jesus- the wine oso was jus nice. we booked 20 bottles fr the Safra kitchen in advance and we brot along 8 bottles (my caregroup leader gave us 10 free bottles of wine) n praise God that was jus nice.

everything went v well and ppl were full of praises. even the deco was simple but beautiful.. Best Florist flowers were awesome!! I fell in love with the deco pieces she had provided and it was really cool how Jesus led me to deco my unity candle w almost the same kinda cloth material that they used on the chairs for the outdoor seats. i knew nthg of hw it'd turn out.

Dear sistas, believe that in Him, all things are possible and trust Him for really grand thgs as u prepare fr ur big day. will update u on the link once i post the pix online.
hugs..

eunicet

Wow, this forum sounds great. Indeed God is the ultimate wedding planner. Have barely begun wedding preparations since THE DAY is 27 Dec 08. But He has been great so far in providing the location for the banquet even just a year in advance, because another couple changed their banquet date! Looking forward to more...
Take care you gals!

de_luxe

Hi! THis is encouraging cos I have barely started on my wedding prep and the date is 06 Sept!
Am encouraged to pray for my wedding.

eunicet

Hi de_luxe! Haha...I see you in the other forum too!!
Anyway, enjoy the process of the preparations! Am sure it's going to be ok, because yup! We have the Master Wedding Planner in charge...All the best ya? We can share tips and stuff along the way...Hehe...

bb_queen

Can I ask usually how many % do we cater for church wedding? If number of guests is 200 adults, how many do you cater for?

sweetbabe30

Hi, interested to know if its easy to lease a church hall for a solemnisation event for 200 ppl on a sunday if you dont attend the church? I attend a pentecostal church. Please advise.

yuene

Hi bb, in general, I find that catering for 75% of the expected attendance is sufficient for all events (I'm in events planning), as about 10% of those who RSVPed will probably not show up, and some will have eaten a bit before coming for your wedding.

sweetbabe, you might find it a bit difficult, as most churches will have services on Sundays, and they'll be using the space. Why not look for an outside venue? If you don't mind inviting slightly less, you can try Singapore Art Museum's chapel. It is very beautiful and will take about 150.

mich55

I am from pentecostal church...my church is not suitable for holding a wedding...So need to rent...Is it true that is quite hard to rent from other denomination?

yuene

It is a bit harder, as most churches will give priority to their own members, and some will not rent out at all. There is a list of churches that will rent out to non-members (again, subject to first priority booking by members) such as True Way Presbyterian, Trinity Christian Centre and Trinity Theological College. Personally, I like Trinity Theological College, it's very beautiful and peaceful.

mich55

Hi yuene,

Thanks for the info. I am a chinese...so if I got church wedding then the part when the groom go to the bride house to pick her up is not neccessary? or is another day? thinking of not having the banquet...thks.

yuene

Hey Michelle,

It depends on your family's preference, some parents would prefer if you did the tea ceremony before the church ceremony, so your fiance will still go to your house to pick you up and do the tea ceremony before going to the church. I had my tea ceremony after my wedding, but my hb came to pick me up at my house for the ragging ceremony. Some will use it as the opportunity to hand the bride her bouquet as well (mine, though, was at the church already)

sparkless

Can anyone advise? I am not sure about the Church wedding timing. Usually couples hold it in the afternoon, thereafter have lunch reception, or hold it in the evening time, thereafter dinner reception?

Hmm.. actually for us, we dont have any wedding banquet. So i am thinking, having the ceremony in the late afternoon, thereafter dinner reception.

Also, if you have the ceremony in the late afternoon, do you still have the express video montage?

eunicet

Hi Starrry!

I think the church wedding time depends on your preference...Most of the time though I attend weddings in the morning, followed by lunch reception...Or if weddings are in the afternoon, it's just followed by a tea reception...Never experienced dinner reception after wedding...
Probably cos you would want the morning light in your photos?
Also don't know...But as for express video montage, I think they need at least 5 hours in between 2 events...Like if you have church wedding in the morning, you can have the express montage for a banquet...

sparkless

Thanks Eunice, not very sure how the sequence will go. Just getting some opinions on how things are usually done. We are not having banquet, in that case, i think there is no need for videography. I think video montage is nice with all the special effects and music. Not sure how a full wedding video will be like.

eunicet

Starrry: My AD will be super packed in terms of programme!! Church service in the morning, lunch reception, rush for tea ceremony at different locations in the afternoon, then wedding banquet!! And as for videography, I think it's just something nice to keep for memory sakes, with the montage or not...Usually the videographer will give you highlights of the day, and the full, raw footage, which is about 45 minutes long?

zen>>> I haven't decided yet man!
But you're talking about the Praise & Worship segment right? I'd probably just pick my favourite songs! Hehe!

zenith

hi eunice,

yup! i'm toking abt the praise & worship part. cos i've quite a no. of guests that are non-christians. wanted to choose some songs tat are easier for them to follow & also suitable for wedding.

sparkless

Hello zen,

i quite like Hillsong's Through it All and Hosanna (cannot remember by who)... though not sure if it suitable for a wedding ceremony

Hello Eunice,

Wow... sounds really packed... but i am sure even in the midst of the running around, you will have a great day!

eunicet

Thanks Starrry!

And zen, as for choice of songs...Mmmm...I think I would pick songs that mean the most to both myself and my HTB...Songs that speak of His faithfulness and love...And non-Christian guests understand of His faithfulness and love in bringing us through to the BIG DAY!

blessed_1

hi, sisters..
I was just lookin thru my mobile today n realised i have many many contacts cos i did loads of research. since i wont be needing them, thot of parking the contacts here.. hope it serves a purpose to the Glory of Jesus, amen =)

DISCLAIMER:

I am NOT VOUCHING for their quality or services.
Just that u might wana check it out. I've replaced all letter 'O's with a *.

FAVOURS:
1. W**d W*uld- ThE Cathay- 68836243
2. The L*ft
3. Pr*mises Wedding- www.pr*miseswedding.c*m
4. Little Ribb*n - 67362585
5. Just Dazzle (candle favors)
6. Craftc*m
7. Cupcake Divinity - www.cupcakedivinity.bl*gsp*t.c*m- 9237 7118
8. Ccup - 9229 6109
9. Cake Avenue - 6 877 9008

FOOD
Harvest Catering- 6 7551069

AUTOMOBILE
Fun Cars Aut* - 6 8991181
Eur*lim* - 6 8422330
Champaigne G*ld Cab - Mr Victor Woo- 9 6385275

Dec*r
Deepam Wedding (Ravi) - 97490587
Best Fl*rist - Chris - 96312434

Spa
Wayan Retreat- 61 Bussorah St - 6392 0035

That's all, dearies! Hope u find the above useful! =)

dodolet

Zen,

well It can be mixed of songs. But I kena like these songs.

1) When God Made You
2) I Will Be Here
(The 2 above for the guy to sing for the gal. *hiaks*)
3) This Is The Day (A Wedding Song)
4) I Could Sing Of Your Love Forever
5) Reaching for you
6) O perfect love

tct

Can anyone share with us as a chritian, what are the ritual/practice we shan't participate during the AD? we are christian but our parent are not.

GBU

eunicet

TCT>>> For me, my parents-in-law aren't Christians either. And for myself, my HTB and myself will just not be going to the temple to offer incense and all that. I know I will be facing a lot of superstition and I know that it stems from goodwill on their side. Not sure what yet, but will update and share when it happens!

violac

TCT, basically you need to distinguish between what's chinese custom and what's chinese religion.

stuff like tea ceremony, parents veiling the bride, these all bear symbolic meanings and are alright for christians to go through.

but if it's of superstitious/religious origins, e.g. believing in auspicious dates (most couples would likely accede to parents' wish for auspicous date, but it's the internal attitude that matters), bowing to ancestors, burning of dragon-phoenix candles are not encouraged to be practised. depends on how far you want to bring it, for me anything remotely to do with old wive's tale, what boy jumping on bed for baby luck, all that stuff.. i didn't practise.

i've seen a booklet on what wedding activities christians shd and shdn't participate in Life bookstore, few dollars only. You should have a read. it goes to the extent of not encouraging Kua that has phoenix designs because it has yin and yang connotations.

eunicet

zen!

I just found a song that I really liked and was thinking of singing at my wedding. I think the title is "What He's done" and here are the lyrics, feel that it's very meaningful:

==========================================
What He's done for me, is so amazing
The love He has for me, I cannot express
All I know is I once was lost
But now I'm found
I was blind but now I see
And I know He will do for you
What He's done for me...

Amazing love, amazing love (x2)
All I know is I once was lost
But now I'm found
I was blind but now I see